The myth of the soldier-plowman

The myth of the soldier-plowman


We are searching data for your request:

Forums and discussions:
Manuals and reference books:
Data from registers:
Wait the end of the search in all databases.
Upon completion, a link will appear to access the found materials.

To close

Title: The Soldier Plowman.

Author : FLOWER (-)

Creation date : 1822

Date shown:

Dimensions: Height 0 - Width 0

Technique and other indications: Woodcut

Storage location: MuCEM website

Contact copyright: © MuCEM, Dist.RMN-Grand Palais D. Adam website

Picture reference: 45.36.5C

© MuCEM, Dist.RMN-Grand Palais D. Adam

Publication date: March 2016

Historical context

A tenacious myth, transmitted by songs, vaudevilles and engravings, claims that after having fought as a hero in the revolutionary and Napoleonic armies, Nicolas Chauvin would have returned, covered with wounds and medals, to end his life in his native Charente. AD, victoriously took the head of the armies to return then to enjoy the mediocritas aurea of the peasant. Symbol of the virtues of frugality, civility, patriotism and self-sacrifice of ancient Rome, Cincinnatus embodies the myth of the soldier-plowman.

Image Analysis

In Fleuret’s engraving, dated 1822, a former soldier of the imperial armies, wearing a tricorn, dreams beside his plow. The dual function of the French male is justified by the identity, dear to Virgil, of the ploughshare and the sword. The naive style of the engraving, the simplification of the drawing and the didactic virtue of its title suggest that it was intended for the public in the countryside. But this popular image is slightly out of step with the myth. Just a year after Napoleon's death, it even has a mournful tone. Because the soldier-plowman has just exhumed the skeleton of an anonymous hero whose Legion of Honor he won. This irruption of “death in Arcadia” explains the melancholy of our peasant-warrior, meditating on this memento mori which reminds him that the fate of a Frenchman is to die for the country.

Interpretation

The soldier-plowman from Fleuret has gone "to rest in the countryside from his military work" or, to put it another way, he has the honor of protecting and nurturing his country at the same time. The "chauvinistic" mythology can vary: sometimes it opens the furrow in which rests a compatriot who fell for the fatherland, sometimes it is up to him to highlight the land which the blood of the enemy spilled by him has fertilized. In general, the soldier-plowman, flagship and defender of Frenchness, must save the nation by his vigor acquired in the work of war and the fields. This agrarian-inspired patriotism is akin to a defensive and conservative nationalism, which we find for example in Pétain.

  • army
  • Legion of Honor
  • myth
  • nationalism
  • patriotism
  • peasants

Bibliography

Gerard DE PUYMEGE Chauvin, the soldier-plowman: Contribution to the study of nationalisms Paris, Gallimard, coll. “Library of Histories”, 1993.

To cite this article

Ivan JABLONKA, "The myth of the soldier-plowman"


Video: Most Feared Soldier - The One-Man Army with 116 Kills

Der Mythos vom Soldatenpflüger

Der Mythos vom Soldatenpflüger

Schließen

Titel: Der Soldat Pflüger.

Autor: BLUME (-)

Erstellungsdatum : 1822

Datum angezeigt:

Maße: Höhe 0 - Breite 0

Technik und andere Indikationen: Holzschnitt

Speicherort: MuCEM-Website

Kontakt Copyright: © MuCEM, Website Dist.RMN-Grand Palais D. Adam

Bildreferenz: 45.36.5C

© MuCEM, Dist.RMN-Grand Palais D. Adam

Erscheinungsdatum: März 2016

Historischer Zusammenhang

Ein hartnäckiger Mythos, der durch Lieder, Varietés und Stiche übertragen wird, behauptet, dass Nicolas Chauvin, nachdem er als Held in der revolutionären und napoleonischen Armee gekämpft hatte, mit Wunden und Medaillen bedeckt zurückgekehrt wäre, um sein Leben in seiner Heimatstadt Charente zu beenden. AD nahm siegreich das Oberhaupt der Armeen, um dann zurückzukehren und das zu genießen mediocritas aurea des Bauern. Cincinnatus ist ein Symbol für die Tugenden der Genügsamkeit, Höflichkeit, des Patriotismus und der Selbstaufopferung des alten Rom und verkörpert den Mythos des Soldaten-Pflügers.

Bildanalyse

In Fleurets Stich von 1822 träumt ein ehemaliger Soldat der kaiserlichen Armeen, der ein Trikorn trägt, neben seinem Pflug. Die Doppelfunktion des französischen Mannes wird durch die Identität von Virgil, des Pflugschar und des Schwertes, gerechtfertigt. Der naive Stil der Gravur, die Vereinfachung der Zeichnung und die didaktische Tugend ihres Titels lassen darauf schließen, dass sie für die Öffentlichkeit auf dem Land bestimmt war. Aber dieses populäre Bild stimmt nicht mit dem Mythos überein. Nur ein Jahr nach Napoleons Tod hat es sogar einen traurigen Ton. Weil der Soldat-Pflüger gerade das Skelett eines anonymen Helden exhumiert hat, dessen Ehrenlegion er gewonnen hat. Diese Unterbrechung des „Todes in Arkadien“ erklärt die Melancholie unseres Bauernkriegers, der darüber meditiert Gedenke des Todes was ihn daran erinnert, dass das Schicksal eines Franzosen darin besteht, für das Vaterland zu sterben.

Interpretation

Der Soldat-Pflüger aus Fleuret ist gegangen, "um sich von seiner militärischen Arbeit auf dem Land auszuruhen", oder anders ausgedrückt, er hat die Ehre, sein Land gleichzeitig zu schützen und zu pflegen. Die "chauvinistische" Mythologie kann variieren: Manchmal öffnet sie die Furche, in der ein Landsmann ruht, der sich in das Vaterland verliebt hat, manchmal liegt es an ihm, das Land hervorzuheben, in dem das von ihm vergossene Blut des Feindes gedüngt hat. Im Allgemeinen muss der Soldat-Pflüger, Flaggschiff und Verteidiger des Französischen, die Nation durch seine Kraft retten, die er in der Kriegsarbeit und auf den Feldern erworben hat. Dieser von der Landwirtschaft inspirierte Patriotismus ähnelt einem defensiven und konservativen Nationalismus, den wir zum Beispiel in Pétain finden.

  • Heer
  • Ehrenlegion
  • Mythos
  • Nationalismus
  • Patriotismus
  • Bauern

Literaturverzeichnis

Gerard DE PUYMEGE Chauvin, der Soldat-Pflüger: Beitrag zur Erforschung von Nationalismen Paris, Gallimard, umg. "Library of Histories", 1993.

Um diesen Artikel zu zitieren

Ivan JABLONKA, "Der Mythos vom Soldaten-Pflüger"


Video: Die Soldaten der Elite - Mythos Söldner - Doku 2017 NEU HD