The birth of the tenor myth

The birth of the tenor myth


We are searching data for your request:

Forums and discussions:
Manuals and reference books:
Data from registers:
Wait the end of the search in all databases.
Upon completion, a link will appear to access the found materials.

To close

Title: Panthéon Charivarique: Gilbert-Louis Duprez.

Author : BENJAMIN (-)

Creation date : 1838

Date shown: 1838

Dimensions: Height 0 - Width 0

Technique and other indications: Charivari Journal page

Storage place: National Library of France (Paris) website

Contact copyright: © Photo National Library of France

Picture reference: Music Prints IFN-07720696 img 17

Panthéon Charivarique: Gilbert-Louis Duprez.

© Photo National Library of France

Publication date: December 2005

Historical context

The first half of the 19th century saw a real enthusiasm for music in general and the art of singing in particular. The fashion of musical entertainment is no longer just for an elite society, but is a fact of the time, as illustrated by this engraving published in the newspaper The Charivari. In this context, the solo singers acquire an incomparable prestige, at a period of golden age for the performers.

Image Analysis

This caricature by Gilbert-Louis Duprez, the most famous tenor of the 19th century, illustrates a musical event that had an extraordinary impact at the time. It evokes the representation of the famous Guillaume Tell de Rossini which was performed on April 17, 1837 and saw Duprez's opera debut as Arnold. Welcomed with enthusiasm and considered, when it premiered on August 3, 1829, as the first romantic opera on the French scene, the work was nevertheless on the decline, performed less and less and more and more mutilated. But she was going to have a new career thanks to Duprez and his famous "ut breast ", a real revolution in the art of singing. Indeed, wanting to characterize the emotional peak of his musical phrase, Duprez launched this sound with an expressive power hitherto unheard of and, accompanying it with extravagant body language, had an immense effect on the audience. The singer seems seized on the spot, in the middle of his air of bravery, one hand on his heart, the other thrown in a declamatory gesture. The quatrain that illustrates the image pays homage to the performer: "Duprez opens for you here the gulf from which springs, a torrent of harmony flowing in great waves. The mouth in him is not what we had [sic] fact huge, if the pencil could also paint talent. “Along with this praise, the artist wanted to convey with humor all the intensity of the physical effort provided by the singer to produce this note: his chest is bulging, his eyes wide open, his gaping mouth, the whole expressing a forced emission.

Interpretation

This image is very representative of the values ​​of its time. It bears witness to all the debate around romantic expressiveness and illustrates the passionate excesses of artists, ready to make all possible technical errors for aesthetic purposes. Virtuoso singing is then at its peak and vocal prodigy is the rule. Theut chest becomes the emblem of the heroic tenor. It is no longer a question of emitting that high-pitched note in the head voice, as was customary before, but of artificially producing a full and powerful sound which requires from the singer an extremely violent effort and which Rossini described as " capon slaughtered ”. The composer had also initially intended this role for Adolphe Nourrit, tenor with a clear and extended voice who, in the tradition of the French haute-contre a la française inherited from the 18th century, practiced a soft and light song. Duprez on the contrary imposed that evening a broad and heroic song, based on vehemence and volume, and thus represents the first modern tenor. Inventor of theut chest and a new expressive style, Duprez fully embodies the values ​​of romanticism from a musical point of view. From that day on, the tenor of poetic grace, à la Nourrit, was banned from the Grand Opera, and Duprez became the ideal interpreter of romanticism. Thanks to him, Guillaume Tell remained in the repertoire for a long time. If he was not the first to use this technique, he had the opportunity to use it in a favorable historical context, at a time when the theatrical world was looking for ever more powerful vocal sounds, and an ever more intense expressive string. . The myth of the tenor was born.

  • caricature
  • music
  • opera
  • Rossini (Gioacchino)
  • stardom

Bibliography

Damien COLAS, Rossini, the opera of light, Paris, Gallimard, coll. "Discoveries", 1992. Joël-Marie FAUQUET (dir.), Dictionary of music in France in the 19th century, Paris, Fayard, 2003.

To cite this article

Catherine AUTHIER, "The birth of the tenor myth"


Video: Apollo and Artemis: The Birth of the Twins Gods - Greek Mythology Stories - See U in History

Die Geburt des Tenor-Mythos

Die Geburt des Tenor-Mythos

Schließen

Titel: Panthéon Charivarique: Gilbert-Louis Duprez.

Autor: BENJAMIN (-)

Erstellungsdatum : 1838

Datum angezeigt: 1838

Maße: Höhe 0 - Breite 0

Technik und andere Indikationen: Charivari Journal Seite

Speicherort: Website der Nationalbibliothek von Frankreich (Paris)

Kontakt Copyright: © Foto Nationalbibliothek von Frankreich

Bildreferenz: Musikdrucke IFN-07720696 img 17

Panthéon Charivarique: Gilbert-Louis Duprez.

© Foto Nationalbibliothek von Frankreich

Erscheinungsdatum: Dezember 2005

Historischer Zusammenhang

In der ersten Hälfte des 19. Jahrhunderts gab es eine echte Begeisterung für Musik im Allgemeinen und die Kunst des Singens im Besonderen. Die Mode der musikalischen Unterhaltung ist nicht mehr nur für eine Elite-Gesellschaft, sondern eine Tatsache der Zeit, wie dieser in der Zeitung veröffentlichte Stich zeigt Der Charivari. In diesem Rahmen erwerben Solosänger in einer Zeit des goldenen Zeitalters für Interpreten ein unvergleichliches Prestige.

Bildanalyse

Diese Karikatur von Gilbert-Louis Duprez, dem berühmtesten Tenor des 19. Jahrhunderts, zeigt ein musikalisches Ereignis, das zu dieser Zeit einen außerordentlichen Einfluss hatte. Es erinnert an die Darstellung des Berühmten Guillaume Tell de Rossini, der am 17. April 1837 aufgeführt wurde und Duprez 'Operndebüt als Arnold sah. Mit Begeisterung aufgenommen und als erste romantische Oper der französischen Szene am 3. August 1829 uraufgeführt, war das Werk dennoch rückläufig, immer weniger aufgeführt und immer verstümmelter. Aber dank Duprez und seiner berühmten "ut Brust ", eine echte Revolution in der Kunst des Singens. In der Tat, um den emotionalen Höhepunkt seiner musikalischen Phrase zu charakterisieren, startete Duprez diesen Sound mit einer bisher unbekannten Ausdruckskraft und hatte, begleitet von extravaganten Gesten, eine immense Wirkung auf das Publikum. Der Sänger scheint an Ort und Stelle ergriffen zu sein, inmitten seiner tapferen Luft, eine Hand auf seinem Herzen, die andere in einer deklamatorischen Geste. Der Quatrain, der das Bild illustriert, ist eine Hommage an den Darsteller: "Duprez öffnet Ihnen hier den Abgrund, aus dem entspringt, ein Strom von Harmonie, der in großen Wellen fließt. Der Mund in ihm ist nicht das, was wir hatten [sic] ist riesig, wenn der Bleistift auch Talent malen könnte. „Zusammen mit diesem Lob wollte der Künstler mit Humor die ganze Intensität der körperlichen Anstrengung vermitteln, die der Sänger unternimmt, um diese Note zu produzieren: Seine Brust ist prall, seine Augen weit geöffnet, sein klaffender Mund, der ganze Ausdruck eine erzwungene Emission.

Interpretation

Dieses Bild ist sehr repräsentativ für die Werte seiner Zeit. Es zeugt von der Debatte um romantische Ausdruckskraft und zeigt die leidenschaftlichen Exzesse von Künstlern, die bereit sind, alle möglichen technischen Fehler für ästhetische Zwecke zu machen. Der virtuose Gesang ist dann auf dem Höhepunkt und das Wunder der Stimme ist die Regel. Dasut Brust wird zum Wahrzeichen des heroischen Tenors. Es geht nicht mehr darum, diese hohe Note in der Kopfstimme abzugeben, wie es früher üblich war, sondern künstlich einen vollen und kraftvollen Klang zu erzeugen, der vom Sänger eine äußerst gewalttätige Anstrengung erfordert und die Rossini als " Kapaun geschlachtet “. Der Komponist hatte diese Rolle ursprünglich auch für Adolphe Nourrit vorgesehen, einen Tenor mit klarer und ausgedehnter Stimme, der in der Tradition des französischen Haute Contre im 18. Jahrhundert ein weiches und leichtes Lied übte. Duprez hat an diesem Abend im Gegenteil ein breites und heldenhaftes Lied auferlegt, das auf Vehemenz und Lautstärke basiert und somit den ersten modernen Tenor darstellt. Erfinder derut Brust und ein neuer Ausdrucksstil verkörpert Duprez die Werte der Romantik aus musikalischer Sicht. Von diesem Tag an wurde der Tenor der poetischen Gnade à la Nourrit aus der Grand Opera verbannt, und Duprez wurde zum idealen Interpret der Romantik. Dank ihm, Guillaume Tell blieb lange im Repertoire. Wenn er nicht der erste war, der diese Technik verwendete, hatte er die Gelegenheit, sie in einem günstigen historischen Kontext anzuwenden, zu einer Zeit, als die Theaterwelt nach immer kraftvolleren Vokaltönen und einer immer intensiveren Ausdruckssaite suchte. . Der Mythos des Tenors wurde geboren.

  • Karikatur
  • Musik-
  • Oper
  • Rossini (Gioacchino)
  • Ruhm

Literaturverzeichnis

Damien COLAS, Rossini, die Oper des Lichts, Paris, Gallimard, umg. "Discoveries", 1992. Joël-Marie FAUQUET (dir.), Musikwörterbuch in Frankreich im 19. Jahrhundert, Paris, Fayard, 2003.

Um diesen Artikel zu zitieren

Catherine AUTHIER, "Die Geburt des Tenor-Mythos"


Video: Deut: Rav Michael Laitman - Eröffnungsrede zum Sohar Kongress 2010 u0026 In einem Herzen Song