Maurice Chevalier at the Casino de Paris

Maurice Chevalier at the Casino de Paris


We are searching data for your request:

Forums and discussions:
Manuals and reference books:
Data from registers:
Wait the end of the search in all databases.
Upon completion, a link will appear to access the found materials.

Maurice Chevalier at the Casino de Paris

© ADAGP, Library of Contemporary International Documentation / MHC

Publication date: January 2006

Historical context

The Casino de Paris, symbol of the music hall years

Maurice Chevalier's French career is inextricably linked to the Casino de Paris. Without question, the big star of those years is the “Miss”, Mistinguett. In the early 1920s, she shared the bill at the Casino de Paris with Maurice Chevalier, a rising star of American music hall.

Image Analysis

Boater, lippe and camber: the symbols of the dandy of the suburbs

Charles Kiffer (1902-1992), a close friend of Maurice Chevalier (1888-1972), designed the advertisements for the singer's successive shows at the Casino de Paris in the late 1930s. The composition of the poster for Love of Paris is characterized by a perfect balance between text and drawing, and, in the drawing, between three characters who synthesize the content and the subject of the magazine. In the frame built by the repetition of the name of the room, the name of the star appears in huge letters, and the advertising argument does not skimp on hyperbole: the "great and super review" is that Maurice Chevalier " plays all the roles and offers its audience its syncopated dance from America and its popular songs. The image of Kiffer accomplishes this program: the left half is entirely occupied by the famous velvet gaze and the famous lippe. The boater, emblem of the singer since 1921, falls to a languid music-hall Cupid, arched to the Knight. Finally, the sensual chorus girl sketched in the middle is a pretext for variations on the theme of the heart: sandal curls, a smile, a thong, echo the silhouette of the young woman - an emblem of the Paris that Americans love and that Maurice Chevalier knows how to capsize.

Interpretation

Maurice Chevalier, an American star in Paris

From 1917, Maurice Chevalier was headlining at the Casino de Paris. Then, during the 1920s, he left for the United States and filmed in Hollywood. It is therefore crowned with now international glory that the singer returns to France for two triumphant shows: Paris I love you (1937) and Love of Paris (1938). If he is surrounded by a large troupe of dancers and musicians, if he is assisted by experienced scenographers and decorators, he alone embodies the show and ensures its success. His fame is the cause of the emergence of American-style stardom in France, based on advertising by all available media: cinema, radio, posters. The music hall then mixes the popular culture of the revue with more elitist rhythms of jazz, the French tradition of the singer and scenic originality from across the Atlantic. Maurice Chevalier is a faceted icon: archetypal of the French in the United States, a Parisian dandy in a boater or a bewitching scoundrel of the bohemian suburbs, he is popular because he knows how to reflect these various figures wonderfully.

  • Hobbies
  • dandyism
  • music hall
  • Paris
  • stardom
  • bohemian (life of)

Bibliography

Jacques CHARLES, One hundred years of music hall: General history of music hall, from its origins to the present day in Great Britain, France and the USA, Paris, Jeheber, 1956.Jacques FESCHOTTE, History of the music hall, Paris, P.U.F., coll. "What do I know? », 1965. Jean-Claude KLEIN, The song on the bill. History of French song from the café-concert to the present day, Paris, Du May, 1991.Denis-Constant MARTIN and Olivier ROUEFF, The France of Jazz: Music, Modernity and Identity in the First Half of the 20th Century, Marseille Parenthèses, 2002.

To cite this article

Alexandre SUMPF, "Maurice Chevalier at the Casino de Paris"


Video: Maurice Chevalier: Bouquet De Paris with Raymond Legrand From the film Le Roi 1950. Rec 1949-50

Maurice Chevalier im Casino de Paris

Maurice Chevalier im Casino de Paris

Maurice Chevalier im Casino de Paris

© ADAGP, Bibliothek für zeitgenössische internationale Dokumentation / MHC

Erscheinungsdatum: Januar 2006

Historischer Zusammenhang

Das Casino de Paris, Symbol der Musikhalle Jahre

Maurice Chevaliers französische Karriere ist untrennbar mit dem Casino de Paris verbunden. Ohne Frage ist der große Star dieser Jahre die „Miss“ Mistinguett. In den frühen 1920er Jahren teilte sie die Rechnung im Casino de Paris mit Maurice Chevalier, einem aufstrebenden Star der amerikanischen Musikhalle.

Bildanalyse

Bootsfahrer, Lippe und Sturz: die Symbole des Dandys der Vororte

Charles Kiffer (1902-1992), ein enger Freund von Maurice Chevalier (1888-1972), entwarf die Werbung für die aufeinanderfolgenden Shows des Sängers im Casino de Paris Ende der 1930er Jahre. Die Komposition des Plakats für Liebe zu Paris zeichnet sich durch eine perfekte Balance zwischen Text und Zeichnung sowie in der Zeichnung zwischen drei Zeichen aus, die den Inhalt und das Thema des Magazins zusammenfassen. In dem Rahmen, der durch die Wiederholung des Raumnamens entsteht, erscheint der Name des Sterns in großen Buchstaben, und das Werbeargument spart nicht an Übertreibung: Die "große und super Bewertung" ist, dass Maurice Chevalier " spielt alle Rollen und bietet seinem Publikum seinen synkopierten Tanz aus Amerika und seine beliebten Lieder. Das Bild von Kiffer vervollständigt dieses Programm: Die linke Hälfte ist vollständig vom berühmten Samtblick und der berühmten Lippe besetzt. Der Bootsfahrer, seit 1921 das Wahrzeichen des Sängers, fällt in eine träge, gewölbte Musikhalle Cupid zum Ritter. Endlich das Sinnliche Chorsängerin In der Mitte ist ein Vorwand für Variationen des Themas des Herzens skizziert: Sandalenlocken, ein Lächeln, ein Tanga spiegeln die Silhouette der jungen Frau wider - ein Emblem des Paris, das die Amerikaner lieben und das Maurice Chevalier kentern kann.

Interpretation

Maurice Chevalier, ein amerikanischer Star in Paris

Ab 1917 war Maurice Chevalier Headliner im Casino de Paris. Dann, in den 1920er Jahren, ging er in die USA und drehte in Hollywood. Es ist daher von internationalem Ruhm gekrönt, dass der Sänger für zwei triumphale Shows nach Frankreich zurückkehrt: Paris Ich liebe dich (1937) und Liebe zu Paris (1938). Wenn er von einer großen Truppe von Tänzern und Musikern umgeben ist, wenn er von erfahrenen Szenografen und Dekorateuren unterstützt wird, verkörpert er allein das Magazin und sichert seinen Erfolg. Sein Ruhm ist der Grund für die Entstehung eines amerikanischen Ruhmes in Frankreich, der auf Werbung aller verfügbaren Medien basiert: Kino, Radio, Plakate. Die Musikhalle mischt dann die Populärkultur des Magazins mit elitäreren Rhythmen des Jazz, der französischen Tradition des Songwriters und szenischer Originalität aus dem gesamten Atlantik. Maurice Chevalier ist eine facettenreiche Ikone: Archetyp der Franzosen in den USA, ein Pariser Dandy in einem Bootsfahrer oder ein betörender Schurke der böhmischen Vororte. Er ist beliebt, weil er weiß, wie man diese verschiedenen Figuren wunderbar widerspiegelt.

  • Hobbys
  • Dandyismus
  • Musikhalle
  • Paris
  • Ruhm
  • Bohemian (Leben von)

Literaturverzeichnis

Jacques CHARLES, Hundert Jahre Musikhalle: Allgemeine Geschichte der Musikhalle von ihren Anfängen bis heute in Großbritannien, Frankreich und den USA, Paris, Jeheber, 1956. Jacques FESCHOTTE, Geschichte der Musikhalle, Paris, P.U.F., coll. "Was weiß ich? », 1965. Jean-Claude KLEIN, Das Lied auf der Rechnung. Geschichte des französischen Liedes vom Café-Konzert bis heute, Paris, Du Mai 1991. Denis-Constant MARTIN und Olivier ROUEFF, Das Frankreich des Jazz: Musik, Moderne und Identität in der ersten Hälfte des 20. Jahrhunderts, Marseille Parenthèses, 2002.

Um diesen Artikel zu zitieren

Alexandre SUMPF, "Maurice Chevalier im Casino de Paris"


Video: Maurice Chevalier - Fleur De Paris