The Heliographic Mission of 1851, a picturesque and romantic journey through ancient France

The Heliographic Mission of 1851, a picturesque and romantic journey through ancient France


We are searching data for your request:

Forums and discussions:
Manuals and reference books:
Data from registers:
Wait the end of the search in all databases.
Upon completion, a link will appear to access the found materials.

Home ›Studies› The Heliographic Mission of 1851, a picturesque and romantic journey through ancient France

  • Square house, Nîmes.

    BALDUS Edouard Denis (1813 - 1889)

  • Pont du Gard.

    BALDUS Edouard Denis (1813 - 1889)

  • Porte de l'Aude and tower of the Bishop of the city of Carcassonne.

    LE GRAY Gustave (1820 - 1884)

  • Chenonceau Castle.

    LE GRAY Gustave (1820 - 1884)

© Photo RMN-Grand Palais - R. G. Ojeda

© Photo RMN-Grand Palais - R. Ojeda

To close

Title: Porte de l'Aude and tower of the Bishop of the city of Carcassonne.

Author : LE GRAY Gustave (1820 - 1884)

Creation date : 1851

Date shown:

Dimensions: Height 0 - Width 0

Storage location: Architecture and heritage multimedia library website

Contact copyright: © Ministry of Culture - Médiathèque du Patrimoine, Dist. RMN-Grand Palais / Gustave Le Gray / Auguste Mestral

Picture reference: 11-534505 / MH0007449

Porte de l'Aude and tower of the Bishop of the city of Carcassonne.

© Ministry of Culture - Médiathèque du Patrimoine, Dist. RMN-Grand Palais / Gustave Le Gray / Auguste Mestral

© Photo RMN-Grand Palais - R. Ojeda

Publication date: December 2011

Historical context

The rediscovery of French monumental heritage

In gestation under the Ancien Régime, the notion of heritage really emerges thanks to the provision to the Nation of the goods of the clergy decreed by the Constituent Assembly on November 2, 1789, then acts of vandalism which multiplied in the aftermath of the fall of the monarchy on August 10, 1792. The creation of the Petits-Augustins depot placed under the care of Alexandre Lenoir on June 6, 1791 then its transformation into a French Monuments Museum four years later constitute the founding act of this taking of heritage awareness. During the first half of the XIXe century, the public authorities set up official institutions intended to conserve and restore the monuments of France. In 1851, one of them, the Commission des monuments historique, created in 1837, commissioned five photographers to document the heritage in order to facilitate the work of the architects of the Commission in charge of their restoration: the Heliographic Mission was born.

Image Analysis

A monumental history of the French nation

The five photographers selected by the Commission des monuments historique, Le Secq, Le Gray, Baldus, Mestral and Bayard, are all members of the very young Société Héliographique. Founded in 1851, the first learned photography society aims to promote the development of this invention, born in 1839. This public commission recognizes the usefulness of photography in the faithful reproduction of works and buildings. To provide a panorama of French architecture, 175 precious and ruined monuments scattered across France are attributed to the five photographers according to a geographical distribution.

Among them, Édouard Baldus, painter who hardly practiced photography before 1851 except for a few views of Arles, is in charge of a series of monuments located between Fontainebleau and the south-east of France, where many vestiges are listed. antique. Very quickly, it stood out for its architectural views which restore all the monumentality of the building, as in this image of the Maison Carrée de Nîmes, a Roman temple built in the Ier century, where a close-up shot highlights its classic colonnade while accentuating the monumental dimension of the whole. Another famous Roman building photographed by Baldus in the same region, the Pont du Gard is represented in a panoramic format. The rocky landscape in the foreground was added by the photographer using an intricate montage, a technique he was expert in, to add depth to the overall picture.

Gustave Le Gray and Auguste Mestral, who for their part crossed together a large area between the Loire and the South-West, mainly brought back photographs of monuments from the Middle Ages and the Renaissance. In Carcassonne, where they stayed eleven days, they took a large number of views which were among the most completed of their common work. One of them represents the Bishop's Tower seen from the Aude Gate. Rather than putting the city's imposing medieval fortifications in perspective, Le Gray and Mestral have drawn closer to them in order to highlight the tangle of geometric masses that they offer to the eye and to capture the play of light on the rough stone. In Chenonceau, on the contrary, it was the elegant and slender silhouette of the Renaissance castle that caught their attention in an overall composition with classical framing. The beautiful part that this image gives to the sky gives fullness to the building and its famous superimposed galleries that span the Cher.

Interpretation

The vogue of the Middle Ages

The monuments chosen reflect the priorities of the Commission responsible for awarding grants to listed buildings in need of urgent restoration. Carcassonne, for example, was the subject of extensive work directed by Viollet-le-Duc and very controversial. They also reflect his artistic preferences. These go rather to the Gallo-Roman and, above all, medieval eras, which offer the most remarkable testimonies of French art. The Renaissance, if it is nevertheless represented in the Heliographic Mission with the castles of the Loire, is far from being at the heart of the concerns of the Commission, as are the buildings of the XVII.e and XVIIIe centuries.

This craze for medieval monuments is part of a large movement of fantasized invention of this period, which developed in the wake of Genius of Christianity de Chateaubriand, published in 1802, and the Romantic movement. While historians are interested in this founding period for the French nation, the rise of archeology around Arcisse de Caumont and the proliferation of learned societies favor the study and preservation of medieval monuments. At the same time, the publication of Baron Taylor's monumental work, Picturesque and romantic journeys in ancient France, draws attention to the medieval ruins of France through his lithographs signed by great artists whose romantic approach to monuments has influenced generations of photographers, starting with those of the Heliographic Mission. Like Taylor, the latter favored works of Romanesque and Gothic art, creations par excellence of the French national genius.

  • patrimony
  • architecture
  • picturesque

Bibliography

Christian AMALVI, The taste of the Middle Ages, Paris, La Boutique de l'Histoire, 2002.Sylvie AUBENAS (dir.), Gustave Le Gray, 1820-1884, catalog of the exhibition organized by the B.N.F., March 19-June 6, 2002, Paris, B.N.F.-Gallimard, 2002. François BERCÉ, Historical monuments to heritage, from the 18th century to the present day, or the Misguidance of the heart and the mind, Paris, Flammarion, 2000.Ilaria CISERI, Romanticism: 1780-1860, the birth of a new sensibility, Paris, Gründ, 2004.Isabelle DURAND-LE GUERN, The Middle Ages of the romantics, Presses Universitaires de Rennes, 2001.Maïté BOUYSSY (dir.), “Power of the neogothic”, in Companies & Representations, n ° 20, dec. 2005.Louis GRODECKI, The Middle Ages rediscovered, volume II “From Saint Louis to Viollet-le-Duc”, Paris, Flammarion, 1991. Jean-Michel LENIAUD, Archipelagos of the past: heritage and its history, Paris, Fayard, 2002. Anne de MONDENARD, The Heliographic Mission. Five photographers travel through France in 1851, Paris, Monum, Heritage Editions, 2002. Pierre NORA (dir.), Memorial place. The nation. The territory. The State. The patrimony, Paris, Gallimard, coll. "Quarto", 3 vol., 1986.

To cite this article

Charlotte DENOËL, "The Heliographic Mission of 1851, a picturesque and romantic journey through ancient France"


Video: 39 RARE u0026 FASCINATING IMAGES FROM THE PAST YOUVE NEVER SEEN

Die Heliographische Mission von 1851, eine malerische und romantische Reise durch das alte Frankreich

Die Heliographische Mission von 1851, eine malerische und romantische Reise durch das alte Frankreich

Startseite ›Studien› Die Heliographische Mission von 1851, eine malerische und romantische Reise durch das alte Frankreich

  • Quadratisches Haus, Nîmes.

    BALDUS Edouard Denis (1813 - 1889)

  • Pont du Gard.

    BALDUS Edouard Denis (1813 - 1889)

  • Porte de l'Aude und Turm des Bischofs der Stadt Carcassonne.

    LE GREY Gustave (1820 - 1884)

  • Chenonceau Schloss.

    LE GREY Gustave (1820 - 1884)

© Foto RMN-Grand Palais - R. G. Ojeda

© Foto RMN-Grand Palais - R. Ojeda

Schließen

Titel: Porte de l'Aude und Turm des Bischofs der Stadt Carcassonne.

Autor: LE GREY Gustave (1820 - 1884)

Erstellungsdatum : 1851

Datum angezeigt:

Maße: Höhe 0 - Breite 0

Speicherort: Website der Multimedia-Bibliothek für Architektur und Kulturerbe

Kontakt Copyright: © Kulturministerium - Médiathèque du Patrimoine, Dist. RMN-Grand Palais / Gustave Le Gray / Auguste Mestral

Bildreferenz: 11-534505 / MH0007449

Porte de l'Aude und Turm des Bischofs der Stadt Carcassonne.

© Kulturministerium - Médiathèque du Patrimoine, Dist. RMN-Grand Palais / Gustave Le Gray / Auguste Mestral

© Foto RMN-Grand Palais - R. Ojeda

Erscheinungsdatum: Dezember 2011

Historischer Zusammenhang

Die Wiederentdeckung des französischen monumentalen Erbes

In der Schwangerschaft unter dem Ancien Régime entsteht der Begriff des Erbes wirklich dank der Bereitstellung der Güter des Klerus durch die Konstituierende Versammlung am 2. November 1789 an die Nation, die sich nach dem Vandalismus vervielfachten Sturz der Monarchie am 10. August 1792. Die Schaffung des Depots Petits-Augustins, das am 6. Juni 1791 unter die Obhut von Alexandre Lenoir gestellt wurde, und seine Umwandlung in ein Museum für französische Denkmäler vier Jahre später bilden den Gründungsakt dieser Übernahme Bewusstsein für das Erbe. In der ersten Hälfte des XIXe Jahrhundert gründeten die Behörden offizielle Institutionen, um die Denkmäler Frankreichs zu erhalten und wiederherzustellen. 1851 beauftragte eine von ihnen, die 1837 gegründete Commission des monuments historique, fünf Fotografen, das Erbe zu dokumentieren, um die Arbeit der für ihre Restaurierung zuständigen Architekten der Kommission zu erleichtern: Die Heliographische Mission wurde geboren.

Bildanalyse

Eine monumentale Geschichte der französischen Nation

Die fünf von der Commission des Monuments Historique ausgewählten Fotografen Le Secq, Le Gray, Baldus, Mestral und Bayard sind alle Mitglieder der sehr jungen Société Héliographique. Die erste gelehrte Fotografie-Gesellschaft wurde 1851 gegründet und soll die Entwicklung dieser Erfindung fördern, die 1839 geboren wurde. Diese öffentliche Kommission erkennt die Nützlichkeit der Fotografie für die originalgetreue Reproduktion von Werken und Gebäuden an. Um ein Panorama der französischen Architektur zu bieten, werden den fünf Fotografen nach einer geografischen Verteilung 175 kostbare und zerstörte Denkmäler in ganz Frankreich zugeordnet.

Unter ihnen ist Édouard Baldus, Maler, der vor 1851 bis auf wenige Ansichten von Arles kaum Fotografie praktizierte, für eine Reihe von Denkmälern zwischen Fontainebleau und dem Südosten Frankreichs verantwortlich, in denen viele Überreste aufgeführt sind. Antiquität. Sehr schnell zeichnete es sich durch architektonische Ansichten aus, die die Monumentalität des Gebäudes wiederherstellen, wie in diesem Bild des Maison Carrée de Nîmes, eines römischen Tempels aus dem I.äh Jahrhundert, in dem eine Nahaufnahme die klassische Kolonnade hervorhebt und gleichzeitig die monumentale Dimension des Ganzen betont. Der Pont du Gard, ein weiteres berühmtes römisches Gebäude, das von Baldus in derselben Region fotografiert wurde, ist in einem Panoramaformat dargestellt. Die felsige Landschaft im Vordergrund wurde vom Fotografen mithilfe einer komplizierten Montage hinzugefügt, eine Technik, die er beherrschte, um dem Gesamtbild Tiefe zu verleihen.

Gustave Le Gray und Auguste Mestral, die zusammen ein großes Gebiet zwischen der Loire und dem Südwesten durchquerten, brachten hauptsächlich Fotografien von Denkmälern aus dem Mittelalter und der Renaissance zurück. In Carcassonne, wo sie elf Tage blieben, vertraten sie eine Vielzahl von Ansichten, die zu den am besten abgeschlossenen ihrer gemeinsamen Arbeit gehörten. Einer von ihnen repräsentiert den Bischofsturm von der Porte de l'Aude aus. Anstatt die imposanten mittelalterlichen Befestigungen der Stadt ins rechte Licht zu rücken, sind Le Gray und Mestral näher zu ihnen gekommen, um das Gewirr geometrischer Massen hervorzuheben, das sie dem Auge bieten, und um das Lichtspiel auf dem rauen Stein einzufangen. In Chenonceau hingegen war es die elegante und schlanke Silhouette des Renaissance-Schlosses, die ihre Aufmerksamkeit in einer Gesamtkomposition mit klassischem Rahmen auf sich zog. Der schöne Teil, den dieses Bild dem Himmel verleiht, verleiht dem Gebäude und seinen berühmten überlagerten Galerien, die den Cher überspannen, Fülle.

Interpretation

Die Mode des Mittelalters

Die ausgewählten Denkmäler spiegeln die Prioritäten der Kommission wider, die für die Gewährung von Zuschüssen für denkmalgeschützte Gebäude zuständig ist, die dringend restauriert werden müssen. Carcassonne zum Beispiel war Gegenstand umfangreicher Arbeiten unter der Regie von Viollet-le-Duc und sehr kontrovers. Sie spiegeln auch seine künstlerischen Vorlieben wider. Diese gehen eher auf die gallo-römischen und vor allem mittelalterlichen Epochen zurück, die die bemerkenswertesten Zeugnisse der französischen Kunst bieten. Die Renaissance, wenn sie dennoch in der Heliographischen Mission mit den Burgen der Loire vertreten ist, steht bei weitem nicht im Mittelpunkt der Anliegen der Kommission, ebenso wie die Gebäude des XVII.e und XVIIIe Jahrhunderte.

Diese Begeisterung für mittelalterliche Denkmäler ist Teil einer großen Bewegung phantasierter Erfindungen dieser Zeit, die sich im Zuge von entwickelte Genie des Christentums de Chateaubriand, veröffentlicht 1802, und die romantische Bewegung. Während Historiker an dieser Gründungszeit der französischen Nation interessiert sind, begünstigen der Aufstieg der Archäologie um die Arcisse de Caumont und die Verbreitung gelehrter Gesellschaften das Studium und die Erhaltung mittelalterlicher Denkmäler. Zur gleichen Zeit, die Veröffentlichung von Baron Taylors monumentalem Werk, Malerische und romantische Reisen im alten Frankreichmacht auf die mittelalterlichen Ruinen Frankreichs durch seine Lithografien aufmerksam, die von großen Künstlern signiert wurden, deren romantische Herangehensweise an Denkmäler Generationen von Fotografen beeinflusst hat, angefangen bei denen der Heliografischen Mission. Letzterer bevorzugte wie Taylor Werke der romanischen und gotischen Kunst, Kreationen schlechthin des französischen Nationalgenies.

  • Patrimonium
  • die Architektur
  • malerisch

Literaturverzeichnis

Christian AMALVI, Der Geschmack des Mittelalters, Paris, La Boutique de l'Histoire, 2002. Sylvie AUBENAS (Regie), Gustave Le Gray, 1820-1884, Katalog der Ausstellung, organisiert von B.N.F., 19. März - 6. Juni 2002, Paris, B.N.F.-Gallimard, 2002. François BERCÉ, Historische Denkmäler des Erbes vom 18. Jahrhundert bis heute oder die Irreführung von Herz und Verstand, Paris, Flammarion, 2000.Ilaria CISERI, Romantik: 1780-1860, die Geburt einer neuen Sensibilität, Paris, Gründ, 2004. Isabelle DURAND-LE GUERN, Das Mittelalter der Romantiker, Presses Universitaires de Rennes, 2001. Maïté BOUYSSY (Regie), "Power of the neogothic", in Firmen & VertretungenNr. 20, dez. 2005. Louis GRODECKI, Das Mittelalter wiederentdeckt, Band II „Von Saint Louis nach Viollet-le-Duc“, Paris, Flammarion, 1991. Jean-Michel LENIAUD, Archipele der Vergangenheit: Erbe und seine Geschichte, Paris, Fayard, 2002. Anne de MONDENARD, Die heliographische Mission. Fünf Fotografen reisen 1851 durch Frankreich, Paris, Monum, Heritage Editions, 2002. Pierre NORA (Regie), Gedenkstätte. Die Nation. Das Territorium. Der Staat. Das Erbe, Paris, Gallimard, umg. "Quarto", 3 Vol., 1986.

Um diesen Artikel zu zitieren

Charlotte DENOËL, "Die Heliographische Mission von 1851, eine malerische und romantische Reise durch das alte Frankreich"


Video: Final cut: Livestream vom: Ein Mythos wird vermessen.