Napoleon and the arts

Napoleon and the arts


We are searching data for your request:

Forums and discussions:
Manuals and reference books:
Data from registers:
Wait the end of the search in all databases.
Upon completion, a link will appear to access the found materials.

  • Denon living room ceiling - Overview.

    MULLER Charles-Louis (1815 - 1892)

  • Denon living room ceiling - detail.

    MULLER Charles-Louis (1815 - 1892)

To close

Title: Denon living room ceiling - Overview.

Author : MULLER Charles-Louis (1815 - 1892)

Creation date : 1864

Date shown:

Dimensions: Height 0 - Width 0

Technique and other indications: oil painting

Storage location: Louvre Museum (Paris) website

Contact copyright: © Photo RMN-Grand Palaissite web

Picture reference: 77DN2802

Denon living room ceiling - Overview.

© Photo RMN-Grand Palais

Denon living room ceiling - detail.

© Photo RMN-Grand Palais

Publication date: March 2016

Historical context

The Denon pavilion is part of the improvements carried out at the Louvre during the reign of Napoleon III. The glasses that Charles-Louis Müller made here illustrate the patronage of French sovereigns.

Image Analysis

At the center of the composition, Napoleon spreads his arms in a gesture of presentation of the artists with whom he is surrounded. At the back of the stage, the famous monuments of his reign. The silhouette of the sovereign stands out against the triumphal arch of the Carrousel (1806), crowned by the horses abducted by Bonaparte from St. Mark's Basilica in Venice. On either side of the arch, the restoration of the Saint-Denis abbey by François Debret and the Vendôme column. On the right, the facade of the National Assembly. Works of art dot the painting. On the left, the Voltaire assis by Jean-Antoine Houdon, produced under the Ancien Régime; loot seized for the Napoleon museum: the Virgin by Raphaël, the Torso from the Belvedere. Napoleon is also surrounded by famous people of his time. Writers: Beaumarchais, Châteaubriand; architects: Fontaine, Lamande; painters ; David, Guérin.

Interpretation

The four glasses in the Denon salon are represented as feigned tapestries. They represent royal or imperial patronage to the fine arts. Napoleon I, like other sovereigns, was surrounded by writers and artists. The Emperor's taste for Greco-Roman classicism is manifested in a good number of architectures built during his reign: the triumphal arches of the Carrousel (Percier and Fontaine) and of the Star (Chalgrin), the Vendôme column, imitated of Trajan, the temple of Glory (the Madeleine) built by Vignon. Passionately attached to the greatness of ancient Rome, Napoleon largely exploited its symbols and decor to found his authority and legitimacy. The neoclassical style, after having been a reaction to excess rocailles at the end of the 18th century, became the vector of moral values ​​resulting from the Enlightenment and taken over by the Empire.

  • architecture
  • Louvre
  • Museum
  • Bonaparte (Napoleon)
  • Napoleon III
  • Paris
  • patrimony
  • Alive Denon (Dominica)
  • St. Mark's horses

Bibliography

Nancy DAVENPORT "Charles-Louis Müller and his painted decorations of the Louvre", in Bulletin of the Society for the History of French Art 1986, p.145-163.Christiane AULANIER History of the Louvre Palace and Museum.The new Louvre of Napoleon III Paris, 1953.

To cite this article

Nathalie de LA PERRIÈRE-ALFSEN, "Napoleon and the arts"


Video: Napoleon III-The Splendor of Napoleon Bonapartes Apartment in Louvre, Paris

Napoleon und die Künste

Napoleon und die Künste

  • Denon Wohnzimmerdecke - Übersicht.

    MULLER Charles-Louis (1815 - 1892)

  • Denon Wohnzimmerdecke - Detail.

    MULLER Charles-Louis (1815 - 1892)

Schließen

Titel: Denon Wohnzimmerdecke - Übersicht.

Autor: MULLER Charles-Louis (1815 - 1892)

Erstellungsdatum : 1864

Datum angezeigt:

Maße: Höhe 0 - Breite 0

Technik und andere Indikationen: Ölgemälde

Speicherort: Website des Louvre-Museums (Paris)

Kontakt Copyright: © Foto RMN-Grand Palaissite Web

Bildreferenz: 77DN2802

Denon Wohnzimmerdecke - Übersicht.

© Foto RMN-Grand Palais

Denon Wohnzimmerdecke - Detail.

© Foto RMN-Grand Palais

Erscheinungsdatum: März 2016

Historischer Zusammenhang

Der Denon-Pavillon ist Teil der Verbesserungen, die während der Regierungszeit Napoleons III. Im Louvre durchgeführt wurden. Die Brille, die Charles-Louis Müller dort herstellte, zeigt die Schirmherrschaft der französischen Herrscher.

Bildanalyse

Im Zentrum der Komposition breitet Napoleon seine Arme aus, um die Künstler darzustellen, mit denen er umgeben ist. Im hinteren Teil der Bühne die berühmten Denkmäler seiner Regierungszeit. Die Silhouette des Souveräns hebt sich vom Triumphbogen des Karussells (1806) ab, der von den Pferden gekrönt wird, die Bonaparte aus dem Markusdom in Venedig entführt hat. Zu beiden Seiten des Bogens die Restaurierung der Abtei Saint-Denis durch François Debret und die Vendôme-Säule. Rechts die Fassade der Nationalversammlung. Kunstwerke prägen das Gemälde. Links die Voltaire Assis von Jean-Antoine Houdon, produziert unter dem Ancien Régime; Beute für das Napoleon Museum beschlagnahmt: die Jungfrau von Raphaël, dem Torso vom Belvedere. Napoleon ist auch von berühmten Persönlichkeiten seiner Zeit umgeben. Autoren: Beaumarchais, Châteaubriand; Architekten: Fontaine, Lamande; Maler; David, Guérin.

Interpretation

Die vier Gläser im Denon-Salon werden als vorgetäuschte Wandteppiche dargestellt. Sie repräsentieren die königliche oder kaiserliche Schirmherrschaft für die schönen Künste. Napoleon I. war wie andere Herrscher von Schriftstellern und Künstlern umgeben. Der Geschmack des Kaisers für den griechisch-römischen Klassizismus manifestiert sich in einer Reihe von Architekturen, die während seiner Regierungszeit errichtet wurden: die Triumphbögen des Karussells (Percier und Fontaine) und des Sterns (Chalgrin), der nachgeahmten Vendôme-Säule von Trajan, dem von Vignon errichteten Tempel der Herrlichkeit (der Magdalena). Napoleon war leidenschaftlich an die Größe des alten Roms gebunden und verwendete seine Symbole und sein Dekor weitgehend, um seine Autorität und Legitimität zu begründen. Der neoklassizistische Stil wurde, nachdem er Ende des 18. Jahrhunderts auf übermäßige Rocailles reagiert hatte, zum Vektor moralischer Werte, die aus der Aufklärung resultierten und vom Imperium übernommen wurden.

  • die Architektur
  • Louvre
  • Museum
  • Bonaparte (Napoleon)
  • Napoleon III
  • Paris
  • Patrimonium
  • Lebendiger Denon (Dominica)
  • St. Marks Pferde

Literaturverzeichnis

Nancy DAVENPORT "Charles-Louis Müller und seine gemalten Dekorationen des Louvre", in Bulletin der Gesellschaft für Geschichte der französischen Kunst 1986, S.145-163.Christiane AULANIER Geschichte des Louvre-Palastes und -Museums. Der neue Louvre von Napoleon III Paris, 1953.

Um diesen Artikel zu zitieren

Nathalie de LA PERRIÈRE-ALFSEN, "Napoleon und die Künste"


Video: Frankreich: Napoleons Waterloo-Hut versteigert