The birth of mountaineering

The birth of mountaineering


We are searching data for your request:

Forums and discussions:
Manuals and reference books:
Data from registers:
Wait the end of the search in all databases.
Upon completion, a link will appear to access the found materials.

  • Landscape of Susten in Switzerland.

    LEPRINCE Xavier (1799 - 1826)

  • Passage of Mont Saint-Bernard.

    GUERARD

To close

Title: Landscape of Susten in Switzerland.

Author : LEPRINCE Xavier (1799 - 1826)

Creation date : 1824

Date shown:

Dimensions: Height 81.5 - Width 105

Technique and other indications: Oil painting on canvas

Storage location: Decorative Arts Museum website

Contact copyright: © Photo RMN-Grand Palais - H. Lewandowskisite web

Picture reference: 95DE13220 / Inv 7333

Landscape of Susten in Switzerland.

© Photo RMN-Grand Palais - H. Lewandowski

To close

Title: Passage of Mont Saint-Bernard.

Author : GUERARD (-)

Creation date : 1830

Date shown:

Dimensions: Height 0 - Width 0

Technique and other indications: Series: "The tourists"

Storage location: National museums and domain of Compiègne website

Contact copyright: © Photo RMN-Grand Palais - D. Arnaudet

Picture reference: 97CE1601 / CMV. 1885

Passage of Mont Saint-Bernard.

© Photo RMN-Grand Palais - D. Arnaudet

Publication date: March 2016

Historical context

What is the point of the mountains, a non-agricultural land with such a harsh climate?

For a long time, the summits remain a forbidden territory, where beliefs locate the home of the dragons and the devil. In the XVIIIe century, the mountain becomes, like the ocean, a “site of experimentation and definition of a new aesthetic-moral category” (T. Dufrêne, “The“ mountain of glass ”and the artistic challenges of the crystal theme” , in Grenoble Museum, The feeling of the mountain, Glénat, RMN, 1998, p. 85). The discovery of the ocean is concomitant (see A. Corbin, The Territory of the Void. The West and the longing for the shore, Flammarion, 1990).

Mont Blanc was conquered in 1786 by two Chamoniards, Paccard and Balmat; their feat was repeated the following year by the Genevois De Saussure. This double ascent appears to be the "founding event" in the history of mountaineering (P. Joutard, The invention of Mont Blanc, Archives collection, Gallimard-Juillard, 1986, p. 198). In 1802, the German naturalist Humboldt tried (in vain) to climb the Chimborazo, in the Andes, which rises to more than 6,200 m.

The 1820s were a pivotal moment in the history of mountaineering. Expeditions to assault Mont Blanc are increasing, especially because of the British (like the fellows of Cambridge); in the Chamonix region, the Compagnie des guides was founded in 1821-1823, the first step towards professionalization; Pelvoux was conquered a few years later, in 1835.

Image Analysis

It is precisely from this period that the paintings shown here date. Leprince's genre scenes (1799-1826) were greatly appreciated by the elites of the Restoration.

The Susten landscape in Switzerland, acquired by Charles X in 1826, depicts three tourists and their guide on an excursion in the Susten Pass, at an altitude of over 2,000 meters, not far from the Aar valley (canton of Uri). One scans the sky with perplexity, the other flatters the goats, the third draws under the eyes of the guide who is watching him, a pipe in his mouth. The careful craftsmanship of the painting does not exclude a play of perspective underlined by the contrast of colors, the pinkish brown hues of the rocks and the animals, on the one hand, and the whiteness of the snow, the peaks and the sky, on the other.

If Leprince's canvas testifies both to the beauties of the mountain and to the realities of early mountaineering, as Turner and the German romantics did in some respects in the years 1800-1820, Guérard's lithography somewhat emphasizes little ironic about its dangers.

The Passage of Mont Saint-Bernard, executed around 1830, belongs to the series "The Tourists", which includes many other episodes. Here, the spectator witnesses the rout of an expedition of "climbers" surprised by the difficulty of their enterprise. In a rather comical mess, they try to get out of the bad situation where they fell.

The realistic account of Leprince and the caricature of Guérard do not have the same tone; but all these elegantly dressed bourgeois, united by a common taste for adventure, take part in expeditions that are all the more picturesque as one detects a certain amateurism.

Interpretation

Born at the beginning of the XIXe century, mountain tourism is gradually popularizing. The dioramas of Chamonix, by Albert Smith, put the mountain in fashion in the 1850s. At the start of the Third Republic, the modernization of hotels, the development of refuges, the marking of paths, the creation of highlighting the French Alps. At the same time, we can see the creation of the French Alpine Club (1874), the Société des Touristes du Dauphiné (1875) and, in the United Kingdom, the Alpine Club (1863).

These two paintings reflect the emergence of a leisure activity, invented by the British urban bourgeoisie and a source of new emotions (even if they are initially hidden under scientific pretexts). This hobby, like the others, fits into the new definition of the uses of time, "free time" or "time for oneself".

The wise equipped of some and the discomfiture of others remind us of the importance of the mountain guide. Modern mountaineering, in fact, is based on the guide-client couple, "the first, an indigenous person embodying physical strength, natural knowledge and the popular world, the second, foreign, learned science and urban notability" (P . Joutard, "From belief to imagination", in Regional ethnology documents, flight. 9, “High mountain imaginaries”, Center alpin et rhodanien d’ethnologie, Glénat, 1987, p. 9).

  • mountaineering
  • bourgeoisie
  • Hobbies
  • health
  • Mountain
  • sport

Bibliography

COLLECTIVE, “The high mountain. Vision and representations ”, Regional journal of ethnology, Grenoble, 1988.

COLLECTIVE, Regional ethnology documents, flight. 9, "Imaginaries of the High Mountain", Center alpin et rhodanien d’ethnologie, Glénat, 1987.

Claire-Éliane ENGEL, History of mountaineering from the origins to the present day, “Je sers” editions, 1950.

Philippe JOUTARD, The Invention of Mont Blanc, Archives collection, Gallimard-Juillard, 1986.

GRENOBLE MUSEUM, The feeling of the mountain, Glénat, NMR, 1998.

Paul VEYNE, "Alpinism: an invention of the bourgeoisie", The story, no 11, 1979, p. 41-49.

To cite this article

Ivan JABLONKA, "The birth of mountaineering"


Video: Everest Gear Check 3-23-15

Die Geburt des Bergsteigens

Die Geburt des Bergsteigens

  • Landschaft von Susten in der Schweiz.

    LEPRINCE Xavier (1799 - 1826)

  • Passage des Mont Saint-Bernard.

    GUERARD

Schließen

Titel: Landschaft von Susten in der Schweiz.

Autor: LEPRINCE Xavier (1799 - 1826)

Erstellungsdatum : 1824

Datum angezeigt:

Maße: Höhe 81,5 - Breite 105

Technik und andere Indikationen: Ölgemälde auf Leinwand

Speicherort: Website des Museums für dekorative Kunst

Kontakt Copyright: © Foto RMN-Grand Palais - H. Lewandowskisite Web

Bildreferenz: 95DE13220 / Inv 7333

Landschaft von Susten in der Schweiz.

© Foto RMN-Grand Palais - H. Lewandowski

Schließen

Titel: Passage des Mont Saint-Bernard.

Autor: WÄCHTER (-)

Erstellungsdatum : 1830

Datum angezeigt:

Maße: Höhe 0 - Breite 0

Technik und andere Indikationen: Serie: "Die Touristen"

Speicherort: Nationalmuseen und Domain der Compiègne-Website

Kontakt Copyright: © Foto RMN-Grand Palais - D. Arnaudet

Bildreferenz: 97CE1601 / CMV. 1885

Passage des Mont Saint-Bernard.

© Foto RMN-Grand Palais - D. Arnaudet

Erscheinungsdatum: März 2016

Historischer Zusammenhang

Was ist der Sinn der Berge, eines nichtlandwirtschaftlichen Landes mit einem so rauen Klima?

Die Gipfel bleiben lange Zeit ein verbotenes Gebiet, in dem der Glaube die Heimat der Drachen und des Teufels lokalisiert. Im XVIIIe Jahrhundert wird der Berg wie der Ozean zum „Ort des Experimentierens und der Definition einer neuen ästhetisch-moralischen Kategorie“ (T. Dufrêne, „Der„ Berg aus Glas “und die künstlerischen Herausforderungen des Kristallthemas“). , im Grenoble Museum, Das Gefühl des Berges, Glénat, RMN, 1998, p. 85). Die Entdeckung des Ozeans geht einher (siehe A. Corbin, Das Territorium der Leere. Der Westen und die Sehnsucht nach dem UferFlammarion, 1990).

Mont Blanc wurde 1786 von zwei Chamoniards, Paccard und Balmat, erobert; Ihre Leistung wurde im folgenden Jahr von Genevois De Saussure wiederholt. Dieser doppelte Aufstieg scheint das "Gründungsereignis" in der Geschichte des Bergsteigens zu sein (P. Joutard, Die Erfindung des Mont Blanc, Archivsammlung, Gallimard-Juillard, 1986, p. 198). 1802 versuchte der deutsche Naturforscher Humboldt (vergeblich), den Chimborazo in den Anden zu besteigen, der sich auf über 6.200 m erhebt.

Die 1820er Jahre waren ein Schlüsselmoment in der Geschichte des Bergsteigens. Die Expeditionen zum Angriff auf den Mont Blanc nehmen zu, insbesondere wegen der Briten (wie der Leute von Cambridge); In der Region Chamonix wurde zwischen 1821 und 1823 die Compagnie des Guides gegründet, der erste Schritt zur Professionalisierung. Pelvoux wurde einige Jahre später, im Jahre 1835, erobert.

Bildanalyse

Genau aus dieser Zeit stammen die hier gezeigten Gemälde. Leprince's Genreszenen (1799-1826) wurden von den Eliten der Restauration sehr geschätzt.

Das Susten Landschaft in der Schweiz, 1826 von Karl X. erworben, zeigt drei Touristen und ihren Führer auf einem Ausflug auf dem Sustenpass in über 2.000 Metern Höhe unweit des Aartals (Kanton Uri). Der eine scannt ratlos den Himmel, der andere schmeichelt den Ziegen, der dritte zieht unter den Augen des Führers, der ihn beobachtet, eine Pfeife im Mund. Die sorgfältige Verarbeitung des Gemäldes schließt ein Perspektivenspiel nicht aus, das durch den Kontrast der Farben, die rosa-braunen Farbtöne der Felsen und der Tiere einerseits und das Weiß des Schnees, der Gipfel und des Himmels andererseits unterstrichen wird.

Wenn Leprince 'Leinwand sowohl von den Schönheiten des Berges als auch von den Realitäten des frühen Bergsteigens zeugt, wie es Turner und die deutschen Romantiker in den Jahren 1800-1820 in gewisser Hinsicht getan haben, betont Guérards Lithographie etwas wenig ironisch über seine Gefahren.

Das Passage des Mont Saint-Bernard, um 1830 ausgeführt, gehört zur Serie "The Tourists", die viele andere Folgen enthält. Hier sieht der Zuschauer die Flucht einer Expedition von "Kletterern", die von der Schwierigkeit ihres Unternehmens überrascht sind. In einem ziemlich komischen Durcheinander versuchen sie, aus der schlechten Situation herauszukommen, in der sie gefallen sind.

Die realistische Darstellung von Leprince und die Karikatur von Guérard haben nicht den gleichen Ton; Aber all diese elegant gekleideten Bourgeois, die von einem gemeinsamen Abenteuerlust vereint sind, nehmen an Expeditionen teil, die umso malerischer sind, als man einen gewissen Amateurismus entdeckt.

Interpretation

Geboren zu Beginn des XIXe Jahrhundert wird der Bergtourismus allmählich populär. Die Dioramen von Chamonix von Albert Smith haben den Berg in den 1850er Jahren in Mode gebracht. Zu Beginn der Dritten Republik die Modernisierung von Hotels, die Entwicklung von Schutzhütten, die Markierung von Wegen, die Schaffung von Hervorhebung der französischen Alpen. Gleichzeitig können wir die Gründung des französischen Alpenvereins (1874), der Société des Touristes du Dauphiné (1875) und im Vereinigten Königreich des Alpenvereins (1863) beobachten.

Diese beiden Gemälde spiegeln die Entstehung einer Freizeitbeschäftigung wider, die von der britischen städtischen Bourgeoisie erfunden wurde und eine Quelle neuer Emotionen darstellt (auch wenn sie zunächst unter wissenschaftlichen Vorwänden verborgen sind). Dieses Hobby passt wie die anderen in die neue Definition der Nutzung von Zeit, "Freizeit" oder "Zeit für sich selbst".

Die weise Ausstattung einiger und die Unbehaglichkeit anderer erinnern uns an die Bedeutung des Bergführers. Tatsächlich basiert das moderne Bergsteigen auf dem Paar aus Führer und Klient, "dem ersten, einer indigenen Person, die körperliche Stärke, natürliches Wissen und die Volkswelt verkörpert, dem zweiten, fremden, gelehrten Wissenschaft und urbaner Bekanntheit" (S. Joutard, "Vom Glauben zur Vorstellungskraft", in regionalen ethnologischen Dokumenten, Flug. 9, "High Mountain Imaginaries", Centre alpin et rhodanien d'ethnologie, Glénat, 1987, p. 9).

  • Bergsteigen
  • Bourgeoisie
  • Hobbys
  • Gesundheit
  • Berg
  • Sport

Literaturverzeichnis

KOLLEKTIV: „Der hohe Berg. Vision und Repräsentationen “, Regionalzeitschrift für EthnologieGrenoble, 1988.

KOLLEKTIV, Regionale ethnologische Dokumente, Flug. 9, "Imaginaries of the High Mountain", Centre alpin et rhodanien d'ethnologie, Glénat, 1987.

Claire-Éliane ENGEL, Geschichte des Bergsteigens von den Anfängen bis heute, "Je sers" Ausgaben, 1950.

Philippe JOUTARD, Die Erfindung des Mont Blanc, Archivsammlung, Gallimard-Juillard, 1986.

GRENOBLE MUSEUM, Das Gefühl des Berges, Glénat, NMR, 1998.

Paul VEYNE, "Alpinismus: eine Erfindung der Bourgeoisie", Die GeschichteNr. 11, 1979, p. 41-49.

Um diesen Artikel zu zitieren

Ivan JABLONKA, "Die Geburt des Bergsteigens"


Video: Doku Extrem Bergsteigen Mount Everest ARTE Doku