The birth of children's editions: the example of Jules Hetzel

The birth of children's editions: the example of Jules Hetzel


We are searching data for your request:

Forums and discussions:
Manuals and reference books:
Data from registers:
Wait the end of the search in all databases.
Upon completion, a link will appear to access the found materials.

Home ›Studies› The birth of children's editions: the example of Jules Hetzel

To close

Title: Jules Hetzel.

Author : HUGO Charles (1826 - 1871)

Date shown:

Dimensions: Height 95 - Width 73

Technique and other indications: Salted paper proof circa 1852/1853.

Storage location: Orsay Museum website

Contact copyright: © Photo RMN-Grand Palais - H. Lewandowskisite web

Picture reference: 98-001971 / Pho1986-123-138

© Photo RMN-Grand Palais - H. Lewandowski

Publication date: July 2007

Historical context

The situation of children's books at the beginning of the 19th centurye

We are witnessing the XIXe century, to the development of primary education, thanks to the Guizot law of 1833 and then above all to the Jules Ferry laws in the 1880s. While education is still largely done at home, primary school is developing.
This development fosters the growth of an important new readership, that of children, and will not be without consequences for literature and publishing. This last domain will make the fortune of Hachette editions.
At first, if we recognize the specific needs of the child, we try above all to impose a conventional moral code on him, through didactic literature that emphasizes gentleness towards animals, courage, honesty. , fidelity and especially family solidarity. The works are grouped into different categories according to their content and whether they are illustrated or not: moral works with illustrated frontispieces, illustrated alphabet books, images of Epinal or abstracts, agendas, atlases and encyclopedia of knowledge. Children's books also benefit from the development of illustrative techniques.
But illustrated works are often not very educational, educational works remain poor in illustrations and illustrated and educational works, with rare exceptions, are rarely entertaining. Among the men who will renew the children's book is Jules Hetzel.

Image Analysis

Jules Hetzel, the Hugo family and photography

Jules Hetzel truly binds with Victor Hugo in 1851, during their exile in Brussels. After the reestablishment of the Empire following the coup d'etat of December 2, 1851, the two men were in fact wanted for their Republican positions at the time of the events. A long friendship and a fruitful collaboration began, as Hetzel edited several of the writer's works (The punishments, Contemplations), also pushing him to write a text for children.
Charles Hugo, one of the poet's sons, follows in his father's footsteps, also embracing the republican cause and writing. Jules Hetzel also published in 1856 his tale The pig of Saint-Antoine. In 1852, Charles embarked with his father for Jersey, where the family lived after his exile. It is there that Victor Hugo encouraged his sons and Auguste Vaquerie to open in their house, a daguerreotype workshop, then a photography on paper, for which one can rightly speak of romantic photography, in particular by virtue of the attention paid to the rendering of the inner world of the portraiture. This is where this portrait of the publisher will be taken, in those same years.
Hetzel appears in it full-length, three-quarter length, leaning on his cane, his gaze out of focus, absorbed in his thoughts. It stands out against a crumpled sheet, a particularly sober setting for the time. By its sobriety, a use of light highlighting the contrasts of the face, the natural dimension of the pose and the intimate expression of Hetzel, this photograph is reminiscent of the portraits made by Nadar at the same time, when he devoted himself to the “pantheon of contemporary artists and writers”.

Interpretation

Hetzel’s contribution to children's literature

First committed to the bookseller Paulin, Jules Hetzel was entrusted in 1837 with responsibility for the first 6 volumes of the Children's book, a collection of traditional tales, the first illustrated book printed with a mechanical press. From that moment, Hetzel was convinced of the importance of the childish clientele, and will not stop devoting books and magazines to it. He is thus the first to have carried out a real editorial policy in the field of children's literature.
In the first half of the XIXe, the texts recommended for the education of children are still those of the authors of the XVIIe and XVIIIe centuries. The Fables de La Fontaine were, for example, at the top of sales during this period. One of Hetzel's ambitions will therefore be to entrust the writing of texts for children to great contemporary authors, in order to constitute quality literature. He thus called upon George Sand, Alexandre Dumas, Balzac or Victor Hugo, and wrote himself under the pseudonym of P. J. Stahl.
Wishing to produce works that are both entertaining and instructive, he pays particular attention to illustration, again calling on the great names of his time such as Tony Johannot or Gustave Doré.
Thanks to him, as well as to Curmer and Hachette, the functions of publisher and bookseller became clearer. Among his main publications for children, we can cite the Extraordinary trips by Jules Verne, the Tales by Perrault illustrated by Doré, or the review The education and recreation store, carrier of secular and republican values.

  • childhood
  • literature
  • portrait
  • republicans
  • Hugo (Victor)
  • Balzac (Honoré de)
  • Dumas (Alexandre)
  • education
  • tale (story)
  • Fountain
  • Nadar (Tournachon Gaspard-Félix, aka)
  • Perrault (Charles)
  • Sand (George)
  • Verne (Jules)

Bibliography

Guglielmo CAVALLO and Roger CHARTIER (dir.), History of reading in the Western world, Paris, Seuil, 2001. Jean-Paul GOURÉVITCH, Hetzel, The good genius of books, Paris, Editions du Rocher, 2005.

To cite this article

Cécile PICHON-BONIN, "The birth of children's editions: the example of Jules Hetzel"


Video: Distance Learning Virtual Lesson Tuesday May 19, 2020

Die Geburt der Kinderausgaben: das Beispiel von Jules Hetzel

Die Geburt der Kinderausgaben: das Beispiel von Jules Hetzel

Startseite ›Studien› Die Geburt der Kinderausgaben: das Beispiel von Jules Hetzel

Schließen

Titel: Jules Hetzel.

Autor: HUGO Charles (1826 - 1871)

Datum angezeigt:

Maße: Höhe 95 - Breite 73

Technik und andere Indikationen: Gesalzenes Papier Proof um 1852/1853.

Speicherort: Orsay Museum Website

Kontakt Copyright: © Foto RMN-Grand Palais - H. Lewandowskisite Web

Bildreferenz: 98-001971 / Pho1986-123-138

© Foto RMN-Grand Palais - H. Lewandowski

Erscheinungsdatum: Juli 2007

Historischer Zusammenhang

Die Situation der Kinderbücher zu Beginn des 19. Jahrhundertse

Wir sind Zeugen des XIXe Jahrhundert, zur Entwicklung der Grundschulbildung, dank des Guizot-Gesetzes von 1833 und vor allem dank der Jules-Ferry-Gesetze in den 1880er Jahren. Während die Ausbildung noch weitgehend zu Hause erfolgt, entwickelt sich die Grundschule weiter.
Diese Entwicklung fördert das Wachstum einer wichtigen neuen Leserschaft, der Kinder, und wird nicht ohne Konsequenzen für Literatur und Verlagswesen bleiben. Dieser letzte Bereich wird das Glück der Hachette-Ausgaben machen.
Wenn wir die spezifischen Bedürfnisse des Kindes erkennen, versuchen wir zunächst vor allem, ihm durch didaktische Literatur einen konventionellen Moralkodex aufzuzwingen, der die Sanftheit gegenüber Tieren, Mut und Ehrlichkeit betont. , Treue und vor allem familiäre Solidarität. Die Werke werden je nach Inhalt und Illustration in verschiedene Kategorien eingeteilt: moralische Werke mit illustrierten Titelbildern, illustrierten Alphabetbüchern, Bildern von Epinal oder Abstracts, Agenden, Atlanten und Enzyklopädien des Wissens. Kinderbücher profitieren auch von der Entwicklung illustrativer Techniken.
Aber illustrierte Werke sind oft nicht sehr lehrreich, pädagogische Werke sind nach wie vor schlecht illustriert und illustrierte und pädagogische Werke sind mit seltenen Ausnahmen selten unterhaltsam. Zu den Männern, die das Kinderbuch erneuern werden, gehört Jules Hetzel.

Bildanalyse

Jules Hetzel, die Familie Hugo und Fotografie

Jules Hetzel verbindet sich 1851 während seines Exils in Brüssel wirklich mit Victor Hugo. Nach der Wiederherstellung des Imperiums nach dem Staatsstreich vom 2. Dezember 1851 wurden die beiden Männer zum Zeitpunkt der Ereignisse tatsächlich für ihre republikanischen Positionen gesucht. Eine lange Freundschaft und eine fruchtbare Zusammenarbeit begannen, als Hetzel mehrere Werke des Schriftstellers herausgab (Die Strafen, Überlegungen) und drängte ihn auch, einen Text für Kinder zu schreiben.
Charles Hugo, einer der Söhne des Dichters, tritt in die Fußstapfen seines Vaters und setzt sich auch für die republikanische Sache und das Schreiben ein. Jules Hetzel veröffentlichte 1856 auch seine Geschichte Das Schwein von Saint-Antoine. 1852 begab sich Charles mit seinem Vater nach Jersey, wo die Familie nach seinem Exil lebte. Dort ermutigte Victor Hugo seine Söhne und Auguste Vaquerie, in ihrem Haus einen Daguerreotypie-Workshop zu eröffnen, dann einen Papierfotografie-Workshop, für den man zu Recht von romantischer Fotografie sprechen kann, insbesondere aufgrund der Aufmerksamkeit, die ihm geschenkt wurde zur Wiedergabe der inneren Welt der Porträtmalerei. Hier wird in den gleichen Jahren dieses Porträt des Verlags aufgenommen.
Hetzel erscheint in voller Länge, dreiviertel Länge, stützt sich auf seinen Stock, sein Blick ist unscharf und in seinen Gedanken versunken. Es hebt sich von einem zerknitterten Blatt ab, eine für die damalige Zeit besonders nüchterne Umgebung. Durch seine Nüchternheit, die Verwendung von Licht, das die Kontraste des Gesichts, die natürliche Dimension der Pose und den intimen Ausdruck von Hetzel hervorhebt, erinnert dieses Foto an die Porträts, die Nadar gleichzeitig gemacht hat. wenn er sich dem „Pantheon zeitgenössischer Künstler und Schriftsteller“ widmet.

Interpretation

Hetzels Beitrag zur Kinderliteratur

Jules Hetzel, der zunächst dem Buchhändler Paulin verpflichtet war, wurde 1837 mit der Verantwortung für die ersten 6 Bände des Buches beauftragt Kinderbuch, eine Sammlung traditioneller Geschichten, das erste illustrierte Buch, das mit einer mechanischen Presse gedruckt wurde. Von diesem Moment an war Hetzel von der Bedeutung der kindlichen Klientel überzeugt und wird nicht aufhören, ihr Bücher und Zeitschriften zu widmen. Er ist damit der erste, der eine echte redaktionelle Politik im Bereich der Kinderliteratur betrieben hat.
In der ersten Hälfte des XIXeDie für die Erziehung von Kindern empfohlenen Texte sind immer noch die der Autoren des XVIIe und XVIIIe Jahrhunderte. Das Fabeln de La Fontaine beispielsweise war in diesem Zeitraum an der Spitze des Umsatzes. Ein Ziel von Hetzel wird es daher sein, das Schreiben von Texten für Kinder großen zeitgenössischen Autoren anzuvertrauen, um eine hochwertige Literatur zu bilden. So rief er George Sand, Alexandre Dumas, Balzac oder Victor Hugo an und schrieb sich unter dem Pseudonym P. J. Stahl.
Um unterhaltsame und lehrreiche Werke zu produzieren, legt er besonderes Augenmerk auf die Illustration und greift erneut auf die großen Namen seiner Zeit wie Tony Johannot oder Gustave Doré zurück.
Dank ihm sowie Curmer und Hachette wurden die Funktionen von Verlag und Buchhändler klarer. Unter seinen Hauptpublikationen für Kinder können wir die zitieren Außergewöhnliche Reisen von Jules Verne, dem Erzählungen von Perrault illustriert von Doré oder die Rezension Der Bildungs- und ErholungsladenTräger weltlicher und republikanischer Werte.

  • Kindheit
  • Literatur
  • Porträt
  • Republikaner
  • Hugo (Victor)
  • Balzac (Honoré de)
  • Dumas (Alexandre)
  • Bildung
  • Geschichte (Geschichte)
  • Brunnen
  • Nadar (Tournachon Gaspard-Félix, alias)
  • Perrault (Charles)
  • Sand (George)
  • Verne (Jules)

Literaturverzeichnis

Guglielmo CAVALLO und Roger CHARTIER (Regie), Geschichte des Lesens in der westlichen Welt, Paris, Seuil, 2001. Jean-Paul GOURÉVITCH, Hetzel, Das gute Genie der Bücher, Paris, Editions du Rocher, 2005.

Um diesen Artikel zu zitieren

Cécile PICHON-BONIN, "Die Geburt der Kinderausgaben: das Beispiel von Jules Hetzel"


Video: KiKa erklärt wie Kinder entstehen Wohin will Willi