Mac Mahon, Marshal and Duke of the Empire

Mac Mahon, Marshal and Duke of the Empire


We are searching data for your request:

Forums and discussions:
Manuals and reference books:
Data from registers:
Wait the end of the search in all databases.
Upon completion, a link will appear to access the found materials.

Mac-Mahon, Duke of Magenta.

© Photo RMN-Grand Palais - G. Blot

Publication date: March 2016

Historical context

Marshal and Duke of the Empire

Born into a family of Irish origin, Mac-Mahon left Saint-Cyr in 1827 before acquiring a brilliant reputation as a military leader during the conquest of Algeria. Commander of the second army corps, he won over the Austrian army, in Lombardy, on June 4, 1859, the victory of Magenta, which earned him the honor of being raised by Napoleon III to the dignity of Marshal and Duke of the Empire. on the battlefield.

Image Analysis

One of the last works of Horace Vernet

This large portrait is one of the last paintings of this scale painted by Horace Vernet, one of the foremost artists of the time and recognized specialist in historical painting and battle painting. Used to official commissions, he was one of the main artists commissioned by Louis-Philippe for the Musée de Versailles, notably for the Galerie des Batailles and the rooms of Algeria. As early as 1824-1826, the young painter had received an order for portraits of marshals for the Tuileries, developing, in his portraits of Gouvion Saint-Cyr and Molitor (Versailles, National Museum of the Castle), a formula of full-length figure " in situation ”which he often repeated thereafter. This is the case here, where he combines portraiture and military painting: on the battlefield of Magenta, Mac-Mahon crosses a palisade, among the corpses and at the head of his soldiers, on the right. The bottom of the canvas is occupied by the battle itself. Mac-Mahon looks to the left, the telescope in his right hand and the cap in his left hand, in a simple movement and a pose that is deliberately lively and spontaneous.

Interpretation

Mac-Mahon for many embodies the ambiguities of the IIIe Emerging Republic. Although succeeding Thiers in 1873 as President of the Republic, he actually strove to prepare the conditions for a monarchist restoration. The division between Orleanists and Legitimists finally got the better of this project. Her resignation in 1879 symbolized the final victory of the Republican camp, after the majority she managed to retain in the elections of 1877 and that she won in the Senate in 1879.
The caption of the portrait should not, however, mislead: it was the victorious soldier, the Marshal of the Empire that Vernet represented, and not the politician whose fate was still veiled when the painting was painted.

  • battles
  • marshals
  • portrait
  • Second Empire
  • Mac Mahon (Patrice de)
  • Thiers (Adolphe)
  • Louis Philippe
  • Sevastopol

Bibliography

Jean-Paul BERTAUD and William SERMAN New military history of France, 1789-1919 Paris, Fayard, 1998 Gabriel de BROGLIE Mac Mahon Paris, Perrin, 2000 Jean TULARD (dir.) Dictionary of the Second Empire Paris, Fayard, 1995.Horace Vernet, 1789-1863 catalog of the exhibition, Paris, Ecole nationale supérieure des beaux-arts, March-July 1980.

To cite this article

Barthélemy JOBERT and Pascal TORRÈS, "Mac Mahon, Marshal and Duke of the Empire"


Video: The Paris Commune The First Communist Revolution ft. JGamer Mapping

Mac Mahon, Marschall und Herzog des Imperiums

Mac Mahon, Marschall und Herzog des Imperiums

Mac-Mahon, Herzog von Magenta.

© Foto RMN-Grand Palais - G. Blot

Erscheinungsdatum: März 2016

Historischer Zusammenhang

Marschall und Herzog des Reiches

Mac-Mahon wurde in eine Familie irischer Herkunft hineingeboren und verließ Saint-Cyr 1827, bevor er während der Eroberung Algeriens einen hervorragenden Ruf als Militärführer erlangte. Als Kommandeur des zweiten Armeekorps gewann er am 4. Juni 1859 in der Lombardei die österreichische Armee, den Sieg von Magenta, der ihn dazu brachte, von Napoleon III. Zur Würde des Marschalls und Herzogs des Reiches erhoben zu werden auf dem Schlachtfeld.

Bildanalyse

Eines der letzten Werke von Horace Vernet

Dieses große Porträt ist eines der letzten Gemälde dieser Größenordnung, das von Horace Vernet gemalt wurde, einem der bedeutendsten Künstler der Zeit und anerkannter Spezialist für historische Malerei und Schlachtmalerei. Er war an offizielle Aufträge gewöhnt und einer der Hauptkünstler, die Louis-Philippe für das Musée de Versailles in Auftrag gab, insbesondere für die Galerie des Batailles und die Räume Algeriens. Bereits 1824-1826 hatte der junge Maler den Auftrag erhalten, Marschallporträts für die Tuilerien zu erstellen, und entwickelte in seinen Porträts von Gouvion Saint-Cyr und Molitor (Versailles, Nationalmuseum des Schlosses) eine Formel für eine Figur in voller Länge. " in situation “, die er danach oft wiederholte. Dies ist hier der Fall, wo er Porträt und Militärmalerei kombiniert: Auf dem Schlachtfeld von Magenta überquert Mac-Mahon rechts eine Palisade zwischen den Leichen und an der Spitze seiner Soldaten. Der Hintergrund der Leinwand wird von der Schlacht selbst besetzt. Mac-Mahon schaut nach links, das Teleskop in der rechten Hand und die Kappe in der linken Hand, in einer einfachen Bewegung und einer Pose, die bewusst lebhaft und spontan ist.

Interpretation

Mac-Mahon verkörpert für viele die Zweideutigkeiten des IIIe Emerging Republic. Obwohl er 1873 Thiers Nachfolger als Präsident der Republik wurde, bemühte er sich tatsächlich, die Bedingungen für eine monarchistische Wiederherstellung vorzubereiten. Die Trennung zwischen Orleanisten und Legitimisten hat dieses Projekt endlich überwunden. Ihr Rücktritt im Jahr 1879 symbolisierte den endgültigen Sieg des republikanischen Lagers, nachdem die Mehrheit, die sie bei den Wahlen von 1877 behalten konnte und die sie 1879 im Senat gewann.
Die Bildunterschrift des Porträts sollte jedoch nicht irreführen: Es war der siegreiche Soldat, der Marschall des Imperiums, den Vernet vertrat, und nicht der Politiker, dessen Schicksal beim Malen des Gemäldes noch verschleiert war.

  • Kämpfe
  • Marschälle
  • Porträt
  • Zweites Reich
  • Mac Mahon (Patrice de)
  • Thiers (Adolphe)
  • Louis Philippe
  • Sewastopol

Literaturverzeichnis

Jean-Paul BERTAUD und William SERMAN Neue Militärgeschichte Frankreichs, 1789-1919 Paris, Fayard, 1998 Gabriel de BROGLIE Mac Mahon Paris, Perrin, 2000 Jean TULARD (Regie) Wörterbuch des Zweiten Reiches Paris, Fayard, 1995.Horace Vernet, 1789-1863 Katalog der Ausstellung, Paris, Ecole nationale supérieure des beaux-arts, März-Juli 1980.

Um diesen Artikel zu zitieren

Barthélemy JOBERT und Pascal TORRÈS, "Mac Mahon, Marschall und Herzog des Imperiums"


Video: The Wise Maid - Joe Cooley