Street furniture, a symbol of Paris

Street furniture, a symbol of Paris

To close

Title: The Morris Column.

Author : BERAUD Jean (1849 - 1935)

Date shown:

Dimensions: Height 0 - Width 0

Technique and other indications: (corner of rue Lafitte and boulevard des Italiens) Oil on wood.

Storage place: Carnavalet Museum (Paris) website

Contact copyright: © Photo RMN-Grand Palais - Bullozsite web

Picture reference: 00-010683 / P1663

© Photo RMN-Grand Palais - Bulloz

Publication date: February 2006

Historical context

Columns in the street

The multiplication of places of entertainment such as theaters or circuses on the boulevards during the XIXe century resulted in an accumulation of advertising posters made to extol these shows.

As early as 1839, the Prefect of Police Gabriel Delessert authorized the installation of "Moorish columns", poster stands outside and urinals inside. These columns will be improved under Napoleon III by the Promenades and Plantations Service, directed since 1854 by engineer Jean-Charles Adolphe Alphand: a screen placed in front of the column partially isolates the interior of the vespasienne from the gaze of walkers while

the whole is now lit by a gas burner. The architect Gabriel Davioud redesigned the roof and replaced the masonry with a lighter cast iron and glass structure.

From the outset, it was the billboard companies that covered the construction costs against the authorization to put up their posters, but it was the Alphand service that imposed on the concessionaire the obligation to align and 'interview.

These "urinal columns" were demolished in 1877, but by the 1860s their dual function raised criticism as the embellishments of Paris caused the disappearance of traditional display surfaces. A competition is launched to find a new medium: a column exclusively reserved for displaying theater programs. A commission chaired by Count Baciochi, Minister of State and General Superintendent of Parisian Theaters, hears the two potential candidates: the Morris House, theater poster printer, and the Drouart et Cie company.

1er August 1868, Mr. Morris wins the contract: 150 columns with a monopoly over fifteen years. Municipal employees maintain it against the possibility of storing their brooms, wheelbarrows and other gardening tools in certain columns to which they hold the keys.

Image Analysis

Like a portrait

Painter-witness of Parisian life during the Belle Époque, Jean Béraud was very keen to describe the effervescence of the Grands Boulevards.

Insensitive to the aesthetic research of the painters of his time, he adopts an impressionist technique here. The apparent and released touch reflects the experience of city dwellers immersed in the crowd and allows the viewer to grasp the instantaneous and ephemeral character of the encounters made in the city.

In this small panel in oil on wood, the artist paints a true portrait of the Morris column which stood at the corner of rue Laffitte and boulevard des Italiens. The choice of a vertical format, historically reserved for the portrait genre, confirms this intention. The plastic echo between the hat of the male figure in the foreground and the roof of the column completes the personalization of the aedicule. Adopting a slight low-angle view makes this new piece of street furniture almost equal in size to the buildings in the background. This monumentality is accentuated by the spindly, bare tree trunks that line the boulevard. The only colored elements against a background in shades of browns and blacks, the posters reserved for advertising the shows seem to radiate out in the greyness of this humid winter day. This luminous intensity of the posters shows how much the spots of color are now inseparable from the urban landscape for painters.

Interpretation

The first standardized street furniture

The first concerted street furniture program in Paris was set up in the second half of the 19th century.e century, when Haussmann decided, for the safety and comfort of the pedestrian, to furnish the newly created gardens, squares and sidewalks. In addition to their utilitarian function, they also have an aesthetic role, and the prefect entrusted the architect Gabriel Davioud with the task of designing and producing the kiosks, vespasiennes, Morris columns, benches, lampposts, tree grates in series. The decor of this furniture, most often inspired by the plant world, brings nature into the city, like an extension of the green spaces dear to Napoleon III. There is also an oriental influence in the bulbs, pinnacles and domes with scales. Cast iron, stone, slate, wood and glass unite to create a polychromy typical of the Second Empire.

As a rule, this furniture takes place, like the trees, on a line set back slightly from the curb, however leaving sufficient space on the side of the buildings and creating a separation between vehicles and pedestrians. In addition, these elements are arranged in a regular manner - for example, an interval of 42 meters separated each of the 96 kiosks intended for the sale of newspapers, flowers or refreshments which were on the Grands Boulevards - and constitute a line of flight. which directs the gaze of the walker towards the square or the monument punctuating the way.

The homogeneity of style, material and color as well as the regularity of the layout of the furniture designed by Davioud brought a new unity to the city, while the lightness of its forms was inscribed as a playful counterpoint to the mineral mass. buildings.

The candelabra and the Morris column quickly became symbols of Paris, and their installation from 1860 in the neighboring towns marked the latter's annexation to the capital.

  • architecture
  • Paris
  • Parisians
  • publicity
  • theater
  • town planning
  • city
  • Haussmann (Georges Eugène)
  • engineer

Bibliography

Bernard LANDAU (dir.), The Grands Boulevards: A journey of innovation and modernity, Paris, Artistic action of the City of Paris, 2000.Pierre PINON, Atlas of Haussmannian Paris, Paris, Parigramme Publishing, 2002.The Grands Boulevards, catalog of the Carnavalet Museum exhibition, June 25-October 20, 1985, Paris, Paris-Museums Publishing House, 1985.

To cite this article

Béatrice MÉON-VINGTRINIER, "Street furniture, a symbol of Paris"


Video: Live: Protesters launch fireworks at police in Paris #France #Protests #PoliceBrutality #France

Stadtmöbel, ein Symbol von Paris

Stadtmöbel, ein Symbol von Paris

Schließen

Titel: Die Morris-Säule.

Autor: BERAUD Jean (1849 - 1935)

Datum angezeigt:

Maße: Höhe 0 - Breite 0

Technik und andere Indikationen: (Ecke Rue Lafitte und Boulevard des Italiens) Öl auf Holz.

Speicherort: Website des Carnavalet Museum (Paris)

Kontakt Copyright: © Foto RMN-Grand Palais - Bullozsite Web

Bildreferenz: 00-010683 / P1663

© Foto RMN-Grand Palais - Bulloz

Erscheinungsdatum: Februar 2006

Historischer Zusammenhang

Spalten auf der Straße

Die Vervielfachung von Unterhaltungsorten wie Theatern oder Zirkussen auf den Boulevards während des XIXe Jahrhundert führte zu einer Ansammlung von Werbeplakaten, die gemacht wurden, um diese Shows zu preisen.

Bereits 1839 genehmigte der Präfekt der Polizei Gabriel Delessert die Installation von "maurischen Säulen", Plakatständern außen und Urinalen innen. Diese Säulen werden unter Napoleon III. Vom Promenaden- und Plantagen-Dienst verbessert, der seit 1854 vom Ingenieur Jean-Charles Adolphe Alphand geleitet wird: Ein Bildschirm vor der Säule isoliert das Innere der Vespasienne teilweise vom Blick der Wanderer

Das Ganze wird jetzt von einem Gasbrenner beleuchtet. Der Architekt Gabriel Davioud gestaltete das Dach neu und ersetzte das Mauerwerk durch eine leichtere Struktur aus Gusseisen und Glas.

Von Anfang an waren es die Plakatfirmen, die die Baukosten gegen die Genehmigung zum Anbringen ihrer Plakate deckten, aber es war der Alphand-Dienst, der dem Konzessionär die Verpflichtung auferlegte, sich auszurichten und 'Interview.

Diese "Urinalsäulen" wurden 1877 abgerissen, aber in den 1860er Jahren wurde ihre Doppelfunktion kritisiert, als die Verzierungen von Paris das Verschwinden traditioneller Ausstellungsflächen verursachten. Ein Wettbewerb wird gestartet, um ein neues Medium zu finden: eine Kolumne, die ausschließlich für die Darstellung von Theaterprogrammen reserviert ist. Eine Kommission unter Vorsitz von Graf Baciochi, Staatsminister und General Superintendent der Pariser Theater, hört die beiden potenziellen Kandidaten an: das Morris House, den Theaterplakatdrucker und die Firma Drouart et Cie.

1äh Im August 1868 gewinnt Herr Morris den Auftrag: 150 Kolonnen mit einem Monopol über fünfzehn Jahre. Gemeindemitarbeiter halten es gegen die Möglichkeit, ihre Besen, Schubkarren und andere Gartengeräte in bestimmten Säulen, in denen sie die Schlüssel halten, aufzubewahren.

Bildanalyse

Wie ein Porträt

Jean Béraud, ein Zeuge des Pariser Lebens während der Belle Époque, war sehr daran interessiert, das Aufbrausen der Grands Boulevards zu beschreiben.

Unempfindlich gegenüber der ästhetischen Forschung der Maler seiner Zeit, wendet er hier eine impressionistische Technik an. Die scheinbare und freigesetzte Berührung spiegelt die Erfahrung von Stadtbewohnern wider, die in die Menge eingetaucht sind, und ermöglicht es dem Betrachter, den augenblicklichen und kurzlebigen Charakter der Begegnungen in der Stadt zu erfassen.

In dieser kleinen Tafel aus Öl auf Holz malt der Künstler ein echtes Porträt der Morris-Säule, die an der Ecke Rue Laffitte und Boulevard des Italiens stand. Die Wahl eines vertikalen Formats, das historisch dem Porträtgenre vorbehalten war, bestätigt diese Absicht. Das plastische Echo zwischen dem Hut der männlichen Figur im Vordergrund und dem Dach der Säule vervollständigt die Personalisierung der Ädikula. Durch die Verwendung einer leichten Ansicht aus einem niedrigen Winkel entspricht dieses neue Stadtmöbelstück fast der Größe der Gebäude im Hintergrund. Diese Monumentalität wird durch die spindelförmigen, kahlen Baumstämme am Boulevard noch verstärkt. Die einzigen farbigen Elemente vor einem Hintergrund in Braun- und Schwarztönen, die für die Werbung für die Shows reservierten Plakate scheinen im Grau dieses feuchten Wintertages zu strahlen. Diese Lichtstärke der Plakate zeigt, wie sehr die Farbflecken für Maler untrennbar mit der Stadtlandschaft verbunden sind.

Interpretation

Die ersten standardisierten Stadtmöbel

Das erste konzertierte Straßenmöbelprogramm in Paris wurde in der zweiten Hälfte des 19. Jahrhunderts ins Leben gerufen.e Jahrhundert, als Haussmann beschloss, für die Sicherheit und den Komfort des Fußgängers die neu geschaffenen Gärten, Plätze und Bürgersteige einzurichten. Neben ihrer nützlichen Funktion spielen sie auch eine ästhetische Rolle, und der Präfekt beauftragte den Architekten Gabriel Davioud mit der Gestaltung und Herstellung der Kioske, Vespasiennes, Morris-Säulen, Bänke, Laternenpfähle und Baumgitter in Serie. Das Dekor dieser Möbel, das meistens von der Pflanzenwelt inspiriert ist, bringt die Natur in die Stadt, wie eine Erweiterung der Grünflächen, die Napoleon III. Liebt. Es gibt auch einen orientalischen Einfluss auf die Zwiebeln, Zinnen und Kuppeln mit Schuppen. Gusseisen, Stein, Schiefer, Holz und Glas vereinen sich zu einer für das Zweite Reich typischen Polychromie.

Diese Möbel befinden sich in der Regel wie die Bäume auf einer Linie, die leicht vom Bordstein zurückgesetzt ist, jedoch ausreichend Platz an der Seite der Gebäude lässt und eine Trennung zwischen Fahrzeugen und Fußgängern schafft. Darüber hinaus sind diese Elemente regelmäßig angeordnet - beispielsweise in einem Abstand von 42 Metern - von jedem der 96 Kioske, die für den Verkauf von Zeitungen, Blumen oder Erfrischungen auf den Grands Boulevards bestimmt sind - und bilden eine Fluglinie. Dies lenkt den Blick des Wanderers auf den Platz oder das Denkmal, das den Weg weist.

Die Homogenität von Stil, Material und Farbe sowie die Regelmäßigkeit der Gestaltung der von Davioud entworfenen Möbel brachten der Stadt eine neue Einheit, während die Leichtigkeit ihrer Formen als spielerischer Kontrapunkt zur Mineralmasse eingeschrieben wurde. Gebäude.

Die Kandelaber und die Morris-Säule wurden schnell zu Symbolen von Paris, und ihre Installation ab 1860 in den Nachbarstädten markierte ihre Annexion an die Hauptstadt.

  • die Architektur
  • Paris
  • Pariser
  • Werbung
  • Theater
  • Stadtplanung
  • Stadt
  • Haussmann (Georges Eugène)
  • Ingenieur

Literaturverzeichnis

Bernard LANDAU (dir.), The Grands Boulevards: Eine Reise der Innovation und Moderne, Paris, Künstlerische Aktion der Stadt Paris, 2000.Pierre PINON, Atlas des Haussmannian Paris, Paris, Parigramme Publishing, 2002.Die Grands Boulevards, Katalog der Carnavalet-Museumsausstellung, 25. Juni - 20. Oktober 1985, Paris, Pariser Museumsverlag, 1985.

Um diesen Artikel zu zitieren

Béatrice MÉON-VINGTRINIER, "Stadtmöbel, ein Symbol von Paris"


Video: ADFC Symposium 2019. Paris public space and active mobility policy. Margot Besson