Roland's death

Roland's death


We are searching data for your request:

Forums and discussions:
Manuals and reference books:
Data from registers:
Wait the end of the search in all databases.
Upon completion, a link will appear to access the found materials.

Landscape - Death of Roland in 778

© RMN-Grand Palais (Louvre museum) / Gérard Blot

Publication date: December 2019

Historical context

The myth of Roncesvalles

The only famous episode of the reign of Charlemagne which does not directly involve the future emperor of the West, the tragic death of Roland at the Col de Roncesvalles is a prolific literary and then pictorial subject but a very uncertain event from a historical point of view: his exact location, even its existence, are still debated. Revealed after the death of the king by the Charlemagne life of Eginhard and above all mythologized by the Roland's song, the battle would have taken place on August 15, 778. Michallon witnesses the revisiting of the Middle Ages by romantic artists, but remains a neoclassical painter who is interested at the end of his short life in painting landscapes after nature, outdoors and not in the workshop.

Image Analysis

Lyrical sacrifice

True to his way, Michallon refused to paint a battle scene in favor of his vision of Pyrenean nature - which he had never contemplated - and to focus on the hero's lonely death. The latter was placed just below the center of the canvas, an ocher ravine illuminated by the sun which indicates the place where the trap was set. It was against this rock which marked the end of his life that Roland, in a last burst of energy, struck his sword - that the Roland's song appointed Durandal to the XIe century. He is supported by a companion who is either the count of the palace Anselme le Preux, also killed during the battle, or more probably Olivier, brother-in-law of Roland, who protects him with his shield. Contrary to what one might expect from a painter who clearly has a knowledge of the epic serving as the main source of battle, Roland is not depicted blowing in his olifant to call for help Charlemagne. The small figures visible on the right represent the adversaries who flee after committing their crime obtained by treachery. But more than these humans enhanced with red, which with a white plume, Michallon is interested in a majestic, sublime nature, that which is praised in his time by the nascent romanticism, that which is visited and described by first tourists. The painter balances the power of the elements - a sky laden with threatening clouds, high impenetrable rocks - with symbols of the passage from life to death: the famous indentation between the cliffs, the flowing mountain torrent, the golden leaves of the trees that symbolize autumn (while the scene is supposed to take place on August 15). The mountain stone serves both as a setting for a heroic death and as material for the tomb of what was then considered to be Charlemagne's nephew.

Interpretation

The obscure sources of the national myth

The study of available period sources suggests that Roland never existed, and in any case was neither Charlemagne's nephew, nor prefect of the Brittany March (a function that did not exist in 778) . In addition, the site of Roncesvalles is not clearly identified in the Pyrenees and the battle, described in chronicles quite late, may have taken place years later. The legend of Roland's fight, propagated by literature (especially the Roland's song) and illuminations, allowed the myth to take root. This myth, no doubt created from scratch, signals a political will to rewrite history which has strengthened over time. In 1819, after the end of the Napoleonic adventure, it is not innocent to paint a famous episode in the reign of the one who was both the first Frankish emperor and one of the consolidators of the kingdom and the monarchy. If Michallon obscures the religious issue by avoiding representing the enemy and does not embrace Orientalism, he brings to the fore the chivalrous and feudal values ​​denounced under the revolution and battered by a new nobility of the sword. Roland, personally and politically linked to his overlord, is the emblem of the loyalty of the vassal, a highly topical issue in these times of political upheaval.

  • Charlemagne
  • Roland
  • Roncesvalles
  • literature
  • Francs
  • landscape
  • history painting
  • rome price
  • Fontainebleau
  • Middle Ages
  • nature
  • heroic figure
  • romanticism
  • Brittany
  • knight

Bibliography

The Battle of Roncesvalles. In history, legend and historiography (proceedings of the Saint-Jean-Pied-de-Port conference, August 12, 1978), Bayonne, Labourd, 1979.

Isabelle Duran-Le Guern, Bernard Ribémont, Charlemagne. Emperor and myth of the West, Paris, Klincksieck, 2009

Renée Mussot-Goulard, Roncevaux, Saturday August 15, 778, Paris, Perrin, 2006.

To cite this article

Alexandre SUMPF, "The death of Roland"


Video: Everyones Reaction to Rolands Death Borderlands 2

Rolands Tod

Rolands Tod

Landschaft - Tod von Roland im Jahre 778

© RMN-Grand Palais (Louvre-Museum) / Gérard Blot

Erscheinungsdatum: Dezember 2019

Historischer Zusammenhang

Der Mythos von Roncesvalles

Die einzige berühmte Episode in der Regierungszeit Karls des Großen, an der der zukünftige Kaiser des Westens nicht direkt beteiligt ist. Der tragische Tod von Roland am Col de Roncesvalles ist ein produktives literarisches und dann bildliches Thema, aber aus historischer Sicht ein sehr ungewisses Ereignis: seine genaue Lage, Auch seine Existenz wird noch diskutiert. Nach dem Tod des Königs durch die enthüllt Karl das große Leben von Eginhard und vor allem mythologisiert von Rolands LiedDie Schlacht hätte am 15. August 778 stattgefunden. Michallon ist Zeuge der Wiederaufnahme des Mittelalters durch romantische Künstler, bleibt aber ein neoklassischer Maler, der sich am Ende seines kurzen Lebens für das Malen von Landschaften interessiert Natur, draußen und nicht in der Werkstatt.

Bildanalyse

Lyrisches Opfer

Getreu seiner Art weigerte sich Michallon, eine Kampfszene zugunsten seiner Vision der pyrenäischen Natur zu malen - über die er nie nachgedacht hatte - und sich auf den einsamen Tod des Helden zu konzentrieren. Letzteres befand sich direkt unter der Mitte der Leinwand, einer von der Sonne beleuchteten ockerfarbenen Schlucht, die den Ort anzeigt, an dem die Falle aufgestellt wurde. Gegen diesen Felsen, der das Ende seines Lebens markierte, schlug Roland in einem letzten Energieschub sein Schwert - das Rolands Lied ernannte Durandal zum XIe Jahrhundert. Er wird von einem Gefährten unterstützt, der entweder der Graf des Palastes Anselme le Preux ist, der ebenfalls während der Schlacht getötet wurde, oder wahrscheinlich von Olivier, dem Schwager von Roland, der ihn mit seinem Schild beschützt. Im Gegensatz zu dem, was man von einem Maler erwarten kann, der eindeutig das Epos kennt, das als Hauptquelle des Kampfes dient, ist Roland nicht in seinem blasend dargestellt olifant um Hilfe zu rufen Karl der Große. Die kleinen Figuren auf der rechten Seite stellen die Gegner dar, die fliehen, nachdem sie ihr durch Verrat begangenes Verbrechen begangen haben. Aber mehr als diese mit Rot angereicherten Menschen, die Michallon mit einer weißen Wolke interessiert, interessiert er sich für eine majestätische, erhabene Natur, die zu seiner Zeit von der entstehenden Romantik gelobt wird, die von besucht und beschrieben wird erste Touristen. Der Maler gleicht die Kraft der Elemente - einen Himmel voller bedrohlicher Wolken, hoher undurchdringlicher Felsen - mit Symbolen für den Übergang vom Leben zum Tod aus: die berühmte Vertiefung zwischen den Klippen, der fließende Gebirgsbach, der goldene Blätter der Bäume, die den Herbst symbolisieren (während die Szene am 15. August stattfinden soll). Der Bergstein dient sowohl als Kulisse für einen heldenhaften Tod als auch als Material für das Grab des damaligen Neffen Karls des Großen.

Interpretation

Die obskuren Quellen des nationalen Mythos

Die Untersuchung der verfügbaren Quellen aus der Zeit legt nahe, dass Roland nie existierte und auf keinen Fall der Neffe Karls des Großen oder der Präfekt des Bretagne-Marsches war (eine Funktion, die 778 nicht existierte). . Darüber hinaus ist der Ort Roncesvalles in den Pyrenäen nicht eindeutig identifiziert, und die Schlacht, die in Chroniken ziemlich spät beschrieben wurde, könnte Jahre später stattgefunden haben. Die Legende von Rolands Kampf, propagiert von der Literatur (insbesondere der Rolands Lied) und Illuminationen ließen den Mythos Wurzeln schlagen. Dieser Mythos, der zweifellos von Grund auf neu geschaffen wurde, signalisiert einen politischen Willen, die Geschichte neu zu schreiben, der sich im Laufe der Zeit verstärkt hat. 1819, nach dem Ende des napoleonischen Abenteuers, ist es nicht unschuldig, eine berühmte Episode in der Regierungszeit desjenigen zu malen, der sowohl der erste fränkische Kaiser als auch einer der Konsolidierer des Königreichs und der Monarchie war. Wenn Michallon die religiöse Frage verschleiert, indem er es vermeidet, den Feind zu vertreten, und den Orientalismus nicht akzeptiert, bringt er die ritterlichen und feudalen Werte zurück, die unter der Revolution denunziert und von einem neuen Adel des Schwertes geschlagen wurden. Roland, der persönlich und politisch mit seinem Oberherrn verbunden ist, ist das Symbol für die Loyalität des Vasallen, ein hochaktuelles Thema in Zeiten politischer Umwälzungen.

  • Karl der Große
  • Roland
  • Roncesvalles
  • Literatur
  • Franken
  • Landschaft
  • Historienmalerei
  • Rom Preis
  • Fontainebleau
  • Mittelalter
  • Natur
  • Heldenfigur
  • Romantik
  • Bretagne
  • Ritter

Literaturverzeichnis

Die Schlacht von Roncesvalles. In der Geschichte, Legende und Geschichtsschreibung (Tagungsband der Konferenz Saint-Jean-Pied-de-Port, 12. August 1978), Bayonne, Labourd, 1979.

Isabelle Duran-Le Guern, Bernard Ribémont, Karl der Große. Kaiser und Mythos des Westens, Paris, Klincksieck, 2009

Renée Mussot-Goulard, Roncevaux, Samstag, 15. August 778, Paris, Perrin, 2006.

Um diesen Artikel zu zitieren

Alexandre SUMPF, "Der Tod von Roland"


Video: Rolandskvadet - Medieval Song of Roland