Marriage of Louis of France, Duke of Burgundy and Marie-Adélaïde of Savoy

Marriage of Louis of France, Duke of Burgundy and Marie-Adélaïde of Savoy


We are searching data for your request:

Forums and discussions:
Manuals and reference books:
Data from registers:
Wait the end of the search in all databases.
Upon completion, a link will appear to access the found materials.

Home ›Studies› Marriage of Louis of France, Duke of Burgundy and Marie-Adélaïde of Savoy

To close

Title: Marriage of Louis de France, Duke of Burgundy and Marie-Adélaïde de Savoie, December 7, 1697

Author : GOD Antoine (1662 - 1727)

Creation date :

Date shown: December 7, 1697

Dimensions: Height 343 cm - Width 578 cm

Technique and other indications: oil on canvas

Storage location: National Museum of the Palace of Versailles (Versailles) website

Contact copyright: Photo (C) RMN-Grand Palais (Palace of Versailles) / Daniel Arnaudet / Gérard Blot Link to image

Picture reference: 81-000193 / MV2095

Marriage of Louis de France, Duke of Burgundy and Marie-Adélaïde de Savoie, December 7, 1697

© Photo (C) RMN-Grand Palais (Palace of Versailles) / Daniel Arnaudet / Gérard Blot

Publication date: February 2020

University of Evry-Val d'Essonne

Historical context

The wedding of the "Little Dauphin"

Born in Versailles on August 6, 1682, just a few weeks after the establishment of the Court, Louis of France is the grandson of Louis XIV. This canvas represents his marriage to the young Princess of Savoy on December 7, 1697. The subject is officially commissioned by Louis XIV, for a series of tapestries made by the Royal Manufacture of Gobelins and entitled The King's Story.

The marriage of the "Little Dauphin" appears on a first painting produced by Antoine Dieu from 1710-1711. A pupil of Charles Le Brun and first prize in Rome in 1686, Antoine Dieu moved away from his favorite subjects, which consisted of biblical scenes. In the same series, never woven, he made a Birth of Louis of France, Duke of Burgundy, performed in a format similar to the first. The two canvases are part of the Louis XV collection and have been kept from the beginning in Versailles.

Image Analysis

Royal wedding

The nuptial blessing takes place in the chapel of the Palace of Versailles, inaugurated in 1682 on the site of the current salon of Hercules which was built after the consecration of the new palatial chapel in 1710. The canvas represents the three arches forming the nave, sanctuary and tabernacle. The religious office is provided by the Bishop of Orleans Cambout de Coislin (1636-1706), the king's first chaplain, newly created cardinal.

Shortly before noon, the future spouses go to the chapel. The marriage certificate contained in the register of Notre-Dame parish first evokes an engagement, immediately followed by kneeling prayers suggested by the cushion placed on the floor. The exchange of consents takes place under the gaze of the sovereign and about twenty guests who turn their gaze towards the spectator or towards the hands of the spouses. The royal family is gathered behind the king: we recognize: "Monseigneur" the Grand Dauphin, son of Louis XIV, "Monsieur" Philippe of France, Duke of Orleans (1640-1701), "Madame" Henriette of England (1644 -1670), brother and sister-in-law of Louis XIV, the Duke of Chartres, Philippe d'Orléans (1674-1723) and the Prince of Condé Henri-Jules de Condé (1643-1709). The Duke of Anjou, Philippe de France (1683-1746) (future Philippe V, King of Spain) and the Duke of Berry, Charles of France (1686-1714), brothers of the Duke of Burgundy, stand behind their eldest .

Louis XIV left his prie-Dieu to advance to the foot of the tribune. Over seventy years old, he is quite overweight. He is in the front row, because the marriage of princes and princesses of blood cannot be done without his agreement. The bride is holding a fan in her left hand, with a fine lace dress and a long blue velvet coat accented with golden lilies. The Marquis de Dangeau and the Comte de Tessé are responsible for supporting her dress hem. All the protagonists are dressed in colorful and sumptuous costumes, as the Duke of Saint-Simon who attended the event confirms: “It was whoever would surpass themselves in wealth and invention; gold and silver barely sufficed; the shops of the merchants were emptied in a very few days: in a word, the most unbridled luxury dominated the court and the city, for the festival had a large crowd of spectators. "

Interpretation

The alliance of France and Savoy

Through this princely wedding, the painter celebrates the reconciliation between the kingdom of France and the Duchy of Savoy. This marriage has its origins in the War of the League of Augsburg (1688-1697). Faced with repeated attacks by Louis XIV, its European neighbors formed a defensive alliance in 1686. Threatened by France, Savoy joined it in 1690, with the opening of a new front on the side of the Alps. The following year, Duke Victor-Amédée II of Savoy invaded Dauphiné. In 1695, he now dreaded the death of Emperor Leopold Ier on northern Italy, does an about-face and begins negotiations with France. These lead to a secret treaty signed in Turin, formalized on August 29, 1696. Among the provisions of this peace, there is the project of union between Marie-Adélaïde of Savoy and the Duke of Burgundy, symbol of the link found between the two houses.

Eldest daughter of Victor-Amédée II (1666-1732) and Anne-Marie d'Orléans (1669-1728), the niece of Louis XIV, the young Savoyard princess was born on December 6, 1685, three years after her future husband . She arrived in Versailles on November 8, 1696 and the Duchess of Lude became her lady of honor. It is not until the legal age of 12 for the marriage to take place, with the addition of a consanguinity exemption and an Advent dispensation. In his diary, the Marquis de Dangeau describes the rest of the festivities: “After mass there was a great feast of the royal household in the room of the Duchess of Burgundy; the table was made of a horseshoe […] and at eight o'clock we returned to the living room at the end of the gallery, towards the apartment of the Duchess of Burgundy, from where we saw a magnificent fire. artifice which was at the end of the Swiss room. "Balls and an opera follow one another until Christmas. This public event is represented in several engravings, notably in the ’Royal Almanac. Dauphine de France in 1711, the princess died of a measles epidemic on February 12, 1712, six days before her husband. They leave two sons to France, including the future Louis XV.

  • Versailles
  • wedding
  • Louis XIV
  • Saint-Simon (Louis de Rouvroy)
  • Marie-Adélaïde of Savoy
  • Louis de France (Duke of Burgundy)
  • Dolphin
  • Savoy
  • Augsburg League
  • Gobelins factory
  • Dangeau (marquis of)

Bibliography

Lucien BÉLY, International relations in Europe, 17th-18th centuries, Paris, PUF, 2001.

Lucien BÉLY, Savoy between Bourbons and Habsbourg, Savoy in Europe, Proceedings of the XXXVIIIth congress of learned societies of Savoy, Moûtiers-Tarentaine, 2002, p. 225-236.

Lucien BÉLY, The Art of Peace in Europe: Birth of Modern Diplomacy 16th-18th century, Paris, PUF, 2015.

Roger DEVOS, Bernard GROSPERRIN, History of Savoy: Savoy from the Reformation to the French Revolutione, Rennes, West France, 1985.

Alexandre MARAL, The astonishing destiny of a temporary building: the royal chapel of Versailles between 1682 and 1710, Bulletin of the Research Center of the Palace of Versailles, 2011 [Online].

To cite this article

Stéphane BLOND, "Marriage of Louis de France, Duke of Burgundy and Marie-Adélaïde de Savoie"

Glossary

  • Dauphin: From 1349, the eldest son of the King of France, heir to the throne of France, bears the title of Dauphin. The wife of the Dauphin is called the Dauphine. By extension, we call "dolphin", the heir or successor of a person
  • League of Augsburg: War and conflict which opposes France to a European coalition from 1688 to 1697. For Louis XIV, it is a question of continuing a policy of annexations of territory
  • consanguinity: Relationship of kinship between descendants of a common close ancestor
  • Cardboard: Large drawing that serves as a model for the production of large-scale works: paintings, stained glass windows and tapestries.

  • Video: British Monarchy Family Tree. Alfred the Great to Queen Elizabeth II

Heirat von Ludwig von Frankreich, Herzog von Burgund und Marie-Adélaïde von Savoyen

Heirat von Ludwig von Frankreich, Herzog von Burgund und Marie-Adélaïde von Savoyen

Startseite ›Studien› Heirat von Ludwig von Frankreich, Herzog von Burgund und Marie-Adélaïde von Savoyen

Schließen

Titel: Heirat von Louis de France, Herzog von Burgund und Marie-Adélaïde de Savoie, 7. Dezember 1697

Autor: GOTT Antoine (1662 - 1727)

Erstellungsdatum :

Datum angezeigt: 7. Dezember 1697

Maße: Höhe 343 cm - Breite 578 cm

Technik und andere Indikationen: Öl auf Leinwand

Speicherort: Website des Nationalmuseums des Schlosses von Versailles (Versailles)

Kontakt Copyright: Foto (C) RMN-Grand Palais (Schloss von Versailles) / Daniel Arnaudet / Gérard Blot Link zum Bild

Bildreferenz: 81-000193 / MV2095

Heirat von Louis de France, Herzog von Burgund und Marie-Adélaïde de Savoie, 7. Dezember 1697

© Foto (C) RMN-Grand Palais (Schloss von Versailles) / Daniel Arnaudet / Gérard Blot

Erscheinungsdatum: Februar 2020

Universität von Evry-Val d'Essonne

Historischer Zusammenhang

Die Hochzeit des "Little Dauphin"

Louis von Frankreich wurde am 6. August 1682, nur wenige Wochen nach der Errichtung des Hofes, in Versailles geboren und ist der Enkel Ludwigs XIV. Diese Leinwand stellt seine Ehe mit der jungen Prinzessin von Savoyen am 7. Dezember 1697 dar. Das Thema wird offiziell von Ludwig XIV. Für eine Reihe von Wandteppichen in Auftrag gegeben, die von der Royal Manufacture of Gobelins hergestellt wurden und den Titel tragen Die Geschichte des Königs.

Die Hochzeit des "kleinen Dauphin" erscheint auf einem ersten Gemälde von Antoine Dieu aus den Jahren 1710-1711. Antoine Dieu, Schüler von Charles Le Brun und 1686 erster Preis in Rom, entfernte sich von seinen Lieblingsfächern, die aus biblischen Szenen bestehen. In der gleichen Serie, nie gewebt, machte er eine Geburt von Louis de France, Herzog von Burgund, durchgeführt in einem Format ähnlich dem ersten. Die beiden Leinwände sind Teil der Louis XV-Sammlung und wurden von Anfang an in Versailles aufbewahrt.

Bildanalyse

Königliche Hochzeit

Der Hochzeitssegen findet in der Kapelle des Schlosses von Versailles statt, die 1682 an der Stelle des heutigen Herkules-Salons eingeweiht wurde, der nach der Einweihung der neuen Palastkapelle im Jahre 1710 erbaut wurde. Die Leinwand repräsentiert die drei Bögen, die das Schloss bilden Kirchenschiff, Heiligtum und Tabernakel. Das religiöse Amt übernimmt der Bischof von Orleans, Cambout de Coislin (1636-1706), der erste neu geschaffene Kardinal des Königs.

Kurz vor Mittag gehen die zukünftigen Ehepartner in die Kapelle. Die im Register der Pfarrei Notre-Dame enthaltene Heiratsurkunde ruft zunächst eine Verlobung hervor, unmittelbar gefolgt von knienden Gebeten, die von dem auf dem Boden liegenden Kissen vorgeschlagen werden. Der Zustimmungsaustausch findet unter dem wachsamen Auge des Souveräns und etwa zwanzig Gästen statt, die ihren Blick auf den Zuschauer oder auf die Hände der Ehegatten richten. Die königliche Familie ist hinter dem König zusammengefasst: Wir erkennen: "Monseigneur", der Groß Dauphin, Sohn Ludwigs XIV., "Monsieur" Philippe de France, Herzog von Orleans (1640-1701), "Madame" Henriette von England (1644) -1670), Bruder und Schwägerin von Ludwig XIV., Herzog von Chartres, Philippe d'Orléans (1674-1723) und Prinz von Condé Henri-Jules de Condé (1643-1709). Der Herzog von Anjou, Philippe de France (1683-1746) (zukünftiger Philippe V, König von Spanien) und der Herzog von Berry, Karl von Frankreich (1686-1714), Brüder des Herzogs von Burgund, stehen hinter ihren Ältesten .

Ludwig XIV. Verließ sein Prie-Dieu, um zum Fuß der Tribüne vorzudringen. Über siebzig Jahre alt ist er ziemlich übergewichtig. Er ist in der ersten Reihe, weil die Hochzeit von Prinzen und Prinzessinnen des Blutes nicht ohne seine Zustimmung erfolgen kann. Die Braut hält einen Fächer in der linken Hand, mit einem feinen Spitzenkleid und einem langen blauen Samtmantel, der mit goldenen Lilien verziert ist. Der Marquis de Dangeau und der Comte de Tessé sind für die Unterstützung ihres Kleidersaums verantwortlich. Alle Protagonisten sind in farbenfrohen und prächtigen Kostümen gekleidet, wie der Herzog von Saint-Simon, der an der Veranstaltung teilnahm, bestätigt: „Es war derjenige, der sich an Reichtum und Erfindungen übertreffen würde; Gold und Silber reichten kaum aus; Die Geschäfte der Kaufleute waren in wenigen Tagen geleert: Mit einem Wort, der ungezügelte Luxus beherrschte den Hof und die Stadt, denn das Festival hatte eine große Menge von Zuschauern. ""

Interpretation

Das Bündnis von Frankreich und Savoyen

Durch diese fürstliche Hochzeit feiert der Maler die Versöhnung zwischen dem Königreich Frankreich und dem Herzogtum Savoyen. Diese Ehe hat ihren Ursprung im Augsburger Bundeskrieg (1688-1697). Angesichts wiederholter Angriffe Ludwigs XIV. Bilden seine europäischen Nachbarn 1686 ein Verteidigungsbündnis. Von Frankreich bedroht, trat Savoy 1690 mit der Eröffnung einer neuen Front an der Seite der Alpen bei. Im folgenden Jahr fiel Herzog Victor-Amédée II. Von Savoyen in Dauphiné ein. 1695 fürchtete er nun den Tod von Kaiser Leopold I.äh auf Norditalien, macht eine Kehrtwende und beginnt Verhandlungen mit Frankreich. Diese führen zu einem in Turin unterzeichneten Geheimvertrag, der am 29. August 1696 formalisiert wurde. Zu den Bestimmungen dieses Friedens gehört das Projekt der Vereinigung zwischen Marie-Adélaïde von Savoyen und dem Herzog von Burgund, Symbol für die Verbindung zwischen die zwei Häuser.

Die junge Savoyer-Prinzessin wurde am 6. Dezember 1685, drei Jahre nach ihrem zukünftigen Ehemann, als älteste Tochter von Victor-Amédée II (1666-1732) und Anne-Marie d'Orléans (1669-1728), der Nichte Ludwigs XIV., Geboren . Sie kam am 8. November 1696 in Versailles an und die Herzogin von Lude wurde ihre Ehrendame. Erst im gesetzlichen Alter von 12 Jahren findet die Eheschließung statt, zusätzlich mit einer Befreiung von der Blutsverwandtschaft und einer Adventsbefreiung. In seinem Tagebuch erinnert der Marquis de Dangeau an die Fortsetzung der Feierlichkeiten: „Nach der Messe gab es im Raum der Herzogin von Burgund ein großes Fest des königlichen Haushalts; Der Tisch bestand aus einem Hufeisen […] und um acht Uhr kehrten wir ins Wohnzimmer am Ende der Galerie zurück, in Richtung der Wohnung der Herzogin von Burgund, von wo aus wir ein prächtiges Feuer sahen. Kunstgriff, der am Ende des Schweizer Raumes war. "Bälle und eine Oper folgen bis Weihnachten aufeinander. Diese öffentliche Veranstaltung ist in mehreren Stichen vertreten, insbesondere in derKöniglicher Almanach. Dauphine de France starb 1711 am 12. Februar 1712, sechs Tage vor ihrem Ehemann, an einer Masernepidemie. Sie überlassen zwei Söhne Frankreich, darunter den zukünftigen Ludwig XV.

  • Versailles
  • Hochzeit
  • Ludwig XIV
  • Saint-Simon (Louis de Rouvroy)
  • Marie-Adélaïde von Savoyen
  • Louis de France (Herzog von Burgund)
  • Delfin
  • Wirsing
  • Augsburger Liga
  • Gobelins Fabrik
  • Dangeau (Marquis von)

Literaturverzeichnis

Lucien BÉLY, Internationale Beziehungen in Europa17.-18. Jahrhundert, Paris, PUF, 2001.

Lucien BÉLY, Wirsing zwischen Bourbonen und Habsburg, Wirsing in Europa, Proceedings of the XXXVIII. Kongress der gelehrten Gesellschaften von Savoyen, Moûtiers-Tarentaine, 2002, p. 225-236.

Lucien BÉLY, Die Kunst des Friedens in Europa: Geburt der modernen Diplomatie 16.-18. Jahrhundert, Paris, PUF, 2015.

Roger DEVOS, Bernard GROSPERRIN, Geschichte von Savoyen: Savoyen von der Reformation bis zur Französischen Revolutione, Rennes, Westfrankreich, 1985.

Alexandre MARAL, Das erstaunliche Schicksal eines provisorischen Gebäudes: die königliche Kapelle von Versailles zwischen 1682 und 1710, Bulletin des Forschungszentrums des Schlosses von Versailles, 2011 [Online].

Um diesen Artikel zu zitieren

Stéphane BLOND, "Hochzeit von Louis de France, Herzog von Burgund und Marie-Adélaïde de Savoie"

Glossar

  • Dauphin: Ab 1349 trägt der älteste Sohn des Königs von Frankreich, Thronfolger Frankreichs, den Titel Dauphin. Die Frau des Dauphin heißt Dauphine. Im weiteren Sinne nennen wir "Delphin", den Erben oder Nachfolger einer Person
  • Augsburger Bund: Krieg und Konflikt, der Frankreich von 1688 bis 1697 gegen eine europäische Koalition stellt. Für Ludwig XIV. Geht es darum, die Politik der Annexion des Territoriums fortzusetzen
  • Blutsverwandtschaft: Beziehung zwischen Nachkommen eines gemeinsamen nahen Vorfahren
  • Karton: Große Zeichnung, die als Modell für die Herstellung großformatiger Werke dient: Gemälde, Buntglasfenster und Wandteppiche.

  • Video: Ludwig XIV. - König der Künste