Louis XVIII, the image of a modern sovereign

Louis XVIII, the image of a modern sovereign


We are searching data for your request:

Forums and discussions:
Manuals and reference books:
Data from registers:
Wait the end of the search in all databases.
Upon completion, a link will appear to access the found materials.

Louis XVIII, King of France and Navarre.

© Photo RMN-Grand Palais - El Meliani

Publication date: March 2016

Historical context

The restored king

The defeat inflicted on Napoleon by the armies of the allied powers ended up causing his abdication in April 1814. Aware of his rights (1815 was for him the twentieth year of his reign), he was also in history: if he always defended the rights of the monarch, he also sought to practice a policy of reconciliation and, after 1815, detached himself from the “ultras”, the most intransigent faction of the royalist party.

Image Analysis

The monarch at work

The portrait painted by Gérard is a scaled-down replica of a composition originally intended for the Countess du Cayla, the sovereign's favorite, presented at the Salon of 1824 where it was a great success. Louis XVIII is represented in his study and, according to the libretto, "at the time of his arrival in 1814, meditating on the charter he will give to the French". This cabinet had been that of the Emperor, and the decor has not fundamentally changed. The king is in uniform because he officially commands the armies. It wears the decorations of the old monarchy (in particular the blue cordon of the order of the Holy Spirit), but also of the new France (the Legion of Honor). He was mostly seated at a small white wooden table, the same one he had used during all his years in exile. On the table, the Charter of 1814, "granted" by the king, which is in fact the constitution of the restored monarchy. However, the scene represented never took place as such: the Charter was not "meditated" by the king, but drafted by others following numerous discussions in which he had little part, and then approved by him. . But the accumulation of realistic elements and the political philosophy it asserts (the Charter "granted" by the sovereign) give the scene a plausible character.

Interpretation

The heir to tradition, the ruler of modern France

Gérard was able, in this painting, to renew in depth the traditional iconography, notably illustrated in France by Rigaud, and thereby give his work a political meaning that all contemporaries understood. Louis XVIII is not represented in the vestments of the coronation, with the insignia of his office, the scepter, the hand of justice and the crown, in an imaginary palace. Here he is in his usual surroundings, a place where only familiars and great servants of the state could enter. The spectator thus enters directly into royal intimacy. The realism of the painting accentuates this trait and at the same time makes it possible to skillfully evoke recent history: the legacy of the Empire, thanks to the decor of the cabinet, the memory of exile with the white wooden table which stands out the luxury of furnishings, the foundations of the restored monarchy with the Charter. Louis XVIII could not be satisfied with returning to occupy the throne of his fathers: he assumed, without forgetting anything, the years of the Revolution and of the Empire. So he is a modern, good-natured and familiar sovereign whom Gérard offers here the image.

  • Constitutional Charter
  • Louis XVIII
  • official portrait
  • Restoration
  • Tuileries

Bibliography

Claire CONSTANS National Museum of the Palace of Versailles: Paintings , 2 vol.Paris, RMN, 1995.Francis DEMIER 19th century France Paris, Seuil, coll. "Points Histoire", 2000.François FURET The Revolution, 1780-1880 Paris, Hachette, 1988, re-ed. "Plural", 1992.Evelyne LEVER Louis XVIII Paris, Fayard, 1988.Emmanuel de WARESQUIEL, Benoît YVERT History of the Restoration: birth of modern France Paris, Perrin, 1996 Claire CONSTANS National Museum of the Palace of Versailles: Paintings , 2 vol.Paris, RMN, 1995.Francis DEMIER 19th century France Paris, Seuil, coll. "Plural", 1992.Evelyne LEVER Louis XVIII Paris, Fayard, 1988.Emmanuel de WARESQUIEL, Benoît YVERT History of the Restoration: birth of modern France Paris, Perrin, 1996.

To cite this article

Pascal TORRÈS, "Louis XVIII, the image of a modern sovereign"


Video: Green Mountain Minerals - Whats Hot In Tucson: 2019

Ludwig XVIII., Das Bild eines modernen Souveräns

Ludwig XVIII., Das Bild eines modernen Souveräns

Ludwig XVIII., König von Frankreich und Navarra.

© Foto RMN-Grand Palais - El Meliani

Erscheinungsdatum: März 2016

Historischer Zusammenhang

Der restaurierte König

Die Niederlage, die Napoleon von den Armeen der alliierten Mächte zugefügt wurde, führte schließlich im April 1814 zu seiner Abdankung. Er war sich seiner Rechte bewusst (1815 war für ihn das zwanzigste Jahr seiner Regierungszeit), aber er war auch in der Geschichte: wenn er Er verteidigte immer die Rechte des Monarchen, versuchte auch eine Politik der Versöhnung und löste sich nach 1815 von der "Ultras", der unnachgiebigsten Fraktion der royalistischen Partei.

Bildanalyse

Der Monarch bei der Arbeit

Das von Gérard gemalte Porträt ist eine verkleinerte Nachbildung einer Komposition, die ursprünglich für die Gräfin du Cayla, die Favoritin des Souveräns, bestimmt war. Diese Komposition wurde im Salon von 1824 präsentiert und war ein großer Erfolg. Ludwig XVIII. Ist in seinem Arbeitszimmer vertreten und meditiert laut Libretto "zum Zeitpunkt seiner Ankunft im Jahr 1814 über die Charta, die er den Franzosen geben wird". Dieses Kabinett war das des Kaisers, und das Dekor hat sich nicht grundlegend geändert. Der König ist in Uniform, weil er offiziell die Armeen befehligt. Es trägt die Verzierungen der alten Monarchie (insbesondere des Cordon Bleu des Ordens des Heiligen Geistes), aber auch des neuen Frankreichs (der Ehrenlegion). Er sitzt meistens an einem kleinen weißen Holztisch, den er während all seiner Jahre im Exil benutzt hatte. Auf dem Tisch steht die vom König "gewährte" Charta von 1814, die in Wirklichkeit die Verfassung der wiederhergestellten Monarchie darstellt. Die dargestellte Szene fand jedoch nie als solche statt: Die Charta wurde vom König nicht "meditiert", sondern von anderen nach zahlreichen Diskussionen, an denen er wenig beteiligt war, entworfen und dann von ihm gebilligt. . Aber die Anhäufung realistischer Elemente und die politische Philosophie, die sie bekräftigt (die vom Souverän "gewährte" Charta), verleiht der Szene einen plausiblen Charakter.

Interpretation

Der Erbe der Tradition, der Herrscher des modernen Frankreich

Gérard konnte in diesem Gemälde die traditionelle Ikonographie, die Rigaud insbesondere in Frankreich illustrierte, eingehend erneuern und seinem Werk damit eine politische Bedeutung verleihen, die alle Zeitgenossen verstanden. Ludwig XVIII. Ist in den Gewändern der Krönung mit den Insignien seines Amtes, dem Zepter, der Hand der Gerechtigkeit und der Krone in einem imaginären Palast nicht vertreten. Er ist hier in seiner gewohnten Umgebung, einem Ort, an den nur Vertraute und große Staatsdiener eintreten konnten. Der Zuschauer tritt somit direkt in die königliche Intimität ein. Der Realismus des Gemäldes betont dieses Merkmal und ermöglicht es gleichzeitig, die jüngste Geschichte gekonnt zu evozieren: das Erbe des Imperiums, dank der Dekoration des Kabinetts, die Erinnerung an das Exil mit dem weißen Holztisch, der auffällt Der Luxus der Einrichtung, die mit der Charta wiederhergestellten Fundamente der Monarchie. Ludwig XVIII. Konnte sich nicht damit zufrieden geben, auf den Thron seiner Väter zurückzukehren: Er nahm, ohne etwas zu vergessen, die Jahre der Revolution und des Reiches an. Er ist also ein moderner, gutmütiger und vertrauter Herrscher, dem Gérard hier das Bild bietet.

  • Verfassungsurkunde
  • Ludwig XVIII
  • offizielles Porträt
  • Wiederherstellung
  • Tuilerien

Literaturverzeichnis

Claire CONSTANS Nationalmuseum des Schlosses von Versailles: Gemälde 2 vol.Paris, RMN, 1995.Francis DEMIER Frankreich des 19. Jahrhunderts Paris, Seuil, umg. "Points Histoire", 2000.François FURET Die Revolution, 1780-1880 Paris, Hachette, 1988, neu herausgegeben. "Plural", 1992. Evelyne HEBEL Ludwig XVIII Paris, Fayard, 1988. Emmanuel de WARESQUIEL, Benoît YVERT Geschichte der Restaurierung: Geburt des modernen Frankreich Paris, Perrin, 1996 Claire CONSTANS Nationalmuseum des Schlosses von Versailles: Gemälde 2 vol.Paris, RMN, 1995.Francis DEMIER Frankreich des 19. Jahrhunderts Paris, Seuil, umg. "Plural", 1992. Evelyne HEBEL Ludwig XVIII Paris, Fayard, 1988. Emmanuel de WARESQUIEL, Benoît YVERT Geschichte der Restaurierung: Geburt des modernen Frankreich Paris, Perrin, 1996.

Um diesen Artikel zu zitieren

Pascal TORRÈS, "Ludwig XVIII., Das Bild eines modernen Souveräns"


Video: Hubertus Kohle - Kunst als Erfahrung. Über den historischen Ort des digitalen Museums