The Nancy Mutiny, August 1790

The Nancy Mutiny, August 1790


We are searching data for your request:

Forums and discussions:
Manuals and reference books:
Data from registers:
Wait the end of the search in all databases.
Upon completion, a link will appear to access the found materials.

To close

Title: The heroic courage of young Désilles on August 31, 1790, at the Nancy Affair.

Author : THE BARBER Jean-Jacques François (1738 - 1826)

Creation date : 1790

Date shown: August 31, 1790

Dimensions: Height 43.5 - Width 60

Technique and other indications: Sketch for the painting.Lavis brown and pencil

Storage place: Lorraine Museum of Nancy website

Contact copyright: © Musée Lorrain, Nancy - G. Mangin

The heroic courage of young Désilles on August 31, 1790, at the Nancy Affair.

© Musée Lorrain, Nancy - G. Mangin

Publication date: March 2016

Historical context

The Nancy affair: a milestone in the French Revolution

On August 31, 1790, the Marquis de Bouillé, governor of the Trois-Évêchés in Metz, launched a punitive operation against the soldiers of the Nancy garrison, in rebellion against their officers. The repression was fierce: a soldier was beaten, forty-two hanged and forty-one sent to the galleys.

In January 1791, the Constituent Assembly organized a public subscription for a painting to immortalize the “Nancy affair”.

Image Analysis

The sketch of a painting with a theme that has become outdated

Le Barbier represented the courageous dedication of Lieutenant Désilles in a frieze composition. The hero, shifted to the left, is lying on the lights of the artillery pieces that the insurgents have placed around the door to prevent it from being ignited; the young lieutenant thus offers his breast to the rebels while extending his arm in a heroic and theatrical gesture to be better immortalized.

The painter had spontaneously provided this sketch in 1790 to obtain the commission of the subject. However, he did not complete his painting until 1794 and it was presented at the Salon of 1795 (the painting is currently kept at the Musée des Beaux-Arts in Nancy as a state deposit). In the meantime, the Revolution had turned the tables: the hero Désilles had become suspect in the cause, and the mutineers were seen as martyrs. Despite some corrections made by the painter to its initial composition, the painting still referred to the rebel soldiers as factious and it received a very cold reception.

The Barber, long forgotten because of the themes he dealt with in his painting, has now found its rightful place. After having been a pupil of Pierre, he was admitted to the Academy in 1785 as a painter of history. From then on he exhibited regularly at the Salon until 1814. He was one of the main followers of the principles of Vien and David, adopting compositions with an antique and a cold touch.

Interpretation

The most faithful reproduction of the event

Thanks to the numerous engravings which reproduced it, the composition of Le Barbier largely contributed to the dissemination of this milestone episode of the Revolution, which aroused great emotion throughout France. The artist had made the trip to Nancy before performing his work, which is the most faithful representation of the event. The face of the young lieutenant is restored with the greatest concern for authenticity thanks to the use of a death mask, and the architecture of the Porte de Stainville, renamed Désilles in honor of the hero, is represented with a large accuracy.

  • army
  • Constituent Assembly
  • heroic figure
  • martyr

Bibliography

Jean-Paul BERTAUD, The Armed Revolution: Citizen-Soldiers and the French Revolution, Paris, Laffont, 1979.

Eric HARTMANN, The French Revolution in Alsace and Lorraine, Paris, Perrin, 1990.

COLLECTIVE, The Revolution in Lorraine, Musée historique Lorrain (May 19 - August 31, 1989), exhibition catalog produced by Francine ROZE with the collaboration of Mireille CANET and Hubert COLLIN, Nancy, Guides du Musée Lorrain, 1789.

COLLECTIVE, Look. Collection of the Museum of Fine Arts of Nancy, catalog produced under the direction of Béatrice SALMON, Paris, Réunion des Musées Nationaux, 1999.

François PUPIL, "The dedication of the Chevalier Désilles and the Nancy affair in 1790: an attempt at an iconographic catalog", Lorraine region, no 2, 1976, p. 73-110.

Eric HARTMANN, The French Revolution in Alsace and Lorraine, Paris, Perrin, 1990.

To cite this article

Sabine BOUCHY DU PALUT, "The mutiny of Nancy, August 1790"


Video: Art Is For The Bird -- Jessgo paints the Nancy Bird

Die Nancy-Meuterei, August 1790

Die Nancy-Meuterei, August 1790

Schließen

Titel: Der heldenhafte Mut des jungen Désilles am 31. August 1790 in der Nancy-Affäre.

Autor: DER BARBER Jean-Jacques François (1738 - 1826)

Erstellungsdatum : 1790

Datum angezeigt: 31. August 1790

Maße: Höhe 43,5 - Breite 60

Technik und andere Indikationen: Skizze für das Gemälde. Lavis braun und Bleistift

Speicherort: Lorraine Museum of Nancy Website

Kontakt Copyright: © Musée Lorrain, Nancy - G. Mangin

Der heldenhafte Mut des jungen Désilles am 31. August 1790 in der Nancy-Affäre.

© Musée Lorrain, Nancy - G. Mangin

Erscheinungsdatum: März 2016

Historischer Zusammenhang

Die Nancy-Affäre: ein Meilenstein in der Französischen Revolution

Am 31. August 1790 startete der Marquis de Bouillé, Gouverneur der Trois-Évêchés in Metz, eine Strafoperation gegen die Soldaten der Garnison von Nancy, die gegen ihre Offiziere rebellierte. Die Unterdrückung war heftig: Ein Soldat wurde geschlagen, zweiundvierzig gehängt und einundvierzig in die Galeeren geschickt.

Im Januar 1791 organisierte die Konstituierende Versammlung ein öffentliches Abonnement für ein Gemälde, um die „Nancy-Affäre“ zu verewigen.

Bildanalyse

Die Skizze eines Gemäldes mit einem Thema, das veraltet ist

Le Barbier vertrat die mutige Widmung von Leutnant Désilles in einer Frieskomposition. Der nach links verschobene Held liegt auf den Lichtern der Artilleriegeschütze, die die Aufständischen um die Tür gelegt haben, um zu verhindern, dass sie entzündet wird. Der junge Leutnant bietet den Rebellen seine Brust an, während er seinen Arm in einer heldenhaften und theatralischen Geste ausstreckt, um besser verewigt zu werden.

Der Maler hatte diese Skizze 1790 spontan zur Verfügung gestellt, um den Auftrag für das Thema zu erhalten. Er fertigte sein Gemälde jedoch erst 1794 an und es wurde im Salon von 1795 präsentiert (das Gemälde wird derzeit im Musée des Beaux-Arts in Nancy als staatliche Kaution aufbewahrt). In der Zwischenzeit hatte die Revolution den Spieß umgedreht: Der Held Désilles war in der Sache verdächtig geworden, und die Meuterer wurden als Märtyrer angesehen. Trotz einiger Korrekturen, die der Maler an seiner ursprünglichen Komposition vorgenommen hatte, bezeichnete das Gemälde die Rebellensoldaten immer noch als sachlich und erhielt einen sehr kalten Empfang.

Der Barbier, der wegen der Themen, mit denen er sich in seinem Gemälde befasste, längst vergessen war, hat nun seinen rechtmäßigen Platz gefunden. Nach seinem Studium bei Pierre wurde er 1785 als Historienmaler an die Akademie aufgenommen. Von da an stellte er bis 1814 regelmäßig im Salon aus. Er war einer der wichtigsten Anhänger der Prinzipien von Vien und David und übernahm Kompositionen mit einem antiken und einem kalten Touch.

Interpretation

Die originalgetreueste Reproduktion des Ereignisses

Dank der zahlreichen Stiche, die es reproduzierten, trug die Komposition von Le Barbier maßgeblich zur Verbreitung dieser Meilenstein-Episode der Revolution bei, die in ganz Frankreich große Emotionen hervorrief. Der Künstler war vor seiner Aufführung nach Nancy gereist, was die originalgetreueste Darstellung des Ereignisses darstellt. Das Gesicht des jungen Leutnants wird dank der Verwendung einer Totenmaske mit größter Sorge um Authentizität restauriert, und die Architektur der Porte de Stainville, die zu Ehren des Helden in Désilles umbenannt wurde, ist mit einem großen Teil dargestellt Richtigkeit.

  • Heer
  • Konstituierende Versammlung
  • Heldenfigur
  • Märtyrer

Literaturverzeichnis

Jean-Paul BERTAUD, Die bewaffnete Revolution: Bürgersoldaten und die Französische Revolution, Paris, Laffont, 1979.

Eric HARTMANN, Die Französische Revolution im Elsass und in Lothringen, Paris, Perrin, 1990.

KOLLEKTIV, Die Revolution in Lothringen, Musée historique Lorrain (19. Mai - 31. August 1989), Ausstellungskatalog von Francine ROZE in Zusammenarbeit mit Mireille CANET und Hubert COLLIN, Nancy, Guides du Musée Lorrain, 1789.

KOLLEKTIV, Aussehen. Sammlung des Museums der Schönen Künste von Nancy, Katalog hergestellt unter der Leitung von Béatrice SALMON, Paris, Réunion des Musées Nationaux, 1999.

François PUPIL, "Die Einweihung des Chevalier Désilles und der Nancy-Affäre im Jahr 1790: ein Versuch eines ikonografischen Katalogs", Lothringen RegionNr. 2, 1976, p. 73-110.

Eric HARTMANN, Die Französische Revolution im Elsass und in Lothringen, Paris, Perrin, 1990.

Um diesen Artikel zu zitieren

Sabine BOUCHY DU PALUT, "Die Meuterei von Nancy, August 1790"


Video: Nancy Wake: Gestapos Most Wanted French Resistance Documentary. Timeline