Mucha, the 1900 spirit

Mucha, the 1900 spirit


We are searching data for your request:

Forums and discussions:
Manuals and reference books:
Data from registers:
Wait the end of the search in all databases.
Upon completion, a link will appear to access the found materials.

  • Fragments of the flag of Bosnia and Herzegovina frieze

    MUCHA Alfons (1860 - 1939)

  • Austria

    MUCHA Alfons (1860 - 1939)

Fragments of the flag of Bosnia and Herzegovina frieze

© Musée d'Orsay, Dist. RMN-Grand Palais / Patrice Schmidt

© BPK, Berlin, Dist. RMN-Grand Palais / Knud Petersen

Publication date: October 2020

Historical context

From Prague to Paris: Alphonse Mucha

Omnipresent on the site of the Universal Exhibition in Paris in 1900, Art Nouveau and Czech illustrator Alphonse Mucha (1860-1939) experienced a form of climax there. Born in the early 1890s in the rejection of classicism in favor of curves and inspired by the study of flora and fauna, the artistic movement conquered many fields - notably illustration and architecture - and many countries: Spain, Belgium, France and Central Europe in particular. The Exhibition jury awarded him a silver medal for the frescoes in the pavilion of Bosnia and Herzegovina designed by the architect Karel Panek (1860-).

Image Analysis

Stylized nations

The fragments of the frieze made by Mucha which are kept at the Orsay Museum are part of the cycle of Bosnian folk legends. The band runs through the entire volume on the upper part, while the history of the Bosnian nation unfolds more fully in the middle part of the walls, and the lower frieze is adorned with repeated floral motifs. While the artist used a wide palette for his large frescoes (Bosnia offering its products at the Exhibition for example), he opts for shades of blue enhanced by painted arcades dominated by warm colors (red and orange) and geometric patterns. If the line which delimits the flat areas of color is simple, almost naive, and if the decoration consists of vegetable shapes in sfumato, Mucha is on the verge of preciousness when it comes to drawing drapes or women's hair [ detail 2]. In this cycle, the male characters with their hieratic gaze [detail 1] and their rough bodies contrast sharply with the lascivious poses and the curvaceous silhouettes of the female characters.

If Mucha made posters for the Bosnian pavilion and its restaurant, he also received a commission from the Double Monarchy to advertise the Austrian pavilion. In both cases, he decided on brown tones with highlights of matte red or faded yellow and reproduced the long-used split in the direction of height. On the left, a female figure with downcast eyes and tight lips serves as the emblem of the Austrian nation. Her costume seems to borrow less from national tradition than from the costumes worn on stage by the artist's absolute model: Sarah Bernhardt. Unlike many other women drawn by Mucha, this one does not have lush hair and remains smartly dressed. Against the background of her halo, a recurring pattern, we can make out in the shadows a woman erotically revealing her bare armpit and shoulder, staring at the viewer. She seems to invite her to unveil the mystery of this allegory which modestly holds her dress with her clenched fingers, but does not prevent her left breast from sticking out between the fabrics. In the right half of the poster, Mucha classically presents the main Austro-Hungarian attractions offered to visitors to the Exhibition: if the imperial pavilion displays a classicism with some concessions to Modern Styl, the Viennese restaurant offers a perfect image of the use of curves and light by Art Nouveau architects. The reproduction of a Tyrolean mansion, the hall of honor or the workers' houses of Siemens-Halske [detail 1] and Krupp oppose this fantasy with a form of utilitarian rigor.

Interpretation

Art Nouveau and Propaganda

Although emigrated for a long time, Mucha kept contacts in Vienna where he spent some time in 1879. His fame on the continent and the will of the Double Monarchy to demonstrate openness, humanism and progress lead to solicit Mucha alongside another Czech, Adolf Kaufmann (1848-1916), to decorate the flag of Bosnia. If the structure of the empire justifies the Habsburgs building a separate pavilion in Paris for Austria and Hungary, the choice of Bosnia may come as a surprise. This was in fact the last imperial conquest, carried out in 1878, which stopped the Serbian momentum in the Balkans. The authorities wish to offer international opinion a model of their policy of administrative and socio-economic modernization. Austria-Hungary makes a significant financial effort (30,000 crowns for Mucha) and deploys rather intense propaganda. Their curatorial office publishes a twelve-volume catalog on the achievements of the empire, and a guide booklet for browsing the Exhibition in French and German, which is considered the most comprehensive. They crisscross the Exhibition with the Tyrolean mansion built at the foot of the Eiffel Tower, the Viennese restaurant enthroned on the Esplanade des Invalides and the Krupp convalescent home [detail 2] presented in the annex of Vincennes, according to the original from Bernsdorf, Austria.

The production of the poster and the covers of the Austrian publications shows that Mucha always gladly accepts commercial orders. He appeals to his Viennese patrons by desexualizing the allegory of Austria, contrary to his usual style. He seems to have found in the cycle of frescoes an opportunity to develop another facet of his art. Working in his studio with many models, then reproducing on a scale and a tempera on canvases, he tackles the theme of Slavic civilization which will be at the heart of his work of the interwar period. Commissioner Henri Moser (1844-1923) and the governor of Bosnia Béni Kállay (1839-1903) paid him a trip to Vienna, Sarajevo and its museum; they also provided him as a model The Tales of Bosnia (1898), a plagiarism of La Guzla by Prosper Mérimée, signed by the pseudonym Mathilde Colonna. In exchange for his collaboration in the exaltation of Austrian work in Bosnia, Mucha was able to present himself in his new face as a herald, promoter of Pan-Slavism as a vector of peace. He did not completely ignore the stakes of his involvement: in the frieze, many figures appear asleep or dead. These legends belong to the kingdom of night and shadows: popular oral memory is the tragic side of the heroic epic of the Bosnian people unfolding just below.

  • Art Nouveau
  • Universal exhibitions
  • 1900 universal exhibition
  • Austria-Hungary
  • Balkans
  • Habsburg
  • Krupp
  • Bernhardt (Sarah)

Bibliography

Ann Bridges, Alphonse Mucha: The Complete Graphic Works, New York, Harmony Books, 1980

Pascal Ory, The Universal Exhibitions of Paris, Ramsay, 1982.

Paul Pasteur, History of Austria: from the multinational empire to the Austrian nation (18th - 20th centuries), Paris, Armand Colin, coll. "U", 2011.

To cite this article

Alexandre SUMPF, "Mucha, the spirit of 1900"

Glossary

  • Double monarchy: When two separate kingdoms are ruled by the same monarch, this regime is called Double monarchy. This term is particularly used to designate Austria-Hungary, a double monarchy having existed from 1867 to 1918.
  • Panslavism: Political movement of the nineteenth and early twentieth century based on the feeling of a historical heritage common to all Slavic peoples and wishing to restore a Slavic nation.
  • Modern styl: Synonymous with Art Nouveau
  • Art Nouveau: Style that developed from the end of the 19th century, first in Belgium and France. He thrives in architecture and the decorative arts. The search for functionality is one of the concerns of its architects and designers. Art Nouveau is characterized by forms inspired by nature, where the curve dominates.

  • Video: Exhibition explores artist Alphonse Muchas cosmic creations

Mucha, der Geist von 1900

Mucha, der Geist von 1900

  • Fragmente der Flagge von Bosnien und Herzegowina Fries

    MUCHA Alfons (1860 - 1939)

  • Österreich

    MUCHA Alfons (1860 - 1939)

Fragmente der Flagge von Bosnien und Herzegowina Fries

© Musée d'Orsay, Dist. RMN-Grand Palais / Patrice Schmidt

© BPK, Berlin, Dist. RMN-Grand Palais / Knud Petersen

Erscheinungsdatum: Oktober 2020

Historischer Zusammenhang

Von Prag nach Paris: Alphonse Mucha

Der Jugendstil und der tschechische Illustrator Alphonse Mucha (1860-1939), die 1900 auf dem Gelände der Weltausstellung in Paris allgegenwärtig waren, erlebten dort einen Höhepunkt. Die künstlerische Bewegung wurde in den frühen 1890er Jahren in der Ablehnung des Klassizismus zugunsten von Kurven geboren und von der Erforschung von Flora und Fauna inspiriert. Sie eroberte viele Bereiche - insbesondere Illustration und Architektur - und viele Länder: insbesondere Spanien, Belgien, Frankreich und Mitteleuropa. Die Ausstellungsjury verlieh ihm eine Silbermedaille für die vom Architekten Karel Panek (1860-) entworfenen Fresken im Pavillon von Bosnien und Herzegowina.

Bildanalyse

Stilisierte Nationen

Die Fragmente des Frieses von Mucha, die im Orsay Museum aufbewahrt werden, sind Teil des Zyklus der bosnischen Volkslegenden. Die Band zieht sich durch den gesamten Band im oberen Teil, während sich die Geschichte der bosnischen Nation im mittleren Teil der Wände vollständiger entfaltet und der untere Fries mit wiederholten Blumenmotiven verziert ist. Während der Künstler eine breite Palette für seine großen Fresken verwendete (Bosnien bietet seine Produkte auf der Messe an Zum Beispiel) entscheidet er sich für Blautöne, die durch gemalte Arkaden hervorgehoben werden, die von warmen Farben (Rot und Orange) und geometrischen Mustern dominiert werden. Wenn die Linie, die die flachen Farbbereiche begrenzt, einfach und fast naiv ist und die Dekoration aus pflanzlichen Formen in Sfumato besteht, ist Mucha beim Zeichnen von Vorhängen oder Frauenhaaren am Rande der Kostbarkeit [ Detail 2]. In diesem Zyklus kontrastieren die männlichen Figuren mit ihrem hieratischen Blick [Detail 1] und ihren rauen Körpern scharf mit den lasziven Posen und den kurvenreichen Silhouetten der weiblichen Figuren.

Wenn Mucha Plakate für den bosnischen Pavillon und sein Restaurant anfertigte, erhielt er von der Doppelmonarchie auch den Auftrag, für den österreichischen Pavillon zu werben. In beiden Fällen entschied er sich für Brauntöne mit matten Rottönen oder verblasstem Gelb und reproduzierte die lange verwendete Aufteilung in Höhenrichtung. Links dient eine weibliche Figur mit niedergeschlagenen Augen und engen Lippen als Wahrzeichen der österreichischen Nation. Ihr Kostüm scheint weniger von der nationalen Tradition zu stammen als von den Kostümen, die das absolute Model der Künstlerin, Sarah Bernhardt, auf der Bühne trägt. Im Gegensatz zu vielen anderen Frauen, die von Mucha gezeichnet wurden, hat diese keine üppigen Haare und bleibt elegant gekleidet. Vor dem Hintergrund ihres Heiligenscheines, einem wiederkehrenden Motiv, können wir im Schatten eine Frau erkennen, die erotisch ihre nackte Achselhöhle und Schulter enthüllt und den Betrachter anstarrt. Sie scheint sie einzuladen, das Geheimnis dieser Allegorie zu enthüllen, die ihr Kleid bescheiden mit geballten Fingern hält, aber nicht verhindert, dass ihre linke Brust zwischen den Stoffen hervorsteht. In der rechten Hälfte des Plakats präsentiert Mucha klassisch die wichtigsten österreichisch-ungarischen Attraktionen, die den Besuchern der Ausstellung angeboten werden: Wenn der kaiserliche Pavillon einen Klassizismus mit einigen Zugeständnissen an Modern Styl aufweist, bietet das Wiener Restaurant ein perfektes Bild des Verwendung der Kurve und des Lichts durch die Architekten des Jugendstils. Die Reproduktion eines Tiroler Herrenhauses, der Ehrenhalle oder der Arbeiterhäuser von Siemens-Halske [Detail 1] und Krupp widersetzen sich dieser Fantasie mit einer Form von utilitaristischer Strenge.

Interpretation

Jugendstil und Propaganda

Obwohl Mucha lange Zeit ausgewandert war, unterhielt er Kontakte in Wien, wo er 1879 einige Zeit verbrachte. Sein Ruhm auf dem Kontinent und der Wille der Doppelmonarchie, Offenheit, Humanismus und Fortschritt zu demonstrieren, führten dazu, Mucha nebeneinander zu erbitten Der Tscheche Adolf Kaufmann (1848-1916) schmückt die Flagge Bosniens. Wenn die Struktur des Reiches es rechtfertigt, dass die Habsburger in Paris einen separaten Pavillon für Österreich und Ungarn errichten, kann die Wahl von Bosnien eine Überraschung sein. Es war tatsächlich die letzte kaiserliche Eroberung im Jahr 1878, die die serbische Dynamik auf dem Balkan stoppte. Die Behörden möchten der internationalen Meinung ein Modell ihrer Politik der administrativen und sozioökonomischen Modernisierung bieten. Österreich-Ungarn unternimmt erhebliche finanzielle Anstrengungen (30.000 Kronen für Mucha) und setzt ziemlich intensive Propaganda ein. Ihr kuratorisches Büro veröffentlicht einen zwölfbändigen Katalog über die Errungenschaften des Reiches und eine Anleitung zum Durchsuchen der Ausstellung in französischer und deutscher Sprache, die als die umfassendste gilt. Sie durchziehen die Ausstellung mit dem Tiroler Herrenhaus am Fuße des Eiffelturms, dem auf der Esplanade des Invalides thronenden Wiener Restaurant und dem im Nebengebäude von Vincennes vorgestellten Genesungsheim Krupp [Detail 2] Original aus Bernsdorf, Österreich.

Die Produktion des Plakats und der Cover der österreichischen Publikationen zeigt, dass Mucha Handelsaufträge immer gerne annimmt. Er appelliert an seine Wiener Gönner, indem er die Allegorie Österreichs entgegen seinem üblichen Stil desexualisiert. Er scheint im Zyklus der Fresken eine Gelegenheit gefunden zu haben, eine weitere Facette seiner Kunst zu entwickeln. Er arbeitet in seinem Atelier mit vielen Modellen, reproduziert dann auf einer Skala und einer Tempera auf Leinwänden und setzt sich mit dem Thema der slawischen Zivilisation auseinander, das im Mittelpunkt seiner Arbeit in der Zwischenkriegszeit stehen wird. Kommissar Henri Moser (1844-1923) und der Gouverneur von Bosnien Béni Kállay (1839-1903) unternahmen eine Reise nach Wien, Sarajevo und in das Museum. Sie stellten ihn auch als Modell zur Verfügung Die Geschichten von Bosnien (1898), ein Plagiat von La Guzla von Prosper Mérimée, signiert unter dem Pseudonym Mathilde Colonna. Als Gegenleistung für seine Mitarbeit bei der Erhöhung der österreichischen Arbeit in Bosnien konnte sich Mucha in seinem neuen Gesicht als Herold, Förderer des Panslawismus als Vektor des Friedens präsentieren. Er ignorierte die Einsätze seiner Beteiligung nicht völlig: Im Fries erscheinen viele Gestalten schlafend oder tot. Diese Legenden gehören zum Reich der Nacht und der Schatten: Die populäre mündliche Erinnerung ist die tragische Seite des Heldenepos des bosnischen Volkes, das sich direkt darunter entfaltet.

  • Jugendstil
  • Weltausstellungen
  • 1900 Weltausstellung
  • Österreich-Ungarn
  • Balkan
  • Habsburg
  • Krupp
  • Bernhardt (Sarah)

Literaturverzeichnis

Ann Bridges, Alphonse Mucha: Die komplette Grafik funktioniert, New York, Harmony Books, 1980

Pascal Ory, Pariser WeltausstellungenRamsay, 1982.

Paul Pasteur, Geschichte Österreichs: vom multinationalen Reich bis zur österreichischen Nation (18. - 20. Jahrhundert), Paris, Armand Colin, umg. "U", 2011.

Um diesen Artikel zu zitieren

Alexandre SUMPF, "Mucha, der Geist von 1900"

Glossar

  • Doppelmonarchie: Wenn zwei getrennte Königreiche von demselben Monarchen regiert werden, wird dieses Regime Doppelmonarchie genannt. Dieser Begriff wird insbesondere verwendet, um Österreich-Ungarn zu bezeichnen, eine Doppelmonarchie, die von 1867 bis 1918 bestand.
  • Panslavismus: Politische Bewegung des neunzehnten und frühen zwanzigsten Jahrhunderts, basierend auf dem Gefühl eines historischen Erbes, das allen slawischen Völkern gemeinsam ist und eine slawische Nation wiederherstellen möchte.
  • Moderner Stil: Synonym für Jugendstil
  • Jugendstil: Stil, der sich ab Ende des 19. Jahrhunderts entwickelte, zuerst in Belgien und Frankreich. Er lebt von Architektur und dekorativen Künsten. Die Suche nach Funktionalität ist eines der Anliegen seiner Architekten und Designer. Der Jugendstil zeichnet sich durch Formen aus, die von der Natur inspiriert sind und in denen die Kurve dominiert.

  • Video: The Actress u0026 The Artist: Sarah Bernhardt and Alphonse Mucha