Lafayette Escadrille Memorial

Lafayette Escadrille Memorial


We are searching data for your request:

Forums and discussions:
Manuals and reference books:
Data from registers:
Wait the end of the search in all databases.
Upon completion, a link will appear to access the found materials.

  • James Norman Hall's service record.

    ANONYMOUS

  • Project for the Lafayette Escadrille Memorial.

    ANONYMOUS

  • Inauguration of a commemorative plaque dedicated to the Lafayette Escadrille.

    ANONYMOUS

James Norman Hall's service record.

© Photo RMN-Grand Palais - R. G. Ojeda

Project for the Lafayette Escadrille Memorial.

© Photo RMN-Grand Palais - R. Ojeda

Inauguration of a commemorative plaque dedicated to the Lafayette Escadrille.

© Photo RMN-Grand Palais - R. Ojeda

Publication date: March 2016

Historical context

The La Fayette squadron or the spirit of the Franco-American alliance

The N 124 aeronautical unit or La Fayette squadron was created on April 20, 1916, a year before the United States entered the war alongside the Entente. It ceased to exist in its original form on February 18, 1918, to become No. 103, the first American fighter squadron. For the most part, the members of the squadron received numerous decorations and honors from the French military and political authorities, some becoming very famous like Norman Prince or James Norman Hall.

At the end of the conflict, the staffs and governments, both French and American, wished to perpetuate and maintain the legend of the squadron, symbol of the excellence of the Franco-American alliance (born in 1777 and renewed in 1914 ) that many hope to consolidate on a political level, if not military. Created in 1923, the Memorial de l'Escadrille La Fayette association raises private American and French funds to finance the construction of a monument that would pay tribute to all the pilots of the squadron, especially those who died in combat. It was inaugurated on July 4, 1928 (American National Day).

Image Analysis

For memory

James Norman Hall's Service Record associates a photograph of James Norman Hall with his military career during the First World War. Standing in his uniform (that of the Americans was similar to that of the French) on which he hung decorations, he stares seriously at the goal. On the right are his military background and his various feats of arms: first the English army, then the La Fayette squadron where he became a sergeant and finally the American air force where he ended up captain. Below, his decorations, three of which are French: Legion of Honor, Military Medal, Croix de Guerre.

Project for the La Fayette Escadrille Memorial offers an overview of the monument and its site. A large central arch (triumphal arch the size of which is half that of Paris) dominates the platform, opening onto an elliptical basin. It is flanked by colonnades, each of which ends with a pavilion, each giving access to an underground crypt, which houses the ashes of pilots who died in combat. Four columns surmounted by the American eagle punctuate the tree-lined ellipse in which the Memorial is inscribed. Above the overview, a medallion shows the crypt, and the inscription reads "Project for the Mémorial of Escadrille Lafayette in the Park National de Villeneuve’Etang ».

Inauguration of a commemorative plaque dedicated to the Escadrille La Fayette shows a gathering of American and French civilian and military dignitaries (uniforms). The plaque which has just been inaugurated (the fabrics which covered it are now discarded) evokes "The La Fayette squadron, an aviation corps made up of American volunteers" who served "in the French army". On the right is a flag bearing the squadron's emblem (the head of Sioux, whose feathers can be seen). The American and French flags that recall the alliance celebrated here are visible in different places: together on the wall in the upper background, near the commemorative plaque (left).

Interpretation

Monument (s)

The fame of the La Fayette squadron and its heroes is almost immediate. Even during the conflict, the men were decorated and their exploits celebrated. Almost ten years later, in 1928, the tribute grew larger, heavier. So the Project for the La Fayette Escadrille Memorial shows above all a monument to the dead, both grandiose and a little gloomy. The names of the sixty-eight pilots of the squadron who died in action are engraved on the triumphal arch, and there are sixty-eight sarcophagi in the crypt (some of which are empty for lack of bodies). This place of memory and meditation is also a space for military celebration and the affirmation of a certain power capable of guaranteeing peace. The thirteen stained glass windows in the crypt, signed Mauméjan, mostly refer to the battles fought by the squadron, and the eagles perched on columns express the strength of the United States and the Franco-American alliance. The whole is literally "monumental", imposing and martial, which mixes spiritual and military, national and historical symbols.

Inauguration of a commemorative plaque dedicated to the Escadrille La Fayette does not have the same gravity. We find the references to the dead (the plaque) and the military presence, but this is attenuated, nuanced by that of civilians. If the moment is solemn, it is also warmer, almost rustic (the facade of the building with the slightly sloping windows). It is the friendship of the two countries (flags and uniforms mixed together), past and present, that seems most in the spotlight here.

An alliance that can also be read symbolically on James Norman Hall's Service Record. The main decorations are French for an American pilot. A veritable "monument" to the squadron, Hall, also a novelist, is one of those who have maintained and brought to life the notoriety of the "La Fayettes" by recounting their exploits. Thus avoiding oblivion, he may have played an indirect role in the success of the Memorial project, the private donations of famous and respected figures as well as the aid from the authorities which made this construction possible.

  • aviation
  • Lafayette squadron
  • United States
  • War of 14-18
  • American intervention

Bibliography

Annette BECKER, Monuments to the dead: heritage and memory of the Great War, Paris, Errance, 1988. Jean GISCLON, Hunters in the La Fayette group, 1916-1945, Paris, Nel, 1997. Jean GISCLON, The Aces of the La Fayette Squadron, Paris, Hachette, 1976. Jean GISCLON, The La Fayette Squadron, from the La Fayette Squadron to the La Fayette Squadron, 1916-1945, Paris, France Empire, 1975.

To cite this article

Alexandre SUMPF, “Memorial of the Lafayette Escadrille”


Video: Changing of the American Flag Over Lafayettes Tomb, Paris, July 4 - France Revisited

Lafayette Escadrille Denkmal

Lafayette Escadrille Denkmal

  • Service-Rekord von James Norman Hall.

    ANONYM

  • Projekt für das Lafayette Escadrille Memorial.

    ANONYM

  • Einweihung einer Gedenktafel für die Lafayette Escadrille.

    ANONYM

Service-Rekord von James Norman Hall.

© Foto RMN-Grand Palais - R. G. Ojeda

Projekt für das Lafayette Escadrille Memorial.

© Foto RMN-Grand Palais - R. Ojeda

Einweihung einer Gedenktafel für die Lafayette Escadrille.

© Foto RMN-Grand Palais - R. Ojeda

Erscheinungsdatum: März 2016

Historischer Zusammenhang

Das La Fayette-Geschwader oder der Geist des französisch-amerikanischen Bündnisses

Die Luftfahrteinheit N 124 oder das Geschwader La Fayette wurde am 20. April 1916 gegründet, ein Jahr bevor die Vereinigten Staaten neben der Entente in den Krieg eintraten. Es hörte am 18. Februar 1918 auf, in seiner ursprünglichen Form zu existieren, und wurde Nr. 103, das erste amerikanische Jagdgeschwader. Zum größten Teil erhielten die Mitglieder des Geschwaders zahlreiche Auszeichnungen und Ehrungen von den französischen militärischen und politischen Behörden, von denen einige sehr berühmt wurden, wie Norman Prince oder James Norman Hall.

Am Ende des Konflikts wollten die französischen und amerikanischen Stäbe und Regierungen die Legende des Geschwaders, das Symbol für die Exzellenz des französisch-amerikanischen Bündnisses (geboren 1777 und erneuert 1914), aufrechterhalten und aufrechterhalten ) dass viele hoffen, auf politischer Ebene, wenn nicht auf militärischer Ebene, zu konsolidieren. Die 1923 gegründete Vereinigung Memorial de l'Escadrille La Fayette sammelt private amerikanische und französische Mittel, um den Bau eines Denkmals zu finanzieren, das allen Piloten des Geschwaders, insbesondere denen, die im Kampf ums Leben kamen, Tribut zollen würde. Es wurde am 4. Juli 1928 (amerikanischer Nationalfeiertag) eingeweiht.

Bildanalyse

Als Erinnerung

Service-Rekord von James Norman Hall verbindet ein Foto von James Norman Hall mit seiner Militärkarriere während des Ersten Weltkriegs. Er steht in seiner Uniform (die der Amerikaner war ähnlich wie die der Franzosen), an der er Dekorationen aufgehängt hat, und starrt ernsthaft auf das Ziel. Auf der rechten Seite sind sein militärischer Hintergrund und seine verschiedenen Waffenleistungen zu sehen: zuerst die englische Armee, dann das Geschwader La Fayette, in dem er Sergeant wurde, und schließlich die amerikanische Luftwaffe, in der er Kapitän wurde. Unten seine Auszeichnungen, von denen drei französisch sind: Ehrenlegion, Militärmedaille, Croix de Guerre.

Projekt für das La Fayette Escadrille Memorial bietet einen Überblick über das Denkmal und seinen Standort. Ein großer zentraler Bogen (Triumphbogen, dessen Größe halb so groß ist wie der von Paris) dominiert die Plattform und überblickt ein elliptisches Becken. Es wird von Kolonnaden flankiert, von denen jede mit einem Pavillon endet, der Zugang zu einer unterirdischen Krypta bietet, in der die Asche der im Kampf verstorbenen Piloten untergebracht ist. Vier Säulen, die vom amerikanischen Adler überragt werden, unterstreichen die baumförmige Ellipse, in die das Denkmal eingeschrieben ist. Über der Übersicht zeigt ein Medaillon die Krypta und die Inschrift lautet "Projekt für das Mémorial von Escadrille Lafayette im Park National de Villeneuve'Etang ».

Einweihung einer Gedenktafel, die der Escadrille La Fayette gewidmet ist zeigt eine Versammlung amerikanischer und französischer ziviler und militärischer Würdenträger (Uniformen). Die soeben eingeweihte Gedenktafel (die Stoffe, die sie bedeckten, werden jetzt weggeworfen) erinnert an "The La Fayette Squadron, ein Luftfahrtkorps aus amerikanischen Freiwilligen", die "in der französischen Armee" gedient haben. Auf der rechten Seite befindet sich eine Flagge mit dem Emblem des Geschwaders (der Kopf von Sioux, dessen Federn zu sehen sind). Die amerikanischen und französischen Flaggen, die an das hier gefeierte Bündnis erinnern, sind an verschiedenen Stellen sichtbar: zusammen an der Wand im oberen Hintergrund, in der Nähe der Gedenktafel (links).

Interpretation

Monumente)

Der Ruhm des La Fayette-Geschwaders und seiner Helden ist fast unmittelbar. Sogar während des Konflikts wurden die Männer ausgezeichnet und ihre Heldentaten gefeiert. Fast zehn Jahre später, 1928, wurde der Tribut größer und schwerer. Also die Projekt für das La Fayette Escadrille Memorial zeigt vor allem ein Denkmal für die Toten, sowohl grandios als auch ein wenig düster. Die Namen der achtundsechzig Piloten des Geschwaders, die in Aktion starben, sind in den Triumphbogen eingraviert, und in der Krypta befinden sich achtundsechzig Sarkophage (von denen einige aus Mangel an Körpern leer sind). Dieser Ort der Erinnerung und Meditation ist auch ein Ort für militärische Feierlichkeiten und die Bestätigung einer bestimmten Macht, die Frieden garantieren kann. Die dreizehn Buntglasfenster in der Krypta, signiert Mauméjan, beziehen sich somit größtenteils auf die Schlachten des Geschwaders, und die auf Säulen sitzenden Adler drücken die Stärke der Vereinigten Staaten und des französisch-amerikanischen Bündnisses aus. Das Ganze ist buchstäblich "monumental", imposant und kriegerisch, was spirituelle und militärische, nationale und historische Symbole vermischt.

Einweihung einer Gedenktafel, die der Escadrille La Fayette gewidmet ist hat nicht die gleiche Schwerkraft. Wir finden die Hinweise auf die Toten (die Gedenktafel) und die militärische Präsenz, aber dies wird abgeschwächt, nuanciert durch die der Zivilbevölkerung. Wenn der Moment feierlich ist, ist es auch wärmer, fast rustikal (die Fassade des Gebäudes mit den leicht abfallenden Fenstern). Es ist die Freundschaft der beiden Länder (Flaggen und Uniformen gemischt), Vergangenheit und Gegenwart, die hier am meisten im Rampenlicht zu stehen scheint.

Eine Allianz, die auch symbolisch gelesen werden kann Service-Rekord von James Norman Hall. Die Hauptdekorationen sind Französisch für einen amerikanischen Piloten. Hall, ebenfalls ein Schriftsteller, ist ein wahres "Denkmal" für das Geschwader und einer derjenigen, die die Bekanntheit der "La Fayettes" bewahrt und zum Leben erweckt haben, indem sie über ihre Heldentaten berichtet haben. Um das Vergessen zu vermeiden, hat er möglicherweise eine indirekte Rolle für den Erfolg des Memorial-Projekts, die privaten Spenden berühmter und angesehener Persönlichkeiten sowie die Hilfe der Behörden gespielt, die diesen Bau ermöglicht haben.

  • Luftfahrt
  • Lafayette Geschwader
  • Vereinigte Staaten
  • Krieg von 14-18
  • Amerikanische Intervention

Literaturverzeichnis

Annette BECKER, Denkmäler für die Toten: Erbe und Erinnerung an den Ersten Weltkrieg, Paris, Errance, 1988. Jean GISCLON, Jäger in der La Fayette-Gruppe, 1916-1945, Paris, Nel, 1997. Jean GISCLON, Die Asse der La Fayette-Staffel, Paris, Hachette, 1976. Jean GISCLON, Die La Fayette-Staffel, von der La Fayette-Staffel bis zur La Fayette-Staffel, 1916-1945, Paris, Frankreich Empire, 1975.

Um diesen Artikel zu zitieren

Alexandre SUMPF, "Denkmal der Lafayette Escadrille"


Video: General Chuck Yeager