Mirabeau and Dreux-Brézé

Mirabeau and Dreux-Brézé


We are searching data for your request:

Forums and discussions:
Manuals and reference books:
Data from registers:
Wait the end of the search in all databases.
Upon completion, a link will appear to access the found materials.

© RMN-Grand Palais (Louvre museum) / Franck Raux

Publication date: December 2019

Historical context

The arts at the service of the July Monarchy

In 1830, the brand new July monarchy organized a competition to decorate the sitting room of the Chamber of Deputies. As in the Palace of Versailles museum dedicated to the Glories of France, the new regime intends to mobilize the arts to give a strong signal: the Restoration is no more, it is the beginning of a new liberal era. Used to exhibiting since 1799, the son of the famous Jean Honoré Fragonard chose an episode of the French Revolution that the memoirs of the Girondins, published in the 1820s and 1830s, made famous: the moment when Mirabeau, June 23, 1789 , speaks on behalf of the third estate. Standing up to the Grand Master of Ceremonies Dreux-Brézé, charged by Louis XVI with evacuating the Menus Plaisirs room, Mirabeau proclaims that the deputies who have occupied the room for several weeks will only leave it by force of bayonets.

Image Analysis

Turn the event into a heroic act

Fragonard shows a certain fidelity to the event, as it is generally told in the history books of the first XIXe century. He documented himself quite well: in the half-light of the background, we can guess the colors of the clergy, but also the black of the clothes of the third estate, to the left and in the foreground, the nobility, seated in the first row, being logically less visible. . Likewise, Fragonard rightly underlines the monumentality of the place thanks to the antique columns, as well as the large stands. The point of view creates an effect of truth: the viewer is plunged to human height, from the back of the Menus Plaisirs room, at the precise moment when Mirabeau challenges the authority of Dreux-Brézé. But through a series of processes, Fragonard moves away from the facts and dramatizes the real. The columns do not only form an architectural framework: they place the event in a great history, that of heroic acts since Antiquity. Above all, Fragonard deliberately reduces the event to the clash between two men who, like statues, emerge from an anonymous crowd. In reality, Mirabeau was not alone: ​​many deputies resisted the order to leave the premises, engaging in a standoff with the king.

Interpretation

A vision that is too passionate

In the end, it was Nicolas-Auguste Hesse who won the competition, with a painting that never had time to be exhibited in the Chamber of Deputies but which is now kept at the Amiens Museum. What happened ? Fragonard multiplies bad political choices. The regime expects painters to find clear images, so that new MPs can debate and vote in front of models of history, without passion or ambiguity. But Fragonard loses interest in description in favor of emotions. Mirabeau only appears from behind. This is a big mistake: in the minds of the sponsors, it was about being able to recognize the illustrious man who was to embody a perfect model for the constitutional monarchy. Off-centered, cut off by the disorder of the bodies, the composition is also too dizzy to inspire measure and wisdom. The light work further reinforces these impressions: the strong chiaroscuro effects only increase the dramatic intensity of the duel. A passionate vision of parliamentary life that hardly suits the new times.

  • July Monarchy
  • Restoration
  • French Revolution
  • Girondins
  • Mirabeau (Honoré Gabriel Riqueti de)
  • Third state
  • Dreux-Brézé (Henri-Évrard de)
  • Louis XVI
  • Clergy
  • nobility
  • antiquity
  • constitutional monarchy
  • Museum of the History of France
  • speech
  • States General

To cite this article

Guillaume MAZEAU, "Mirabeau and Dreux-Brézé"


Video: The Entire History of France in 23 Minutes

Mirabeau und Dreux-Brézé

Mirabeau und Dreux-Brézé

© RMN-Grand Palais (Louvre-Museum) / Franck Raux

Erscheinungsdatum: Dezember 2019

Historischer Zusammenhang

Die Künste im Dienst der Julimonarchie

1830 organisierte die brandneue Juli-Monarchie einen Wettbewerb zur Dekoration des Wohnzimmers der Abgeordnetenkammer. Wie im Museum des Schlosses von Versailles, das den Herrlichkeiten Frankreichs gewidmet ist, will das neue Regime die Künste mobilisieren, um ein starkes Signal zu geben: Die Restaurierung ist nicht mehr, es ist der Beginn einer neuen liberalen Ära. Der Sohn des berühmten Jean Honoré Fragonard, der seit 1799 an Ausstellungen gewöhnt ist, wählt eine Episode der Französischen Revolution aus, die durch die in den 1820er und 1830er Jahren veröffentlichten Memoiren der Girondins berühmt wurde: den Moment, als Mirabeau am 23. Juni 1789 spricht im Namen des dritten Standes. Mirabeau tritt gegen den Großmeister der Zeremonien Dreux-Brézé an, der von Ludwig XVI. Mit der Evakuierung des Menus Plaisirs-Raums beauftragt wurde, und verkündet, dass die Abgeordneten, die den Raum mehrere Wochen lang besetzt haben, ihn nur mit Bajonetten verlassen werden.

Bildanalyse

Verwandeln Sie das Ereignis in eine Heldentat

Fragonard zeigt eine gewisse Loyalität gegenüber dem Ereignis, wie es allgemein in den Geschichtsbüchern des frühen XIX erzählt wirde Jahrhundert. Er hat sich recht gut dokumentiert: Im Dämmerlicht des Hintergrunds können wir die Farben des Klerus erraten, aber auch das Schwarz der Kleidung des dritten Standes, links und im Vordergrund, der Adel, der in der ersten Reihe sitzt und logisch weniger sichtbar ist. . Ebenso betont Fragonard zu Recht die Monumentalität des Ortes dank der antiken Säulen sowie der großen Tribünen. Die Sichtweise erzeugt einen Effekt der Wahrheit: Der Betrachter wird von der Rückseite des Menus Plaisirs-Raums in die menschliche Höhe getaucht, genau in dem Moment, in dem Mirabeau die Autorität von Dreux-Brézé in Frage stellt. Aber durch eine Reihe von Prozessen entfernt sich Fragonard von den Fakten und dramatisiert das Reale. Die Säulen bilden nicht nur einen architektonischen Rahmen: Sie stellen das Ereignis in eine große Geschichte, die der Heldentaten seit der Antike. Vor allem Fragonard reduziert das Ereignis bewusst auf den Zusammenstoß zweier Männer, die wie Statuen aus einer anonymen Menge hervorgehen. In Wirklichkeit war Mirabeau nicht allein: Viele Abgeordnete widersetzten sich dem Befehl, die Räumlichkeiten zu verlassen, und führten eine Auseinandersetzung mit dem König.

Interpretation

Eine Vision zu leidenschaftlich

Am Ende war es Nicolas-Auguste Hesse, der den Wettbewerb gewann, mit einem Gemälde, das nie Zeit hatte, in der Abgeordnetenkammer ausgestellt zu werden, das jetzt im Amiens Museum aufbewahrt wird. Was ist passiert ? Fragonard multipliziert schlechte politische Entscheidungen. Das Regime erwartet von den Malern klare Bilder, damit neue Abgeordnete ohne Vorbild oder Zweideutigkeit vor Vorbildern aus der Geschichte diskutieren und abstimmen können. Aber Fragonard verliert das Interesse an der Beschreibung zugunsten von Emotionen. Mirabeau erscheint nur von hinten. Dies ist ein großer Fehler: In den Köpfen der Sponsoren ging es darum, den berühmten Mann erkennen zu können, der ein perfektes Modell für die konstitutionelle Monarchie verkörpern sollte. Dezentriert, durch die Unordnung der Körper abgeschnitten, ist die Komposition auch zu schwindlig, um Maß und Weisheit zu inspirieren. Die Lichtarbeit verstärkt diese Eindrücke weiter: Die starken Hell-Dunkel-Effekte erhöhen nur die dramatische Intensität des Duells. Eine leidenschaftliche Vision des parlamentarischen Lebens, die kaum zu den neuen Zeiten passt.

  • Julimonarchie
  • Wiederherstellung
  • Französische Revolution
  • Girondins
  • Mirabeau (Honoré Gabriel Riqueti de)
  • Dritter Zustand
  • Dreux-Brézé (Henri-Évrard de)
  • Ludwig XVI
  • Klerus
  • Adel
  • Antike
  • konstitutionelle Monarchie
  • Museum der Geschichte Frankreichs
  • Rede
  • Generalstaaten

Um diesen Artikel zu zitieren

Guillaume MAZEAU, "Mirabeau und Dreux-Brézé"


Video: 1789, les États Généraux. HNLD Révolution française tome 2