The rural world

The rural world


We are searching data for your request:

Forums and discussions:
Manuals and reference books:
Data from registers:
Wait the end of the search in all databases.
Upon completion, a link will appear to access the found materials.

  • The Earth by Émile Zola.

    CHERET Jules (1836 - 1932)

  • Joudrain et Cie fertilizers

    ALESI D 'Hugo (1849 - 1906)

To close

Title: The Earth by Émile Zola.

Author : CHERET Jules (1836 - 1932)

Creation date : 1889

Date shown:

Dimensions: Height 247 - Width 88

Technique and other indications: Color lithograph on paper

Storage location: Website advertising museum

Contact copyright: © Musée de la Publicité, Paris - All rights reserved

Picture reference: Inv 12888

© Musée de la Publicité, Paris - All rights reserved

To close

Title: Joudrain et Cie fertilizers

Author : ALESI D 'Hugo (1849 - 1906)

Creation date : 1895

Date shown:

Dimensions: Height 105 - Width 72.5

Technique and other indications: Color lithograph on paper

Storage location: Website advertising museum

Contact copyright: © Musée de la Publicité, Paris - All rights reserved

Picture reference: Inv 999.291

© Musée de la Publicité, Paris - All rights reserved

Publication date: April 2005

Video

The rural world

Video

Historical context

While the Second Empire was synonymous with prosperity for French agriculture, the years 1875 to 1890 were those of recession. A general trend of falling prices began (32 to 39% between 1871 and 1896), in a climate of development of international trade favored by improved means of transport. Cereals are the most heavily affected, particularly wheat, which then reached its lowest prices (24.31 F / hl in 1874 against 16.80 F / hl in 1885).

Image Analysis

It was in 1887 that Émile Zola published the fifteenth volume of the Rougon Macquart cycle, La Terre. Eager to show the contemporary crisis of agriculture - obvious voluntary anachronism since his epic retraces "the natural and social history of a family under the Second Empire" -, the writer wishes "to do for the peasant with The Earth this [ that he did] for the worker with Germinal ”.

In 1889, Jules Chéret, leader of advertising "posterism" in vogue in France during the Belle Epoque, signed the cover of the illustrated edition. Drawing on the opening lines of the novel, he faithfully describes its opening scene. The hero, Jean Macquart, “a blue canvas planter tied on his stomach”, contemplates “with a breath for a minute” the surrounding countryside, “lost on the threshold of Beauce” Exhausted, the man is thin under his worn clothes; fatigue and weariness can be read on his emaciated face, as they seem to weigh on the shoulders of the carter who plows in the distance. At his feet lie ancient tools: scythe, sickle, harrow, instruments of his slavery, evoking, as G. Robert writes, "the tragic fatality nailing the peasant to the ground, to which he owes even his form. of soul ”. The palette of cold colors is added to the sharp line characteristic of the designer, to make the harshness of the work more noticeable. Conversely, wheat gold floods the advertising poster produced in 1895 by Hugo d'Alesi for Joudrain fertilizers.

The image is a promise of prosperous agriculture, where scientific progress is at the service of ancestral work - note the confrontation between fertilizer, a modern artifice, and the eternal gesture of the reaper. Akin to the imagery created by Millet forty years earlier, the designer glorifies the peasant, whose task is enhanced by the nobility and abundance of crops, wheat and vines, which will make his fortune. Reality on the one hand, virtuality on the other, the illustration of Chéret and the poster of Alesi respond to each other as an acknowledgment of failure and its miraculous solution.

Interpretation

At the heart of the agricultural crisis affecting the whole of France, the Beauce region, also known as the "wheat country" because of its cereal specialization, was more sensitive to market fluctuations. Beauceron agriculture was forced to react to competition from wheat imported from North America. In addition to the protectionism measures put in place by the Méline government, the response to the crisis involves an extension of cultivated areas and an improvement in techniques which will lead to more intensive agriculture. Thus we set up a diversification of crops, where the decline in the cultivation of cereals and fallow land allows the progress of industrial crops. The use of chemical fertilizers, which until then had been exceptional, is increasing, as is the selection of seeds. Finally, agricultural tools are developing with the mechanization of work related to harvesting (reapers, threshing machines) and land preparation (mechanical seed drill, brabant).

  • Zola (Emile)
  • innovation
  • naturalism
  • peasants
  • agricultural work
  • Third Republic
  • rural life
  • campaign

Bibliography

Georges DUBY and Armand WALLON (dir.)History of rural France, heyday and crisis of peasant civilization from 1789 to 1914volume III, Paris, Seuil, 1976, reed. "Points Histoire", 1992. Jean-Claude FARCYThe Beauceron peasants in the 19th centuryChartres, Archaeological Society of Eure-et-Loir, 1989. Émile ZOLAThe Rougon-MacquartParis, Gallimard, 1966, complete edition published under the direction of Armand Lanoux, studies, notes and variants prepared by Henri Mitterand.

To cite this article

Emmanuelle GAILLARD, "The rural world"


Video: Fortnite Save The world how to find rural location -Daily Quest- Part 4

Die ländliche Welt

Die ländliche Welt

  • Die Erde von Émile Zola.

    CHERET Jules (1836 - 1932)

  • Joudrain et Cie Düngemittel

    ALESI D 'Hugo (1849 - 1906)

Schließen

Titel: Die Erde von Émile Zola.

Autor: CHERET Jules (1836 - 1932)

Erstellungsdatum : 1889

Datum angezeigt:

Maße: Höhe 247 - Breite 88

Technik und andere Indikationen: Farblithographie auf Papier

Lagerort: Website Werbemuseum

Kontakt Copyright: © Musée de la Publicité, Paris - Alle Rechte vorbehalten

Bildreferenz: Inv 12888

© Musée de la Publicité, Paris - Alle Rechte vorbehalten

Schließen

Titel: Joudrain et Cie Düngemittel

Autor: ALESI D 'Hugo (1849 - 1906)

Erstellungsdatum : 1895

Datum angezeigt:

Maße: Höhe 105 - Breite 72,5

Technik und andere Indikationen: Farblithographie auf Papier

Lagerort: Website Werbemuseum

Kontakt Copyright: © Musée de la Publicité, Paris - Alle Rechte vorbehalten

Bildreferenz: Inv 999.291

© Musée de la Publicité, Paris - Alle Rechte vorbehalten

Erscheinungsdatum: April 2005

Video

Die ländliche Welt

Video

Historischer Zusammenhang

Während das Zweite Reich ein Synonym für Wohlstand in der französischen Landwirtschaft war, waren die Jahre 1875 bis 1890 die Jahre der Rezession. Ein allgemeiner Abwärtstrend der Preise begann (32 bis 39% zwischen 1871 und 1896) in einem Klima der Entwicklung des internationalen Handels, das durch die Verbesserung der Transportmittel begünstigt wurde. Am stärksten betroffen ist Getreide, insbesondere Weizen, der dann seine niedrigsten Preise erreichte (24,31 F / hl im Jahr 1874 gegenüber 16,80 F / hl im Jahr 1885).

Bildanalyse

1887 veröffentlichte Émile Zola den fünfzehnten Band des Rougon Macquart-Zyklus, La Terre. Der Schriftsteller ist bestrebt, die gegenwärtige Krise der Landwirtschaft zu zeigen - offensichtlicher freiwilliger Anachronismus, da sein Epos "die Natur- und Sozialgeschichte einer Familie unter dem Zweiten Reich" nachzeichnet - und möchte "dies für den Bauern mit der Erde tun" [ das hat er getan] für den Arbeiter mit Germinal “.

Im Jahr 1889 unterzeichnete Jules Chéret, Leiter der Werbung für "Posterismus" in Frankreich während der Belle Epoque, das Cover der illustrierten Ausgabe. In Anlehnung an die Eröffnungszeilen des Romans beschreibt er getreu seine Eröffnungsszene. Der Held Jean Macquart, „ein blauer Leinwandpflanzer auf dem Bauch“, betrachtet „mit einem Atemzug für eine Minute“ die umliegende Landschaft, „verloren an der Schwelle von Beauce“. Erschöpft ist der Mann dünn unter seiner abgenutzten Kleidung. Müdigkeit und Erschöpfung sind auf seinem abgemagerten Gesicht zu sehen, da sie die Schultern des Fuhrmanns zu belasten scheinen, der in der Ferne pflügt. Zu seinen Füßen liegen alte Werkzeuge: Sense, Sichel, Egge, Instrumente seiner Sklaverei, die, wie G. Robert schreibt, "den tragischen Tod hervorrufen, der den Bauern zu Boden nagelt, dem er sogar seine Form verdankt. der Seele “. Die Palette der kalten Farben wird zu der für den Designer charakteristischen scharfen Linie hinzugefügt, um die Härte der Arbeit deutlicher zu machen. Umgekehrt überflutet Weizengold das 1895 von Hugo d'Alesi für Joudrain-Düngemittel hergestellte Werbeplakat.

Das Bild ist ein Versprechen einer prosperierenden Landwirtschaft, in der der wissenschaftliche Fortschritt im Dienst der Ahnenarbeit steht - beachten Sie die Konfrontation zwischen Dünger, einem modernen Kunstgriff und der ewigen Geste des Schnitter. Ähnlich wie die Bilder, die Millet vor vierzig Jahren geschaffen hat, verherrlicht der Designer den Bauern, dessen Aufgabe durch den Adel und die Fülle der Ernten, des Weizens und der Reben, die sein Vermögen machen werden, verstärkt wird. Realität einerseits, Virtualität andererseits, die Illustration von Chéret und das Plakat von Alesi reagieren aufeinander als Anerkennung des Scheiterns und seiner wundersamen Lösung.

Interpretation

Im Zentrum der Agrarkrise in ganz Frankreich war die Region Beauce, die aufgrund ihrer Getreidespezialisierung auch als "Weizenland" bekannt ist, empfindlicher gegenüber Marktschwankungen. Die Landwirtschaft in Beauceron war gezwungen, auf die Konkurrenz durch aus Nordamerika importierten Weizen zu reagieren. Zusätzlich zu den von der Regierung Méline ergriffenen protektionistischen Maßnahmen beinhaltet die Reaktion auf die Krise eine Erweiterung der Anbauflächen und eine Verbesserung der Techniken, die zu einer intensiveren Landwirtschaft führen werden. So haben wir eine Diversifizierung der Kulturen eingerichtet, bei der der Rückgang des Anbaus von Getreide und Brachland den Fortschritt der Industriekulturen ermöglicht. Der bis dahin außergewöhnliche Einsatz chemischer Düngemittel nimmt ebenso zu wie die Auswahl der Samen. Schließlich entwickeln sich landwirtschaftliche Werkzeuge mit der Mechanisierung der Erntearbeiten (Erntemaschinen, Dreschmaschinen) und der Landvorbereitung (mechanische Sämaschine, Brabant).

  • Zola (Emile)
  • Innovation
  • Naturalismus
  • Bauern
  • landwirtschaftliche Arbeit
  • Dritte Republik
  • ländliches Leben
  • Kampagne

Literaturverzeichnis

Georges DUBY und Armand WALLON (dir.)Geschichte des ländlichen Frankreich, Blütezeit und Krise der bäuerlichen Zivilisation von 1789 bis 1914Band III, Paris, Seuil, 1976, Schilf. "Points Histoire", 1992. Jean-Claude FARCYDie Beauceron-Bauern im 19. JahrhundertChartres, Archäologische Gesellschaft von Eure-et-Loir, 1989. Émile ZOLADas Rougon-MacquartParis, Gallimard, 1966, Gesamtausgabe unter der Leitung von Armand Lanoux, Studien, Notizen und Varianten von Henri Mitterand.

Um diesen Artikel zu zitieren

Emmanuelle GAILLARD, "Die ländliche Welt"


Video: Sehnsucht nach einem neuen Leben. SWR Nachtcafé