Madame de Montespan

Madame de Montespan


We are searching data for your request:

Forums and discussions:
Manuals and reference books:
Data from registers:
Wait the end of the search in all databases.
Upon completion, a link will appear to access the found materials.

  • Madame de Montespan and her children.

    MIGNARD (after) Pierre (1612 - 1695)

  • Madame de Montespan and her children: the characters

    MIGNARD (after) Pierre (1612 - 1695)

Madame de Montespan and her children.

© RMN - Grand Palais (Palace of Versailles) / Gérard Blot

To close

Title: Madame de Montespan and her children: the characters

Author : MIGNARD (after) Pierre (1612 - 1695)

Creation date : 1676 or early 1677 [?]

Date shown: 1676 or early 1677 [?]

Dimensions: Height 206 cm - Width 252 cm

Technique and other indications: oil on canvas

Storage location: National Museum of the Palace of Versailles (Versailles) website

Contact copyright: © RMN - Grand Palais (Palace of Versailles) / Gérard Blot

Picture reference: 12-548395 / MV 8237

Madame de Montespan and her children: the characters

© RMN - Grand Palais (Palace of Versailles) / Gérard Blot

Publication date: March 2015

Academy Inspector Deputy Academic Director

Historical context

A court portrait

The date of this painting is uncertain. We can however suggest an interval thanks to the dates of birth of the children: Mademoiselle de Tours (in the foreground on the left [no 5]) was born in 1674, while Mademoiselle de Blois, born in 1677, is not shown in the painting. The date of 1676 or the beginning of 1677 is then the most probable, unless the painter has done his work later, by representing a situation corresponding to the year 1676 or the beginning of the year 1677.

By this time, Madame de Montespan had been Louis XIV's mistress for ten years, first concurrently with Louise de La Vallière, then exclusively. Born in 1640 and from a family of ancient nobility, Françoise de Rochechouart - who likes to call herself Athénaïs - married the Marquis de Montespan in 1663, but lives separated from the body with him. Many contemporary portraits, literary and pictorial, have been preserved of her, which pay homage to her beauty and to her lively and biting wit.

It is not known who painted this canvas, even if the inspiration of Pierre Mignard (1612-1695) is strong. Rival of Charles Le Brun, his style is characterized by a round modeling, conventional expressions, contrasting colors (blue and gold, for example), from which he draws the best in delicate figures of children. These characteristics are found in this family portrait of Madame de Montespan, without however allowing the authentication of its author.

Image Analysis

A family portrait without a father figure

Madame de Montespan [no 1] poses half-lying in a natural setting with a horizon blocked by greenery, which contrasts with her rich low-necked dress and simple pearl adornment - the author of The Life of Pierre Mignard (1730) explains that to paint her, "it was not only to paint a very beautiful person, it was to paint nobility, spirit & beauty itself".

Surrounded by four of his children: Louis-Auguste, Duke of Maine, born in 1670 (located on the right, in a red coat, feathered hat and leaning on a cane [no 2]), Louis-César, Count of Vexin and Abbot of Saint-Germain-des-Prés, born in 1672 and of fragile constitution (hidden to the waist by the bushes, in the background on the left [no 3]), Louise Françoise, titled Mademoiselle de Nantes, born in 1673 (holding an armful of flowers in her raised dress, in the foreground on the right [no 4]), and Louise Marie Anne, titled Mademoiselle de Tours, born in 1674 (sitting naked on a quiver, undoubtedly to testify to the effects of Love armed with its bow, in the foreground on the left [no 5]).

The subjects pose in fixed attitudes and stand out clearly from the verdant setting, testimony to the contemporary appeal of gardens. The eyes of the four children converge on the viewer, while that of their mother is lost to the right.

The absence of a father figure refers to the position of favorite, which art is rarely allowed to legitimize. However, the king is shown in the guise of his legitimate descendants. The canvas must therefore be understood as a family portrait of the court. It is indeed the children who capture the attention with their gaze, the favorite being only a conductor of the king's presence, entirely contained in the transmission of his blood.

Interpretation

The portrait of a favorite in search of recognition

By nature illegitimate, the doubly adulterous relationship of Louis XIV and Madame de Montespan constitutes for the favorite a cause for concern. The rays of royal glory will enlighten her only as long as the royal inclination for her exists. This is why this portrait is also a manifesto intended to affirm a legitimacy, that of the Capetian blood transmitted to the four natural children of Louis XIV. Another portrait of Madame de Montespan surrounded by her children, formerly attributed to Charles de La Fosse, develops the same intention.

If the fragility inherent in the position of favorite is thus circumvented by the presence of the four children, it is also bypassed by the voluntarism of Madame de Montespan on a daily basis to fight against her competitors in the heart of the king - she has even been accused , during the Poisons affair, for having given the king some potions to drink to keep his favors. The legitimation of her children by Louis XIV, which took place in 1673 for the two boys and in 1676 for the two girls, is also essential for Madame de Montespan. The children who were born in 1677 (Françoise Marie, Mademoiselle de Blois) and in 1678 (Louis-Alexandre, count of Toulouse) confirm its base on the royal descent. Later, ties with the royal family were strengthened by a policy of matrimonial alliances: Mademoiselle de Nantes married the Duke of Enghien, Louis-Auguste married Anne Louise Bénédicte de Bourbon, Mademoiselle de Blois married the future Regent.

However, her pregnancies and the legitimization of her children were not enough to give Madame de Montespan a political role, as the king tried to distinguish between the affective and political spheres. In his Briefs, he advises his son "that the beauty that is our pleasure should never have the freedom to talk to us about our business, or the people who serve us there".

In spite of the sincere bond which unites the king to his adulterous children (which is shown by the multiple favors and endowments of which they are the object), the disgrace of Madame de Montespan intervenes a few years after the realization of this painting, in 1683, at the profit from the king's exclusive liaison with Madame de Maintenon, former governess of the adulterous royal children. The cut flowers carried by Mademoiselle de Nantes, which Madame de Montespan nonchalantly shows, take on a symbolic dimension; like these flowers which represent the fragility of the world, the glory of Madame de Montespan was only fleeting. She ended her life in devotion in 1707, far from the Court, after having seen several of her children die, two of whom are painted here.

  • Louis XIV
  • royal mistress
  • portrait
  • absolute monarchy
  • Great Century
  • Montespan (Madame de)
  • Maintenon (Françoise d´Aubigné, Marchioness of)

Bibliography

BERTIÈRE Simone, The Queens of France at the time of the Bourbons. II: the women of the Sun King, Paris, Editions de Fallois, 1998.NIKOLENKO Lada, Pierre Mignard: The Portrait Painter of the Grand Siècle, Munich, Nitz, 1983. PETITFILS Jean-Christian, Madame de Montespan, Paris, Fayard, 1988.SARMANT Thierry, Louis XIV: man and king, Paris, Tallandier, coll. “Biographies”, 2012.

To cite this article

Jean HUBAC, "Madame de Montespan"


Video: s1-2 monsieur;

Madame de Montespan

Madame de Montespan

  • Madame de Montespan und ihre Kinder.

    MIGNARD (nach) Pierre (1612 - 1695)

  • Madame de Montespan und ihre Kinder: die Charaktere

    MIGNARD (nach) Pierre (1612 - 1695)

Madame de Montespan und ihre Kinder.

© RMN - Grand Palais (Schloss von Versailles) / Gérard Blot

Schließen

Titel: Madame de Montespan und ihre Kinder: die Charaktere

Autor: MIGNARD (nach) Pierre (1612 - 1695)

Erstellungsdatum : 1676 oder Anfang 1677 [?]

Datum angezeigt: 1676 oder Anfang 1677 [?]

Maße: Höhe 206 cm - Breite 252 cm

Technik und andere Indikationen: Öl auf Leinwand

Speicherort: Website des Nationalmuseums des Schlosses von Versailles (Versailles)

Kontakt Copyright: © RMN - Grand Palais (Schloss von Versailles) / Gérard Blot

Bildreferenz: 12-548395 / MV 8237

Madame de Montespan und ihre Kinder: die Charaktere

© RMN - Grand Palais (Schloss von Versailles) / Gérard Blot

Erscheinungsdatum: März 2015

Akademischer Inspektor Stellvertretender akademischer Direktor

Historischer Zusammenhang

Ein Hofporträt

Das Datum dieses Gemäldes ist ungewiss. Wir können jedoch aufgrund der Geburtsdaten der Kinder ein Intervall vorschlagen: Mademoiselle de Tours (im Vordergrund links [nÖ 5]) wurde 1674 geboren, während Mademoiselle de Blois, geboren 1677, auf dem Gemälde nicht abgebildet ist. Das Datum von 1676 oder der Beginn von 1677 ist dann am wahrscheinlichsten, es sei denn, der Maler hat seine Arbeit später ausgeführt, indem er eine Situation darstellt, die dem Jahr 1676 oder dem Beginn des Jahres 1677 entspricht.

Zu dieser Zeit war Madame de Montespan zehn Jahre lang die Geliebte Ludwigs XIV. Gewesen, zuerst gleichzeitig mit Louise de La Vallière, dann ausschließlich. Françoise de Rochechouart, 1640 geboren und aus einer Familie alten Adels stammend, die sich gerne Athénaïs nennt, heiratete 1663 den Marquis de Montespan, lebt aber mit ihm getrennt vom Körper. Von ihr sind zahlreiche zeitgenössische Porträts erhalten, literarische und bildliche, die ihrer Schönheit und ihrem lebhaften und beißenden Geist Tribut zollen.

Es ist nicht bekannt, wer diese Leinwand gemalt hat, auch wenn die Inspiration von Pierre Mignard (1612-1695) stark ist. Sein Stil, der mit Charles Le Brun konkurriert, zeichnet sich durch eine runde Modellierung, konventionelle Ausdrücke und kontrastierende Farben (z. B. Blau und Gold) aus, aus denen er das Beste aus zarten Figuren von Kindern schöpft. Diese Merkmale finden sich in diesem Familienporträt von Madame de Montespan, ohne jedoch die Authentifizierung des Autors zuzulassen.

Bildanalyse

Ein Familienporträt ohne Vaterfigur

Madame de Montespan [nÖ 1] posiert halb liegend in einer natürlichen Umgebung mit einem von Grün blockierten Horizont, der sich von ihrem reichen, tiefgeschlossenen Kleid und der einfachen Perlenverzierung abhebt - der Autorin von Das Leben von Pierre Mignard (1730) erklärt, dass, um sie zu malen, "es nicht nur war, eine sehr schöne Person zu malen, es war, Adel, Geist und Schönheit selbst zu malen".

Umgeben von vier seiner Kinder: Louis-Auguste, Herzog von Maine, geboren 1670 (rechts in rotem Mantel, Federhut und auf einen Stock gelehnt [nÖ 2]), Louis-César, Graf von Vexin und Abt von Saint-Germain-des-Prés, geboren 1672 und von zerbrechlicher Konstitution (von den Büschen bis zur Taille verborgen, im Hintergrund links [nÖ 3]), Louise Françoise, betitelt Mademoiselle de Nantes, geboren 1673 (mit einem Arm voller Blumen in ihrem erhabenen Kleid, im Vordergrund rechts [nÖ 4]) und Louise Marie Anne mit dem Titel Mademoiselle de Tours, geboren 1674 (nackt auf einem Köcher sitzend, zweifellos, um die Wirkung der Liebe zu bezeugen, die mit ihrem Bogen bewaffnet ist, im Vordergrund links [nÖ 5]).

Die Motive posieren in festen Einstellungen und heben sich deutlich von der grünen Umgebung ab, ein Beweis für die zeitgenössische Anziehungskraft von Gärten. Die Blicke der vier Kinder laufen auf den Betrachter zusammen, während der ihrer Mutter rechts verloren geht.

Das Fehlen einer Vaterfigur bezieht sich auf die Position des Favoriten, die sich die Kunst selten legitimieren lässt. Der König wird jedoch in der Gestalt seiner legitimierten Nachkommen gezeigt. Die Leinwand ist daher als Familienporträt des Hofes zu verstehen. Es sind die Kinder, die die Aufmerksamkeit mit ihrem Blick auf sich ziehen, wobei der Favorit nur ein Leiter der Anwesenheit des Königs ist, der vollständig in der Übertragung seines Blutes enthalten ist.

Interpretation

Das Porträt eines Favoriten auf der Suche nach Anerkennung

Die doppelt ehebrecherische Beziehung zwischen Ludwig XIV. Und Madame de Montespan ist von Natur aus unehelich und gibt für den Favoriten Anlass zur Sorge. Die Strahlen der königlichen Herrlichkeit werden sie nur erleuchten, solange die königliche Neigung für sie besteht. Aus diesem Grund ist dieses Porträt auch ein Manifest, das eine Legitimität bestätigen soll, die des kapetischen Blutes, das an die vier leiblichen Kinder Ludwigs XIV. Übertragen wurde. Ein anderes Porträt von Madame de Montespan, umgeben von ihren Kindern, das früher Charles de La Fosse zugeschrieben wurde, entwickelt die gleiche Absicht.

Wenn die Fragilität, die der Position des Favoriten innewohnt, durch die Anwesenheit der vier Kinder umgangen wird, wird dies auch durch die tägliche Freiwilligkeit von Madame de Montespan umgangen, im Herzen des Königs gegen ihre Konkurrenten zu kämpfen - sie wurde sogar beschuldigt , während der Gift-Affäre, weil er dem König einige Tränke zum Trinken gegeben hatte, um seine Gunst zu bewahren. Die Legitimation ihrer Kinder durch Ludwig XIV., Die 1673 für die beiden Jungen und 1676 für die beiden Mädchen stattfand, ist auch für Madame de Montespan von wesentlicher Bedeutung. Die 1677 geborenen Kinder (Françoise Marie, Mademoiselle de Blois) und 1678 (Louis-Alexandre, Graf von Toulouse) bestätigten seinen Sitz in der königlichen Abstammung. Später wurden die Beziehungen zur königlichen Familie durch eine Politik ehelicher Allianzen gestärkt: Mademoiselle de Nantes heiratete den Herzog von Enghien, Louis-Auguste heiratete Anne Louise Bénédicte de Bourbon, Mademoiselle de Blois heiratete den zukünftigen Regenten.

Ihre Schwangerschaften und die Legitimierung ihrer Kinder reichten jedoch nicht aus, um Madame de Montespan eine politische Rolle zu geben, da der König versuchte, zwischen affektiver und politischer Sphäre zu unterscheiden. In seinem SlipEr rät seinem Sohn, "dass die Schönheit, die uns Spaß macht, niemals die Freiheit haben sollte, mit uns über unser Geschäft oder die Menschen, die uns dort dienen, zu sprechen".

Trotz der aufrichtigen Verbundenheit, die den König mit seinen ehebrecherischen Kindern verbindet (was sich in den vielfältigen Gefälligkeiten und Begabungen zeigt, deren Gegenstand sie sind), greift die Schande von Madame de Montespan einige Jahre nach der Verwirklichung dieses Gemäldes im Jahre 1683 bei der Profitieren Sie von der exklusiven Verbindung des Königs mit Madame de Maintenon, der ehemaligen Gouvernante der ehebrecherischen königlichen Kinder. Die von Mademoiselle de Nantes getragenen Schnittblumen, die Madame de Montespan nonchalant zeigt, nehmen eine symbolische Dimension an; Wie diese Blumen, die die Zerbrechlichkeit der Welt darstellen, war der Ruhm von Madame de Montespan nur flüchtig. Sie beendete ihr Leben 1707 in Andacht, weit weg vom Hof, nachdem sie mehrere ihrer Kinder sterben sah, von denen zwei hier gemalt sind.

  • Ludwig XIV
  • königliche Geliebte
  • Porträt
  • absolute Monarchie
  • Großes Jahrhundert
  • Montespan (Madame de)
  • Maintenon (Françoise d´Aubigné, Marquiseurin von)

Literaturverzeichnis

BERTIÈRE Simone, Die Königinnen von Frankreich zur Zeit der Bourbonen. II: die Frauen des Sonnenkönigs, Paris, Editions de Fallois, 1998. Nikolenko Lada, Pierre Mignard: Der Porträtmaler des Grand Siècle, München, Nitz, 1983. PETITFILS Jean-Christian, Madame de Montespan, Paris, Fayard, 1988.SARMANT Thierry, Ludwig XIV.: Mann und König, Paris, Tallandier, umg. "Biographien", 2012.

Um diesen Artikel zu zitieren

Jean HUBAC, "Madame de Montespan"


Video: Versailles. Season 2 Ep. 6. Scarron u0026 Montespan