Moliere

Moliere


We are searching data for your request:

Forums and discussions:
Manuals and reference books:
Data from registers:
Wait the end of the search in all databases.
Upon completion, a link will appear to access the found materials.

  • The true portrait of Mr de Molière in Sganarelle's dress.

    SIMONIN Claude (1635 - 1721)

  • Molière reading Tartuffe at Ninon de Lenclos.

    MONSIAU Nicolas André (1754 - 1837)

  • Molière reading Tartuffe at Ninon de Lenclos.

    MONSIAU Nicolas André (1754 - 1837)

The true portrait of Mr de Molière in Sganarelle's dress.

© Photo RMN-Grand Palais - Bulloz

Molière reading Tartuffe at Ninon de Lenclos.

© Photo RMN-Grand Palais - Bulloz

Molière reading Tartuffe at Ninon de Lenclos.

© Photo RMN-Grand Palais - Bulloz

Publication date: September 2012

Historical context

Molière seen 150 years apart

The Grand Siècle was marked in the literary field by the emergence of preciousness, thanks to the development of salons held by women such as Madeleine de Scudéry or Ninon de Lenclos. The classical age was also characterized by the promotion of a theatrical genre often obscured by tragedy: comedy, which was then embodied by the pen of Molière. Sganarelle and Tartuffe are among his favorite characters, the first appearing for the first time in the farce The Flying Doctor (around 1645), the second in the eponymous play The Tartuffe or the Impostor in 1664.

More than a century later, this theatricality was summoned to the envy under the Restoration (1815-1830). Both royal power and the Catholic Church feel the need to reaffirm an identity battered by two decades of revolution and Empire; a vast rigorous missionary movement is launched, arousing the ire of the populations who, in return, engage in protests and hullabaloo against what they consider to be a clerical plot. In this traumatic context, Nicolas-André Monsiau's painting takes on a very particular resonance: it recalls the success of Tartuffe, a piece represented many times in this first part of the XIXe century, a sign of questioning hypocrisy, deception and legitimacy.

Image Analysis

From type to character, from Sganarelle to Tartuffe

One hundred and fifty years apart, these works evoke two characters from Molière. Made in the XVIIe century, Claude Simonin’s print depicts him in the recurring features of Sganarelle, created from scratch by Molière on the model of the types of Italian comedy. Sganarelle sums up the quicksilver, cowardly and clumsy. He is dressed in a doublet, mantle or cape, bonnet and breeches, and has his neck tight in an old-fashioned ruff. His costume is often crimson red or garish yellow.

He is indeed a type, immediately identifiable by his audience. Here, Molière plays a joke character, wearing an expression close to a mask and imbued with the influence of the commedia dell’arte. Half bent, his head tilted to the side, he seems to greet or offer his services in a honeyed and obsequious attitude which refers to his original function as a valet.

Nicolas-André Monsiau's canvas, dated from the beginning of the XIXe century, offers a completely different Molière. The painter is one of the first to represent scenes of a modern historical genre. Standing in full light, Molière declaims his text, one hand raised, the other brandishing The Tartuffe which has just come under virulent criticism for its subversive dimension, all the more badly accepted as the devout party weighs with all its weight at court. The playwright now embraces the comedy of manners, based on the faults of probable characters, here the hypocrisy of a devotee. On two occasions, in 1664 and 1667, the piece was banned, despite the modifications made to it. It was not until 1669 and the death of the Queen Mother that it was authorized. The scene represented by Monsiau would take place shortly after Molière's first conviction, at Ninon de Lenclos' who has a salon at 36 rue des Tournelles in Paris. Molière (13) reads his play in front of an essentially male audience of scholars, artists and writers including Pierre and Thomas Corneille (1 and 3), Jean-Baptiste Lully (2), Racine (7), Jean de La Fontaine (4), Nicolas Boileau (8), Chapelle (5), Baron (6), le grand Condé (10), La Bruyère (15), Pierre Mignard (14), La Rochefoucault (16), but also the Marshal de Vivone (17), Philippe Quinault (9), Saint-Évremont (12) and François Girardon (18). Seated in the center, Ninon de Lenclos (11), somewhat languid, is dressed in an anachronistic dress for the reign of Louis XIV.

Interpretation

Two visions and two uses of Molière

These works present two visions and two uses of Molière. In the XVII printe century, it is the actor who is highlighted. He is shown alone, and his features disappear under those of Sganarelle. On the contrary, Nicolas-André Monsiau shows the author and part of his preparatory work, represented here by the reading of his play. His presence in the foreground, standing, and his name in the title of the painting testify to the passing to posterity of his person and his work. Indeed, the painter operates a chronological confusion in order to transpose the meaning of Tartuffe in the troubled context of the Restoration. Throughout this period, the public is offered vaudevillesque representations of Molière. This "tartufferie" is embodied in the setting to music, to popular tunes, of certain monologues in the piece, the multiple theatrical performances illustrating the tendency towards a political instrumentalisation of theatricality. In this sense, Nicolas-André Monsiau's painting is avant-garde, since it seems to have been made between 1802 and 1810, under the Empire.

  • theater
  • Molière (Poquelin Jean-Baptiste, aka)
  • costumes
  • absolute monarchy
  • Great Century
  • Boileau (Nicolas)
  • Crow (Pierre)
  • Fountain
  • actor
  • missionaries
  • Racine (Jean)

Bibliography

Patrick DANDREY, Molière or the Aesthetics of the Ridiculous, Paris, Klincksieck, 1992. Roger DUCHÊNE, Moliere, Paris, Fayard, 1998. Michel GILOT and Jean SERROY, Comedy in the classical age, Paris, Belin, coll. "Belin sup", 1997. · Sheryl KROEN, Politics and Theater: the Crisis of Legitimacy in Restoration France, 1815-1830, Berkeley, University of California Press, 2000. MOLIÈRE, Works, Paris, Gallimard, coll. "Pleiade", 1933.

To cite this article

Myriam DENIEL TERNANT, "Molière"


Video: MOLIERE: Le bon choix clip officiel

Moliere

Moliere

  • Das wahre Porträt von Herrn de Molière in Sganarelles Kleid.

    SIMONIN Claude (1635 - 1721)

  • Molière liest Tartuffe im Ninon de Lenclos.

    MONSIAU Nicolas André (1754 - 1837)

  • Molière liest Tartuffe im Ninon de Lenclos.

    MONSIAU Nicolas André (1754 - 1837)

Das wahre Porträt von Herrn de Molière in Sganarelles Kleid.

© Foto RMN-Grand Palais - Bulloz

Molière liest Tartuffe im Ninon de Lenclos.

© Foto RMN-Grand Palais - Bulloz

Molière liest Tartuffe im Ninon de Lenclos.

© Foto RMN-Grand Palais - Bulloz

Erscheinungsdatum: September 2012

Historischer Zusammenhang

Molière im Abstand von 150 Jahren gesehen

Der Grand Siècle war im literarischen Bereich durch die Entstehung von Kostbarkeit gekennzeichnet, dank der Entwicklung von Salons, die von Frauen wie Madeleine de Scudéry oder Ninon de Lenclos gehalten wurden. Das klassische Zeitalter war auch durch die Förderung eines Theatergenres gekennzeichnet, das oft durch Tragödien verdeckt wurde: die Komödie, die dann durch die Feder von Molière verkörpert wurde. Sganarelle und Tartuffe gehören zu seinen Lieblingsfiguren, die zum ersten Mal in der Farce auftreten Der fliegende Doktor (um 1645), der zweite im gleichnamigen Stück Der Tartuffe oder der Betrüger im Jahre 1664.

Mehr als ein Jahrhundert später wurde diese Theatralik im Rahmen der Restauration (1815-1830) zum Neid gerufen. Sowohl die königliche Macht als auch die katholische Kirche haben das Bedürfnis, eine Identität zu bekräftigen, die von zwei Jahrzehnten Revolution und Imperium heimgesucht wurde. Eine gewaltige rigorose Missionsbewegung wird ins Leben gerufen, die den Zorn der Bevölkerung erregt, die im Gegenzug Proteste und Hullabaloo gegen das unternimmt, was sie für eine klerikale Verschwörung halten. In diesem traumatischen Kontext erhält das Gemälde von Nicolas-André Monsiau eine ganz besondere Resonanz: Es erinnert an den Erfolg von Tartuffe, ein Stück, das in diesem ersten Teil des XIXe Jahrhundert, ein Zeichen der Infragestellung von Heuchelei, Täuschung und Legitimität.

Bildanalyse

Von Typ zu Charakter, von Sganarelle bis Tartuffe

Im Abstand von 150 Jahren erinnern diese Werke an zwei Charaktere aus Molière. Hergestellt im XVIIe Jahrhundert zeigt Claude Simonins Druck ihn in den wiederkehrenden Merkmalen von Sganarelle, die Molière nach dem Vorbild der italienischen Komödie von Grund auf neu geschaffen hat. Sganarelle fasst das Quecksilber feige und ungeschickt zusammen. Er trägt ein Wams, einen Mantel oder Umhang, eine Haube und eine Reithose und hat seinen Hals fest in einer altmodischen Halskrause. Sein Kostüm ist oft purpurrot oder grellgelb.

Er ist in der Tat ein Typ, der von seinem Publikum sofort identifiziert werden kann. Hier spielt Molière eine Scherzfigur, die einen Ausdruck in der Nähe der Maske trägt und vom Einfluss der commedia dell’arte. Halb gebeugt, den Kopf zur Seite geneigt, scheint er seine Dienste in einer honigsüßen und unterwürfigen Haltung zu begrüßen oder anzubieten, die sich auf seine ursprüngliche Funktion als Kammerdiener bezieht.

Die Leinwand von Nicolas-André Monsiau, datiert vom Beginn des XIXe Jahrhundert bietet eine ganz andere Molière. Der Maler ist einer der ersten, der Szenen eines modernen historischen Genres darstellt. Molière steht in vollem Licht und deklamiert seinen Text, eine Hand erhoben, die andere schwingend Der Tartuffe das gerade wegen seiner subversiven Dimension unter virulente Kritik geraten ist, umso schlechter akzeptiert, als die fromme Partei mit all ihrem Gewicht vor Gericht wiegt. Der Dramatiker befasst sich jetzt mit Manierenkomödien, die auf den Fehlern wahrscheinlicher Charaktere beruhen, hier der Heuchelei eines Devotees. Bei zwei Gelegenheiten, 1664 und 1667, wurde das Stück trotz der daran vorgenommenen Änderungen verboten. Erst 1669 und der Tod der Königinmutter wurde es genehmigt. Die von Monsiau vertretene Szene würde kurz nach Molières erster Verurteilung in Ninon de Lenclos stattfinden, der einen Salon in der Rue des Tournelles 36 in Paris hält. Molière (13) liest sein Stück vor einem im Wesentlichen männlichen Publikum von Gelehrten, Künstlern und Schriftstellern, darunter Pierre und Thomas Corneille (1 und 3), Jean-Baptiste Lully (2), Racine (7) und Jean de La Fontaine (4), Nicolas Boileau (8), Chapelle (5), Baron (6), Le Grand Condé (10), La Bruyère (15), Pierre Mignard (14), La Rochefoucault (16), aber auch die Marschall de Vivone (17), Philippe Quinault (9), Saint-Évremont (12) und François Girardon (18). Ninon de Lenclos (11) sitzt in der Mitte und ist etwas träge. Er trägt ein anachronistisches Kleid für die Regierungszeit Ludwigs XIV.

Interpretation

Zwei Visionen und zwei Verwendungen von Molière

Diese Arbeiten präsentieren zwei Visionen und zwei Verwendungen von Molière. Im XVII Drucke Jahrhundert ist es der Schauspieler, der hervorgehoben wird. Er wird alleine gezeigt und seine Gesichtszüge verschwinden unter denen von Sganarelle. Im Gegenteil, Nicolas-André Monsiau zeigt den Autor und einen Teil seiner Vorarbeiten, die hier durch die Lesung seines Stücks dargestellt werden. Seine Präsenz im Vordergrund, sein Stehen und sein Name im Titel des Gemäldes zeugen davon, dass seine Person und sein Werk in die Nachwelt übergegangen sind. In der Tat betreibt der Maler eine chronologische Verwirrung, um die Bedeutung von zu transponieren Tartuffe im unruhigen Kontext der Restauration. Während dieser Zeit werden der Öffentlichkeit vaudevilleske Darstellungen von Molière angeboten. Diese "Tartufferie" verkörpert sich in der Vertonung bestimmter Monologe in dem Stück zu Musik, zu populären Melodien, wobei die mehrfachen Theateraufführungen die Tendenz zu einer politischen Instrumentalisierung der Theatralik veranschaulichen. In diesem Sinne ist das Gemälde von Nicolas-André Monsiau Avantgarde, da es zwischen 1802 und 1810 unter dem Imperium entstanden zu sein scheint.

  • Theater
  • Molière (Poquelin Jean-Baptiste, alias)
  • Kostüme
  • absolute Monarchie
  • Großes Jahrhundert
  • Boileau (Nicolas)
  • Krähe (Pierre)
  • Brunnen
  • Darsteller
  • Missionare
  • Racine (Jean)

Literaturverzeichnis

Patrick DANDREY, Molière oder die Ästhetik des Lächerlichen, Paris, Klincksieck, 1992. Roger DUCHÊNE, Moliere, Paris, Fayard, 1998. Michel GILOT und Jean SERROY, Komödie im klassischen Zeitalter, Paris, Belin, umg. "Belin sup", 1997. · Sheryl KROEN, Politik und Theater: Die Krise der Legitimität bei der Restaurierung Frankreichs, 1815-1830, Berkeley, University of California Press, 2000. MOLIÈRE, Funktioniert, Paris, Gallimard, umg. "Pleiade", 1933.

Um diesen Artikel zu zitieren

Myriam DENIEL TERNANT, "Molière"


Video: LÉcole des femmes Molière entier