The Pompeian house of Joseph Napoleon by Gustave Boulanger

The Pompeian house of Joseph Napoleon by Gustave Boulanger


We are searching data for your request:

Forums and discussions:
Manuals and reference books:
Data from registers:
Wait the end of the search in all databases.
Upon completion, a link will appear to access the found materials.

Rehearsal of the "Flute Player" and of the "Woman of Diomedes" with Prince Napoleon

© RMN-Grand Palais (Palace of Versailles) / Daniel Arnaudet

Publication date: May 2016

Historical context

If the first excavations of the city of Pompeii, discovered in 1748, surprised and sometimes disappointed amateurs and artists such as Joseph-Marie Vien, those carried out in the XIXe century reveal a completely different dimension of the archaeological site.

In the XVIIIe century, scholars expect to discover large sculpted pieces such as the Laocoon. One of the foundational works on the city, titled The ruins of Pompeii, published by Richard Mazois with a text by the art historian Antoine Chrysostome Quatremère de Quincy, did not appear until 1819. The villa of Diomedes contains, for example, eighteen charred bodies, whose imprint of a woman's breast preserved today in the Museum of Naples.

This ultimately tragic and, for some, alluring common destiny ignites the imagination of many writers and gives Pompeii a special aura in the collective imagination, beyond the scope of archaeological excavations.

In 1855, Prince Joseph Charles Paul Napoleon, known as Plon-Plon, cousin of Napoleon III, decided to build a villa entirely inspired by those of Pompeii, to the tastes of his mistress, the tragedian Rachel, emblematic performer of several pieces by ancient theater. Some photographs and Gustave Boulanger's painting are the only vestiges of its splendor.

Image Analysis

On February 14, 1860, during the inauguration of the villa, in the presence of Napoleon III and his wife, Prince Napoleon organized parties in the antique style. Théophile Gautier takes part in it by creating a prologue in verse, The Wife of Diomedes, read by Mademoiselle Favart from the Théâtre-Français, and the play by Émile Augier, The Flute Player, is fully played.

In this painting, Gustave Boulanger, a Neo-Greek painter like Jean Léon Gérôme, therefore presents not a theatrical setting, but the interior of Joseph Napoleon's Pompeian house. At the Salon of 1855, the artist had already presented Rehearsal in the House of the Tragic Poet in Pompeii (oil on canvas, St. Petersburg, Hermitage Museum), making him one of the most suitable artists to represent the festivals of the emperor's cousin.

In this atrium, made up of Corinthian columns with shafts painted in red and yellow, there are figures dressed in ancient fashion and discussing art and literature. Théophile Gautier and Émile Augier are dressed in togas, while the actors have, more legitimately, put on their cothurnes. We can find Mademoiselle Favart and Madeleine Brohan, Got and Samson from the Comédie-Française, and Geffroy, portrayed realistically according to the critics of the time, including Théodore de Banville.

In addition to the representation of this rehearsal scene, which aims to be realistic, Boulanger above all scrupulously copied the architectural realization of this house. Despite the statue of Napoleon Ier, which recalls the descendants of the prince, the decorative elements of this piece constitute a formal homage to the patrician residences of Antiquity and were made by artists such as Gérôme and Sébastien Corun for the painted canvases, or Rossigneux for the furniture.

Interpretation

With good reason, a reviewer of the time saw this work as an architectural drawing. Indeed, despite its title and the action highlighted by Boulanger, the real stars of this work are neither the authors nor the actors famous in their time, but the architecture itself. It is precisely a matter of living the fantasy of a rediscovered Antiquity, and not of representing it through painting. This work has the power of evocation, and therefore of memory. It not only evokes Antiquity recreated by Hittorff, Normand or even Gérôme, who participated in the pictorial decoration of the atrium, but also the fantasy of time travel and homage to a time deemed ideal, pure and primitive. Gautier himself puts it this way: “Modern life has come to awaken ancient life. "

A dream born out of the imaginations of Rachel, Gautier and Prince Napoleon, this residence was sold in 1866 by the latter when he married Clotilde of Savoy and was exiled by his first cousin. Once exploited as a museum by Gautier and Houssaye, it quickly fell into ruins, thus joining the same fate as the villas of Pompeii.

  • neo-Greek
  • Napoleon III
  • antiquity
  • Gautier (Théophile)
  • architecture

Bibliography

GAUTIER Théophile, HOUSSAYE Arsène, COLIGNY Charles, The Pompeian palace: studies on the Greco-Roman house, former residence of Prince Napoleon, Paris, At the Pompey Palace, 1866.

MASCOLI Laura (dir.), Pompeii: works and consignments of French architects in the 19th century, cat. exp. (Paris, Naples, 1981), Paris, École nationale supérieure des beaux-arts, 1981.

To cite this article

Saskia HANSELAAR, "The Pompeian house of Joseph Napoléon by Gustave Boulanger"


Video: Power and Pettiness - Lecture 1 - Domestic Dramas: The Beauharnais versus the Bonapartes

Das pompejanische Haus von Joseph Napoleon von Gustave Boulanger

Das pompejanische Haus von Joseph Napoleon von Gustave Boulanger

Probe des "Flötenspielers" und der "Frau von Diomedes" mit Prinz Napoleon

© RMN-Grand Palais (Schloss von Versailles) / Daniel Arnaudet

Erscheinungsdatum: Mai 2016

Historischer Zusammenhang

Wenn die ersten Ausgrabungen der Stadt Pompeji, die 1748 entdeckt wurden, Amateure und Künstler wie Joseph-Marie Vien überraschten und manchmal enttäuschten, wurden diese im 19. Jahrhundert durchgeführte Jahrhundert offenbaren eine völlig andere Dimension der archäologischen Stätte.

Im XVIIIe Jahrhundert erwarten Wissenschaftler, große Skulpturen wie die zu entdecken Laokoon. Eine der grundlegenden Arbeiten zur Stadt mit dem Titel Die Ruinen von Pompeji, veröffentlicht von Richard Mazois mit einem Text des Kunsthistorikers Antoine Chrysostome Quatremère de Quincy, erschien erst 1819. Die Villa von Diomedes enthält zum Beispiel achtzehn verkohlte Körper, deren Abdruck einer Frauenbrust, die heute im Neapel-Museum aufbewahrt wird.

Dieses letztendlich tragische und für einige verführerische gemeinsame Schicksal regt die Vorstellungskraft vieler Schriftsteller an und verleiht Pompeji eine besondere Aura in der kollektiven Vorstellungskraft, die über den Rahmen archäologischer Ausgrabungen hinausgeht.

Im Jahr 1855 beschloss Prinz Joseph Charles Paul Napoléon, bekannt als Plon-Plon, Cousin von Napoleon III., Eine Villa zu bauen, die ganz von denen Pompejis inspiriert war, nach dem Geschmack seiner Geliebten, der Tragikerin Rachel, die mehrere Stücke von emblematisch darstellte altes Theater. Einige Fotografien und das Gemälde von Gustave Boulanger sind die einzigen Überreste seiner Pracht.

Bildanalyse

Am 14. Februar 1860 organisierte Prinz Napoleon während der Einweihung der Villa in Anwesenheit Napoleons III. Und seiner Frau Partys im antiken Stil. Théophile Gautier nimmt daran teil, indem er einen Prolog in Versen erstellt. Die Frau von Diomedes, gelesen von Mademoiselle Favart aus dem Théâtre-Français und dem Stück von Émile Augier, Der Flötenspielerist voll gespielt.

Gustave Boulanger, ein neugriechischer Maler wie Jean Léon Gérôme, zeigt in diesem Gemälde daher keine Theaterkulisse, sondern das Innere von Joseph Napoleons pompejanischem Haus. Im Salon von 1855 hatte der Künstler bereits präsentiert Probe im Haus des tragischen Dichters in Pompeji (Öl auf Leinwand, St. Petersburg, Eremitage), was ihn zu einem der am besten geeigneten Künstler macht, um die Feste des Cousins ​​des Kaisers darzustellen.

In diesem Atrium, das aus korinthischen Säulen mit rot und gelb gestrichenen Schäften besteht, befinden sich antik gekleidete Figuren, die über Kunst und Literatur diskutieren. Théophile Gautier und Émile Augier sind in Togas gekleidet, während die Schauspieler zu Recht ihre Cothurnes angezogen haben. Wir können Mademoiselle Favart und Madeleine Brohan, Got und Samson von der Comédie-Française und Geffroy finden, die nach den Kritikern der Zeit, einschließlich Théodore de Banville, realistisch dargestellt wurden.

Neben der realistischen Darstellung dieser Probenszene hat Boulanger vor allem die architektonische Realisierung dieses Hauses gewissenhaft kopiert. Trotz der Statue von Napoleon I.ähDie dekorativen Elemente dieses Stücks, das an die Nachkommen des Fürsten erinnert, stellen eine formale Hommage an die Patrizierresidenzen der Antike dar und wurden von Künstlern wie Gérôme und Sébastien Corun für die bemalten Leinwände oder Rossigneux für die Möbel angefertigt.

Interpretation

Aus gutem Grund sah ein Kritiker der Zeit in dieser Arbeit eine Architekturzeichnung. Trotz des Titels und der von Boulanger hervorgehobenen Aktion sind die wirklichen Stars dieser Arbeit weder die Autoren noch die zu ihrer Zeit berühmten Schauspieler, sondern die Architektur selbst. Es geht genau darum, die Fantasie einer wiederentdeckten Antike zu leben und sie nicht durch Malerei darzustellen. Diese Arbeit hat die Kraft der Evokation und damit der Erinnerung. Es erinnert nicht nur an die Antike von Hittorff, der Normandie oder sogar an Gérôme, die an der bildlichen Dekoration des Atriums beteiligt waren, sondern auch an die Fantasie von Zeitreisen und Hommagen an eine Zeit, die als ideal, rein und primitiv gilt. Gautier selbst drückt es so aus: „Das moderne Leben ist gekommen, um das alte Leben zu erwecken. ""

Diese Residenz, ein Traum, der aus den Vorstellungen von Rachel, Gautier und Prinz Napoleon geboren wurde, wurde 1866 von diesem verkauft, als er Clotilde von Savoyen heiratete und von seinem ersten Cousin ins Exil geschickt wurde. Nachdem es von Gautier und Houssaye als Museum genutzt worden war, verfiel es schnell in Trümmer und schloss sich dem gleichen Schicksal an wie die Villen von Pompeji.

  • neo-griechisch
  • Napoleon III
  • Antike
  • Gautier (Théophile)
  • die Architektur

Literaturverzeichnis

GAUTIER Théophile, HOUSSAYE Arsène, COLIGNY Charles, Der pompejanische Palast: Studien über das griechisch-römische Haus, ehemalige Residenz von Prinz Napoleon, Paris, im Pompeiuspalast, 1866.

MASCOLI Laura (dir.), Pompeji: Werke und Sendungen französischer Architekten im 19. Jahrhundert, Katze. exp. (Paris, Neapel, 1981), Paris, École nationale supérieure des beaux-arts, 1981.

Um diesen Artikel zu zitieren

Saskia HANSELAAR, "Das pompejanische Haus von Joseph Napoléon von Gustave Boulanger"


Video: Illusionsmalerei, Wandmalerei, Wandgemälde