The medalist says "of Mérovée"

The medalist says


We are searching data for your request:

Forums and discussions:
Manuals and reference books:
Data from registers:
Wait the end of the search in all databases.
Upon completion, a link will appear to access the found materials.

To close

Title: Medalist says "of Mérovée".

Author : FREMIET Emmanuel (1824 - 1910)

Creation date : 1867

Date shown: 451

Dimensions: Height 238 - Width 151

Technique and other indications: frame, bronze, cedar (wood), oak (wood), copper (metal), ebony (wood), cabinetry (wood), ivory, marquetry (wood), walnut (wood), sculpture (technique)

Storage place: Orsay Museum website

Contact copyright: © Photo RMN-Grand Palais - H. Lewandowski

Picture reference: 89EE810 / OA 10440

Medalist says "of Mérovée".

© Photo RMN-Grand Palais - H. Lewandowski

Publication date: August 2005

Historical context

King Mérovée pushes back Attila in 451

In 451, the triumphal entry of Mérovée into Châlons-sur-Marne marked his undisputed victory over Attila. During the Ve century AD, the Roman Empire was dismantled by barbarian invasions. Gaul was then dominated by the Franks in the north and the Burgundians in the south-east.

Image Analysis

A historic medalist

The so-called “Mérovée” medal, designed by designer Brandely and produced by cabinetmaker Diehl (1811-circa 1885), presents a silver high relief, executed by sculptor Frémiet (1824-1910), which shows the triumphal entry of Mérovée following his victory over the barbarian leader. Standing on a heavy chariot drawn by three oxen, he is surrounded by his army and followed by prisoners. Military trophies, heads of cattle and curious fantastic silver animals accompany the main subject. The oak ensemble is of a massive and monumental construction (2.38 meters high); it contains a series of small drawers intended to receive medals.
This piece of furniture does not belong to any trendy stylistic movement when it was created in 1867. It offers an astonishing and instructive variation on academic models. Indeed, the composition and the ornaments appear as classic motifs disguised in Merovingian fashion. The hero's entrance borrows its composition from the Roman triumphs; the emperor is replaced here by a king dressed in animal skins, the dashing quadriga has become a trio of oxen in full effort; the weapons of the upper trophy are axes, helmets with outstretched wings and heavy shields, and the classic bucranos have become protomes of cattle. All the iconographic stereotypes of the Gallic world were called upon to an academic composition to give this historical event a universal significance.

Interpretation

A pedagogical mistake?

Merovée as a Roman Emperor, this is the way the XIXe century of evoking the emancipation of Gaul, the emergence of an independent "nation", freed from the yoke of Rome and capable of resisting the onslaught of the invader. The victory of 451 seems to be seen as the birth certificate of a nation that will be France. Contemporary history places this event during the reign of Clovis. This shift testifies to the hesitations of historians of the mid-19th century.e century, for which the period of the High Middle Ages is still a vague area, between the glorious but Roman Antiquity and the dark Middle Ages. This period of "national antiquities", the name of the museum founded by Napoleon III at the castle of Saint-Germain-en-Laye to accommodate the product of excavations carried out in France, arouses passions. It provides archaeological evidence of the existence of a culture specific to French soil before the construction of cathedrals. Nevertheless, the differentiation with the Gallo-Roman period is still unclear and its evocation by the artists of the XIXe century is hesitant, especially since the products of the excavations do not constitute sufficiently glorious models in their eyes. This French "prehistory" is therefore still evoked throughout Roman Antiquity.
This way of celebrating a historical event likely to awaken national feeling is quite symptomatic of the Second Empire. Presented at the Universal Exhibition of 1867 in Paris, the medal can only appear as an additional step in the construction of a clean past, in which all European countries are then engaged. On the eve of 1870, the mention of a French victory over barbarians from the east cannot be ignored.

  • heroic figure
  • Middle Ages
  • nationalism
  • patrimony
  • sculpture
  • Second Empire

Bibliography

Anne-Marie THIESSEThe creation of national identitiesParis, Le Seuil, 1999.

To cite this article

Nicolas COURTIN, "The so-called" Mérovée "medalist"


Video: Venture Capital Explained

Der Medaillengewinner sagt "von Mérovée"

Der Medaillengewinner sagt

Schließen

Titel: Medaillengewinner sagt "von Mérovée".

Autor: FREMIET Emmanuel (1824 - 1910)

Erstellungsdatum : 1867

Datum angezeigt: 451

Maße: Höhe 238 - Breite 151

Technik und andere Indikationen: Rahmen, Bronze, Zeder (Holz), Eiche (Holz), Kupfer (Metall), Ebenholz (Holz), Möbel (Holz), Elfenbein, Intarsien (Holz), Walnuss (Holz), Skulptur (Technik)

Lagerort: Orsay Museum Website

Kontakt Copyright: © Foto RMN-Grand Palais - H. Lewandowski

Bildreferenz: 89EE810 / OA 10440

Medaillengewinner sagt "von Mérovée".

© Foto RMN-Grand Palais - H. Lewandowski

Erscheinungsdatum: August 2005

Historischer Zusammenhang

König Mérovée drückt Attila 451 zurück

451 markierte der triumphale Einzug von Mérovée in Châlons-sur-Marne seinen unbestrittenen Sieg über Attila. Während der V.e Jahrhundert n. Chr. wurde das Römische Reich durch Invasionen der Barbaren demontiert. Gallien wurde dann von den Franken im Norden und den Burgundern im Südosten dominiert.

Bildanalyse

Ein historischer Medaillengewinner

Die sogenannte „Mérovée“ -Medaille, die vom Designer Brandely entworfen und vom Tischler Diehl (1811 - ca. 1885) hergestellt wurde, zeigt ein silbernes Hochrelief, das vom Bildhauer Frémiet (1824-1910) ausgeführt wurde und das zeigt Triumphzugang von Mérovée nach seinem Sieg über den Barbarenführer. Er steht auf einem schweren Streitwagen, der von drei Ochsen gezogen wird. Er ist von seiner Armee umgeben und wird von Gefangenen verfolgt. Militärische Trophäen, Viehköpfe und neugierige fantastische Silbertiere begleiten das Hauptthema. Das Eichenensemble ist massiv und monumental gebaut (2,38 Meter hoch). Es enthält eine Reihe kleiner Schubladen, die Medaillen erhalten sollen.
Dieses Möbelstück gehört zu keiner trendigen Stilbewegung, als es 1867 geschaffen wurde. Es bietet eine erstaunliche und lehrreiche Variation akademischer Modelle. In der Tat erscheinen die Komposition und die Ornamente als klassische Motive, die auf merowingische Weise getarnt sind. Der Eingang des Helden entlehnt seine Komposition den römischen Triumphen; Der Kaiser wird hier durch einen König in Tierhäuten ersetzt. Die schneidige Quadriga ist in voller Anstrengung zu einem Trio von Ochsen geworden. Die Waffen der oberen Trophäe sind Äxte, Helme mit ausgestreckten Flügeln und schweren Schilden, und die klassischen Bucranos sind zu Protomen von Rindern geworden. Alle ikonografischen Stereotypen der gallischen Welt wurden zu einer akademischen Komposition aufgefordert, um diesem historischen Ereignis eine universelle Bedeutung zu verleihen.

Interpretation

Ein pädagogischer Fehler?

Merovée als römischer Kaiser, so ist der XIXe Jahrhundert der Hervorrufung der Emanzipation Galliens, der Entstehung einer unabhängigen "Nation", die vom Joch Roms befreit und in der Lage ist, den einfallenden Angriffen standzuhalten. Der Sieg von 451 scheint als Geburtsurkunde einer Nation angesehen zu werden, die Frankreich sein wird. Die Zeitgeschichte stellt dieses Ereignis während der Regierungszeit von Clovis. Diese Verschiebung zeugt vom Zögern der Historiker der Mitte des 19. Jahrhunderts.e Jahrhundert, für das die Zeit des Hochmittelalters noch eine Grauzone zwischen der glorreichen, aber römischen Antike und dem dunklen Mittelalter ist. Diese Periode der "nationalen Altertümer", der Name des Museums, das Napoleon III. Auf der Burg von Saint-Germain-en-Laye gegründet hat, um das Produkt der in Frankreich durchgeführten Ausgrabungen aufzunehmen, weckt Leidenschaften. Es liefert archäologische Beweise für die Existenz einer Kultur, die für französischen Boden spezifisch ist, bevor Kathedralen gebaut wurden. Dennoch ist die Unterscheidung mit der gallo-römischen Zeit noch unklar und ihre Evokation durch die Künstler des XIXe Jahrhundert ist zögerlich, zumal die Produkte der Ausgrabungen in ihren Augen keine hinreichend herrlichen Vorbilder darstellen. Diese französische "Vorgeschichte" wird daher noch in der gesamten römischen Antike erwähnt.
Diese Art, ein historisches Ereignis zu feiern, das die nationale Stimmung wecken könnte, ist für das Zweite Reich sehr symptomatisch. Die Medaille, die auf der Weltausstellung von 1867 in Paris präsentiert wurde, kann nur als zusätzlicher Schritt beim Aufbau einer sauberen Vergangenheit erscheinen, an der sich dann alle europäischen Länder beteiligen. Am Vorabend des Jahres 1870 kann die Erwähnung eines französischen Sieges über Barbaren aus dem Osten nicht ignoriert werden.

  • Heldenfigur
  • Mittelalter
  • Nationalismus
  • Patrimonium
  • Skulptur
  • Zweites Reich

Literaturverzeichnis

Anne-Marie THIESSEDie Schaffung nationaler IdentitätenParis, Le Seuil, 1999.

Um diesen Artikel zu zitieren

Nicolas COURTIN, "Der sogenannte" Mérovée "Medaillengewinner"


Video: Vae Victis - Clovis - Clovis