The Bruises of the Great War

The Bruises of the Great War


We are searching data for your request:

Forums and discussions:
Manuals and reference books:
Data from registers:
Wait the end of the search in all databases.
Upon completion, a link will appear to access the found materials.

  • Prisoners of war.

    STEINLEN Théophile Alexandre (1859 - 1923)

  • Aid to war disabled.

    STEINLEN Théophile Alexandre (1859 - 1923)

  • The orphans.

    STEINLEN Théophile Alexandre (1859 - 1923)

© Private collection - All rights reserved

Aid to war disabled.

© Private collection - All rights reserved

© Private collection - All rights reserved

Publication date: September 2006

Historical context

The Great War as a source of inspiration

Théophile Alexandre Steinlen (1859-1923) was fifty-five years old when the First World War broke out in the summer of 1914. Countless preparatory drawings gave him constantly renewed material for newspapers, magazines, books and more. other productions (fundraising cards, raffle tickets) that he composes in his printing press.

The three drawings presented here take up the favorite themes of an artist deeply affected by the war. Two of them date from 1915: it was the year of repeated failures of the Entente Cordiale in the Dardanelles (February), Champagne and Artois (September). The wounded in hospitals, prisoners and refugees in camps, combatants in muddy trenches, are all figures that show the great distress of the soldiers.

Image Analysis

Men, victims of war

Steinlen had many opportunities to draw prisoners of war, in France as well as in Germany. In 1915 he even went to the front twice, in May and July. The three prisoners depicted here are taken from life, as evidenced by the artist's rapid features. Standing in an undefined place (in front of the barracks?), They seem to be waiting, but without hope. The emaciated faces of these more or less elderly, neglected men (beards, slumped uniforms) hint at the privations endured, anguish and sadness.

The preparatory drawing for the poster "Aid to war disabled" (for a collection) dates from 1915, since the French soldier still wears a kepi (the helmet only replaced it from the summer of 1915). Amputated of his left leg, he symbolically finds support on a Mater Dolorosa. While the soldier is drawn in broken lines, reflecting his destiny, the woman supporting him is curvaceous. The invalid's two dead woods (crutch and prosthesis) contrast with the health of the female body, full, harmonious, hatched with vigorous lines. The soldier's sad smile finds its counterpart in the calm determination of his providential support.

It is a female figure of another type which serves as a pivot for the preparatory design for the campaign in favor of war orphans, which also dates from 1915. Steinlen concentrates the mother figure in this character, which compensates for the loss of the father. soldier, and the republican figure of Marianne, identifiable by her Phrygian cap. The Christian references also structure a group which makes one think by its disposition of a Holy Family. The bowed head of the mother of all orphans, the infant she carries, assimilates her to the Virgin. The three ages of childhood indicate that all families can be affected. Steinlen contrasts this generalized misfortune with the dynamism of his composition in which the cape and arms envelop the orphans, where the hands are clearly visible and play a unifying role.

Interpretation

Steinlen's humanist war effort

Steinlen, close to Toulouse-Lautrec, had joined forces before the war with the anarchists (he designed the cover of a book by Kropotkin) and the socialists. He regularly denounced the daily misery of the people in The Little Sou. It is the same spirit that inhabits him when he published his drawings in 1915 in the collection The Interns. Entry into German jails and in 1917 his Land of war in the newspaper I know everything. If he contributes to the mobilization of public opinion, it is less a patriot than a humanist that preoccupies the human condition. The French victims of the Great War - 2 million prisoners, 1.3 million dead, 300,000 mutilated and 760,000 orphans - are the subjects of a work produced for the most part in point or pencil - without research into effect other than raw reality.

Steinlen's drawings thus engrave in the collective imagination the dramatic situations experienced on a daily basis by populations. Without magnifying these multiple sufferings, the artist heroizes the endurance of an entire society plunged in spite of itself into total war. And plead for an end to unnecessary sacrifice.

  • allegory
  • childhood
  • War of 14-18
  • hairy
  • anarchism
  • socialism
  • war
  • hurry
  • jail
  • prisoners

Bibliography

Annette BECKER, Forgotten during the Great War. Humanitarian and war culture (1914-1918): occupied populations, civilian deportees, prisoners of war, Paris, Noêsis, 1998.Jacques CHRISTOPHE, Steinlen, the work of war (1914-1920), Lyon, Aléas, 1999. Pierre VALLAUD,14-18 World War I2 volumes, Paris, Fayard, 2004.

To cite this article

Alexandre SUMPF, "The Bruises of the Great War"


Video: Stopping Russia - Hindenburgs Final Offensive? I THE GREAT WAR Week 29

Die blauen Flecken des Ersten Weltkriegs

Die blauen Flecken des Ersten Weltkriegs

  • Kriegsgefangene.

    STEINLEN Théophile Alexandre (1859 - 1923)

  • Kriegshilfe behindert.

    STEINLEN Théophile Alexandre (1859 - 1923)

  • Die Waisenkinder.

    STEINLEN Théophile Alexandre (1859 - 1923)

© Privatsammlung - Alle Rechte vorbehalten

Kriegshilfe behindert.

© Privatsammlung - Alle Rechte vorbehalten

© Privatsammlung - Alle Rechte vorbehalten

Erscheinungsdatum: September 2006

Historischer Zusammenhang

Der Große Krieg als Inspirationsquelle

Der Théophile Alexandre Steinlen (1859-1923) war fünfundfünfzig Jahre alt, als im Sommer 1914 der Erste Weltkrieg ausbrach. Unzählige vorbereitende Zeichnungen gaben ihm ständig neues Material für Zeitungen, Zeitschriften, Bücher und mehr. andere Produktionen (Fundraising-Karten, Gewinnspielkarten), die er in seiner Druckmaschine komponiert.

Die drei hier vorgestellten Zeichnungen greifen die Lieblingsthemen eines vom Krieg tief betroffenen Künstlers auf. Zwei davon stammen aus dem Jahr 1915: Es war das Jahr wiederholter Misserfolge der Entente Cordiale in den Dardanellen (Februar), der Champagne und Artois (September). Die Verwundeten in Krankenhäusern, Gefangene und Flüchtlinge in Lagern, Kombattanten in schlammigen Gräben sind alles Zahlen, die die große Not der Soldaten zeigen.

Bildanalyse

Männer, Kriegsopfer

Steinlen hatte viele Möglichkeiten, Kriegsgefangene sowohl in Frankreich als auch in Deutschland anzuziehen. 1915 ging er sogar zweimal an die Front, im Mai und Juli. Die drei hier abgebildeten Gefangenen stammen aus dem Leben, wie die schnellen Gesichtszüge des Künstlers belegen. Sie stehen an einem unbestimmten Ort (vor der Kaserne?) Und scheinen zu warten, aber ohne Hoffnung. Die abgemagerten Gesichter dieser mehr oder weniger älteren, vernachlässigten Männer (Bärte, zusammengesackte Uniformen) deuten auf die Entbehrungen, die Angst und die Traurigkeit hin.

Die Vorzeichnung für das Plakat "Hilfe für Kriegsbehinderte" (für eine Sammlung) stammt aus dem Jahr 1915, da der französische Soldat noch ein Kepi trägt (der Helm ersetzt es erst im Sommer 1915). Amputiert von seinem linken Bein findet er symbolisch Unterstützung auf einem Mater Dolorosa. Während der Soldat in unterbrochenen Linien gezeichnet ist und sein Schicksal widerspiegelt, ist die Frau, die ihn unterstützt, kurvenreich. Die beiden toten Wälder der Invaliden (Krücke und Prothese) kontrastieren mit der Gesundheit des weiblichen Körpers, voll, harmonisch, mit kräftigen Linien geschlüpft. Das traurige Lächeln des Soldaten findet sein Gegenstück in der ruhigen Entschlossenheit seiner vorsorglichen Unterstützung.

Es ist eine weibliche Figur eines anderen Typs, die als Dreh- und Angelpunkt für die Vorbereitung der Kampagne für Kriegswaisen dient, die ebenfalls aus dem Jahr 1915 stammt. Steinlen konzentriert die Mutterfigur auf diese Figur, die den Verlust des Vaters kompensiert. Soldat und die republikanische Figur von Marianne, erkennbar an ihrer phrygischen Mütze. Die christlichen Referenzen strukturieren auch eine Gruppe, die durch die Disposition einer Heiligen Familie zum Nachdenken anregt. Der gesenkte Kopf der Mutter aller Waisenkinder, das Kind, das sie trägt, assimiliert sie der Jungfrau. Die drei Kindheitsalter weisen darauf hin, dass alle Familien betroffen sein können. Steinlen kontrastiert dieses allgemeine Unglück mit der Dynamik seiner Komposition, in der Umhang und Arme die Waisen umhüllen, wo die Hände deutlich sichtbar sind und eine einheitliche Rolle spielen.

Interpretation

Steinlens humanistische Kriegsanstrengungen

Steinlen in der Nähe von Toulouse-Lautrec war vor dem Krieg neben den Anarchisten (er entwarf das Cover eines Buches von Kropotkin) und den Sozialisten beteiligt gewesen. Er denunzierte regelmäßig das tägliche Elend der Menschen in Der kleine Sou. Es ist derselbe Geist, der ihn bewohnt, als er 1915 seine Zeichnungen in der Sammlung veröffentlichte Die Praktikanten. Einreise in deutsche Gefängnisse und 1917 seine Land des Krieges In der Zeitung ich weiß alles. Wenn er zur Mobilisierung der öffentlichen Meinung beiträgt, ist es weniger ein Patriot als ein Humanist, der die menschliche Verfassung beschäftigt. Die französischen Opfer des Ersten Weltkriegs - 2 Millionen Gefangene, 1,3 Millionen Tote, 300.000 Verstümmelte und 760.000 Waisenkinder - sind Gegenstand einer Arbeit, die größtenteils mit Punkt oder Bleistift hergestellt wurde - ohne Nachforschungen anzustellen andere Wirkung als rohe Realität.

Steinlens Zeichnungen gravieren somit in die kollektive Vorstellungskraft die dramatischen Situationen, die die Bevölkerung täglich erlebt. Ohne diese vielfältigen Leiden zu vergrößern, heroisiert der Künstler die Ausdauer einer ganzen Gesellschaft, die trotz ihrer selbst in einen totalen Krieg gestürzt ist. Und plädieren für ein Ende unnötiger Opfer.

  • Allegorie
  • Kindheit
  • Krieg von 14-18
  • behaart
  • Anarchismus
  • Sozialismus
  • Krieg
  • Eile
  • Gefängnis
  • Gefangene

Literaturverzeichnis

Annette BECKER, Während des Ersten Weltkriegs vergessen. Humanitäre und Kriegskultur (1914-1918): besetzte Bevölkerung, zivile Deportierte, Kriegsgefangene, Paris, Noêsis, 1998. Jacques CHRISTOPHE, Steinlen, das Werk des Krieges (1914-1920), Lyon, Aléas, 1999. Pierre VALLAUD,14-18 Erster Weltkrieg2 Bände, Paris, Fayard, 2004.

Um diesen Artikel zu zitieren

Alexandre SUMPF, "Die blauen Flecken des Ersten Weltkriegs"


Video: Blaue Flecken beim Hula Hoopen. Ist das normal?