The world in miniature

The world in miniature


We are searching data for your request:

Forums and discussions:
Manuals and reference books:
Data from registers:
Wait the end of the search in all databases.
Upon completion, a link will appear to access the found materials.

  • Type of Fuégiens

    LITTLE Pierre Lanith (1831 - 1909)

  • Omaha Group

    BONAPARTE Roland (1858 - 1924)

  • Two wrestlers (1910)

To close

Title: Type of Fuégiens

Author : LITTLE Pierre Lanith (1831 - 1909)

Creation date : 1881 -

Date shown: September 1881

Technique and other indications: Original caption: "Tierra del Fuego or Magellan Archipelago. South America. Type of Fuégiens."

Storage place: Quai Branly Museum - Jacques Chirac website

Contact copyright: quai Branly museum - Jacques Chirac, Dist. RMN-Grand Palais / Quai Branly museum image - Jacques Chirac Link to image

Picture reference: PV0062660 / 16-548063

© musée du quai Branly - Jacques Chirac, Dist. RMN-Grand Palais / Quai Branly museum image - Jacques Chirac

© musée du quai Branly - Jacques Chirac, Dist. RMN-Grand Palais / Quai Branly museum image - Jacques Chirac

To close

Title: Two wrestlers (1910)

Author :

Creation date : 1910 -

Dimensions: Height 13.7 cm - Width 8.8 cm

Storage place: MuCEM website

Contact copyright: RMN-Grand Palais (MuCEM) / Franck RauxLink to image

Picture reference: 09-540065 / Sou.A.1316

© RMN-Grand Palais (MuCEM) / Franck Raux

Publication date: June 2020

Historical context

Conquering the world

From the Fuegians of Patagonia in 1881 to the “mysterious” African wrestlers of 1910, including the American Indians Omaha in 1893, the visitor to the Jardin d'Acclimatation in Paris was able to come and examine a whole set of exotic peoples by the color of their colors. skin and their way of life. Photographer Pierre Petit (1831-1909), prince geographer Roland Bonaparte (1858-1924) and their anonymous colleagues have multiplied the photos intended for both ethnographic collections and for postcard marketing.

It was also the era of circuses and "freak shows", menageries and curiosity cabinets, which attracted audiences eager for novelty and strangeness. Following the pioneer Hagenbeck in Hamburg (1874), the Garden launched fashion in Paris in 1877, fulfilling the expectations of visitors between the various universal and colonial exhibitions where one or more "villages" (Negro, Annamite , etc.).

Image Analysis

The art of reconstruction

Pierre Petit photographed a group of Fuégiens from Patagonia in the heart of Bois de Boulogne at the Jardin d'Acclimatation, as he indicates on the map he subsequently sells. The document printed on strong paper also bears the name of the professional and the address of his workshop, and specifies that the cliché is "deposited", that is to say protected from any unauthorized copying. The image itself shows two children, three women, three young men and two more mature men, all almost naked. Two hold bows (without arrows) and one a spear. They are squatting against a backdrop of plants characteristic of the temperate climate, which appear to have been installed to provide a screen. The faces are closed, the close up form smirks, the looks are slightly worried.

Two years later, Roland Bonaparte took advantage of the arrival of Indians from North America to make an entire series of shots. Alongside the individual face and profile shots, which herald Bertillon's anthropometric methods, he also documents the temporary installation of these representatives of the Omaha tribe adorned with the attributes expected of this type of “savage”: feathers in their hair, pearl necklaces, embroidered tunics and the inevitable tomahawks. More relaxed than the Fuégiens, they pose here in a singular mixture of after-nature reconstruction and European setting: in the background stands not only a tipi, but an African hut; the wooden trellis, the mulched chairs and the trees betray the backdrop on the outskirts of the French capital.

The snapshot of two West Africans clashing in a very static struggle is part of an important series of postcards edited by ND Phot [ographer], "Mysterious Africa", with number 66. Against the background of the trees of the Bois de Boulogne, the garden agents have recreated a traditional habitat made up of exotic plants and apparently dressed the permanent buildings in the same costume. In the foreground, professionally fixing the lens, two muscular men, firmly planted on their feet, mimic a hold. As is customary for "negroes", they are shirtless; their clothing consists of wide canvas pants and a series of objects reminiscent of amulets. The shaved head and attitude remind one of the gladiators of the Roman era.

Interpretation

Different cultures

Viewers at exhibitions judge the authenticity of the scenes presented to them to varying degrees, but raw curiosity outweighs the desire to know how the "savages" got to them. The Fuégiens, for example, were transplanted by a certain Waalen, who had been living in Tierra del Fuego for a long time. In September and October 1881 they attracted no less than 400,000 visitors. These Patagonians formed one of the earliest cohorts of a group that totaled some 40,000 indigenous people. For a century, they were recruited as extras and gave performances in around thirty countries, in Europe, America and Asia (Japan and China). Unlike the Fuegians, the 19 Omahas were already partly literate and evangelized, and are especially used to playing a role set by shows like that of Buffalo Bill. They negotiated special conditions and produced elementary crafts on site for sale. The commercial trend in Paris quickly won over the scientific issues. We see it in the "anthropologist" prince, who usually seeks to fix types on gelatin, but whose cliché here resembles Petit's approach: he uses the setting to sketch out a story ... and to ensure the sale of cards by tens of thousands.

In the 1890s, the Garden lost its monopoly on exhibitions and the focus shifted to black Africa, particularly from the West where France had extended its empire. People are exposed as riches to be exploited and humans to be civilized. The exhibition of the Other thus allows a reassurance of identity for nation-states under construction, in an era of major social and anthropological upheaval (rural exodus, advent of speed). In 1910, the presence of "negroes" and the reconstitution of villages is now a must of any major exhibition. The ambition of the 1910 season goes beyond anything that has been undertaken so far: it is all of Africa whose "mysteries" are claimed to be unveiled. European ethnocentrism has not changed since the 1870s. Only a few connoisseurs and minority anti-colonialists dare to criticize the degrading forms of this kind of spectacle designed to generate significant income, of which the extras receive only a tiny fraction. Their exhibitions must no longer conform to the experience outside Europe which one would seek to describe for those who cannot travel, but to the caricatured opinion that Europeans have of these pre-industrial lifestyles. The denial of an authentic culture blinds Europeans who are reassured of the superiority of their civilization; the natives, on the other hand, end up losing their customs by dint of offering a simulacrum.

  • ethnography
  • geography
  • Native Americans
  • Acclimatization garden
  • Paris
  • Parisians
  • photography

Bibliography

Nicolas Bancel, Pascal Blanchard, Gilles Boëtsch, Sandrine Lemaire (dir.), Human zoos and colonial exhibitions : 150 years of inventions of the Other, Paris, La Découverte, 2011.

Pascal Blanchard, Gilles Boëtsch, Nanette Jacomijn Snoep (dir.), Exhibitions : The invention of the savage, Paris, Actes Sud, Quai Branly Museum, 2011.

Jean Copans, Jean Jamin, At the origins of French anthropology, Paris, J-M Place, 1994.

To cite this article

Alexandre SUMPF, "The world in miniature"


Video: Famous Buildings Of The World In Miniature

Die Welt in Miniatur

Die Welt in Miniatur

  • Art der Fuégiens

    KLEIN Pierre Lanith (1831 - 1909)

  • Omaha Group

    BONAPARTE Roland (1858 - 1924)

  • Zwei Wrestler (1910)

Schließen

Titel: Art der Fuégiens

Autor: KLEIN Pierre Lanith (1831 - 1909)

Erstellungsdatum : 1881 -

Datum angezeigt: September 1881

Technik und andere Indikationen: Originalunterschrift: "Feuerland oder Magellan-Archipel. Südamerika. Art der Fuégiens."

Speicherort: Quai Branly Museum - Jacques Chirac Website

Kontakt Copyright: Quai Branly Museum - Jacques Chirac, Dist. RMN-Grand Palais / Quai Branly Museumsbild - Jacques Chirac Link zum Bild

Bildreferenz: PV0062660 / 16-548063

© Musée du Quai Branly - Jacques Chirac, Dist. RMN-Grand Palais / Quai Branly Museumsbild - Jacques Chirac

© Musée du Quai Branly - Jacques Chirac, Dist. RMN-Grand Palais / Quai Branly Museumsbild - Jacques Chirac

Schließen

Titel: Zwei Wrestler (1910)

Autor:

Erstellungsdatum : 1910 -

Maße: Höhe 13,7 cm - Breite 8,8 cm

Speicherort: MuCEM-Website

Kontakt Copyright: RMN-Grand Palais (MuCEM) / Franck RauxLink zum Bild

Bildreferenz: 09-540065 / Sou.A.1316

© RMN-Grand Palais (MuCEM) / Franck Raux

Erscheinungsdatum: Juni 2020

Historischer Zusammenhang

Die Welt erobern

Von den Fuegianern von Patagonien im Jahr 1881 bis zu den „mysteriösen“ afrikanischen Wrestlern von 1910, einschließlich der Indianer Omaha im Jahr 1893, konnte der Besucher des Pariser Jardin d'Acclimatation eine ganze Reihe exotischer Völker anhand ihrer Farben untersuchen. Haut und ihre Lebensweise. Der Fotograf Pierre Petit (1831-1909), der Prinzgeograf Roland Bonaparte (1858-1924) und ihre anonymen Kollegen haben die Fotos, die sowohl für ethnografische Sammlungen als auch für das Postkartenmarketing bestimmt sind, vervielfacht.

Es war auch die Ära der Zirkusse und "Freakshows", Menagerien und Kuriositätenkabinette, die das Publikum anzog, das nach Neuheit und Fremdheit strebte. Nach dem Pionier Hagenbeck in Hamburg (1874) startete der Garten 1877 in Paris Mode und erfüllte die Erwartungen der Besucher zwischen den verschiedenen Universal- und Kolonialausstellungen, in denen ein oder mehrere "Dörfer" (Negro, Annamite) stattfanden , usw.).

Bildanalyse

Die Kunst des Wiederaufbaus

Pierre Petit fotografierte eine Gruppe patagonischer Fuégiens im Herzen von Bois de Boulogne im Jardin d'Acclimatation, wie er auf der Karte angibt, die er anschließend verkauft. Das auf starkem Papier gedruckte Dokument trägt auch den Namen des Fachmanns und die Adresse seiner Werkstatt und gibt an, dass das Klischee "hinterlegt", dh vor unbefugtem Kopieren geschützt ist. Das Bild selbst zeigt zwei Kinder, drei Frauen, drei junge Männer und zwei weitere reife Männer, alle fast nackt. Zwei Haltebögen (ohne Pfeile) und einer ein Speer. Sie hocken vor dem Hintergrund von Pflanzen, die für das gemäßigte Klima charakteristisch sind und anscheinend als Bildschirm installiert wurden. Die Gesichter sind geschlossen, die Nahaufnahme grinst, die Blicke sind leicht besorgt.

Zwei Jahre später nutzte Roland Bonaparte die Ankunft von Indianern aus Nordamerika, um eine ganze Reihe von Aufnahmen zu machen. Neben den einzelnen Gesichts- und Profilaufnahmen, die Bertillons anthropometrische Methoden ankündigen, dokumentiert er auch die vorübergehende Installation dieser Vertreter des Omaha-Stammes, die mit den Attributen geschmückt sind, die von dieser Art von „Wilden“ erwartet werden: Federn im Haar, Perlenketten, bestickte Tuniken und die unvermeidlichen Tomahawks. Entspannter als die Fuégiens posieren sie hier in einer einzigartigen Mischung aus Naturrekonstruktion und europäischem Umfeld: Im Hintergrund steht nicht nur ein Tipi, sondern eine afrikanische Hütte; Das Holzgitter, die Mulchstühle und die Bäume verraten die Kulisse am Rande der französischen Hauptstadt.

Die Momentaufnahme zweier Westafrikaner, die sich in einem sehr statischen Kampf gegenüberstehen, ist Teil einer wichtigen Reihe von Postkarten, die von ND Phot [ographer], "Mysterious Africa", mit der Nummer 66 herausgegeben wurden. Vor dem Hintergrund der Bäume im Bois de Boulogne haben die Gartenagenten einen traditionellen Lebensraum aus exotischen Pflanzen nachgebildet und die permanenten Gebäude anscheinend in das gleiche Kostüm gekleidet. Im Vordergrund ahmen zwei muskulöse Männer, die fest auf ihren Füßen stehen, einen Griff nach, indem sie die Linse professionell fixieren. Wie es für "Neger" üblich ist, sind sie ohne Hemd; Ihre Kleidung besteht aus weiten Leinenhosen und einer Reihe von Gegenständen, die an Amulette erinnern. Der rasierte Kopf und das Auftreten erinnern an die Gladiatoren der Römerzeit.

Interpretation

Unterschiedliche Kulturen

Zuschauer auf Ausstellungen beurteilen die Authentizität der Szenen, die ihnen präsentiert werden, in unterschiedlichem Maße, aber die rohe Neugier überwiegt den Wunsch zu wissen, wie die "Wilden" zu ihnen gekommen sind. Die Fuégiens zum Beispiel wurden von einem gewissen Waalen transplantiert, der schon lange in Feuerland lebte. Im September und Oktober 1881 zogen sie nicht weniger als 400.000 Besucher an. Diese Patagonier waren eine der frühesten Kohorten einer Gruppe von insgesamt rund 40.000 Indigenen. Ein Jahrhundert lang wurden sie als Statisten rekrutiert und traten in rund dreißig Ländern in Europa, Amerika und Asien (Japan und China) auf. Im Gegensatz zu den Fuegianern waren die 19 Omahas bereits teilweise gebildet und evangelisiert und sind es besonders gewohnt, eine Rolle zu spielen, die von Shows wie der von Buffalo Bill festgelegt wurde. Sie handelten besondere Bedingungen aus und produzierten vor Ort Grundhandwerk zum Verkauf. Der kommerzielle Trend in Paris überzeugte schnell die wissenschaftlichen Fragen. Wir sehen es beim "Anthropologen" -Prinzen, der normalerweise versucht, Typen auf Gelatine zu fixieren, dessen Klischee hier jedoch Petits Ansatz ähnelt: Er verwendet die Kulisse, um eine Geschichte zu skizzieren ... und den Verkauf von Karten durch sicherzustellen Zigtausende.

In den 1890er Jahren verlor der Garten sein Ausstellungsmonopol und der Schwerpunkt verlagerte sich nach Schwarzafrika, insbesondere aus dem Westen, wo Frankreich sein Reich erweitert hatte. Menschen werden als Reichtum entlarvt, um ausgebeutet und Menschen zivilisiert zu werden. Die Ausstellung des Anderen ermöglicht somit eine Identitätssicherung für im Aufbau befindliche Nationalstaaten in einer Zeit großer sozialer und anthropologischer Umwälzungen (Landflucht, Aufkommen der Geschwindigkeit). Im Jahr 1910 ist die Anwesenheit von "Negern" und die Wiederherstellung von Dörfern jetzt ein Muss jeder größeren Ausstellung. Der Ehrgeiz der Saison 1910 geht über alles hinaus, was bisher unternommen wurde: Es wird ganz Afrika genannt, dessen "Geheimnisse" enthüllt werden sollen. Der europäische Ethnozentrismus hat sich seit den 1870er Jahren nicht verändert. Nur wenige Kenner und Antikolonialisten von Minderheiten wagen es, die erniedrigenden Formen dieser Art von Spektakel zu kritisieren, mit denen ein erhebliches Einkommen erzielt werden soll, von dem die Statisten nur einen winzigen Bruchteil erhalten. Ihre Ausstellungen dürfen nicht mehr den Erfahrungen außerhalb Europas entsprechen, die man für diejenigen beschreiben möchte, die nicht reisen können, sondern der karikierten Meinung, die die Europäer über diese vorindustriellen Lebensstile haben. Die Verweigerung einer authentischen Kultur macht die Europäer blind, die von der Überlegenheit ihrer Zivilisation überzeugt sind. Die Eingeborenen hingegen verlieren ihre Sitten, weil sie ein Simulacrum anbieten.

  • Ethnographie
  • Geographie
  • Amerikanische Ureinwohner
  • Akklimatisationsgarten
  • Paris
  • Pariser
  • Fotografie

Literaturverzeichnis

Nicolas Bancel, Pascal Blanchard, Gilles Boëtsch, Sandrine Lemaire (Regie), Menschliche Zoos und Kolonialausstellungen : 150 Jahre Erfindungen des Anderen, Paris, La Découverte, 2011.

Pascal Blanchard, Gilles Boëtsch, Nanette Jacomijn Snoep (Regie), Ausstellungen : Die Erfindung des Wilden, Paris, Actes Sud, Quai Branly Museum, 2011.

Jean Copans, Jean Jamin, Zu den Ursprüngen der französischen Anthropologie, Paris, J-M Place, 1994.

Um diesen Artikel zu zitieren

Alexandre SUMPF, "Die Welt in Miniatur"


Video: Miniatur Wunderland XXL 1: Venedig in der Speicherstadt