The Indian museum of George Catlin: an ark of Noah with an ethnographic vocation

The Indian museum of George Catlin: an ark of Noah with an ethnographic vocation


We are searching data for your request:

Forums and discussions:
Manuals and reference books:
Data from registers:
Wait the end of the search in all databases.
Upon completion, a link will appear to access the found materials.

Home ›Studies› The Indian museum of George Catlin: a Noah's ark with an ethnographic vocation

  • Indian ball game.

    CATLIN George (1794 - 1872)

  • Indians of the Sauk tribe.

    CATLIN George (1794 - 1872)

© Photo RMN-Grand Palais - G. Blot

Indians of the Sauk tribe.

© BPK, Berlin, Dist RMN-Grand Palais - Gisela Oestreich

Publication date: February 2009

Historical context

Catlin and his work

In 1828, George Catlin, a self-taught painter who embarked on a career as a portrait painter for the American bourgeoisie, conceived the project of producing a pictorial work entirely dedicated to the Amerindians, of which he felt the end. The two paintings Indian ball game and Indians of the Sauk tribe are fairly representative of Catlin's Native American work: the genre scenes depict the activities or mores of the American Indians in their natural setting, while the portraits focus on specific individuals to show in detail the adornments, clothing , body paintings, weapons or jewelry of Native Americans. Each of these two works has a different purpose and therefore has distinct characteristics.

Image Analysis

Ethnographic documents

The first painting represents a ball game in a landscape of hills and plains typical of the sites where the Amerindians live. In the center of the stage, two groups seem to clash in two confused scrimmages at the foot of two goals marked by wooden poles. Some players fight hand-to-hand, others run towards a goal, still others watch the game waving sticks. Spectators gathered around the field and among them, two Westerners on horseback, no doubt members of the Catlin expedition, if not the author himself - a way of proving the authenticity of the story. work painted by a direct observer. Very lively, this canvas is painted with a quick touch from a distant point of view: it is about showing a moment in the life of the American Indians and the environment in which it takes place - the American plains, the camp established at the bottom of the hills and its scattered tents.

The second painting is a group portrait where only the account of the characters and their adornment: a woman and two men in ceremonial clothes with all their weapons and jewels pose in front of an indistinct landscape. Catlin adopts a tight frame and quickly brushes the background - green for the ground and blue for the sky - barely accented with a few brushstrokes to make the grass or clouds appear. The characters lack life: they have a static attitude and do not communicate with each other, as if they had been painted separately and then juxtaposed by the artist. The latter, however, details with precision their clothes, body paintings, weapons and jewelry. Catlin is in fact above all interested in the documentary aspect of his paintings, he does not bother with aesthetic problems - how to animate characters, to convey a feeling of perspective in a landscape… His paintings are ethnographic documents before their time. ; they provide an understanding of the culture of the Amerindians at the time by describing their customs, customs and dress. They initiated the second movement of discovery of Native Americans, whose lifestyles had already been studied by the Jesuits at the time of the Christianization of the country. Following Catlin, other painters, photographers and intellectuals continued this documentary work before ethnologists took over at the turn of the 20th century.e century.

Interpretation

Noah's syndrome

Like Noah and his ark, Catlin feels invested with a rescue mission: he wishes, through his paintings, to keep track of Native American culture before its disappearance and to make it known to Americans. He therefore set out to create a traveling museum in order to exhibit his paintings and the objects he collected, going so far as to hire a troop of Native Americans to animate his exhibition. By means of this public presentation, he hopes to find a buyer for his collection, which in his eyes forms an inseparable whole, the artefacts attesting to the veracity of his paintings. In front of the little echo that meets his work in the United States, no establishment wishing to buy his collection, he resolves to present his exhibition in Europe, and in particular in Paris in 1845 where it marks a whole generation of attached romantic artists. to question the traditional conception of art. From a completely different perspective, the French romantics perceive in the Catlin museum the proof of the universality of art and of aesthetic feeling, and his project thus knows a certain success: he has managed to propose a sufficiently convincing reconstruction of the Amerindian culture so that its manifestations are recognized as artistic.

Catlin's work is unique in its consistency and scope: not only did he go much further than most explorers of the time, sharing the life of the Amerindians, but he conceived from the start the project to bear witness to the culture. of the American Indians in its entirety, to form an indivisible collection which reveals all of their traditions. The man identifies so much with his work and his mission that when, riddled with debt, he sold his museum to a patron in 1852, he then endeavored to reconstruct his lost collection by repainting his paintings from memory.

  • Native Americans
  • Catlin (George)
  • United States
  • Museum

Bibliography

Daniel FABRE, Claude MACHEREL, “From the Far West to the Louvre: The Indian museum of George Catlin”, Gradhiva, n ° 3 new series, 2006.

To cite this article

Claire LE THOMAS, "The Indian museum of George Catlin: a Noah's ark with an ethnographic vocation"


Video: the ark encounter

Das indische Museum von George Catlin: eine Arche Noah mit einer ethnografischen Berufung

Das indische Museum von George Catlin: eine Arche Noah mit einer ethnografischen Berufung

Startseite ›Studien› Das indische Museum von George Catlin: eine Arche Noah mit einer ethnografischen Berufung

  • Indisches Ballspiel.

    CATLIN George (1794 - 1872)

  • Indianer des Sauk-Stammes.

    CATLIN George (1794 - 1872)

© Foto RMN-Grand Palais - G. Blot

Indianer des Sauk-Stammes.

© BPK, Berlin, Dist RMN-Grand Palais - Gisela Oestreich

Erscheinungsdatum: Februar 2009

Historischer Zusammenhang

Catlin und seine Arbeit

1828 konzipierte George Catlin, ein autodidaktischer Maler, der eine Karriere als Porträtmaler für die amerikanische Bourgeoisie begann, das Projekt, ein Bildwerk zu produzieren, das ausschließlich den Indianern gewidmet war und dessen Ende er fühlte. Die beiden Bilder Indisches Ballspiel und Indianer des Sauk-Stammes sind ziemlich repräsentativ für Catlins indianische Arbeit: Die Genreszenen zeigen die Aktivitäten oder Bräuche der Indianer in ihrer natürlichen Umgebung, während sich die Porträts auf bestimmte Personen konzentrieren, um die Verzierungen und Kleidung im Detail zu zeigen , Körperbemalungen, Waffen oder Schmuck von amerikanischen Ureinwohnern. Jedes dieser beiden Werke hat einen anderen Zweck und daher unterschiedliche Eigenschaften.

Bildanalyse

Ethnographische Dokumente

Das erste Gemälde zeigt ein Ballspiel in einer Landschaft aus Hügeln und Ebenen, die typisch für die Orte sind, an denen die Indianer leben. In der Mitte der Bühne scheinen zwei Gruppen am Fuße zweier durch Holzpfosten markierter Tore in zwei verwirrten Gefechten aufeinander zu stoßen. Einige Spieler kämpfen Hand in Hand, andere rennen auf ein Ziel zu, wieder andere beobachten das Spiel mit den Stöcken. Zuschauer versammelten sich um das Feld und unter ihnen zwei Westler zu Pferd, zweifellos Mitglieder der Catlin-Expedition, wenn nicht der Autor selbst - ein Weg, um die Authentizität der Geschichte zu beweisen. Arbeit von einem direkten Beobachter gemalt. Diese Leinwand ist sehr lebendig und aus einer entfernten Perspektive mit einer schnellen Berührung bemalt: Es geht darum, einen Moment im Leben der Indianer und der Umgebung, in der sie stattfindet, zu zeigen - die amerikanischen Ebenen, das Lager am Fuße der Hügel und seiner verstreuten Zelte errichtet.

Das zweite Gemälde ist ein Gruppenporträt, in dem nur die Darstellung der Figuren und ihrer Verzierung: eine Frau und zwei Männer in zeremonieller Kleidung mit all ihren Waffen und Juwelen vor einer undeutlichen Landschaft posieren. Catlin nimmt einen engen Rahmen an und bürstet schnell den Hintergrund - grün für den Boden und blau für den Himmel - kaum akzentuiert mit ein paar Pinselstrichen, um das Gras oder die Wolken erscheinen zu lassen. Den Figuren fehlt das Leben: Sie haben eine statische Haltung und kommunizieren nicht miteinander, als wären sie separat gemalt und dann vom Künstler nebeneinander gestellt worden. Letztere beschreiben jedoch präzise ihre Kleidung, Körperbemalungen, Waffen und Schmuck. Catlin interessiert sich in der Tat vor allem für den dokumentarischen Aspekt seiner Bilder, er kümmert sich nicht um ästhetische Probleme - wie man Charaktere animiert, ein Gefühl der Perspektive in einer Landschaft vermittelt ... Seine Bilder sind ethnografische Dokumente vor ihrer Zeit. ;; Sie vermitteln ein Verständnis der damaligen Kultur der Indianer, indem sie ihre Bräuche, Bräuche und Kleidung beschreiben. Sie initiieren die zweite Entdeckungsbewegung der amerikanischen Ureinwohner, deren Lebensstil bereits von den Jesuiten zur Zeit der Christianisierung des Landes untersucht worden war. Nach Catlin setzten andere Maler, Fotografen und Intellektuelle diese dokumentarische Arbeit fort, bevor Ethnologen um die Wende des 20. Jahrhunderts übernahmen.e Jahrhundert.

Interpretation

Noah-Syndrom

Wie Noah und seine Arche fühlt sich Catlin mit einer Rettungsmission beschäftigt: Er möchte durch seine Gemälde die Kultur der amerikanischen Ureinwohner vor ihrem Verschwinden verfolgen und sie den Amerikanern bekannt machen. Er machte sich deshalb daran, ein Wandermuseum zu schaffen, um seine Gemälde und die von ihm gesammelten Objekte auszustellen, und stellte sogar eine Truppe Indianer ein, um seine Ausstellung zu animieren. Mit dieser öffentlichen Präsentation hofft er, einen Käufer für seine Sammlung zu finden, die in seinen Augen ein untrennbares Ganzes bildet, wobei die Artefakte die Richtigkeit seiner Gemälde belegen. Vor dem kleinen Echo, das seine Arbeit in den USA trifft, kein Unternehmen, das seine Sammlung kaufen möchte, beschließt er, seine Ausstellung in Europa und insbesondere in Paris im Jahr 1845 zu präsentieren, wo sie eine ganze Generation verbundener romantischer Künstler kennzeichnet. die traditionelle Auffassung von Kunst in Frage zu stellen. Aus einer ganz anderen Perspektive nehmen die französischen Romantiker im Catlin-Museum den Beweis für die Universalität der Kunst und des ästhetischen Gefühls wahr, und sein Projekt kennt somit einen gewissen Erfolg: Es ist ihm gelungen, eine hinreichend überzeugende Rekonstruktion der Kunst vorzuschlagen Indianerkultur, damit ihre Manifestationen als künstlerisch anerkannt werden.

Catlins Arbeit ist einzigartig in ihrer Beständigkeit und Reichweite: Er ging nicht nur viel weiter als die meisten Entdecker der Zeit und teilte das Leben der Indianer, sondern konzipierte von Anfang an das Projekt, um Zeugnis von der Kultur zu geben. der Indianer in ihrer Gesamtheit, um eine unteilbare Sammlung zu bilden, die alle ihre Traditionen offenbart. Der Mann identifiziert sich so sehr mit seiner Arbeit und seiner Mission, dass er, als er sein Museum 1852 voller Schulden an einen Mäzen verkaufte, versuchte, seine verlorene Sammlung zu rekonstruieren, indem er seine Gemälde aus dem Gedächtnis neu malte.

  • Amerikanische Ureinwohner
  • Catlin (George)
  • Vereinigte Staaten
  • Museum

Literaturverzeichnis

Daniel FABRE, Claude MACHEREL, „Vom fernen Westen zum Louvre: Das indische Museum von George Catlin“, Gradhiva, Nr. 3, neue Reihe, 2006.

Um diesen Artikel zu zitieren

Claire LE THOMAS, "Das indische Museum von George Catlin: eine Arche Noah mit einer ethnografischen Berufung"


Video: Arche Noah - Ja wir haben Platz