Mucha and the theater

Mucha and the theater


We are searching data for your request:

Forums and discussions:
Manuals and reference books:
Data from registers:
Wait the end of the search in all databases.
Upon completion, a link will appear to access the found materials.

Gismonda. Sarah Bernhardt. Renaissance Theater

© BnF, Dist. RMN-Grand Palais / BnF image

Publication date: May 2006

Historical context

Mucha enters the scene

When Alfons Mucha (1860-1939) arrived in Paris, he was twenty-seven years old. The actress wants a poster for her new play, Gismonda. She notably distinguished herself in Phaedra, Hernani, but it's mostly in Ruy Blas that she knows a huge triumph. The one nicknamed the "Divine", the "golden voice", successively attended the Conservatory, the Comédie-Française and the Odeon before traveling the world and enjoying international fame. In 1893, she took over the management of the Renaissance Theater where Gismonda, drama by Victorien Sardou (1831-1908), is to be played on January 4, 1895. The originality of her work seduced Sarah Bernhardt to such an extent that she offered her a six-year contract.

At that time, the theater was the favorite pastime of Parisians, and the French scene enjoyed great prestige. In addition, there are also mobile media such as the cab-advertising and the man-sandwich.

Image Analysis

The birth of the "Mucha style"

It is understandable that the great Sarah Bernhardt, very concerned with her image and her person, was enthusiastic about Mucha's poster. In the center, the tragedian appears, divine, dressed in the costume of Gismonda. Her pose is taken from the last act of the drama, when she participates, palm in hand, in the Palm Sunday procession. The idealized and magnified woman holds a special place here. The shallow space gives the impression of pushing the female figure towards the viewer. With this composition, Mucha develops a new style of theatrical poster and surprises audiences in several ways.
First of all, its format. Narrow, all in height and allowing to represent the model almost life-size, it innovates in a striking way. The softness of the pastel tones as well as the golds, bronzes and silvers also contrast with the colors usually used by the great poster artists of the time.

Since 1880, poster art has been well established in France with the works of Jules Chéret and Toulouse-Lautrec. These artists used large areas of color, garish and vibrant tones. Mucha's delicacy is intriguing. But the artist also innovates with particularly original graphics. In the final version of the poster, Sarah Bernhardt's heavy and sumptuous garment is adorned with a multitude of golden and colorful patterns, sumptuous jewels that testify, just like the mosaic in the background and the hieratic attitude of the actress, from the artist's Byzantine inspiration. Mucha borrows from Iberian art the motif of the circle that will be found in many of his posters. Attention to detail and extreme refinement, the "Mucha style" is born with this "Gismonda". The words "Théâtre de la Renaissance" appear at the bottom of the final poster, included in the folds and folds of Sarah Bernhardt's dress. Arranged in this way above and below, the informative text fits into the image without weighing it down. From this composition comes all the subtlety of the artist's poster: Mucha whispers the commercial rather than shouting it.

Interpretation

The theatrical poster revolution

Mucha here continues the revolution started by Jules Chéret, the "father of the modern poster". In 1837, the French Engelman patented chromolithography, which made it possible to reproduce color images by successive printing. Jules Chéret applied this technique to the poster in 1869 and created an archetype, the "Chérette", an aerial and sensual young woman who is associated with all his creations. He was the first to take the poster from the stage of description to that of seduction. Therefore, the poster goes far beyond its advertising vocation to become an art in its own right and the preferred mode of expression for artists such as Steinlen, Toulouse-Lautrec or Eugène Grasset.

With "Gismonda", Mucha finds a composition and a style susceptible of variation which he will repeat in his later works. He discovered the power of stylization and the effectiveness of isolated figures. It is no longer just a play that he announces, he depicts a mysterious woman, with an eloquent and solemn gesture, to capture the attention of the passer-by. Mucha will produce six other posters for the Renaissance Theater: The Lady of the Camellias (1896) Lorenzaccio (1896), The Samaritan (1897), Medea (1898), Hamlet (1899), The Tosca (1899). At the same time, he took care of the sets and costumes for Sarah Bernhardt's plays and signed an exclusive contract with the Champagne printer for the production of decorative and advertising posters. This meeting with Sarah Bernhardt opened many doors for her in the world of theater, social circles, and earned the artist international fame. Having then been able to seize his chance, Mucha will thus pass from the modest world of illustrators to that of large poster artists.

  • Art Nouveau
  • Paris
  • publicity
  • Bernhardt (Sarah)
  • theater
  • poster
  • French comedy
  • actor
  • Sardou (Victorian)
  • Toulouse-Lautrec (Henri de)

Bibliography

Arthur ELLRIDGE, Mucha: the triumph of Modern Style, Paris, Terrail, 1992.Jack RENNERT and Alain WEILL, Alphonse Mucha, all posters and panels, Paris, Éd.Henri Veyrier, 1984. Renate ULMER, Alphonse Mucha, master of Art Nouveau, Cologne, Taschen, 1994.

To cite this article

Isabelle COURTY, "Mucha and the theater"


Video: HELLO NEIGHBOR ALPHA 4! Simon Says Game? Pt 1 Bendy Ink Machine in Basement? + FGTEEV Elevator

Mucha und das Theater

Mucha und das Theater

Gismonda. Sarah Bernhardt. Renaissance-Theater

© BnF, Dist. RMN-Grand Palais / BnF Bild

Erscheinungsdatum: Mai 2006

Historischer Zusammenhang

Mucha betritt die Szene

Als Alfons Mucha (1860-1939) in Paris ankam, war er siebenundzwanzig Jahre alt. Die Schauspielerin will ein Plakat für ihr neues Stück, Gismonda. Sie zeichnete sich besonders aus Phaedra, Hernani, aber es ist meistens in Ruy Blas dass sie einen großen Triumph kennt. Der mit dem Spitznamen "Göttliche", die "goldene Stimme", besuchte nacheinander das Konservatorium, die Comédie-Française und das Odeon, bevor er um die Welt reiste und internationalen Ruhm genoss. 1893 übernahm sie die Leitung des Renaissance-Theaters, wo GismondaDas Drama von Victorien Sardou (1831-1908) sollte am 4. Januar 1895 gespielt werden. Die Originalität ihrer Arbeit verführte Sarah Bernhardt so sehr, dass sie ihr einen Sechsjahresvertrag anbot.

Zu dieser Zeit war das Theater der beliebteste Zeitvertreib der Pariser, und die französische Szene genoss großes Ansehen. Darüber hinaus gibt es auch mobile Medien wie das Taxi und den Sandwich-Mann.

Bildanalyse

Die Geburt des "Mucha-Stils"

Wir verstehen, dass die große Sarah Bernhardt, sehr besorgt über ihr Image und ihre Person, von Muchas Plakat begeistert war. In der Mitte erscheint der Tragiker, göttlich, gekleidet in das Kostüm von Gismonda. Ihre Pose stammt aus dem letzten Akt des Dramas, als sie mit der Handfläche an der Palmsonntagsprozession teilnimmt. Die idealisierte und vergrößerte Frau nimmt hier einen besonderen Platz ein. Der flache Raum vermittelt den Eindruck, die weibliche Figur zum Betrachter zu schieben. Mit dieser Komposition entwickelt Mucha einen neuen Stil des Theaterplakats und überrascht das Publikum auf verschiedene Weise.
Zuallererst sein Format. Schmal, alle in der Höhe und so, dass das Modell fast lebensgroß dargestellt werden kann, ist es auf beeindruckende Weise innovativ. Die Weichheit der Pastelltöne sowie die Gold-, Bronzetöne und Silberfarben kontrastieren auch mit den Farben, die normalerweise von den großen Plakatkünstlern der Zeit verwendet werden.

Seit 1880 ist die Plakatkunst in Frankreich mit den Werken von Jules Chéret und Toulouse-Lautrec gut etabliert. Diese Künstler verwendeten große Farbflächen, grelle und lebendige Töne. Muchas Delikatesse ist faszinierend. Der Künstler innoviert aber auch mit besonders originellen Grafiken. In der endgültigen Fassung des Plakats ist Sarah Bernhardts schweres und prächtiges Kleidungsstück mit einer Vielzahl von goldenen und farbenfrohen Mustern geschmückt, prächtigen Juwelen, die Zeugnis ablegen, genau wie das Mosaik im Hintergrund und die hieratische Haltung des Schauspielerin, von der byzantinischen Inspiration des Künstlers. Mucha entlehnt der iberischen Kunst das Motiv des Kreises, das in vielen seiner Plakate zu finden ist. Liebe zum Detail und extreme Raffinesse, der "Mucha-Stil" wird mit dieser "Gismonda" geboren. Die Worte "Theater der Renaissance" erscheinen am unteren Rand des letzten Plakats, das in den Falten von Sarah Bernhardts Kleid enthalten ist. Auf diese Weise oben und unten angeordnet, fügt sich der informative Text in das Bild ein, ohne es zu beschweren. Aus dieser Komposition ergibt sich die ganze Subtilität des Plakats des Künstlers: Mucha flüstert den Werbespot, anstatt ihn zu schreien.

Interpretation

Die Theaterplakatrevolution

Mucha setzt hier die von Jules Chéret, dem "Vater des modernen Plakats", eingeleitete Revolution fort. 1837 patentierte der französische Engelman die Chromolithographie, die es ermöglichte, Farbbilder durch sukzessives Drucken zu reproduzieren. Jules Chéret wandte diese Technik 1869 auf das Plakat an und schuf einen Archetyp, die "Chérette", eine luftige und sinnliche junge Frau, die mit all seinen Kreationen in Verbindung gebracht wird. Er war der erste, der das Plakat von der Stufe der Beschreibung zur Stufe der Verführung brachte. Daher geht das Plakat weit über seine Werbeberufung hinaus und wird zu einer eigenständigen Kunst und zur bevorzugten Ausdrucksweise für Künstler wie Steinlen, Toulouse-Lautrec oder Eugène Grasset.

Mit "Gismonda" findet Mucha eine Komposition und einen Stil, der für Variationen anfällig ist, die er in seinen späteren Arbeiten wiederholen wird. Er entdeckte die Kraft der Stilisierung und die Wirksamkeit isolierter Figuren. Es ist nicht mehr nur ein Stück, das er ankündigt, er porträtiert eine mysteriöse Frau mit einer beredten und feierlichen Geste, um die Aufmerksamkeit des Passanten auf sich zu ziehen. Mucha wird sechs weitere Plakate für das Renaissance-Theater produzieren: Die Dame der Kamelien (1896) Lorenzaccio (1896), Der Samariter (1897), Medea (1898), Weiler (1899), Die Tosca (1899). Gleichzeitig kümmerte er sich um die Sets und Kostüme für Sarah Bernhardts Stücke und unterzeichnete mit dem Champagnerdrucker einen Exklusivvertrag über die Herstellung von Dekorations- und Werbeplakaten. Dieses Treffen mit Sarah Bernhardt öffnete ihr viele Türen in der Welt des Theaters und in sozialen Kreisen und brachte dem Künstler internationalen Ruhm ein. Nachdem Mucha dann seine Chance genutzt hat, wird er von der bescheidenen Welt der Illustratoren zu der der großen Plakatkünstler übergehen.

  • Jugendstil
  • Paris
  • Werbung
  • Bernhardt (Sarah)
  • Theater
  • Poster
  • Französische Komödie
  • Darsteller
  • Sardou (viktorianisch)
  • Toulouse-Lautrec (Henri de)

Literaturverzeichnis

Arthur ELLRIDGE, Mucha: der Triumph des modernen Stils, Paris, Terrail, 1992. Jack RENNERT und Alain WEILL, Alphonse Mucha, alle Poster und Tafeln, Paris, Éd.Henri Veyrier, 1984. Renate ULMER, Alphonse Mucha, Meister des Jugendstils, Köln, Taschen, 1994.

Um diesen Artikel zu zitieren

Isabelle COURTY, "Mucha und das Theater"


Video: Marshmello - Together Official Music Video