A "Mozambique", slave in Ile de France

A


We are searching data for your request:

Forums and discussions:
Manuals and reference books:
Data from registers:
Wait the end of the search in all databases.
Upon completion, a link will appear to access the found materials.

To close

Title: Natural from the coast of Mozambique.

Author : LITTLE Nicolas-Martin (1777 - 1804)

Creation date : 1807

Date shown: 1807

Dimensions: Height 30 - Width 23.5

Technique and other indications: Engraved by Roger under the direction of J. G. Milbert.

Storage place: Natural history museum - Le Havre website

Contact copyright: © Natural history museum. Le Havre. Lesueur collection

Picture reference: Coll. Lesueur, n ° 19 050-2

Natural from the coast of Mozambique.

© Museum of Natural History. Lesueur collection

Publication date: December 2006

Historical context

Slavery in Ile de France (Mauritius)

The French settled in the 18th century, in the former Dutch colony of Mauritius, and baptized Ile-de-France this stopover which facilitates and protects the route of their boats to India. The adaptation of the Code Noir for use by the Mascarenes in 1723 encouraged the arrival of thousands of slaves, mostly from the island of Madagascar and East Africa. In 1796, when the French government expedition with the decree abolishing slavery of 1794 arrived, the government commissioners were forced to re-embark and the slavery system was maintained.

Image Analysis

Slaves of various ethnicities

This print was engraved from a drawing by Nicolas Martin Petit (1777-1804), one of the artists embarked by Captain Baudin for the expedition to the southern lands from France in 1800. In Ile-de- France was called "Mozambiques" the black slaves of Africa to distinguish them from Malagasy, Indians or even Creoles born on the island. But in reality, blacks transported from the east coast of Africa to become slaves in Ile-de-France could come from any ethnic group in East Africa.

Nicolas Petit made two stops in Ile-de-France with the Baudin expedition: in 1801, on the outward journey, and longer in 1803, on the return. The spectacular scarifications of this slave undoubtedly intrigued this young ethnographer, but he could not represent him in his natural environment as he did for the natives of Australia, Tasmania or Timor, according to the principles adopted by the nascent anthropology.

Petit has him strike a classic pose, leaning on a stump of stone, in the Antique style he practiced in David's studio. Thus stand out the plastic and the astonishing bodily decoration of the young black's face, neck and bust. But the gaze differs from the serene and smiling expression of the many natives that Petit painted during the expedition and lets a contained anguish filter through. No doubt the artist could not have known anything about the origin of this man or his history, but his drawing suggests an enigma.

Scarifications, widely practiced by primitive societies, form blisters obtained by inserting pieces of wood under the skin. The slave labor of Ile-de-France presented many examples. In 1809, a traveler, Epidarist Colin, noted that each ethnic group had its own characteristic body adornment and precisely described those of the various African ethnic groups present on the island. It is thus possible to locate the origin of the scarifications of this slave in the Yao people: "We recognize them with the help of the stars they make on the body and on the cheeks, as well as two or three horizontal bars below the temples. The Yao had established ancient relationships with the coastal peoples for trade; settled near Lake Nyassa, they transported ivory and slaves in exchange for cloth and guns.

From Yao territory, this man must have made a particularly grueling journey of a thousand kilometers on foot, before being transported by sea to Ile-de-France, during which many captives died exhausted.

Interpretation

The loss of identity

The portrait of this slave from an ethnic group settled a thousand kilometers from the coast of Mozambique testifies that in 1800, the slavery practiced in East Africa was already draining populations from the interior of the continent, even before its wide development in Nineteenth century.

If the scarifications of this slave prompted Nicolas Petit to paint his portrait, these marks specific to an ethnic group of black warriors are now only a derisory anecdotal, in the world of slave plantations in Ile-de-France. The owners report what they know about the ethnicities of their slaves in censuses carried out at the time, but this origin is of importance to them only to prejudge their qualities as workers. Just like this man referred to by a vague term of regroupment linked to transport from the coast, each captive, uprooted and marked by the horror of travel, loses his original identity.

Ultimately, this designation of "Mozambique" returns to a stage of creolization: this man carries in the pulpit of his face and his body the mark of his past Yao, he is identified on this date under the vague grouping of "Mozambique And, if he survives, his future will be that of a Mauritian Creole.

  • colonial history
  • slavery
  • portrait
  • planting
  • Australia
  • Mauritius

Bibliography

Reunion Island. Different perspectives on slaveryCatalog of the exhibition at the Léon-Dierx Museum, Saint-Denis de la Réunion, 1998-1999. Paris, Ed. Somogy, Saint-Denis de la Réunion, CNH, 1998.

Claude WANQUETFrance and the first abolition of slavery. The case of the eastern colonies Paris, Khartala, 1998.

Works by Nicolas Martin Petit, artist of the Voyage aux Terres australes (1800-1804)Exhibition at the Le Havre Natural History Museum. Lesueur collection. Le Havre, 1997.

Edward A. ALPERS,Becoming ‘Mozambique’: Diaspora and Identity in MauritiusUniversity of California, Los Angeles.

Read Epidarist COLINNotes on the physique and morale of the various black castes of the African coastin Annals of the Voyages of Geography and History. T IX, Paris, 1809. Pp. 320-321.

Read Guide to the sources of the slave trade, slavery and their abolitionDirectorate of Archives de France, La documentation française, Paris, 2007.

To cite this article

Luce-Marie ALBIGÈS, “A“ Mozambique ”, a slave in the Ile de France”


Video: 06 - Michel Admette - Zanguille 4 Couleurs

Ein "Mosambik", Sklave auf der Ile de France

Ein

Schließen

Titel: Natürlich von der Küste Mosambiks.

Autor: KLEIN Nicolas-Martin (1777 - 1804)

Erstellungsdatum : 1807

Datum angezeigt: 1807

Maße: Höhe 30 - Breite 23,5

Technik und andere Indikationen: Gravur von Roger unter der Leitung von J. G. Milbert.

Lagerraum: Naturhistorisches Museum - Le Havre Website

Kontakt Copyright: © Naturhistorisches Museum. Le Havre. Lesueur Sammlung

Bildreferenz: Coll. Lesueur, Nr. 19 050-2

Natürlich von der Küste Mosambiks.

© Naturhistorisches Museum. Lesueur Sammlung

Erscheinungsdatum: Dezember 2006

Historischer Zusammenhang

Sklaverei auf der Ile de France (Mauritius)

Die Franzosen ließen sich im 18. Jahrhundert in der ehemaligen niederländischen Kolonie Mauritius nieder und tauften Ile-de-France diesen Zwischenstopp, der die Route ihrer Boote nach Indien erleichtert und schützt. Die Anpassung des Code Noir für die Mascarener im Jahr 1723 ermutigte die Ankunft von Tausenden von Sklaven, hauptsächlich von der Insel Madagaskar und Ostafrika. Als 1796 die französische Regierungsexpedition mit dem Dekret von 1794 zur Abschaffung der Sklaverei eintraf, mussten die Regierungskommissare wieder einschiffen und das Sklavensystem wurde aufrechterhalten.

Bildanalyse

Sklaven verschiedener Ethnien

Dieser Druck wurde nach einer Zeichnung von Nicolas Martin Petit (1777-1804) gestochen, einem der Künstler, die Kapitän Baudin 1800 für die Expedition von Frankreich in die südlichen Länder eingeschifft hatte. In Ile-de- Frankreich wurde "Mosambik" genannt, die schwarzen Sklaven Afrikas, um sie von Madagassen, Indern oder sogar Kreolen zu unterscheiden, die auf der Insel geboren wurden. In Wirklichkeit könnten Schwarze, die von der Ostküste Afrikas zu Sklaven in Ile-de-France transportiert wurden, aus jeder ethnischen Gruppe in Ostafrika stammen.

Nicolas Petit machte mit der Baudin-Expedition zwei Stopps in Ile-de-France: 1801 auf der Hinreise und 1803 auf der Rückreise. Die spektakulären Skarifikationen dieses Sklaven faszinierten diesen jungen Ethnographen zweifellos, aber er konnte ihn nicht in seiner natürlichen Umgebung darstellen, wie er es für die Eingeborenen Australiens, Tasmaniens oder Timors tat, gemäß den von der entstehende Anthropologie.

Petit lässt ihn eine klassische Pose einnehmen, die sich auf einen Steinstumpf stützt, in dem antiken Stil, den er in Davids Atelier praktizierte. So heben sich der Kunststoff und die erstaunliche Körperdekoration von Gesicht, Hals und Brust des jungen Schwarzen hervor. Aber der Blick unterscheidet sich von dem ruhigen und lächelnden Ausdruck der vielen Eingeborenen, die Petit während der Expedition gemalt hat, und lässt eine in sich geschlossene Angst durch. Zweifellos konnte der Künstler nichts über die Herkunft dieses Mannes oder seine Geschichte wissen, aber seine Zeichnung deutet auf ein Rätsel hin.

Skarifikationen, die von primitiven Gesellschaften häufig praktiziert werden, bilden Blasen, die durch Einführen von Holzstücken unter die Haut entstehen. Die Sklavenarbeit von Ile-de-France präsentierte viele Beispiele. Im Jahr 1809 stellte ein Reisender, Epidarist Colin, fest, dass jede ethnische Gruppe ihre eigene charakteristische Körperverzierung hatte, und beschrieb genau die der verschiedenen afrikanischen ethnischen Gruppen, die auf der Insel anwesend waren. So ist es möglich, den Ursprung der Skarifikationen dieses Sklaven im Yao-Volk zu lokalisieren: "Wir erkennen sie mit Hilfe der Sterne, die sie auf dem Körper und auf den Wangen machen, sowie zwei oder drei horizontale Balken unter den Schläfen. Die Yao hatten alte Beziehungen zu den Küstenvölkern für den Handel aufgebaut; Sie ließen sich in der Nähe des Nyassa-Sees nieder und transportierten Elfenbein und Sklaven gegen Stoff und Waffen.

Vom Yao-Territorium aus muss dieser Mann eine besonders anstrengende Reise von tausend Kilometern zu Fuß unternommen haben, bevor er auf dem Seeweg nach Ile-de-France transportiert wurde, wo viele Gefangene erschöpft starben.

Interpretation

Der Verlust der Identität

Das Porträt dieses Sklaven einer ethnischen Gruppe, die sich tausend Kilometer vor der Küste Mosambiks niedergelassen hat, zeugt davon, dass die in Ostafrika praktizierte Sklaverei bereits 1800 die Bevölkerung aus dem Inneren des Kontinents entwässerte, noch bevor sie sich weit entwickelte 19. Jahrhundert.

Wenn die Skarifikationen dieses Sklaven Nicolas Petit dazu veranlassten, sein Porträt zu malen, sind diese für eine ethnische Gruppe schwarzer Krieger spezifischen Zeichen in der Welt der Sklavenplantagen in Ile-de-France nur noch eine spöttische Anekdote. Die Eigentümer berichten in Volkszählungen, was sie über die Ethnien ihrer Sklaven wissen, aber diese Herkunft ist ihnen nur wichtig, damit ihre Qualitäten als Arbeiter beeinträchtigt werden können. Genau wie dieser Mann, auf den sich eine vage Umgruppierung bezieht, die mit dem Transport von der Küste verbunden ist, verliert jeder Gefangene, entwurzelt und vom Schrecken des Reisens geprägt, seine ursprüngliche Identität.

Letztendlich kehrt diese Bezeichnung von "Mosambik" zu einem Stadium der Kreolisierung zurück: Dieser Mann trägt auf der Kanzel seines Gesichts und seines Körpers das Zeichen seines vergangenen Yao, er wird an diesem Datum unter der vagen Gruppierung von "Mosambik" identifiziert Und wenn er überlebt, wird seine Zukunft die eines mauritischen Kreols sein.

  • Kolonialgeschichte
  • Sklaverei
  • Porträt
  • Pflanzen
  • Australien
  • Mauritius

Literaturverzeichnis

Reunion Island. Unterschiedliche Perspektiven zur SklavereiKatalog der Ausstellung im Léon-Dierx-Museum, Saint-Denis de la Réunion, 1998-1999. Paris, Hrsg. Somogy, Saint-Denis de la Réunion, CNH, 1998.

Claude WANQUETFrankreich und die erste Abschaffung der Sklaverei. Der Fall der Ostkolonien Paris, Khartala, 1998.

Werke von Nicolas Martin Petit, Künstler der Voyage aux Terres australes (1800-1804)Ausstellung im Le Havre Natural History Museum. Lesueur Sammlung. Le Havre, 1997.

Edward A. ALPERS,Mosambik werden: Diaspora und Identität auf MauritiusUniversität von California, Los Angeles.

Lesen Sie Epidarist COLINAnmerkungen zum Körperbau und zur Moral der verschiedenen schwarzen Kasten der afrikanischen Küsteim Annalen der Reisen der Geographie und Geschichte. T IX, Paris, 1809. S. 320-321.

Lesen Leitfaden zu den Quellen des Sklavenhandels, der Sklaverei und ihrer AbschaffungDirektion des Archives de France, La documentation française, Paris, 2007.

Um diesen Artikel zu zitieren

Luce-Marie ALBIGÈS, "Ein" Mosambik ", ein Sklave auf der Ile de France"


Video: AS 12 EXPRESSÕES MAIS USADAS PELOS BRASILEIROS