Marriage of Leopold Ier, King of the Belgians, and Louise of Orleans

Marriage of Leopold I<sup>er</sup>, King of the Belgians, and Louise of Orleans

Home ›Studies› Marriage of Léopold Ier, King of the Belgians, and Louise d'Orléans

To close

Title: Marriage of Leopold Ier, King of the Belgians, and Louise of Orleans, August 9, 1832.

Author : COURT Joseph-Désiré (1797 - 1865)

Date shown: August 9, 1832

Dimensions: Height 90 - Width 116

Technique and other indications: Oil on canvas

Storage place: National Museum of the Château de Compiègne website

Contact copyright: © Photo RMN-Grand Palais - D. Arnaudet web site

Picture reference: 91DE583 / MV 5122

Marriage of Leopold Ier, King of the Belgians, and Louise of Orleans, August 9, 1832.

© Photo RMN-Grand Palais - D. Arnaudet

Publication date: May 2005

Historical context

Personal friend of Louis-Philippe, Léopold de Saxe-Cobourg, however, did not obtain the hand of Louise d'Orléans, daughter of the king, when he made his first marriage proposal in 1830. The marriage between Léopold and the king's daughter des Français thus enshrined the friendship between the two States.

Image Analysis

The scene takes place in the chapel of the Château de Compiègne. The marriage between the King of the Belgians Léopold I, the Founder, and Princess Louise-Marie of Orléans, eldest daughter of Louis-Philippe, is celebrated by the Archbishop of Cambrai, Louis Belmas. We recognize the main members of the two royal families, including King Louis-Philippe and Queen Marie-Amélie. Due to the smallness of the place, the court took its place on the rostrum of the chapel, set back from the monarchs. The ceremonial decoration, traditional in the pomp of the monarchy, appears in the gold-embroidered hangings that adorn the gallery and in the high altar candlesticks, offering a perspective that is not unlike the representation of Napoleon's wedding. 1st with Marie-Louise by Rouget. However, it is in a more intimate, more family atmosphere despite the formal constraints, that Court insists, contrasting with remarkable finesse the seriousness of the princes to the mimicry of the kneeling princesses in the second row.

Interpretation

As this marriage of the King of the Belgians to the daughter of the King of the French was looked upon with kindness by England and offered guarantees of alliance with France, it seems easily conceivable that Louis-Philippe wanted to immortalize this ceremony in which his diplomatic skill exploded. Not only was the house of Orleans showing here its solidity and its seniority with regard to the very young Belgian monarchy, but France was thus regaining strength on the international level. Commissioned in 1837 for the historical galleries of Versailles, this scene from Court heralded, in the museographic journey of the citizen-king, the pacification of international relations after the war episodes initiated by the Revolution and perpetuated by the Empire. It seems natural that Louis-Philippe wanted Court to be chosen for this commission: his art as a worldly portrait painter, often representing generals, people of the world, ecclesiastical dignitaries, suited this task particularly well.

  • Belgium
  • Orleans (of)
  • Louis Philippe
  • wedding
  • July Monarchy
  • alliance policy

Bibliography

Guy ANTONETTILouis PhilippeParis, Fayard, 1994.Anne MARTIN-FUGIERThe Daily Life of Louis-Philippe and his Family 1830-1848Paris, Hachette, 1992.Philippe VIGIERThe July MonarchyParis, PUF coll. "What do I know? », 1982.

To cite this article

Robert FOHR and Pascal TORRÈS, “Marriage of Léopold Ier, King of the Belgians, and Louise of Orléans ”


Video: Archduchess Marie Henriette of Austria, Queen of the Belgians

Heirat von Leopold I.äh, König der Belgier und Louise d'Orléans

Heirat von Leopold I.<sup>äh</sup>, König der Belgier und Louise d'Orléans

Startseite ›Studien› Heirat von Léopold I.äh, König der Belgier und Louise d'Orléans

Schließen

Titel: Heirat von Leopold I.äh, König der Belgier und Louise von Orleans, 9. August 1832.

Autor: GERICHT Joseph-Désiré (1797 - 1865)

Datum angezeigt: 9. August 1832

Maße: Höhe 90 - Breite 116

Technik und andere Indikationen: Öl auf Leinwand

Lagerraum: Website des Nationalmuseums des Château de Compiègne

Kontakt Copyright: © Foto RMN-Grand Palais - Website von D. Arnaudet

Bildreferenz: 91DE583 / MV 5122

Heirat von Leopold I.äh, König der Belgier und Louise von Orleans, 9. August 1832.

© Foto RMN-Grand Palais - D. Arnaudet

Erscheinungsdatum: Mai 2005

Historischer Zusammenhang

Der persönliche Freund von Louis-Philippe, Léopold de Saxe-Cobourg, erhielt jedoch nicht die Hand von Louise d'Orléans, der Tochter des Königs, als er 1830 seinen ersten Heiratsantrag machte. Die Ehe zwischen Léopold und der Tochter des Königs des Français verankerte damit die Freundschaft zwischen den beiden Staaten.

Bildanalyse

Die Szene spielt in der Kapelle des Château de Compiègne. Die Hochzeit zwischen dem belgischen König Léopold I. und der Prinzessin Louise-Marie von Orléans, der ältesten Tochter von Louis-Philippe, wird vom Erzbischof von Cambrai, Louis Belmas, gefeiert. Wir erkennen die Hauptmitglieder der beiden königlichen Familien an, darunter König Louis-Philippe und Königin Marie-Amélie. Aufgrund der Kleinheit des Ortes nahm der Hof seinen Platz auf dem Podium der Kapelle ein, das von den Monarchen zurückgesetzt war. Die zeremonielle Dekoration, die traditionell zum Prunk der Monarchie gehört, erscheint in den goldgestickten Behängen, die die Galerie schmücken, und in den Kerzenleuchtern des Hochaltars und bietet eine Perspektive, die an die Darstellung von Napoleons Hochzeit erinnert. 1. mit Marie-Louise von Rouget. Trotz der formalen Zwänge, auf die der Gerichtshof besteht, herrscht eine intimere, familiärere Atmosphäre, die der Ernsthaftigkeit der Fürsten gegenüber der Mimikry der knienden Prinzessinnen in der zweiten Reihe mit bemerkenswerter Finesse gegenübersteht.

Interpretation

Da diese Ehe des Königs der Belgier mit der Tochter des Königs der Franzosen von England mit Freundlichkeit betrachtet wurde und Garantien für ein Bündnis mit Frankreich bot, scheint es leicht vorstellbar, dass Louis-Philippe diese Zeremonie verewigen wollte, in der seine diplomatischen Fähigkeiten explodierten. Das Haus Orleans zeigte hier nicht nur seine Solidität und sein Dienstalter gegenüber der sehr jungen belgischen Monarchie, sondern Frankreich gewann auf internationaler Ebene wieder an Stärke. Diese 1837 für die historischen Galerien von Versailles in Auftrag gegebene Szene vom Hof ​​kündigte auf der museografischen Reise des Bürgerkönigs die Befriedung der internationalen Beziehungen nach den von der Revolution eingeleiteten und vom Imperium verewigten Kriegsepisoden an. Es scheint natürlich, dass Louis-Philippe wollte, dass Court für diesen Auftrag ausgewählt wird: Seine Kunst als sozialer Porträtmaler, der häufig Generäle, Menschen auf der Welt und kirchliche Würdenträger vertritt, war für diese Aufgabe besonders geeignet.

  • Belgien
  • Orleans (von)
  • Louis Philippe
  • Hochzeit
  • Julimonarchie
  • Bündnispolitik

Literaturverzeichnis

Guy ANTONETTILouis PhilippeParis, Fayard, 1994. Anne MARTIN-FUGIERDas tägliche Leben von Louis-Philippe und seiner Familie 1830-1848Paris, Hachette, 1992.Philippe VIGIERDie Juli-MonarchieParis, PUF coll. "Was weiß ich? », 1982.

Um diesen Artikel zu zitieren

Robert FOHR und Pascal TORRÈS, „Heirat von Léopold I.äh, König der Belgier und Louise d'Orléans “


Video: La grande-duchesse de Gérolstein: Overture