The Federated Wall

The Federated Wall


We are searching data for your request:

Forums and discussions:
Manuals and reference books:
Data from registers:
Wait the end of the search in all databases.
Upon completion, a link will appear to access the found materials.

  • The Triumph of Order.

    PICHIO said PICQ Ernest (1826 - 1893)

  • The widow of the shot.

    PICHIO said PICQ Ernest (1826 - 1893)

To close

Title: The Triumph of Order.

Author : PICHIO said PICQ Ernest (1826 - 1893)

Creation date : 1877

Date shown: 1871

Dimensions: Height 32 - Width 46

Technique and other indications: also known as "the Federated Wall" lithograph

Storage place: Saint-Denis Art and History Museum

Contact copyright: © Saint-Denis, art and history museum - Photo I. Andréani

Picture reference: NA 2024

© Saint-Denis, art and history museum - Photo I. Andréani

© Montreuil Living History Museum - Photo O. Fryszowski

Publication date: March 2016

Historical context

The Federated Wall

At the end of the "Bloody Week", on Saturday May 27, 1871, the Versailles troops managed to invest the Père-Lachaise cemetery where the federates had withdrawn while the districts of the Throne, Charonne and Belleville were under assault. For several hours, the Communards resisted to the point that the fighting would sometimes have ended with hand-to-hand combat and stabbing, between the graves, not far from the graves of Nodier, Balzac and Souvestre.

One hundred and forty-seven captured Communards were shot against the eastern wall of the cemetery. In their memory, a section of this wall was called from the end of the 1870s the “Federated wall”.

Image Analysis

Commemorate

From the beginning of the 1880s, an annual commemoration took place there, at the initiative of former Communards and their relatives, soon relayed by militant left, political and trade union organizations. Today, the Sunday closest to May 28 - which in 1871 marked the end of "Bloody Week" and the crushing of the Commune - is still the date of an annual "climb to the Wall".

The Triumph of Order, also says The Federated Wall, and The widow of the shot were made in 1877 by Ernest Pichio (1826-1893), during the proscription in Switzerland of the artist, exiled in Geneva. Of Communard obedience, Pichio painted in The Triumph of Order - the known lithograph is taken from the missing painting - a lyrical vision of the massive and summary executions of the federates at Père-Lachaise. Under an apocalyptic sky, it shows the Communards leaning against a wall overlooking a deep pit. The faces of the condemned express the same dread as the paralyzed features of the dying and the dead which litter the bottom and the periphery of the pit. Mown down by a battery of cannons shown on the right, the convulsive bodies of men, women, children and old people speak of the terror of repression embodied by the two soldiers from Versailles coldly watching the executions.

In The widow of the shot, Pichio seems to "write" the rest of this story. At the foot of the same wall, a woman in mourning accompanies her two young children and points out to them the inscription carved in the stone: "May 1871 / To the martyrs / without name / dead for freedom. The children come to lay a funeral wreath dedicated to their father, where others already strewn the ground, in a tribute that still has the appearances of hiding.

Interpretation

The political myth

Carried out even before the annual climbs to the Federated Wall were tolerated - although closely watched by the police - these two works by Pichio seem to fix the beginnings of worship in the years preceding the general amnesty of 1880. The “wall” is sublimated by a very romantic dramatization of the heroes, whose appalling, exemplary and sacrificial death, is particularly conducive to the cult of memory and the most effective political symbols.

Pichio's strength lies in knowing how to play, in these two contemporary images, with different temporal regimes - the present of the massacres of the "Bloody Week" and the present of their commemoration -, likely to provoke two complementary political and militant attitudes: 'indignation before The Triumph of Order and contemplation in the face of The widow of the shot.

  • graveyard
  • communards
  • Municipality of Paris
  • execution
  • federated
  • monuments
  • Paris
  • Father Lachaise
  • Versailles repression

Bibliography

Alain DALOTEL, "A red pilgrimage: the ascent to the Federated Wall (1878-1914)", Gavroche, no 9, April-May 1983, p. 14-20.

Bernard NOËL, Municipality dictionary, 2 vol., [1971], Paris, Flammarion, coll. "Champs", 1978.

Madeleine REBÉRIOUX, "The Federated Wall", in Pierre NORA (dir.), Memorial place, [1984], t. 1, Paris, Gallimard, coll. “Quarto”, 1997, p. 535-558.

Danielle TARTAKOWSKY, We will go and sing on your graves. Père-Lachaise, 19th-20th centuries, Paris, Aubier, 1999.

To cite this article

Bertrand TILLIER, "The Federated Wall"


Video: L124205

Die föderierte Mauer

Die föderierte Mauer

  • Der Triumph der Ordnung.

    PICHIO sagte PICQ Ernest (1826 - 1893)

  • Die Witwe des Schusses.

    PICHIO sagte PICQ Ernest (1826 - 1893)

Schließen

Titel: Der Triumph der Ordnung.

Autor: PICHIO sagte PICQ Ernest (1826 - 1893)

Erstellungsdatum : 1877

Datum angezeigt: 1871

Maße: Höhe 32 - Breite 46

Technik und andere Indikationen: auch bekannt als "Die Mauer der Föderierten" Lithographie

Speicherort: Saint-Denis Kunst- und Geschichtsmuseum

Kontakt Copyright: © Saint-Denis, Kunst- und Geschichtsmuseum - Foto I. Andréani

Bildreferenz: NA 2024

© Saint-Denis, Kunst- und Geschichtsmuseum - Foto I. Andréani

© Montreuil Lebendiges Geschichtsmuseum - Foto O. Fryszowski

Erscheinungsdatum: März 2016

Historischer Zusammenhang

Die föderierte Mauer

Am Ende der "Blutigen Woche", am Samstag, den 27. Mai 1871, gelang es den Versailler Truppen, den Friedhof Père-Lachaise zu investieren, auf dem sich die Föderierten zurückgezogen hatten, während die Bezirke Thron, Charonne und Belleville angegriffen wurden. Mehrere Stunden lang widersetzten sich die Kommunarden bis zu dem Punkt, dass die Kämpfe manchmal mit Nahkämpfen und Stichen zwischen den Gräbern endeten, nicht weit von den Gräbern von Nodier, Balzac und Souvestre entfernt.

Einhundertsiebenundvierzig gefangene Kommunarden wurden gegen die Ostwand des Friedhofs geschossen. In ihrer Erinnerung wurde ein Teil dieser Mauer ab Ende der 1870er Jahre als „Föderierte Mauer“ bezeichnet.

Bildanalyse

Gedenken

Ab Anfang der 1880er Jahre fand dort auf Initiative ehemaliger Kommunarden und ihrer Verwandten ein jährliches Gedenken statt, das bald von militanten linken, politischen und gewerkschaftlichen Organisationen weitergegeben wurde. Der Sonntag, der dem 28. Mai am nächsten liegt und 1871 das Ende der "Blutwoche" und die Zerstörung der Gemeinde bedeutete, ist heute noch das Datum eines jährlichen "Aufstiegs zur Mauer".

Der Triumph der Ordnung, sagt auch Die föderierte Mauer, und Die Witwe des Schusses wurden 1877 von Ernest Pichio (1826-1893) während des Verbots des in Genf verbannten Künstlers in der Schweiz hergestellt. Aus kommunardischem Gehorsam malte Pichio ein Der Triumph der Ordnung - Die bekannte Lithographie stammt aus dem fehlenden Gemälde - eine lyrische Vision der massiven und zusammenfassenden Hinrichtungen der Föderierten in Père-Lachaise. Unter einem apokalyptischen Himmel zeigt es die Communards, die sich an eine Wand lehnen und eine tiefe Grube überblicken. Die Gesichter der Verurteilten drücken dieselbe Angst aus wie die gelähmten Züge der Sterbenden und der Toten, die den Boden und die Peripherie der Grube verunreinigen. Von einer rechts abgebildeten Kanonenbatterie niedergemäht, sprechen die krampfhaften Körper von Männern, Frauen, Kindern und alten Menschen vom Terror der Unterdrückung, den die beiden Soldaten aus Versailles verkörpern, die die Hinrichtungen kalt beobachten.

Im Die Witwe des SchussesPichio scheint den Rest dieser Geschichte zu "schreiben". Am Fuße derselben Mauer begleitet eine trauernde Frau ihre beiden kleinen Kinder und weist sie auf die in den Stein gemeißelte Inschrift hin: "Mai 1871 / An die Märtyrer / ohne Namen / tot für die Freiheit. Die Kinder kommen, um einen Trauerkranz zu legen, der ihrem Vater gewidmet ist, wo andere bereits den Boden verunreinigen, in einer Hommage, die immer noch den Anschein hat, sich zu verstecken.

Interpretation

Der politische Mythos

Diese beiden Werke von Pichio wurden bereits durchgeführt, bevor die jährlichen Anstiege zur Föderierten Mauer toleriert wurden - obwohl sie von der Polizei genau beobachtet wurden - und scheinen die Anfänge der Anbetung in den Jahren vor der Generalamnestie von 1880 zu fixieren. Die "Mauer" wird durch eine sehr romantische Dramatisierung der Helden sublimiert, deren entsetzlicher, beispielhafter und opfernder Tod dem Erinnerungskult und den wirksamsten politischen Symbolen besonders förderlich ist.

Pichios Stärke liegt darin, zu wissen, wie man in diesen beiden zeitgenössischen Bildern mit unterschiedlichen zeitlichen Regimen spielt - der Gegenwart der Massaker der "Blutwoche" und der Gegenwart ihres Gedenkens -, was wahrscheinlich zwei komplementäre politische und militante Einstellungen hervorruft: 'Empörung vor Der Triumph der Ordnung und Kontemplation angesichts Die Witwe des Schusses.

  • Friedhof
  • Kommunarden
  • Gemeinde Paris
  • Ausführung
  • föderiert
  • Monumente
  • Paris
  • Pater Lachaise
  • Versailler Unterdrückung

Literaturverzeichnis

Alain DALOTEL, "Eine rote Pilgerreise: der Aufstieg zur Föderierten Mauer (1878-1914)", GavrocheNr. 9, April-Mai 1983, p. 14-20.

Bernard NOËL, Gemeindewörterbuch2, [1971], Paris, Flammarion, coll. "Champs", 1978.

Madeleine REBÉRIOUX, "Die föderierte Mauer", im Pierre NORA (dir.), Gedenkstätte, [1984], t. 1, Paris, Gallimard, Slg. "Quarto", 1997, p. 535-558.

Danielle TARTAKOWSKY, Wir werden auf deinen Gräbern singen. Père-Lachaise, 19.-20. Jahrhundert, Paris, Aubier, 1999.

Um diesen Artikel zu zitieren

Bertrand TILLIER, "Die föderierte Mauer"


Video: ebba grön - die mauer