Napoleon Bonaparte and Egypt

Napoleon Bonaparte and Egypt


We are searching data for your request:

Forums and discussions:
Manuals and reference books:
Data from registers:
Wait the end of the search in all databases.
Upon completion, a link will appear to access the found materials.

  • The pyramids of Memphis, the Sphinx, at sunset.

    BALZAC Charles (1752 - 1820)

  • Shot of Esnah's portico.

    DENON Alive Dominique (1747 - 1825)

To close

Title: The pyramids of Memphis, the Sphinx, at sunset.

Author : BALZAC Charles (1752 - 1820)

Date shown:

Dimensions: Height 53.5 - Width 87.3

Technique and other indications: Watercolor, pencil, black ink, gouache, pen.

Storage place: Louvre Museum (Paris) website

Contact copyright: © Photo RMN-Grand Palais - M. Bellot website

Picture reference: 91-005472 / RF34437

The pyramids of Memphis, the Sphinx, at sunset.

© Photo RMN-Grand Palais - M. Bellot

Shot of Esnah's portico.

© Photo RMN-Grand Palais - G. Blot

Publication date: January 2010

Historical context

In April and July 1795, the Treaties of Basel put an end to the first coalition of European powers raised against revolutionary France. Moreover, the Directory is not sorry to dismiss this too popular general whose authority and ambition it has measured in Italy.

On May 19, 1798, an expeditionary force of 38,000 men left Toulon, leading a Commission of Sciences and Arts made up of more than 150 scientists and artists. On June 28, Bonaparte finally revealed the purpose of this maritime outfit, and on July 1, the expedition reached Alexandria. Military successes (Battle of the Pyramids, July 21) and setbacks (destruction of the fleet by the English at Aboukir, August 2) followed one another to lead to the French capitulation in 1801. Civil and military engineers trained in the grandes écoles (Polytechnic School, School of Bridges and Roads), architects, designers, all were very young and worked in extremely difficult conditions: heat, illness, insecurity, lack of time and material. However, they gathered precious, precise and abundant information, then gathered in a monumental work: Description of Egypt, or Collection of observations and research that were carried out in Egypt during the French expedition. In addition to the desire to finally conquer England, Bonaparte's expedition to Egypt is significant of the attraction exerted by the East in Europe at the end of the 18th century and the beginning of the 19th century, and of the importance of history in the romantic imagination.

Image Analysis

Writer, architect and designer, Charles Louis Balzac (1752-1820) was an eminent member of the Commission for Sciences and Arts created on March 16, 1798. During the expedition to Egypt, he was notably part of the Cortaz Commission, in charge of to complete the methodical exploration of Upper Egypt. Writer, he is the author of the libretto for two operas by Rigel - Les Deux Meuniers and Valère in Italy -, represented in the auditorium inaugurated in Cairo on December 31, 1800. Architect and designer, he carried out measurements and surveys of the ancient hippodrome of Alexandria. The work presented here is a watercolor version of a drawing of part of the Memphis necropolis, probably made on December 16, 1799. To the right, the monumental Sphinx carved in the image of the pharaoh. Behind him, the pyramid of Khafre, which has retained part of its outer covering. In the center stands the massive pyramid of Cheops. The initial drawing appears in the Description of Egypt.

Better known than Charles Louis Balzac, Dominique Vivant Denon (1747-1825) was the oldest of Bonaparte’s companions during the Egyptian campaign. Diplomat, writer, architect, draftsman, he then made himself a reporter in a country where he endeavored to faithfully reproduce the monuments and to note the slightest customs. A member of the Upper Egypt Exploration Mission, he arrived in Esnah - at that time the capital of Egypt's southernmost province - in July 1799. The temple was buried in rubble and filth. Only the majestic portico is still visible, supported by twenty-four columns nearly twelve meters high. Denon takes the plan and draws the hexastyle facade with columns surmounted by capitals carved with lotus and palm leaves. This etching appears in the Description of Egypt and in the Travel to Upper and Lower Egypt that Dominique Vivant Denon wrote on his return to France and published in the fall of 1802.

Interpretation

From the end of the 18th century, European scientists left their amateur cabinets and laboratories to discover the world. However, Egypt is not a completely unknown country: the last travelers to have crossed the Nile delta at the end of the Ancien Régime are Claude Étienne Savary (1750-1788) and, above all, the Earl of Volney ( 1757-1820), whose Travel to Syria and Egypt already gives an accurate picture of the country at the end of the 18th century. Under the Revolution, the possibility of intervention in Egypt - mentioned many times since the end of Louis XV's reign - resurfaced, with an additional objective: to defeat England by ruining her trade with India. Bonaparte wanted to accompany the military conquest with a learned expedition to get to know ancient and modern Egypt better, but also to "bring the Enlightenment" there. If the campaign is a military failure, it is undoubtedly a scientific success.

The Institute of Egypt, created in Cairo on August 22, 1798, is an encyclopedic society which pursues both pure science research and scientific investigation in the field. Scholars contribute to the tasks of administration and development of Egypt. Periodicals are published: an information journal, the Courier from Egypt, and a scholarly journal, The Egyptian Decade. Geographic engineers undertake a monumental work of cartography. Zoologists and naturalists inventory the flora and fauna. But it is especially the ancient monuments of Upper and Lower Egypt that arouse the admiration of scholars and artists, and that are the subject of countless drawings and archaeological records. This multidisciplinary collection leads to the development of an encyclopedic work - the Description of Egypt in 9 volumes of texts, 10 volumes of plates and an atlas -, published between 1809 and 1828, an irreplaceable documentary source even today.

  • archeology
  • Egypt
  • Bonaparte (Napoleon)
  • East
  • Alive Denon (Dominica)
  • overseas

Bibliography

Marie-Noëlle BOURGUET, "Scientists to conquer Egypt? Science, travel and politics at the time of the Egyptian expedition ", in The Egyptian Expedition, an Enlightenment Company, 1798-1801, proceedings of the colloquium of the Académie des inscriptions et belles-lettres and the Académie des sciences, Paris, 8-10 June 1999, Paris, Technique et documentation, 1999 Étienne Geoffroy SAINT-HILAIRE, The Egyptian Expedition, Paris, Paléo, 2000.Yves LAISSUS, Egypt, a learned adventure, 1798-1801, Paris, Arthème Fayard, 1998.Yves LAISSUS (dir.), 200 years ago, scholars in Egypt, catalog of the exhibition of the National Museum of Natural History, March 11-July 6, 1998, Paris, Nathan, 1998.Henry LAURENS, The Egyptian Expedition, Paris, Le Seuil, coll. "Points Histoire", 1997.Anna PIUSI, "The golden handcuffs of Napoleonic patronage: the frontispiece of the Description of Egypt. Homage to Dutertre, Balzac and Cécile ”, in The Egyptian expedition, an Enlightenment enterprise, 1798-1801, proceedings of the colloquium of the Académie des Inscriptions et Belles-Lettres and the Académie des Sciences, Paris, 8-10 June 1999, Paris, Technique et documentation, 1999. Jean TULARD, Shadows and Lights of the Egyptian Campaign, Paris, Association for the Safeguarding of Old Books from the Library of the Cour de Cassation, 1995.

To cite this article

Alain GALOIN, "Napoleon Bonaparte and Egypt"


Video: Battle of pyramids 1798 Eng Sub

Napoleon Bonaparte und Ägypten

Napoleon Bonaparte und Ägypten

  • Die Pyramiden von Memphis, die Sphinx, bei Sonnenuntergang.

    BALZAC Charles (1752 - 1820)

  • Aufnahme von Esnahs Portikus.

    DENON Alive Dominique (1747 - 1825)

Schließen

Titel: Die Pyramiden von Memphis, die Sphinx, bei Sonnenuntergang.

Autor: BALZAC Charles (1752 - 1820)

Datum angezeigt:

Maße: Höhe 53,5 - Breite 87,3

Technik und andere Indikationen: Aquarell, Bleistift, schwarze Tinte, Gouache, Stift.

Speicherort: Website des Louvre-Museums (Paris)

Kontakt Copyright: © Foto RMN-Grand Palais - Website von M. Bellot

Bildreferenz: 91-005472 / RF34437

Die Pyramiden von Memphis, die Sphinx, bei Sonnenuntergang.

© Foto RMN-Grand Palais - M. Bellot

Aufnahme von Esnahs Portikus.

© Foto RMN-Grand Palais - G. Blot

Erscheinungsdatum: Januar 2010

Historischer Zusammenhang

Im April und Juli 1795 beendeten die Verträge von Basel die erste Koalition europäischer Mächte gegen das revolutionäre Frankreich. Darüber hinaus tut es dem Verzeichnis nicht leid, diesen zu populären General zu entlassen, dessen Autorität und Ehrgeiz es in Italien gemessen hat.

Am 19. Mai 1798 verließ eine Expeditionstruppe von 38.000 Mann Toulon und leitete eine Kommission für Wissenschaften und Künste, die sich aus mehr als 150 Wissenschaftlern und Künstlern zusammensetzte. Am 28. Juni enthüllte Bonaparte schließlich den Zweck dieses maritimen Outfits, und am 1. Juli erreichte die Expedition Alexandria. Militärische Erfolge (Schlacht um die Pyramiden, 21. Juli) und Rückschläge (Zerstörung der Flotte durch die Engländer in Aboukir, 2. August) folgten einander und führten 1801 zur französischen Kapitulation. In den Grandes Ecoles ausgebildete Zivil- und Militäringenieure (Polytechnische Schule, Schule für Brücken und Straßen), Architekten, Designer, alle waren sehr jung und arbeiteten unter äußerst schwierigen Bedingungen: Hitze, Krankheit, Unsicherheit, Zeit- und Materialmangel. Sie sammelten jedoch wertvolle, präzise und reichlich vorhandene Informationen und sammelten sie dann in einem monumentalen Werk: Beschreibung Ägyptens oder Sammlung von Beobachtungen und Forschungen, die während der französischen Expedition in Ägypten durchgeführt wurden. Neben dem Wunsch, England endgültig zu erobern, ist Bonapartes Expedition nach Ägypten von Bedeutung für die Anziehungskraft, die der Osten in Europa Ende des 18. und Anfang des 19. Jahrhunderts ausübte, und für die Bedeutung von Geschichte in der romantischen Vorstellung.

Bildanalyse

Der Schriftsteller, Architekt und Designer Charles Louis Balzac (1752-1820) war ein herausragendes Mitglied der am 16. März 1798 gegründeten Kommission für Wissenschaft und Kunst. Während der ägyptischen Expedition war er insbesondere Mitglied der Cortaz-Kommission, verantwortlich für die methodische Erforschung von Oberägypten abzuschließen. Schriftsteller, er ist Autor des Librettos für zwei Opern von Rigel - Les Deux Meuniers und Valère in Italien -, vertreten in dem am 31. Dezember 1800 in Kairo eingeweihten Auditorium. Als Architekt und Designer führte er Messungen und Vermessungen des alten Hippodroms von Alexandria durch. Die hier vorgestellte Arbeit ist eine Aquarellversion einer Zeichnung eines Teils der Nekropole von Memphis, die wahrscheinlich am 16. Dezember 1799 angefertigt wurde. Rechts die monumentale Sphinx, die nach dem Bild des Pharaos geschnitzt ist. Hinter ihm die Pyramide von Khafre, die einen Teil ihrer Außenverkleidung bewahrt hat. In der Mitte steht die massive Pyramide von Cheops. Die erste Zeichnung erscheint in der Beschreibung von Ägypten.

Dominique Vivant Denon (1747-1825), besser bekannt als Charles Louis Balzac, war der älteste Gefährte Bonapartes während des ägyptischen Feldzugs. Diplomat, Schriftsteller, Architekt, Zeichner, machte er sich dann zum Reporter in einem Land, in dem er sich bemühte, die Denkmäler originalgetreu wiederzugeben und die geringsten Bräuche zu beachten. Als Mitglied der Upper Egypt Exploration Mission kam er im Juli 1799 in Esnah an - der damaligen Hauptstadt der südlichsten Provinz Ägyptens. Der Tempel wurde in Trümmern und Schmutz begraben. Nur der majestätische Portikus ist noch zu sehen, der von vierundzwanzig Säulen getragen wird, die fast zwölf Meter hoch sind. Denon nimmt den Plan und zeichnet die hexastile Fassade mit Säulen, die von mit Lotus und Palmblättern geschnitzten Kapitellen überragt werden. Diese Radierung erscheint in der Beschreibung von Ägypten und in der Reise nach Ober- und Unterägypten dass Dominique Vivant Denon bei seiner Rückkehr nach Frankreich schrieb und im Herbst 1802 veröffentlichte.

Interpretation

Ab dem Ende des 18. Jahrhunderts verließen europäische Wissenschaftler ihre Amateurschränke und Labors, um die Welt zu entdecken. Ägypten ist jedoch kein völlig unbekanntes Land: Die letzten Reisenden, die am Ende des Ancien Régime das Nildelta überquert haben, sind Claude Étienne Savary (1750-1788) und vor allem der Earl of Volney ( 1757-1820), dessen Reise nach Syrien und Ägypten gibt bereits Ende des 18. Jahrhunderts ein genaues Bild des Landes. Während der Revolution tauchte die seit dem Ende der Regierungszeit Ludwigs XV. Mehrfach erwähnte Möglichkeit einer Intervention in Ägypten wieder auf, mit dem zusätzlichen Ziel, England zu besiegen, indem es seinen Handel mit Indien ruinierte. Bonaparte wollte die militärische Eroberung mit einer gelehrten Expedition begleiten, um mehr über das alte und moderne Ägypten zu erfahren, aber auch um "die Aufklärung" dorthin zu bringen. Wenn die Kampagne ein militärischer Misserfolg ist, ist sie zweifellos ein wissenschaftlicher Erfolg.

Das ägyptische Institut, das am 22. August 1798 in Kairo gegründet wurde, ist eine enzyklopädische Gesellschaft, die sowohl reine wissenschaftliche Forschung als auch wissenschaftliche Untersuchungen auf diesem Gebiet betreibt. Wissenschaftler tragen zu den Aufgaben der Verwaltung und Entwicklung Ägyptens bei. Zeitschriften werden veröffentlicht: ein Informationsjournal, das Kurier aus Ägyptenund eine wissenschaftliche Zeitschrift, Das ägyptische Jahrzehnt. Geografische Ingenieure leisten eine monumentale kartografische Arbeit. Zoologen und Naturforscher inventarisieren die Flora und Fauna. Aber gerade die antiken Denkmäler von Ober- und Unterägypten erregen die Bewunderung von Gelehrten und Künstlern und sind Gegenstand zahlreicher Zeichnungen und archäologischer Aufzeichnungen. Diese multidisziplinäre Sammlung führt zur Entwicklung eines enzyklopädischen Werkes - der Beschreibung von Ägypten in 9 Bänden mit Texten, 10 Bänden mit Tafeln und einem Atlas -, veröffentlicht zwischen 1809 und 1828, eine unersetzliche Dokumentationsquelle bis heute.

  • Archäologie
  • Ägypten
  • Bonaparte (Napoleon)
  • Osten
  • Lebendiger Denon (Dominica)
  • Übersee-

Literaturverzeichnis

Marie-Noëlle BOURGUET, "Wissenschaftler erobern Ägypten? Wissenschaft, Reisen und Politik zur Zeit der ägyptischen Expedition ", in Die ägyptische Expedition, eine Aufklärungsfirma, 1798-1801, Tagungsband des Kolloquiums der Académie des Inschriften et Belle-Lettres und der Académie des Sciences, Paris, 8.-10. Juni 1999, Paris, Technik et Dokumentation, 1999 Étienne Geoffroy SAINT-HILAIRE, Die ägyptische Expedition, Paris, Paléo, 2000. Yves LAISSUS, Ägypten, ein gelehrtes Abenteuer, 1798-1801, Paris, Arthème Fayard, 1998. Yves LAISSUS (dir.), Vor 200 Jahren Gelehrte in Ägypten, Katalog der Ausstellung des Nationalen Naturkundemuseums, 11. März - 6. Juli 1998, Paris, Nathan, 1998. Henry LAURENS, Die ägyptische Expedition, Paris, Le Seuil, umg. "Points Histoire", 1997.Anna PIUSI, "Die goldenen Handschellen der napoleonischen Schirmherrschaft: das Titelbild der Beschreibung von ÄgyptenHommage an Dutertre, Balzac und Cécile “, in Die ägyptische Expedition, eine Aufklärungsfirma, 1798-1801, Tagungsband des Kolloquiums der Académie des Inscriptions et Belles-Lettres und der Académie des Sciences, Paris, 8.-10. Juni 1999, Paris, Technik und Dokumentation, 1999. Jean TULARD, Schatten und Lichter der ägyptischen Kampagne, Paris, Verein zur Sicherung alter Bücher aus der Bibliothek der Cour de Cassation, 1995.

Um diesen Artikel zu zitieren

Alain GALOIN, "Napoleon Bonaparte und Ägypten"


Video: Napoleon in Ägypten Reportage über Napoleon Teil 1