Marshal Foch, Marshal's sticks

Marshal Foch, Marshal's sticks


We are searching data for your request:

Forums and discussions:
Manuals and reference books:
Data from registers:
Wait the end of the search in all databases.
Upon completion, a link will appear to access the found materials.

  • Marshal Foch's baton of France.

  • Marshal Foch's Staff of Great Britain.

  • Marshal Foch's staff of Poland.

To close

Title: Marshal Foch's baton of France.

Author :

Creation date : 1918

Date shown: 1918

Dimensions: Height 51 - Width 5

Technique and other indications: Gold and velvet. Marshal's staff given to Foch by Raymond Poincarré on August 23, 1918.

Storage place: Army Museum (Paris) website

Contact copyright: © Paris - Army Museum, Dist. RMN-Grand Palais / Pascal Segrette

Picture reference: 06-522373 / 4370 DEP

Marshal Foch's baton of France.

© Paris - Army Museum, Dist. RMN-Grand Palais / Pascal Segrette

To close

Title: Marshal Foch's Staff of Great Britain.

Author :

Creation date : 1919

Date shown: 1919

Dimensions: Height 55 - Width 3

Technique and other indications: Gold and velvet. Marshal's staff given to Foch at Buckingham Palace by King George V, July 30, 1919.

Storage place: Army Museum (Paris) website

Contact copyright: © Paris - Army Museum, Dist. RMN-Grand Palais / Pascal Segrette

Picture reference: 06-522419 / 4369 DEP

Marshal Foch's Staff of Great Britain.

© Paris - Army Museum, Dist. RMN-Grand Palais / Pascal Segrette

To close

Title: Marshal Foch's staff of Poland.

Author :

Creation date : 1923

Date shown: 1923

Dimensions: Height 0 - Width 38

Technique and other indications: Steel, agate, enamelling, vermeil. Marshal's staff handed over to Foch on the Austro-Polish border by General Sosnkowski, Minister of War, on May 2, 1923.

Storage place: Army Museum (Paris) website

Contact copyright: © Paris - Army Museum, Dist. RMN-Grand Palais / Pascal Segrette

Picture reference: 06-522435 / 4371 DEP

Marshal Foch's staff of Poland.

© Paris - Army Museum, Dist. RMN-Grand Palais / Pascal Segrette

Publication date: September 2008

Doctorate in Art History

Historical context

The Marshalate: consecration of an exceptional military career

The list of decorations awarded to General Foch throughout his career is impressive. To the order of the Grand Cross of the Legion of Honor, to that of Officer of Public Instruction and to the numerous military medals, the warrior added the highest distinction that can be attributed to a soldier: that of the Marshalate of France, created during the reign of Philippe-Auguste. In the years following the signing of the armistice, Ferdinand Foch also received two such prestigious decorations which elevated him to the rank of the greatest European soldiers: the staff of the Marshalate of Great Britain, awarded by King George V on the 30 July 1919; then the staff of Marshal of Poland, handed over to the Austro-Hungarian frontier by General Sosnkowski, Minister of War.

Image Analysis

Military regalia

Genuine objects of art, marshal's sticks are emblems of military power, like regalia royal and sacred. From this point of view, they represent objects with a strong symbolic dimension and are kept as treasures of the nation at the Musée de l'Armée. These ornamental sticks evoke the shape of scepters. Each of those given to General Foch has its aesthetic characteristics, depending on its origin. Sheathed in blue velvet sprinkled with gold stars, the staff of Marshal of France is adorned at each end with a gold ferrule. One is engraved with the motto of the Marshals of France, TERROR BELLI DECUS PACIS ("Terror in war, ornament for peacetime"), on the other the inscription FOCH Ferdinand, Marshal of France, August 6, 1918.

The Marshal of Great Britain's staff is a different color and bears other allegorical symbols. In garnet velvet, it is strewn with gold English lions, and each end has a chiseled gold ferrule. This staff features the attributes of the different countries that make up Great Britain, such as the Scottish thistle, and is surmounted by a depiction of Saint George slaying the dragon. As for the staff of Poland, it was executed on the model of a Polish mace of the XVIe century. In blued steel, it is inlaid with vermeil and has two medallions of translucent red enamels. One represents the heraldic eagle of Poland, the other the initials R.P., which means "Republica Poloniae ". The agate embedded in the base is engraved with two entwined "F's" for Ferdinand Foch.

Interpretation

An extraordinary destiny

The son of a civil servant, Ferdinand Foch joined the Franco-Prussian War of 1870 and then entered a military career. Admitted to the Polytechnic School, an elite institution which prepares for the defense and engineering professions, the future marshal modestly graduated from it as an artillery officer in 1873. He brilliantly climbed the ranks of the military hierarchy, up to join the staff and himself become a teacher at the École supérieure militaire.

Theorist of military history, specialist in the analysis of tactics and offensives, Ferdinand Foch published several books, including Principles of war (1903). This facet of her personality is less well known, but it nevertheless occupies an essential role in the development of her personal history. Having become lieutenant-colonel, then colonel and brigadier general in 1907, Foch rose to the rank of major general in 1911, then of corps commanding general shortly before the outbreak of the First World War. Using his theoretical and historical knowledge, he was able to propose effective strategic solutions during the early days of the war of movement. A master in the art of counterattack, he embraced increasingly important responsibilities which led him to successfully lead the race to the sea, a strategic operation which required perfect coordination between the Allies. This brilliantly assumed responsibility made Foch a well-known European personality. Temporarily out of favor in 1916, when he was otherwise wounded, General Foch regained the confidence of the French people and the soldiers thanks to Pétain’s friendship, mainly due to the setbacks suffered by General Nivelle. Rising still higher in the military hierarchy, he was appointed in 1918 Commander-in-Chief of the Western Front with the title of Generalissimo, with the aim of once again consolidating coherence between the Allies. Signatory of the armistice in Rethondes, Ferdinand Foch was recognized as one of the orchestrators of peace by the other allied nations, notably Poland and the United Kingdom, who also issued him a marshal's baton.

  • War of 14-18
  • Foch (Ferdinand)
  • Poincaré (Raymond)

Bibliography

Jean AUTIN, Foch or the Triumph of Truth , Paris, Perrin, 1987. Jean d'ESME, Foch, Paris, Hachette, 1951.Alphonse-Louis GRASSET, Foch or the will to win, Paris, Berger-Levrault, 1964. Maxime WEYGAND, Foch, Paris, Flammarion, 1951.Pierre VALLAUD, 14-18, World War I, Paris, Fayard, 2004.

To cite this article

Claire MAINGON, "Marshal Foch, Marshal's sticks"


Video: Czech March - Pochod národní gardy Instrumental

Marschall Foch, Marschalls Stöcke

Marschall Foch, Marschalls Stöcke

  • Marschall Fochs Stab von Frankreich.

  • Stab von Marschall Foch von Großbritannien.

  • Stab von Marschall Foch aus Polen.

Schließen

Titel: Marschall Fochs Stab von Frankreich.

Autor:

Erstellungsdatum : 1918

Datum angezeigt: 1918

Maße: Höhe 51 - Breite 5

Technik und andere Indikationen: Gold und Samt. Marschalls Stab, den Raymond Poincarré am 23. August 1918 Foch gegeben hatte.

Lagerraum: Website des Armeemuseums (Paris)

Kontakt Copyright: © Paris - Armeemuseum, Dist. RMN-Grand Palais / Pascal Segrette

Bildreferenz: 06-522373 / 4370 DEP

Marschall Fochs Stab von Frankreich.

© Paris - Armeemuseum, Dist. RMN-Grand Palais / Pascal Segrette

Schließen

Titel: Stab von Marschall Foch von Großbritannien.

Autor:

Erstellungsdatum : 1919

Datum angezeigt: 1919

Maße: Höhe 55 - Breite 3

Technik und andere Indikationen: Gold und Samt. Marschalls Stab wurde Foch im Buckingham Palace von König George V. am 30. Juli 1919 übergeben.

Lagerraum: Website des Armeemuseums (Paris)

Kontakt Copyright: © Paris - Armeemuseum, Dist. RMN-Grand Palais / Pascal Segrette

Bildreferenz: 06-522419 / 4369 DEP

Stab von Marschall Foch von Großbritannien.

© Paris - Armeemuseum, Dist. RMN-Grand Palais / Pascal Segrette

Schließen

Titel: Stab von Marschall Foch aus Polen.

Autor:

Erstellungsdatum : 1923

Datum angezeigt: 1923

Maße: Höhe 0 - Breite 38

Technik und andere Indikationen: Stahl, Achat, Emaillierung, Vermeil. Der Stab des Marschalls wurde am 2. Mai 1923 von General Sosnkowski, Kriegsminister, an Foch an der österreichisch-polnischen Grenze übergeben.

Lagerraum: Website des Armeemuseums (Paris)

Kontakt Copyright: © Paris - Armeemuseum, Dist. RMN-Grand Palais / Pascal Segrette

Bildreferenz: 06-522435 / 4371 DEP

Stab von Marschall Foch aus Polen.

© Paris - Armeemuseum, Dist. RMN-Grand Palais / Pascal Segrette

Erscheinungsdatum: September 2008

Promotion in Kunstgeschichte

Historischer Zusammenhang

Das Marschall: Weihe einer außergewöhnlichen militärischen Karriere

Die Liste der Auszeichnungen, die General Foch im Laufe seiner Karriere verliehen wurden, ist beeindruckend. Dem Befehl des Großkreuzes der Ehrenlegion, dem des Offiziers des öffentlichen Unterrichts und den vielen militärischen Medaillen fügte der Kriegsmann die höchste Auszeichnung hinzu, die einem Soldaten zugeschrieben werden kann: die des Marschalls von Frankreich, geschaffen während der Regierungszeit von Philippe-Auguste. In den Jahren nach der Unterzeichnung des Waffenstillstands erhielt Ferdinand Foch auch zwei solche prestigeträchtigen Auszeichnungen, die ihn zum größten europäischen Militär machten: den Stab des Marschalls von Großbritannien, der am 30. von König George V. verliehen wurde Juli 1919; dann der Stab des polnischen Marschalls, der von General Sosnkowski, Kriegsminister, an die österreichisch-ungarische Grenze übergeben wurde.

Bildanalyse

Militärische Insignien

Original Objekte Marschalls Stöcke der Kunst sind Symbole der militärischen Macht, wie Insignien königlich und heilig. Unter diesem Gesichtspunkt stellen sie Objekte mit einer starken symbolischen Dimension dar und werden im Musée de l'Armée als Schätze der Nation aufbewahrt. Diese Zierstifte erinnern an Zepter. Jeder von denen, die General Foch gegeben wurden, hat seine ästhetischen Eigenschaften, abhängig von seiner Herkunft. Der Stab des französischen Marschalls ist mit blauem Samt und goldenen Sternen umhüllt und an jedem Ende mit einer goldenen Zwinge geschmückt. Man ist mit dem Motto der Marschälle von Frankreich eingraviert, TERROR BELLI DECUS PACIS ("Terror im Krieg, Ornament für Friedenszeiten"), auf der anderen Seite die Inschrift FOCH Ferdinand, Marschall von Frankreich, 6. August 1918.

Der Stab des Marschalls von Großbritannien hat eine andere Farbe und trägt andere allegorische Symbole. In Granatsamt ist es mit goldenen englischen Löwen übersät, und jedes Ende hat eine gemeißelte goldene Zwinge. Dieser Stab zeigt die Eigenschaften der verschiedenen Länder Großbritanniens, wie die schottische Distel, und wird von einer Darstellung des Heiligen Georg überragt, der den Drachen tötet. Der polnische Stab wurde nach dem Vorbild eines polnischen Streitkolbens des 16. Jahrhunderts ausgeführte Jahrhundert. In gebläutetem Stahl ist es mit Vermeil eingelegt und hat zwei Medaillons aus durchscheinenden roten Emails. Einer repräsentiert den heraldischen Adler Polens, der andere die Initialen R.P., was "Republica Poloniae ". Der in die Basis eingebettete Achat ist mit zwei verschlungenen "F" für Ferdinand Foch graviert.

Interpretation

Ein außergewöhnliches Schicksal

Als Sohn eines Beamten trat Ferdinand Foch 1870 dem Deutsch-Französischen Krieg bei und trat dann in eine Militärkarriere ein. Der zukünftige Marschall wurde in die Polytechnische Schule aufgenommen, eine Eliteeinrichtung, die sich auf die Verteidigungs- und Ingenieurberufe vorbereitet, und schloss sie 1873 bescheiden als Artillerieoffizier ab. Er stieg brillant in die Reihen der militärischen Hierarchie auf Schließen Sie sich dem Stab an und werden Sie selbst Lehrer an der École supérieure militaire.

Ferdinand Foch, Theoretiker der Militärgeschichte, Spezialist für die Analyse von Taktiken und Offensiven, veröffentlichte mehrere Bücher, darunter Prinzipien des Krieges (1903). Diese Facette ihrer Persönlichkeit ist weniger bekannt, spielt jedoch eine wesentliche Rolle bei der Entwicklung ihrer persönlichen Geschichte. Nachdem Foch 1907 Oberstleutnant, dann Oberst und Brigadegeneral geworden war, stieg er 1911 zum Generalmajor auf, kurz vor Ausbruch des Ersten Weltkriegs zum Generalkorps. Mit seinem theoretischen und historischen Wissen konnte er in den frühen Tagen des Bewegungskrieges effektive strategische Lösungen anbieten. Als Meister der Kunst des Gegenangriffs übernahm er immer wichtigere Aufgaben, die ihn dazu veranlassten, das Rennen zum Meer erfolgreich zu führen, eine strategische Operation, die eine perfekte Koordination zwischen den Alliierten erforderte. Diese brillant übernommene Verantwortung machte Foch zu einer bekannten europäischen Persönlichkeit. General Foch, der 1916 vorübergehend in Ungnade gefallen war, als er anderweitig verwundet wurde, gewann dank Pétains Freundschaft das Vertrauen des französischen Volkes und der Soldaten zurück, hauptsächlich aufgrund der Rückschläge von General Nivelle. Er stieg in der militärischen Hierarchie noch weiter auf und wurde 1918 zum Oberbefehlshaber der Westfront mit dem Titel Generalissimus ernannt, um die Kohärenz zwischen den Alliierten erneut zu festigen. Ferdinand Foch, der den Waffenstillstand in Rethondes unterzeichnet hat, wurde von den anderen alliierten Nationen, insbesondere Polen und dem Vereinigten Königreich, als einer der Friedensorchester anerkannt, die ihm auch einen Marschallstab ausgaben.

  • Krieg von 14-18
  • Foch (Ferdinand)
  • Poincaré (Raymond)

Literaturverzeichnis

Jean AUTIN, Foch oder der Triumph der Wahrheit , Paris, Perrin, 1987. Jean d'ESME, Foch, Paris, Hachette, 1951. Alphonse-Louis GRASSET, Foch oder der Wille zu gewinnen, Paris, Berger-Levrault, 1964. Maxime WEYGAND, Foch, Paris, Flammarion, 1951.Pierre VALLAUD, 14-18, Erster Weltkrieg, Paris, Fayard, 2004.

Um diesen Artikel zu zitieren

Claire MAINGON, "Marschall Foch, Marschalls Stöcke"


Video: SHORT stories - Walks of Life - Cyriak