Marignan by Alexandre Evariste Fragonard: The historical genre revisited by troubadour art

Marignan by Alexandre Evariste Fragonard: The historical genre revisited by troubadour art


We are searching data for your request:

Forums and discussions:
Manuals and reference books:
Data from registers:
Wait the end of the search in all databases.
Upon completion, a link will appear to access the found materials.

Home ›Studies› Marignan by Alexandre Evariste Fragonard: The historical genre revisited by troubadour art

  • Battle of Marignan

    FRAGONARD Alexandre Evariste (1780 - 1850)

  • Francis Ier armed knight by Bayard on the evening of the battle of Marignan

    FRAGONARD Alexandre Evariste (1780 - 1850)

© RMN-Grand Palais (Palace of Versailles) / Christian Jean / Hervé Lewandowski

Francis Ier armed knight by Bayard on the evening of the battle of Marignan

© RMN-Grand Palais (Palace of Versailles) / Gérard Blot

Publication date: December 2019

Historical context

A Renaissance battle by a troubadour painter to serve the July monarchy

In order to reconcile the revolutionary and monarchical legacies to impose himself as a "citizen-king" and to make forget his father Philippe-Égalité, cousin regicide of Louis XVI, Louis-Philippe Ier had part of the Palace of Versailles redeveloped into a historical museum dedicated "to all the glories of France". Inaugurated in 1837, endowed with funds from royal or private collections and numerous copies and original works, it was all the more successful as it met the taste of the time for the Middle Ages and historical painting already in vogue. under the Restoration. Battle of Marignan, September 14, 1515 painted in 1836 has the honors of the new museum because it takes place in its flagship, the Gallery of Battles, adorned with 33 paintings each linked to a battle in French history between Tolbiac in 496 and Wagram in 1809. Made in 1837, Francis Ier armed knight by Bayard on the evening of the battle of Marignan, September 14, 1515 is a remodeled copy of a Louvre ceiling painted in 1819 and is much less highlighted in the museum.

Image Analysis

François I, king-knight among the French knights

Both works relate to the second day of the most famous episode of the Italian wars. In the 1time year of his reign, Francis Ier resumes the quest of his predecessors and sets out to conquer the Milanese, over which he claims rights through his great-grandmother Valentine Visconti. However, it was not the troops of the Duke of Milan Sforza that the French faced near Marignan but those of his formidable Swiss allies. The battle that the King of France wanted to avoid at all costs and in which he took part began on September 13, 1515 and first turned out badly for the French, saved by the night. The next day, the effectiveness of the artillery and a Venetian reinforcement made the Swiss give up.

In the first painting, the king on a white steed, wears armor covered with a cape, and an open armet plumed in white, his sword hanging from his mount. He restrains his troops with an imperious gesture. Opposite, Swiss soldiers - one holding a long spear, their emblematic weapon - also seem to be stopped and concentrated on a group on the ground at 1er plan. It is undoubtedly the count of Guise wounded but saved by the sacrifice of his squire Adam Nuremberg lying near him. The battle itself is relegated to the background, blurred by clouds of dust and powder, but where we can make out an assault by French cavalry that the Swiss pikemen try to push back, lances ahead. The choice to concentrate in this way on a dramatic anecdote is a code of troubadour art.

The other scene takes place the same evening, under a tent full of banners. It does not show, as the title indicates, the very moment of the dubbing but the one that precedes. Illuminated by the setting sun entering through the opening, dressed in a richly embroidered white cloak, the king stands in the center, on a platform in front of an altar and takes an oath, his right hand on a book, probably a Gospel, printed and illuminated. Sitting in the shadows in a posture emphasizing his age, Pierre du Terrail, Knight of Bayard, before whom the king will kneel as indicated by the presence of a cushion, still wears his armet - suggesting his participation in the battle -and holds his sword between his legs in his right hand. At 1er plan, two tilted pages present the royal sword. The king's dubbing is therefore imminent and will take place in the presence of a bishop standing near the altar. Two richly dressed women, a child and a small dog observe the scene, bringing the intimate and anecdotal character typical of the troubadour style.

We can note the same paradox on both tables: great thoroughness in the treatment of costumes and sets allied to the most obvious lack of realism concerning the composition: This suspended moment of the king facing the Swiss, all concerned about the fate of the Count of Guise is an invention of the painter as well as the religious ceremonial with which he adorns the dubbing scene. If historians today question the very reality of the latter, we can on the other hand consider that it was considered a historical fact in 1836.

Interpretation

A must-see king and battle but not yet popular

Marignan, the first and only major military victory of François Ier opens the doors of Milan to it Even if it will only have a short-term impact, today we are not surprised to find it selected among the glorious days in the history of France. Nonetheless, it is important to note that in the 1830s, she did not yet achieve the fame that school history would later give her. The reign of King Valois suffers from the effects of its devaluation by the Bourbons who preferred the figures of Saint-Louis and Henri IV to him and his image has not yet been positively restored under the July Monarchy. The knight Bayard is then more popular with the public than the king and this will remain the case throughout the XIXe century. But, the iconographic program of the Galerie des Batailles aims to offer the Nation a common and glorious memory transcending political conflicts, thanks to the commemoration of several victories of each dynasty then of the Republic and the Empire. However, that of the Valois knew relatively little and Marignan is undoubtedly the most important in which one of its kings participated. It therefore easily won its place in the selection but without being of interest as such, hence the place left for the picturesque or even the painter's fantasy.

  • Orleans (d ') Louis-Philipe (Philippe-Egalité)
  • Louis XVI
  • Louis Philippe
  • Versailles
  • Museum of the History of France
  • Middle Ages
  • history painting
  • Restoration
  • troubadour genre
  • battlefield
  • battles
  • Louvre
  • Francis I
  • Swiss
  • swiss army
  • artillery
  • Venice
  • horse
  • Bible
  • dubbing
  • bishops
  • Milan
  • Saint Louis
  • Henry IV
  • July Monarchy
  • Knight of Bayard (Pierre du Terrai)

Bibliography

Didier LE FUR, Marignan, 1515, Perrin tempus, Paris, 2015 (1st edition 2004)

Sylvie APRIL, 1815-1870, the unfinished Revolution, Belin, Paris, 2014 (1st edition 2010)

To cite this article

Laetitia REBIFFÉ-CARBONNE, "Marignan by Alexandre Evariste Fragonard: The historical genre revisited by troubadour art"


Video: Renaissance Composers Pt. 1 - The Burgundian School Tapissier to Besard

Marignan von Alexandre Evariste Fragonard: Das historische Genre der Troubadour-Kunst

Marignan von Alexandre Evariste Fragonard: Das historische Genre der Troubadour-Kunst

Startseite ›Studien› Marignan von Alexandre Evariste Fragonard: Das historische Genre der Troubadour-Kunst

  • Schlacht von Marignan

    FRAGONARD Alexandre Evariste (1780 - 1850)

  • Francis I.äh bewaffneter Ritter von Bayard am Abend der Schlacht von Marignan

    FRAGONARD Alexandre Evariste (1780 - 1850)

© RMN-Grand Palais (Schloss von Versailles) / Christian Jean / Hervé Lewandowski

Francis I.äh bewaffneter Ritter von Bayard am Abend der Schlacht von Marignan

© RMN-Grand Palais (Schloss von Versailles) / Gérard Blot

Erscheinungsdatum: Dezember 2019

Historischer Zusammenhang

Eine Renaissance-Schlacht eines Troubadour-Malers um die Juli-Monarchie

Um das revolutionäre und monarchische Erbe in Einklang zu bringen, sich als "Bürgerkönig" durchzusetzen und seinen Vater Philippe-Égalité, Cousin Königsmord von Ludwig XVI., Ludwig-Philippe I., vergessen zu lassenäh ließ einen Teil des Schlosses von Versailles zu einem historischen Museum umbauen, das "allen Herrlichkeiten Frankreichs" gewidmet ist. Es wurde 1837 eingeweiht und mit Geldern aus königlichen oder privaten Sammlungen sowie zahlreichen Kopien und Originalwerken ausgestattet. Umso erfolgreicher, als es den Geschmack der Zeit des Mittelalters und der bereits in Mode befindlichen historischen Malerei erfüllte. unter der Restaurierung. Schlacht von Marignan, 14. September 1515 Das 1836 gemalte Museum hat die Ehre des neuen Museums, weil es in seinem Flaggschiff, der Galerie der Schlachten, stattfindet. Es ist mit 33 Gemälden geschmückt, die jeweils mit einer Schlacht in der französischen Geschichte zwischen Tolbiac im Jahr 496 und Wagram im Jahr 1809 verbunden sind. Francis I.äh bewaffneter Ritter von Bayard am Abend der Schlacht von Marignan am 14. September 1515 ist die überarbeitete Kopie einer Decke im Louvre aus dem Jahr 1819 und wird im Museum viel weniger betont.

Bildanalyse

François I., Königsritter unter den französischen Rittern

Beide Werke beziehen sich auf den zweiten Tag der berühmtesten Episode der italienischen Kriege. In der 1Zeit Jahr seiner Regierungszeit, Franz I.äh nimmt die Suche seiner Vorgänger wieder auf und macht sich auf den Weg, die Mailänder zu erobern, über die er durch seine Urgroßmutter Valentine Visconti Rechte beansprucht. Es waren jedoch nicht die Truppen des Herzogs von Mailand Sforza, mit denen die Franzosen in der Nähe von Marignan konfrontiert waren, sondern die seiner beeindruckenden Schweizer Verbündeten. Die Schlacht, die der König von Frankreich um jeden Preis vermeiden wollte und an der er teilnahm, begann am 13. September 1515 und verlief für die Franzosen, die von der Nacht gerettet wurden, zunächst schlecht. Am nächsten Tag ließen die Schweizer die Wirksamkeit der Artillerie und eine venezianische Verstärkung aufgeben.

Im ersten Gemälde trägt der König auf einem weißen Ross eine mit einem Umhang bedeckte Rüstung und eine offene, weiß gefiederte Armbinde, deren Schwert an seinem Reittier hängt. Er hält seine Truppen mit einer gebieterischen Geste zurück. Gegenüber scheinen auch Schweizer Soldaten - einer mit einem langen Speer, ihrer emblematischen Waffe - angehalten zu sein und sich um 1 Uhr auf eine Gruppe am Boden zu konzentrierenäh planen. Es ist zweifellos der Graf von Guise, der verwundet, aber durch das Opfer seines in seiner Nähe liegenden Knappen Adam Nürnberg gerettet wurde. Die Schlacht selbst wird in den Hintergrund gedrängt, verschwommen von Staub- und Pulverwolken, aber wo wir einen Angriff der französischen Kavallerie erkennen können, den die Schweizer Pikeniere abwehren wollen, lanzt voraus. Die Entscheidung, sich auf diese Weise auf eine dramatische Anekdote zu konzentrieren, ist ein Code der Troubadour-Kunst.

Die andere Szene spielt am selben Abend unter einem Zelt voller Banner. Wie der Titel schon sagt, wird nicht der Moment der Synchronisation angezeigt, sondern der vorhergehende. Erleuchtet von der untergehenden Sonne, die durch die Öffnung eintritt, gekleidet in einen reich bestickten weißen Umhang, steht der König in der Mitte auf einer Plattform vor einem Altar und leistet einen Eid, seine rechte Hand auf einem Buch, wahrscheinlich einem Evangelium, gedruckt und beleuchtet. Pierre du Terrail, Ritter von Bayard, vor dem der König knien wird, wie durch das Vorhandensein eines Kissens angezeigt, sitzt immer noch im Armband, was auf seine Teilnahme an der Schlacht hindeutet -und hält sein Schwert zwischen den Beinen in der rechten Hand. Um 1äh Plan, zwei gekippte Seiten präsentieren das königliche Schwert. Die Synchronisation des Königs steht daher unmittelbar bevor und wird in Gegenwart eines Bischofs in der Nähe des Altars stattfinden. Zwei reich gekleidete Frauen, ein Kind und ein kleiner Hund beobachten die Szene und bringen den für den Troubadour-Stil typischen intimen und anekdotischen Charakter mit.

Wir können auf beiden Tischen das gleiche Paradox feststellen: große Gründlichkeit bei der Behandlung von Kostümen und Sets, verbunden mit dem offensichtlichsten Mangel an Realismus in Bezug auf die Zusammensetzung: Dieser schwebende Moment des Königs gegenüber den Schweizern, alle besorgt über das Schicksal des Grafen von Guise ist eine Erfindung des Malers sowie des religiösen Zeremoniells, mit dem er die Synchronisationsszene schmückt. Wenn Historiker heute die Realität des letzteren in Frage stellen, können wir andererseits davon ausgehen, dass es 1836 als historische Tatsache angesehen wurde.

Interpretation

Ein Muss König und Schlacht, aber noch nicht beliebt

Marignan, der erste und einzige große militärische Sieg von François I.äh öffnet die Türen von Mailand, auch wenn es nur kurzfristige Auswirkungen haben wird, sind wir heute nicht überrascht, dass es unter den glorreichen Tagen in der Geschichte Frankreichs ausgewählt wurde. Es ist jedoch wichtig anzumerken, dass sie in den 1830er Jahren noch nicht den Ruhm erlangte, den die Schulgeschichte ihr später verleihen würde. Die Regierungszeit von König Valois leidet unter den Auswirkungen seiner Abwertung durch die Bourbonen, die ihm die Figuren von Saint-Louis und Henri IV vorzogen, und sein Image wurde unter der Julimonarchie noch nicht positiv wiederhergestellt. Der Ritter Bayard ist dann in der Öffentlichkeit beliebter als der König, und dies wird während des gesamten 19. Jahrhunderts der Fall bleibene Jahrhundert. Das ikonografische Programm der Galerie des Batailles zielt jedoch darauf ab, der Nation ein gemeinsames und ruhmreiches Gedächtnis zu bieten, das über politische Konflikte hinausgeht, dank des Gedenkens an mehrere Siege jeder Dynastie der damaligen Republik und des Imperiums. Das der Valois kannte jedoch einige und Marignan ist zweifellos das wichtigste, an dem einer seiner Könige teilnahm. Es gewann daher leicht seinen Platz in der Auswahl, ohne jedoch als solches von Interesse zu sein, daher der Platz, der für die malerische oder sogar die Fantasie des Malers übrig blieb.

  • Orleans (d ') Louis-Philipe (Philippe-Egalité)
  • Ludwig XVI
  • Louis Philippe
  • Versailles
  • Museum der Geschichte Frankreichs
  • Mittelalter
  • Historienmalerei
  • Wiederherstellung
  • Troubadour-Genre
  • Schlachtfeld
  • Kämpfe
  • Louvre
  • Francis I.
  • schweizerisch
  • Schweizer Armee
  • Artillerie
  • Venedig
  • Pferd
  • Bibel
  • Überspielen
  • Bischöfe
  • Mailand
  • Saint Louis
  • Heinrich IV
  • Julimonarchie
  • Ritter von Bayard (Pierre du Terrai)

Literaturverzeichnis

Didier LE FUR, Marignan, 1515, Perrin tempus, Paris, 2015 (1. Auflage 2004)

Sylvie APRIL, 1815-1870 die unvollendete Revolution, Belin, Paris, 2014 (1. Ausgabe 2010)

Um diesen Artikel zu zitieren

Laetitia REBIFFÉ-CARBONNE, "Marignan von Alexandre Evariste Fragonard: Das historische Genre der Troubadour-Kunst"


Video: Paduana XI - Galliard XI