Bara's death

Bara's death


We are searching data for your request:

Forums and discussions:
Manuals and reference books:
Data from registers:
Wait the end of the search in all databases.
Upon completion, a link will appear to access the found materials.

To close

Title: Death of Joseph Bara.

Author : DAVID Jacques Louis (1748 - 1825)

Creation date : 1794

Date shown: 07 December 1793

Dimensions: Height 118 - Width 155

Technique and other indications: Oil on canvas

Storage location: Calvet Museum website

Contact copyright: © Photo RMN-Grand Palais - H. Lewandowskisite web

Picture reference: 89EE2099 / INV 146

© Photo RMN-Grand Palais - H. Lewandowski

Publication date: March 2016

Historical context

Born in 1779, Joseph Bara is the son of the gamekeeper of the Lord of Palaiseau. According to legend, surrounded by Vendeans who summoned him to shout Long live the king, he would have answered Long live the Republic ! Informed by General Desmarres, the Convention demanded that his body be transferred to the Pantheon and that David, responsible for organizing the ceremony, also pay homage to him with a painting.

Image Analysis

The cult of Bara gave rise to the publication of very many engravings, most of them published immediately after the decree of the Convention of May 7, 1794 (18 Floréal year II) which required that the honors of the Pantheon be returned to him. In these engravings, Bara is very often represented dressed in the uniform of the hussars, more rarely in the clothes of a drum. Other images will also use allegorical elements of the Pantheon ceremony imagined by David. The latter questioned by Barère at the Convention agreed to draw the image of the young martyr so that it could be exhibited "in all primary schools". Apparently David only had time to craft a sketch: a naked, androgynous-looking child in a languid position. Bara has just been punched and we can see on the left of the painting a flag and a soldier witnessing the dramatic scene that has just unfolded. The child holds in his right hand a cockade and a letter which one might think was addressed - or alluded to - his mother, a device already used by David in his Marat, another symbolic and dramatic representation of a martyr of the Revolution. In his speech to the Convention on July 11, 1794 (23 Messidor Year II), David presented his plan for the organization of the ceremony and spoke of Bara’s death: "Summoned by brigands to cry Long live the king ! Instantly, pierced with blows, he fell, pressing the tricolor cockade to his heart; he dies to relive the splendor of history. The party that was scheduled for 10 Thermidor was finally canceled due to the events of the day before.

Interpretation

For Robespierre or Barère, the two deputies, the young martyr embodies the Revolution, of which he is the product. It symbolizes the virtue which at the end of 1793 lacked in a Republic affected by the scandals that affected Danton, Hébert and Fabre d´Eglantine. Bara also allows the Committee of Public Safety to take back in hand popular cults which, like those of Marat or Le Peletier, favored dechristianization against which Robespierre fought. In both his outline and his plan for the organization of the pantheonization ceremony, David symbolically evokes these ideological and political debates. Another heroic figure of the Revolution who is frequently associated with him, Viala was also the subject alongside Bara of a veritable "cult" that can be observed in military imagery or in the writings of Charles Nodier; the two figures occupy an important place in the republican pantheon.

  • Convention
  • heroic figure
  • martyr
  • naked
  • Vendée

Bibliography

Collective Joseph Bara: (1779-1793). For the second centenary of his birth Paris, Société des études robespierristes, 1981.Louis PHILIPON DE LA MADELEINE Agricole Viala, or I Young Hero of the Durance: historical and patriotic fact, act in prose, mixed with song Paris, Hachette, 1975.Charles NODIER Portraits of the Revolution and the Empire Paris, Tallandier, 1988. Pierre NORA (dir.) Memorial place , tome I, “La République” Paris, Gallimard, 1984, re-ed. “Quarto”, 1997.

To cite this article

Pascal DUPUY, "The death of Bara"


Video: gladiator bara to the death

Baras Tod

Baras Tod

Schließen

Titel: Tod von Joseph Bara.

Autor: DAVID Jacques Louis (1748 - 1825)

Erstellungsdatum : 1794

Datum angezeigt: 07. Dezember 1793

Maße: Höhe 118 - Breite 155

Technik und andere Indikationen: Öl auf Leinwand

Speicherort: Calvet Museum Website

Kontakt Copyright: © Foto RMN-Grand Palais - H. Lewandowskisite Web

Bildreferenz: 89EE2099 / INV 146

© Foto RMN-Grand Palais - H. Lewandowski

Erscheinungsdatum: März 2016

Historischer Zusammenhang

Joseph Bara wurde 1779 als Sohn des Wildhüters des Lords von Palaiseau geboren. Der Legende nach, umgeben von Vendeanern, die ihn zum Schreien aufforderten Lang lebe der Könighätte er geantwortet Es lebe die Republik! Von General Desmarres informiert, forderte der Konvent, dass sein Körper in das Pantheon gebracht wird und dass David, der für die Organisation der Zeremonie verantwortlich ist, ihm ebenfalls mit einem Gemälde huldigt.

Bildanalyse

Der Kult von Bara führte zur Veröffentlichung vieler Stiche, von denen die meisten unmittelbar nach dem Erlass des Konvents vom 7. Mai 1794 (18. Blumenjahr II) veröffentlicht wurden, der die Rückgabe der Ehren des Pantheons an ihn erforderte. In diesen Stichen ist Bara sehr oft in der Uniform der Husaren dargestellt, seltener in der Kleidung einer Trommel. Andere Bilder werden auch allegorische Elemente der von David vorgestellten Pantheon-Zeremonie aufnehmen. Letzterer, der von Barère auf dem Konvent befragt wurde, erklärte sich bereit, das Bild des jungen Märtyrers zu zeichnen, damit es "in allen Grundschulen" ausgestellt werden kann. Anscheinend hatte David nur Zeit, eine Skizze zu erstellen: ein nacktes, androgyn aussehendes Kind in einer trägen Position. Bara wurde gerade geschlagen und wir können auf der linken Seite des Gemäldes eine Flagge und einen Soldaten sehen, die die dramatische Szene beobachten, die sich gerade entfaltet hat. Das Kind hält in seiner rechten Hand eine Kokarde und einen Brief, von dem man denken könnte, dass er an seine Mutter gerichtet oder darauf angespielt war, ein Gerät, das David bereits in seiner verwendet hat Marat, eine weitere symbolische und dramatische Darstellung eines Märtyrers der Revolution. In seiner Rede vor dem Konvent am 11. Juli 1794 (23. Messidor-Jahr II) stellte David seinen Plan für die Organisation der Zeremonie vor und sprach von Baras Tod: "Von Räubern zum Weinen gerufen Lang lebe der König ! Sofort fiel er, von Schlägen durchbohrt, und drückte die dreifarbige Kokarde an sein Herz; er stirbt, um die Pracht der Geschichte wieder zu erleben. Die für 10 Thermidor geplante Party wurde aufgrund der Ereignisse des Vortages endgültig abgesagt.

Interpretation

Für Robespierre oder Barère, die beiden Abgeordneten, verkörpert der junge Märtyrer die Revolution, deren Produkt er ist. Es symbolisiert die Tugend, die Ende 1793 in einer von den Skandalen um Danton, Hébert und Fabre d´Eglantine betroffenen Republik fehlte. Bara erlaubt dem Komitee für öffentliche Sicherheit auch, populäre Kulte wieder in die Hand zu nehmen, die wie die von Marat oder Le Peletier die Entchristianisierung begünstigten, gegen die Robespierre kämpfte. Sowohl in seinem Entwurf als auch in seinem Plan für die Organisation der Pantheonisierungszeremonie erinnert David symbolisch an diese ideologischen und politischen Debatten. Viala, eine weitere Heldenfigur der Revolution, die häufig mit ihm in Verbindung gebracht wird, war neben Bara auch Gegenstand eines wahren "Kultes", der in militärischen Bildern oder in den Schriften von Charles Nodier zu beobachten ist. Die beiden Figuren nehmen im republikanischen Pantheon einen wichtigen Platz ein.

  • Konvention
  • Heldenfigur
  • Märtyrer
  • nackt
  • Vendée

Literaturverzeichnis

Kollektiv Joseph Bara: (1779-1793) Zum zweiten Jahrhundert seiner Geburt Paris, Société des études robespierristes, 1981. Louis PHILIPON DE LA MADELEINE Agricole Viala oder I Young Hero of the Durance: historische und patriotische Tatsache, handeln in Prosa, gemischt mit Liedern Paris, Hachette, 1975. Charles Nodier Porträts der Revolution und des Reiches Paris, Tallandier, 1988. Pierre NORA (Regie) Gedenkstätte Band I, "La République" Paris, Gallimard, 1984, neu herausgegeben. "Quarto", 1997.

Um diesen Artikel zu zitieren

Pascal DUPUY, "Der Tod von Bara"


Video: Bhooli Bisri Ek Kahani Full 4K Video Song. Nagina. Rishi Kapoor, Sridevi