Mariette Pasha: a Frenchman to create the Antiquities Service of Egypt

Mariette Pasha: a Frenchman to create the Antiquities Service of Egypt

Home ›Studies› Mariette Pasha: a Frenchman to create the Antiquities Service of Egypt

To close

Title: Louqsor. General view [with Auguste Mariette posing].

Author : BANVILLE Aymard de (1837 - 1917)

Date shown:

Dimensions: Height 18.8 - Width 25.2

Technique and other indications: Taken fromPhotographic album of the mission carried out in Egypt by Viscount Emmanuel de RougéNo. 47.1863-1864 Albumen print from collodion glass negative.

Storage place: Institute Library website

Contact copyright: © Photo RMN-Grand Palais (Institut de France) - Gérard Blot website

Picture reference: 1863-1864. Plate 47 / 08-502341

Louqsor. General view [with Auguste Mariette posing].

© Photo RMN-Grand Palais (Institut de France) - Gérard Blot

Publication date: March 2016

Historical context

Mariette and the safeguard of Egyptian Antiquities

In 1857, the French Egyptologist Auguste Mariette (1821-1881), assistant curator at the Louvre museum, very concerned about the fate of the archaeological remains of Egypt, met Pasha Mohammed Saïd (1854-1863) through Ferdinand from Lesseps. After the Egyptian expedition of Bonaparte (1798-1801) and the deciphering of hieroglyphics by Champollion (1790-1832), France continues to play a leading role in the field of Egyptology.

From October 1863 to June 1864, Viscount Emmanuel de Rougé (1811-1872), honorary curator of Egyptian Antiquities at the Louvre museum and professor of Egyptian archeology at the Collège de France, undertook an official mission to Egypt to decipher hieroglyphic texts . He is accompanied by his son Jacques and a friend of the latter, Viscount Aymard de Banville (1837-1917), an amateur photographer.

Image Analysis

Mariette and the French expedition of Emmanuel de Rougé

Ismail Pasha, who succeeded Saïd Pasha, supports the expedition and lends them a steamboat with which they reach Thebes, in Upper Egypt.

Mariette then took care of various excavations, including those of the temple of Queen Hatshepsut at Deir el-Bahari, on the west bank of the Nile, near Thebes. It is there that Banville photographs him, posing in profile and wearing his tarbouche, with, as a background, the river and the temple of Louqsor, then silted up.

The photographs are gathered in an album and published in Paris in 1865. The one with Mariette is entitled "general view" of Louqsor. Rougé reads the caption as follows: “This view captures the entire layout of the temple; at the entrance, we see, on the left, the large pylon, above which appears the point of the obelisk. Behind the pylon, a mosque has been built. We then see what remains of the columns supporting the various rooms that preceded the sanctuary. This ends the temple to the south; it is still partly covered by houses. "

Interpretation

French supremacy in Egyptology

Rougé was one of the first to understand the value of photography in archeology. It allows the texts of the walls of monuments to be reproduced quickly and faithfully, thus avoiding tedious reading by hand. Seeking absolute precision, Banville used, for the first time in Egyptology, negatives on wet collodion glass plate, despite their cost (which he had to largely bear) and despite the heat and the sandy winds that complicated the use of ether. According to Rougé, Banville “knew how to render the figures with all the finesse of the modeling, the views of the monuments with halftones and the truth of the perspective, and the inscriptions with a clarity of which we had not yet seen an example. in photographs brought back from Egypt ”.

In 1863, at the time of the shooting, Mariette saw his curatorial efforts culminate in the opening to the public of the Boulaq museum, the first establishment of this type in the Middle East for which he published a catalog in French and in Arabic which lists 22,000 objects.

Mariette had been in Egypt since 1849. He had come to this country when the Louvre museum commissioned him to acquire manuscripts in Christian monasteries, but he used the money to undertake excavations. He then discovered the Serapeum of Memphis (necropolis dedicated to the god Apis), rich in archaeological material (including the Crouching scribe du Louvre) and historical information. He then undertook other excavations, notably in the area of ​​the Sphinx in Giza.

In 1857, faced with the richness of the remains in Egypt and the difficulties posed by their conservation, Mariette appealed to Saïd Pasha: "It behooves us to carefully watch over the monuments. In five hundred years, will Egypt still be able to show the scholars who visit it these as we find them today? "

Appointed the following year as head of the new department in charge of antiquities, Mariette undertook the first scientific excavations of most of the country's major archaeological sites. This pioneer of militant archeology died in Cairo in 1881 and is today buried in front of the city's Egyptian Museum.

  • archeology
  • Egypt
  • Mariette (Augustus)
  • France secondary school

Bibliography

A century of French excavations in Egypt: 1880-1980, on the occasion of the centenary of the Cairo School IFAO, catalog of the exhibition of the Musée d'Art et d'Essai - Palais de Tokyo, Paris, May 21-October 15, 1981, Cairo-Paris, I.F.A.O.-Louvre Museum, 1981. Élisabeth DAVID, Mariette Pasha. 1821-1881, Paris, Pygmalion, 1994.

To cite this article

Guillaume NICOUD, "Mariette Pasha: a Frenchman to create the Antiquities Service of Egypt"


Video: The Reign Of Muhammad Alis Pasha In Ottoman Egypt

Mariette Pasha: eine Französin, die den Antiquities Service of Egypt ins Leben gerufen hat

Mariette Pasha: eine Französin, die den Antiquities Service of Egypt ins Leben gerufen hat

Startseite ›Studien› Mariette Pascha: eine Französin, die den Antiquitäten-Dienst Ägyptens ins Leben gerufen hat

Schließen

Titel: Louqsor. Gesamtansicht [mit Auguste Mariette posierend].

Autor: BANVILLE Aymard de (1837 - 1917)

Datum angezeigt:

Maße: Höhe 18,8 - Breite 25,2

Technik und andere Indikationen: Genommen vonFotoalbum der Mission in Ägypten von Viscount Emmanuel de Rougé47.1863-1864 Albuminabzug aus Kollodiumglasnegativ.

Speicherort: Website der Institutsbibliothek

Kontakt Copyright: © Foto RMN-Grand Palais (Institut de France) - Website von Gérard Blot

Bildreferenz: 1863-1864. Platte 47 / 08-502341

Louqsor. Gesamtansicht [mit Auguste Mariette posierend].

© Foto RMN-Grand Palais (Institut de France) - Gérard Blot

Erscheinungsdatum: März 2016

Historischer Zusammenhang

Mariette und der Schutz der ägyptischen Altertümer

1857 traf der französische Ägyptologe Auguste Mariette (1821-1881), stellvertretender Kurator im Louvre-Museum, sehr besorgt über das Schicksal der archäologischen Überreste Ägyptens, Pascha Mohammed Saïd (1854-1863) über Ferdinand von Lesseps. Nach der ägyptischen Expedition von Bonaparte (1798-1801) und der Entschlüsselung von Hieroglyphen durch Champollion (1790-1832) spielt Frankreich weiterhin eine führende Rolle auf dem Gebiet der Ägyptologie.

Von Oktober 1863 bis Juni 1864 unternahm Viscount Emmanuel de Rougé (1811-1872), Honorarkurator für ägyptische Altertümer am Louvre und Professor für ägyptische Archäologie am Collège de France, eine offizielle Mission nach Ägypten, um hieroglyphische Texte zu entziffern . Er wird von seinem Sohn Jacques und einem Freund des letzteren, Viscount Aymard de Banville (1837-1917), einem Amateurfotografen, begleitet.

Bildanalyse

Mariette und die französische Expedition von Emmanuel de Rougé

Ismail Pascha, der Nachfolger von Saïd Pascha, unterstützt die Expedition und leiht ihnen ein Dampfschiff, mit dem sie Theben in Oberägypten erreichen.

Mariette kümmerte sich dann um verschiedene Ausgrabungen, darunter die des Tempels der Königin Hatschepsut in Deir el-Bahari am Westufer des Nils in der Nähe von Theben. Dort fotografiert ihn Banville, posiert im Profil und trägt seine Tarbouche mit dem Fluss und dem Tempel von Louqsor als Hintergrund, die dann verschlammt sind.

Die Fotografien werden in einem Album gesammelt und 1865 in Paris veröffentlicht. Die mit Mariette trägt den Titel "Gesamtansicht" von Louqsor. Rougé liest die Beschriftung wie folgt: „Diese Ansicht erfasst den gesamten Grundriss des Tempels. Am Eingang sehen wir links den großen Pylon, über dem die Spitze des Obelisken erscheint. Hinter dem Pylon wurde eine Moschee gebaut. Wir sehen dann, was von den Säulen übrig bleibt, die die verschiedenen Räume vor dem Heiligtum tragen. Dies beendet den Tempel im Süden; es ist noch teilweise von Häusern bedeckt. ""

Interpretation

Französische Vormachtstellung in der Ägyptologie

Rougé war einer der ersten, der den Wert der Fotografie in der Archäologie verstand. Dadurch können die Texte der Wände von Denkmälern schnell und originalgetreu reproduziert werden, wodurch mühsames Lesen von Hand vermieden wird. Banville war auf der Suche nach absoluter Präzision und verwendete zum ersten Mal in der Ägyptologie Negative auf nassen Kollodiumglasplatten, trotz ihrer Kosten (die er größtenteils tragen musste) und trotz der Hitze und der Sandwinde, die dies verursachte erschwerte die Verwendung von Äther. Laut Rougé wusste Banville, "wie man die Figuren mit der ganzen Finesse der Modellierung, den Ansichten der Denkmäler mit Halbtönen und der Wahrheit der Perspektive und den Inschriften, deren Klarheit wir noch kein Beispiel gesehen hatten, wiedergibt." auf Fotografien aus Ägypten “.

Im Jahr 1863, zum Zeitpunkt der Dreharbeiten, gipfelte Mariette in der Öffnung des Boulaq-Museums für die Öffentlichkeit, der ersten Einrichtung dieser Art im Nahen Osten, für die er einen Katalog in französischer und englischer Sprache veröffentlichte Arabisch mit 22.000 Objekten.

Mariette war seit 1849 in Ägypten. Er war in dieses Land gekommen, als das Louvre ihn beauftragte, Manuskripte in christlichen Klöstern zu erwerben, aber er verwendete das Geld für Ausgrabungen. Anschließend entdeckte er das Serapeum von Memphis (Nekropole, die dem Gott Apis gewidmet ist), das reich an archäologischem Material ist (einschließlich des Hockender Schreiber du Louvre) und historische Informationen. Anschließend unternahm er weitere Ausgrabungen, insbesondere im Bereich der Sphinx in Gizeh.

Angesichts des Reichtums der Überreste in Ägypten und der Schwierigkeiten, die sich aus ihrer Erhaltung ergeben, appellierte Mariette 1857 an Saïd Pasha: "Es ist unsere Pflicht, die Denkmäler sorgfältig zu überwachen. Wird Ägypten in fünfhundert Jahren den Gelehrten, die es besuchen, noch zeigen können, wie wir sie heute finden? ""

Mariette wurde im folgenden Jahr zur Leiterin der neuen Abteilung für Antiquitäten ernannt und führte die ersten wissenschaftlichen Ausgrabungen der meisten wichtigen archäologischen Stätten des Landes durch. Dieser Pionier der militanten Archäologie starb 1881 in Kairo und ist heute vor dem Ägyptischen Museum der Stadt begraben.

  • Archäologie
  • Ägypten
  • Mariette (Augustus)
  • Frankreich Sekundarschule

Literaturverzeichnis

Ein Jahrhundert französischer Ausgrabungen in Ägypten: 1880-1980 anlässlich des 100. Geburtstages der Kairoer Schule IFAO, Katalog der Ausstellung des Musée d'Art et d'Essai - Palais de Tokyo, Paris, 21. Mai - 15. Oktober 1981, Kairo-Paris, I.F.A.O.-Musée du Louvre, 1981. Élisabeth DAVID, Mariette Pascha. 1821-1881, Paris, Pygmalion, 1994.

Um diesen Artikel zu zitieren

Guillaume NICOUD, "Mariette Pasha: eine Französin, die den Antiquitäten-Dienst Ägyptens ins Leben gerufen hat"


Video: Ancient Artifacts In Egypt That Egyptologists Do Not Understand