The Marquis de Montcalm, hero of the Seven Years' War

The Marquis de Montcalm, hero of the Seven Years' War


We are searching data for your request:

Forums and discussions:
Manuals and reference books:
Data from registers:
Wait the end of the search in all databases.
Upon completion, a link will appear to access the found materials.

To close

Title: Death of the Marquis de Montcalm in the battle of Quebec on September 13, 1759. [after François Watteau]

Author : ANCHOR Fair (1729 - 1802)

Creation date : 1783

Date shown: September 13, 1759

Dimensions: Height 50.2 cm - Width 63 cm

Technique and other indications: etching and chisel

Storage place: National Museum of the Palace of Versailles (Versailles) website

Contact copyright: © RMN - Grand Palais (Palace of Versailles) / All rights reserved

Picture reference: 79-007041 / invgravures5382

Death of the Marquis de Montcalm in the battle of Quebec on September 13, 1759. [after François Watteau]

© RMN - Grand Palais (Palace of Versailles) / All rights reserved

Publication date: March 2016

Historical context

Louis-Joseph de Montcalm de Saint-Véran was born on February 28, 1712 at the Château de Candiac, near Nîmes. Very young, he was initiated into the profession of arms and, thanks to his father, became lieutenant-colonel of the Hainaut infantry regiment.

After leading a company during the War of the Polish Succession, the young man participated in the War of the Austrian Succession, during which he was wounded. Shortly after, in 1741, he obtained the office of colonel of the Auxerrois regiment, then was knighted in the order of Saint-Louis.

At 31, his career seems to have a bright future. In January 1756, Mr. d'Argenson, Minister of War, had him appointed commander of His Majesty's troops in North America. Five months later, she set sail for Canada; it reached Quebec on May 13, then Montreal on the 16.

The Seven Years' War, which broke out between France, Austria and Russia on one side and England and Prussia on the other, allowed him to shine. He died on September 14, 1759 during the Battle of Quebec, in front of the English troops commanded by James Wolfe, another young general who was also killed there. The two men then become heroic figures in French and British military memory.

Image Analysis

This print in return evoking the tragic death of the Marquis de Montcalm is taken from a drawing long attributed to Louis Watteau (1731-1798). In fact, the brown and gray wash on a drawing in black chalk and red chalk heightened with white chalk, kept at the National Gallery of Canada (Ottawa), was produced in 1782 and then exhibited at the Salon de Lille in 1783 by François Watteau (1758-1823), son of the previous one and grand-nephew of Jean-Antoine Watteau (1684-1721), famous painter of the beginning of the XVIIIe century.

The drawing was engraved by Juste Chevillet in 1783, then a year later by P.-A. Martini, the two prints establishing his fame. But this recognition, drawing and engraving owe it to another print, very popular throughout Europe, by William Woollett (1735-1785), made in 1776 from the famous painting by Benjamin West (1738-1820) , The Death of General Wolfe (1770, National Gallery of Canada). In this work, West breaks free from a number of conventions and, by rejecting the traditional antique costume in favor of the 18th century uniforme century, contemporizes historical painting to a degree hitherto rarely achieved.

Like West, François Watteau composes his work from a group of men gathered in front of the body of the dying military leader. If Woollett faithfully engraves West's original painting, both Chevillet and Martini respect the general composition of the drawing, while modifying many details.

Interpretation

Watteau's drawing and West's painting encourage French and British patriotic sentiment. In view of the success of West's work, it can reasonably be argued that Watteau wanted to establish "a French and patriotic counterweight to the English board" (Gaëtane Maës), while the American War of Independence was about to end. to finish.

Watteau's drawing develops a much stronger expressive feeling than West's painting, which is based more on meditation. The French soldiers testify in a very expressive and theatrical way their anxiety and their sorrow: an aide-de-camp comes to collect the last words of the young general, while in the distance, the battle is still fiercely engaged.

Probably for the sake of exoticism, the engraver adds a palm tree in front of the general's tent, in an unusual touch to say the least. Likewise, perhaps to evoke West's painting, Chevillet represents at the feet of Montcalm two Amerindians releasing shards of cannonballs. It has been argued that Watteau gathered details of the circumstances of Montcalm's death from former officers. If certain elements corroborate this, the artist however, in a bias of grandiloquence, makes his hero die on the battlefield, while his death takes place in a house in Quebec where he had been transported. But the historical truth matters little to Watteau, who seeks above all to demonstrate the courage and determination of Montcalm.

  • battles
  • Louis XV
  • colonial history
  • United Kingdom

Bibliography

COLLECTIVE, Company conflicts in French Canada during the Seven Years' War and their influence on operations, conference proceedings (Ottawa, 1978), Vincennes, Service historique de l’armée de terre, 1978.DZIEMBOWSKI Edmond, A New French Patriotism (1750-1770): France Confronted with English Power at the Time of the Seven Years' War, Oxford, Voltaire Foundation, coll. “Studies on Voltaire and the Eighteenth Century” (no 365), 1998. MAËS Gaëtane, The Watteaus of Lille: Louis Watteau (1731-1798), François Watteau (1758-1823), Paris, Arthéna, 1998.

To cite this article

Pascal DUPUY, "The Marquis de Montcalm, hero of the Seven Years' War"


Video: The Seven Years War - Montcalm versus Vaudreuil - Canada A Peoples History

Der Marquis de Montcalm, Held des Siebenjährigen Krieges

Der Marquis de Montcalm, Held des Siebenjährigen Krieges

Schließen

Titel: Tod des Marquis de Montcalm in der Schlacht von Quebec am 13. September 1759. [nach François Watteau]

Autor: ANCHOR Fair (1729 - 1802)

Erstellungsdatum : 1783

Datum angezeigt: 13. September 1759

Maße: Höhe 50,2 cm - Breite 63 cm

Technik und andere Indikationen: Radierung und Meißel

Lagerraum: Website des Nationalmuseums des Schlosses von Versailles (Versailles)

Kontakt Copyright: © RMN - Grand Palais (Schloss von Versailles) / Alle Rechte vorbehalten

Bildreferenz: 79-007041 / invgravures5382

Tod des Marquis de Montcalm in der Schlacht von Quebec am 13. September 1759. [nach François Watteau]

© RMN - Grand Palais (Schloss von Versailles) / Alle Rechte vorbehalten

Erscheinungsdatum: März 2016

Historischer Zusammenhang

Louis-Joseph de Montcalm de Saint-Véran wurde am 28. Februar 1712 im Château de Candiac in der Nähe von Nîmes geboren. Sehr jung wurde er in den Waffenberuf eingeweiht und dank seines Vaters Oberstleutnant des Hennegau-Infanterieregiments.

Nachdem der junge Mann während des polnischen Erbfolgekrieges eine Firma geführt hatte, nahm er am österreichischen Erbfolgekrieg teil, in dem er verwundet wurde. Kurz darauf, 1741, erhielt er das Amt des Obersten des Auxerrois-Regiments und wurde dann im Orden von Saint-Louis zum Ritter geschlagen.

Mit 31 Jahren scheint seine Karriere eine glänzende Zukunft zu haben. Im Januar 1756 ließ ihn der Kriegsminister d'Argenson zum Befehlshaber der Truppen Seiner Majestät in Nordamerika ernennen. Fünf Monate später segelte sie nach Kanada; es erreichte Quebec am 13. Mai, dann Montreal am 16.

Der Siebenjährige Krieg, der zwischen Frankreich, Österreich und Russland einerseits und England und Preußen andererseits ausbrach, ließ ihn glänzen. Er starb am 14. September 1759 während der Schlacht von Quebec vor den englischen Truppen unter dem Kommando von James Wolfe, einem weiteren jungen General, der ebenfalls dort getötet wurde. Die beiden Männer werden dann zu Heldenfiguren im französischen und britischen Militärgedächtnis.

Bildanalyse

Dieser Druck, der an den tragischen Tod des Marquis de Montcalm erinnert, stammt aus einer Zeichnung, die Louis Watteau (1731-1798) lange zugeschrieben wurde. Tatsächlich wurde die braune und graue Waschung auf einer Zeichnung aus schwarzer und roter Kreide, die mit weißer Kreide verstärkt wurde, in der National Gallery of Canada (Ottawa) aufbewahrt, 1782 hergestellt und 1783 von François Watteau im Salon de Lille ausgestellt (1758-1823), Sohn des Vorgängers und Großneffe von Jean-Antoine Watteau (1684-1721), berühmter Maler vom Anfang des 18. Jahrhundertse Jahrhundert.

Die Zeichnung wurde 1783 von Juste Chevillet und ein Jahr später von P.-A. Martini gestochen, wobei die beiden Drucke seinen Ruhm begründeten. Diese Anerkennung, Zeichnung und Gravur verdankt sie jedoch einem anderen europaweit sehr beliebten Druck von William Woollett (1735-1785), der 1776 nach dem berühmten Gemälde von Benjamin West (1738-1820) hergestellt wurde. , Der Tod von General Wolfe (1770, National Gallery of Canada). In dieser Arbeit löst sich West von einer Reihe von Konventionen und lehnt die traditionelle antike Tracht zugunsten der Uniform des 18. Jahrhunderts abe Jahrhundert, zeitgenössische historische Malerei in einem bisher selten erreichten Ausmaß.

Wie West komponiert François Watteau seine Arbeit aus einer Gruppe von Männern, die sich vor dem Körper des sterbenden Militärführers versammelt haben. Wenn Woollett das Originalgemälde von West originalgetreu graviert, respektieren sowohl Chevillet als auch Martini die allgemeine Zusammensetzung der Zeichnung und modifizieren viele Details.

Interpretation

Watteaus Zeichnung und Wests Gemälde fördern die patriotische Stimmung in Frankreich und Großbritannien. In Anbetracht des Erfolgs von Wests Arbeit kann vernünftigerweise argumentiert werden, dass Watteau "ein französisches und patriotisches Gegengewicht zum englischen Vorstand" (Gaëtane Maës) etablieren wollte, während der amerikanische Unabhängigkeitskrieg kurz vor dem Ende stand. beenden.

Watteaus Zeichnung entwickelt ein viel stärkeres Ausdrucksgefühl als Wests Malerei, die mehr auf Meditation basiert. Die französischen Soldaten bezeugen auf sehr ausdrucksstarke und theatralische Weise ihre Angst und ihr Leid: Ein Adjutant kommt, um die letzten Worte des jungen Generals zu sammeln, während in der Ferne der Kampf noch immer heftig ist.

Wahrscheinlich aus Gründen der Exotik fügt der Graveur vor dem Zelt des Generals eine Palme hinzu, gelinde gesagt eine ungewöhnliche Note. Ebenso, vielleicht um an Wests Gemälde zu erinnern, stellt Chevillet zu Füßen von Montcalm zwei Indianer dar, die Kanonenkugelscherben freisetzen. Es wurde argumentiert, dass Watteau von ehemaligen Offizieren Einzelheiten über die Umstände von Montcalms Tod gesammelt habe. Wenn bestimmte Elemente dies bestätigen, lässt der Künstler seinen Helden jedoch in einer Tendenz der Grandiloquenz auf dem Schlachtfeld sterben, während sein Tod in einem Haus in Quebec stattfindet, in das er transportiert wurde. Aber die historische Wahrheit ist für Watteau, der vor allem den Mut und die Entschlossenheit von Montcalm demonstrieren will, von geringer Bedeutung.

  • Kämpfe
  • Louis XV
  • Kolonialgeschichte
  • Großbritannien

Literaturverzeichnis

KOLLEKTIV, Unternehmenskonflikte in Französisch-Kanada während des Siebenjährigen Krieges und deren Einfluss auf den Betrieb, Konferenzbericht (Ottawa, 1978), Vincennes, Service historique de l'armée de terre, 1978. DZIEMBOWSKI Edmond, Ein neuer französischer Patriotismus (1750-1770): Frankreich wurde zur Zeit des Siebenjährigen Krieges mit englischer Macht konfrontiert, Oxford, Voltaire Foundation, Slg. "Studien über Voltaire und das achtzehnte Jahrhundert" (Nr. 365), 1998. MAËS Gaëtane, Die Watteaus von Lille: Louis Watteau (1731-1798), François Watteau (1758-1823), Paris, Arthéna, 1998.

Um diesen Artikel zu zitieren

Pascal DUPUY, "Der Marquis de Montcalm, Held des Siebenjährigen Krieges"


Video: Louis-Joseph de Montcalm 1712-1759