Marronnage

Marronnage


We are searching data for your request:

Forums and discussions:
Manuals and reference books:
Data from registers:
Wait the end of the search in all databases.
Upon completion, a link will appear to access the found materials.

  • Three Brown Negroes, in Surinam.

    BRAY Théodore (1818 - 1887)

  • Sheet of French Guiana, n ° 33 of August 15, 1829, title page.

  • Map of French Guiana by d'Anville.

To close

Title: Three Brown Negroes, in Surinam.

Author : BRAY Théodore (1818 - 1887)

Date shown:

Dimensions: Height 29 - Width 40

Technique and other indications: Watercolor drawing

Storage location: Aquitaine Museum website

Contact copyright: © Mairie Bordeaux - Photo B. Fontanelsite web

Picture reference: M. C .: L 428

Three Brown Negroes, in Surinam.

© Bordeaux City Hall - Photo B. Fontanel

To close

Title: Sheet of French Guiana, n ° 33 of August 15, 1829, title page.

Author :

Creation date : 1829

Date shown: August 15, 1829

Dimensions: Height 0 - Width 0

Storage location: Overseas Archives Center website

Contact copyright: © Center des Archives d'Outre-Mer

Picture reference: CAOM. Bib. AOM

Sheet of French Guiana, n ° 33 of August 15, 1829, title page.

© Center des Archives d'Outre-Mer

To close

Title: Map of French Guiana by d'Anville.

Author :

Creation date : 1829

Date shown: 1829

Dimensions: Height 38 - Width 50

Storage location: Historic Center of the National Archives website

Contact copyright: © Historic Center of the National Archives - Photography workshop

Map of French Guiana by d'Anville.

© Historic Center of the National Archives - Photography workshop

Publication date: April 2007

Historical context

Marronnage, resistance to slavery

Escape from areas controlled by the masters is facilitated in Guyana by the geography which makes dwellings, vast farms where slave labor is concentrated, with the then infinite universe of the Amazon rainforest.

The slaves, under permanent constraint in the dwellings, are shared between the large workshop which brings together men and women employed in the toughest jobs (clearing, earthmoving, planting) and small workshop where pregnant women, the elderly and children are gathered for lighter tasks. All details of their existence are governed by the "Workshop police" which also authorizes the teacher to practice the right of correction to punish offenses and breaches. Of carbets, shelters of branches and leaves, inspired by Amerindian techniques, as well as giblets, slash-and-burn crops adapted to the forest environment, represent the framework of their reconstituted life, where rigorous discipline is also one of the conditions for the survival of the chestnut bands.

If the forest character of Guyana favors small marooning for various purposes, of which hunting and fishing are one of the possible reasons, the town of Cayenne where the "Daytime niggers" find their work to be hired for a small but substantial salary, is a second point of attraction.

Image Analysis

Théodore Bray, Three Brown Negroes, in Surinam

In the heart of the Guyanese forest, three men - known as "maroons" or runaway slaves - are resting, chatting around a fire that we imagine intended to keep insects and snakes at bay. A felled tree and a basic hut constitute the rapid arrangements for this temporary stopover. A slash saber stuck in the ground is the essential tool in their escape, which they have taken care to take with them. The planter Théodore Bray, settled in Dutch Guiana around 1840, draws this maroon scene, with the naturalness of things seen, without romantic connotations. One of the chestnuts smokes a clay pipe, an object characteristic of the material world of slaves on plantations, as revealed by archeology. Perhaps born in Africa or from a second generation who grew up on American plantations, their means of expression are one of the Creole languages ​​resulting from the original linguistic variety of the slaves and the owners who employ them. . The region of Guyanas alone has thus given rise to several languages: Creole with a French lexical basis, Anglo-Portuguese and Anglo-Dutch.

The forest offers a place to hide, to reconstruct forms of personal and social identity, outside of the slave world. Under the constant threat of being discovered, the chestnuts are however faced with the difficulties of ensuring their subsistence, in a hostile environment where tools are lacking.

Weekly report of marronnage

Short runaways are handled with pragmatism. Considered inevitable, tolerated as long as it does not exceed a few days, it is however the subject of declarations (departure, return or arrest) to the administration. The publication of "marronnage notices" in the local weekly press allows permanent monitoring of the phenomenon and places the management of each house at the discretion of the entire colonial society. The French Guiana Sheet indicates as precisely as possible the origin of each slave, his age and size, in old and new units of measure where the millimeter is then in favor.

There followed a call for the constitution of the local militia which, under the orders of the district commanders, went in search of information on the fugitives. The discovery of huts or traces of crops provokes the organization of beatings led by armed detachments: organized marronnage indeed remains, for the homeowner, the strongest symbol of the overthrow of the slavery order.

Faced with the mass of servile workers (86% of the population on average in Guyana), the microcosm of the planters fear with anguish any laxity of its members in the police in the workshops, like any excess likely to provoke a revolt. In fact, and in the interests of the owners themselves, the extreme punishments provided for by the Black Code (mutilation, death on the third offense) remain rarely applied.

Map of French Guiana

Beyond a coastal zone which then extends for more than eight hundred kilometers, Guyana appears as an unknown country, "all covered with wood", still populated by various tribes or villages of Amerindians. The European occupation therefore developed in the river island of Cayenne, then in the estuaries of Approuague (where the "Fort des Flamands" testifies to the struggles between colonial powers) and of Oyapock, defended by the Fort. Saint Louis. In the middle of the 18th century, this movement spread, still along the coast, north-west of Cayenne. The impenetrable forest and the zones of rapids or "jumps" that block the rivers define a "Guyana of the interior" which escapes any form of colonial intervention. It also attracts, as a possible place of refuge, maroons from Surinam where large-scale rebellions have led the government to conclude treaties recognizing certain strongly constituted groups as free people (1760 for the Njuka, 1762 for the Saramaka). Knowledge of this immense territory was only based until 1729, the date of d'Anville's map, on accounts of the explorations carried out by the Jesuits. It benefited from the creation of a geographical service in 1763, within the local administration of the Navy, then from the first trips led by scientists (the geographer Mentelle in 1779, the naturalist Leblond, from 1786 to 1789). However, the demarcation of the southern border of Guyana will not be effectively carried out on the ground until 1956-1957.

Interpretation

Interpretation

Faced with the brutality and dehumanization of the slave system, the petty marronnage represents a space of freedom that the slaves themselves create; it manifests their resistance on a daily basis.

  • cards
  • colonial history
  • slavery
  • Guyana
  • marooning
  • overseas

Bibliography

Regards sur les Antilles: Marcel Chatillon Collection Catalog of the Musée d'Aquitaine, Bordeaux, September 23, 1999 - January 16, 2000, Paris, RMN- Bordeaux, Musée d'Aquitaine, 1999 Serge MAM LAM FOUCK French Guyana in the time of slavery, of gold and francization (1802-1946) Petit Bourg (Guadeloupe), Ibis rouge, 1999 Jean MOOMOU The world of the Maroons of Maroni in Guyana (1772-1860) The birth of a people, the BoniPetit Bourg ( Guadeloupe), Ibis rouge, 2004 .Richard PRICE and Sally PRICELes MarronsChateauneuf-le-Rouge, Vents Outre, 2003.Richard PRICELes early times, the conception of the history of Marrons Saramaka Paris, Seuil, 1994. Guide to the sources of the slave trade, slavery and their abolition, Direction des Archives de France, La documentation française, Paris, 2007.

To cite this article

Françoise LEMAIRE, "The marronnage"


Video: Le marronnage expliqué aux enfants ep5: lEmpereur Pitré trad fr

Marronnage

Marronnage

  • Drei braune Neger in Surinam.

    BRAY Théodore (1818 - 1887)

  • Blatt von Französisch-Guayana, Nr. 33 vom 15. August 1829, Titelseite.

  • Karte von Französisch-Guayana von d'Anville.

Schließen

Titel: Drei braune Neger in Surinam.

Autor: BRAY Théodore (1818 - 1887)

Datum angezeigt:

Maße: Höhe 29 - Breite 40

Technik und andere Indikationen: Aquarellzeichnung

Lagerraum: Website des Aquitaine Museum

Kontakt Copyright: © Mairie Bordeaux - Foto B. Fontanelsite Web

Bildreferenz: M. C.: L 428

Drei braune Neger in Surinam.

© Rathaus von Bordeaux - Foto B. Fontanel

Schließen

Titel: Blatt von Französisch-Guayana, Nr. 33 vom 15. August 1829, Titelseite.

Autor:

Erstellungsdatum : 1829

Datum angezeigt: 15. August 1829

Maße: Höhe 0 - Breite 0

Lagerraum: Website des Overseas Archives Center

Kontakt Copyright: © Centre des Archives d'Outre-Mer

Bildreferenz: CAOM. Lätzchen. AOM

Blatt von Französisch-Guayana, Nr. 33 vom 15. August 1829, Titelseite.

© Centre des Archives d'Outre-Mer

Schließen

Titel: Karte von Französisch-Guayana von d'Anville.

Autor:

Erstellungsdatum : 1829

Datum angezeigt: 1829

Maße: Höhe 38 - Breite 50

Lagerraum: Historisches Zentrum der Website des Nationalarchivs

Kontakt Copyright: © Historisches Zentrum des Nationalarchivs - Fotoworkshop

Karte von Französisch-Guayana von d'Anville.

© Historisches Zentrum des Nationalarchivs - Fotoworkshop

Erscheinungsdatum: April 2007

Historischer Zusammenhang

Marronnage, Widerstand gegen die Sklaverei

Die Flucht aus von den Meistern kontrollierten Gebieten wird in Guyana durch die geografische Lage erleichtert Wohnungen, riesige Farmen, auf denen sich Sklavenarbeit konzentriert, mit dem damals unendlichen Universum des Amazonas-Regenwaldes.

Die Sklaven, unter ständigen Einschränkungen in den Wohnungen, werden zwischen den geteilt große Werkstatt das Männer und Frauen zusammenbringt, die in den härtesten Jobs beschäftigt sind (Rodung, Erdbewegung, Pflanzen) und kleine Werkstatt wo schwangere Frauen, ältere Menschen und Kinder für leichtere Aufgaben versammelt werden. Alle Einzelheiten ihrer Existenz unterliegen der "Werkstattpolizei" Dies ermächtigt den Lehrer auch, das Recht auf Berichtigung zur Bestrafung von Straftaten und Verstößen auszuüben. Von Vergaser, Schutzräume für Zweige und Blätter, inspiriert von indianischen Techniken, sowie InnereienBrandrodungskulturen, die an die Waldumgebung angepasst sind, bilden den Rahmen ihres wiederhergestellten Lebens, in dem strenge Disziplin auch eine der Voraussetzungen für das Überleben der Kastanienbänder ist.

Wenn der Waldcharakter von Guyana eine kleine Ehe für verschiedene Zwecke begünstigt, von denen Jagd und Fischerei einer der möglichen Gründe sind, ist die Stadt Cayenne, in der die "Tag Nigger" Ihre Arbeit für ein kleines, aber beträchtliches Gehalt einzustellen, ist ein zweiter Anziehungspunkt.

Bildanalyse

Théodore Bray, drei braune Neger, in Surinam

Im Herzen des guyanischen Waldes ruhen drei Männer - bekannt als "Kastanienbraune" oder außer Kontrolle geratene Sklaven - und plaudern um ein Feuer, von dem wir uns vorstellen, dass es Insekten und Schlangen in Schach halten soll. Ein gefällter Baum und eine einfache Hütte bilden die schnellen Vorkehrungen für diesen vorübergehenden Zwischenstopp. Ein im Boden steckender Schlachtschwert ist das wesentliche Werkzeug bei ihrer Flucht, das sie sorgfältig erledigt haben. Der Pflanzer Théodore Bray, der sich um 1840 in Niederländisch-Guayana niederließ, zeichnet diese kastanienbraune Szene mit der Natürlichkeit der Dinge ohne romantische Konnotationen. Eine der Kastanien raucht eine Tonpfeife, ein Objekt, das für die materielle Welt der Sklaven auf Plantagen charakteristisch ist, wie die Archäologie zeigt. Vielleicht in Afrika geboren oder aus einer zweiten Generation, die auf amerikanischen Plantagen aufgewachsen ist, sind ihre Ausdrucksmittel eine der kreolischen Sprachen, die sich aus der ursprünglichen sprachlichen Vielfalt der Sklaven und der Besitzer ergeben, die sie beschäftigen. . Allein in der Region Guyanas sind mehrere Sprachen entstanden: Kreolisch mit französischer lexikalischer Basis, Anglo-Portugiesisch und Anglo-Niederländisch.

Der Wald bietet einen Ort, an dem man sich außerhalb der Sklavenwelt verstecken und Formen persönlicher und sozialer Identität rekonstruieren kann. Unter der ständigen Gefahr, entdeckt zu werden, stehen die Kastanien jedoch vor der Schwierigkeit, ihren Lebensunterhalt in einer feindlichen Umgebung zu sichern, in der es an Werkzeugen mangelt.

Wöchentlicher Bericht über die Ehe

Kurze Ausreißer werden mit Pragmatismus behandelt. Als unvermeidlich angesehen, toleriert, solange es einige Tage nicht überschreitet, ist es jedoch Gegenstand von Erklärungen (Abreise, Rückkehr oder Verhaftung) an die Verwaltung. Die Veröffentlichung von "Heiratsanzeigen" in der lokalen Wochenpresse ermöglicht eine permanente Überwachung des Phänomens und legt die Verwaltung jeder Wohnung im Ermessen der gesamten Kolonialgesellschaft. Das Französisch-Guayana-Blatt gibt die Herkunft jedes Sklaven, sein Alter und seine Größe, in alten und neuen Maßeinheiten so genau wie möglich an, wobei der Millimeter dann dafür ist.

Es folgte ein Aufruf zur Verfassung der örtlichen Miliz, die auf Befehl der Bezirkskommandanten nach Informationen über die Flüchtlinge suchte. Die Entdeckung von Hütten oder Erntespuren provoziert die Organisation von Schlägen, die von bewaffneten Abteilungen angeführt werden: Die organisierte Eheschließung bleibt für den Hausbesitzer das stärkste Symbol für den Sturz der Sklaverei.

Angesichts der Masse der servilen Arbeiter (durchschnittlich 86% der Bevölkerung in Guyana) befürchtet der Mikrokosmos der Pflanzer in Angst jede Nachlässigkeit ihrer Polizeibeamten in den Werkstätten wie jeden Überschuss, der eine Revolte provozieren könnte. Tatsächlich und im Interesse der Eigentümer selbst werden die im Code Noir vorgesehenen extremen Strafen (Verstümmelung, Tod bei der dritten Straftat) nur selten angewendet.

Karte von Französisch-Guayana

Jenseits einer Küstenzone, die sich dann über mehr als achthundert Kilometer erstreckt, erscheint Guyana als unbekanntes Land, "alles mit Holz bedeckt", das immer noch von verschiedenen Stämmen oder Dörfern der Indianer bevölkert wird. Die europäische Besatzung entwickelte sich daher auf der Flussinsel Cayenne, dann in den Flussmündungen von Approuague (wo das "Fort des Flamands" die Kämpfe zwischen den Kolonialmächten bezeugt) und von Oyapock, das vom Fort verteidigt wurde. Saint Louis. Mitte des 18. Jahrhunderts breitete sich diese Bewegung noch entlang der Küste nordwestlich von Cayenne aus. Der undurchdringliche Wald und die Zonen von Stromschnellen oder "Sprüngen", die die Flüsse blockieren, definieren ein "Guyana des Inneren", das jeder Form kolonialer Intervention entgeht. Als möglicher Zufluchtsort zieht es auch Kastanienbraune aus Surinam an, wo die Regierung aufgrund groß angelegter Aufstände Verträge geschlossen hat, in denen bestimmte stark konstituierte Gruppen als freie Menschen anerkannt werden (1760 für die Njuka, 1762 für die Saramaka). Bis 1729, dem Datum der Karte von d'Anville, beruhte die Kenntnis dieses riesigen Gebiets nur auf Berichten über die Erkundungen der Jesuiten. Es profitierte von der Schaffung eines geografischen Dienstes im Jahr 1763 innerhalb der örtlichen Verwaltung der Marine, dann von den ersten Reisen, die von Wissenschaftlern geleitet wurden (der Geograf Mentelle im Jahr 1779, der Naturforscher Leblond, von 1786 bis 1789). Die Abgrenzung der südlichen Grenze von Guyana würde jedoch erst 1956-1957 vor Ort wirksam durchgeführt.

Interpretation

Interpretation

Angesichts der Brutalität und Entmenschlichung des Sklavensystems repräsentiert die kleine Ehe einen Raum der Freiheit, den die Sklaven selbst schaffen; es manifestiert ihren Widerstand täglich.

  • Karten
  • Kolonialgeschichte
  • Sklaverei
  • Guyana
  • Aussetzung
  • Übersee-

Literaturverzeichnis

Grüße auf die Antillen: Katalog der Sammlung Marcel Chatillon des Musée d'Aquitaine, Bordeaux, 23. September 1999 - 16. Januar 2000, Paris, RMN-Bordeaux, Musée d'Aquitaine, 1999 Serge MAM LAM FOUCK Französisch-Guyana in der Zeit der Sklaverei, von Gold und Francisierung (1802-1946) Petit Bourg (Guadeloupe), Ibis Rouge, 1999 Jean MOOMOU Die Welt der Maroons of Maroni in Guyana (1772-1860) Die Geburt eines Volkes, des BoniPetit Bourg ( Guadeloupe), Ibis Rouge, 2004. Richard Preis und Sally Preise MarronsChateauneuf-le-Rouge, Vents Outre, 2003. Richard Preise frühe Zeiten, die Konzeption der Geschichte von Marrons Saramaka Paris, Seuil, 1994. Leitfaden zu den Quellen der Sklavenhandel, Sklaverei und ihre Abschaffung Direction des Archives de France, La documentation française, Paris, 2007.

Um diesen Artikel zu zitieren

Françoise LEMAIRE, "Die Ehe"


Video: Marronnage