Louis XVIII

Louis XVIII


We are searching data for your request:

Forums and discussions:
Manuals and reference books:
Data from registers:
Wait the end of the search in all databases.
Upon completion, a link will appear to access the found materials.

To close

Title: Louis XVIII, King of France and Navarre, born in Versailles on November 17, 1755.

Author : ANONYMOUS (-)

Creation date : 1815

Date shown: 1815

Dimensions: Height 42.5 - Width 33.4

Technique and other indications: Wood grain (colored with a stencil) on laid paper. Place of publication: Épinal. At Jean-Charles Pellerin (publisher, printer, bookseller)

Storage place: MuCEM website

Contact copyright: © Photo RMN-Grand Palais - J.-G. Berizzisite web

Picture reference: 02CE10152 / 52.39.143 C

Louis XVIII, King of France and Navarre, born in Versailles on November 17, 1755.

© Photo RMN-Grand Palais - J.-G. Berizzi

Publication date: January 2005

Historical context

This image is one of the earliest effigies of King Louis XVIII marking the return of the monarchy to France.
Louis XVIII, brother of Louis XVI, had been exiled abroad since 1791. Although hostile to the revolutionary movement, Louis XVIII had the political realism to retain part of the heritage and set up a constitutional monarchy. He then attempted to pursue a conciliatory policy - despite pressure from the ultras - while reaffirming the place of the aristocracy in France.
His reign lasted a short time: interrupted in 1815 by the Hundred Days, it ended on his death in 1824. His brother, the Comte d'Artois, leader of the ultraroyalists, succeeded him.

Image Analysis

The Restoration forced the publisher Jean-Charles Pellerin [1], yet defender and protected of the Empire, to publish from 1815 the effigy of the new king, thus erasing twenty-five years of struggle against the monarchy.

Carrying the attributes of royalty, Louis XVIII is represented on horseback while his obesity prohibited him from any equestrian activity. This type of representation is part of the tradition of equestrian portraiture, a tradition of representation of the royal effigy that dates back to Greco-Roman antiquity. The first Renaissance reappropriated this symbol of victory and then of power, notably in works such as the equestrian statue of Gattamelata, made by Donatello. He will disappear with the car. A prerogative of the ruling classes, this genre was recurrent under all regimes, and equestrian portraits of Empire generals, among others, abounded when Louis XVIII came to power.
His effigy, however, stands out from imperial portraits by a hieraticism that appeals to visual memories of the Ancien Régime. It is notably to be compared with numismatics. Coins and medals showed the sovereign in his most rigid aspect, in profile, somewhat dehumanized. Representative of God on earth, the king remained in the ancient popular imagination a supreme being, almost divine, impalpable and distant. Only his image was accessible, known to all, manipulated on a daily basis and therefore very popular.

Louis XVIII thus appears as a triumphant hero but, unlike his predecessor, no longer refers directly to Antiquity, which Napoleon used to legitimize his power. Liberator of an oppressed France, the Emperor had consolidated his reign through his Marmoreal effigy. Louis XVIII, in his turn, becomes this liberating hero, but by reaffirming monarchical traditions that the Revolution and then the Empire had strived to eradicate.

Interpretation

The success of the images of Épinal undoubtedly corresponds to the aspirations of the population. After years of suffering and war, peace and the return of old values ​​were expected. As a result of the radical changes resulting from the revolutionary turmoil, a kind of golden age was reborn in which the sovereign was the lord protector.
The political message of the print, unlike the staging, remains in fact medieval obedience and therefore re-establishes a millennial order marking the return of the monarchy to power.
This engraving thus legitimizes Louis XVIII's place on the throne of France and reflects the continuity of popular imagery to celebrate the great of this world, in particular through hawking, then in full swing.

  • Bourbons
  • Louis XVIII
  • portrait
  • Restoration
  • equestrian portrait

Bibliography

Georges BORDONOVE, Louis XVIII: the Desired, Paris, Pygmalion, 1989. Jean-Marie DUMONT, The Popular Master Engravers 1800-1850, Épinal, Pellerin, 1965.Annie DUPRAT, The kings of paper, caricature of Henri III to Louis XVI, Paris, Belin, 2002.Nicole GARNIER, French Popular Imagery, volume II "Images of Epinal engraved on wood", Paris, RMN, 1996.Évelyne LEVER, Louis XVIII, Paris, Fayard, 1988.Emmanuel de WARESQUIEL and Benoît YVERT, History of the Restoration: birth of modern France, Paris, Perrin, 1996.

Notes

1. Jean-Charles Pellerin, born in Épinal in 1756. The success of images retracing the imperial epic made the fortune of Pellerin imagery. Under the Empire, Jean-Charles Pellerin devotes part of his production to the Emperor. He was even invited by him to Paris to exhibit in 1806, and the jury appreciated his work. In 1814, the first catalog of its production (published in 1925) still includes images of imperial history, alongside religious iconography. The following year seems to have been a year of conciliation. Simple modifications of the printing woods have sometimes made it possible to transform members of the imperial family into those of the royal family. After 1815, however, he was worried about the censorship. Six hundred images of the imperial army are then captured in his shop. He was pardoned by the king in 1817. A few years later, following his trials, he sold his estate and his house to his son and his son-in-law.

To cite this article

Nathalie JANES, "Louis XVIII"


Video: Louis XVIII of France

Ludwig XVIII

Ludwig XVIII

Schließen

Titel: Ludwig XVIII., König von Frankreich und Navarra, geboren am 17. November 1755 in Versailles.

Autor: ANONYM (-)

Erstellungsdatum : 1815

Datum angezeigt: 1815

Maße: Höhe 42,5 - Breite 33,4

Technik und andere Indikationen: Holzmaserung (mit einer Schablone gefärbt) auf Bütten. Erscheinungsort: Épinal. Bei Jean-Charles Pellerin (Verlag, Drucker, Buchhändler)

Speicherort: MuCEM-Website

Kontakt Copyright: © Foto RMN-Grand Palais - J.-G. Berizzisite Web

Bildreferenz: 02CE10152 / 52.39.143 C.

Ludwig XVIII., König von Frankreich und Navarra, geboren am 17. November 1755 in Versailles.

© Foto RMN-Grand Palais - J.-G. Berizzi

Erscheinungsdatum: Januar 2005

Historischer Zusammenhang

Dieses Bild ist eines der frühesten Bildnisse von König Ludwig XVIII., Das die Rückkehr der Monarchie nach Frankreich kennzeichnet.
Ludwig XVIII., Der Bruder Ludwigs XVI., War seit 1791 ins Ausland verbannt worden. Obwohl Ludwig XVIII. Der revolutionären Bewegung feindlich gesinnt war, hatte er den politischen Realismus, einen Teil des Erbes zu bewahren und eine konstitutionelle Monarchie aufzubauen. Anschließend versuchte er - trotz des Drucks der Ultras - eine versöhnliche Politik zu verfolgen und bekräftigte gleichzeitig den Platz der Aristokratie in Frankreich.
Seine Regierungszeit dauerte kurze Zeit: Sie wurde 1815 von den Hundert Tagen unterbrochen und endete 1824 mit seinem Tod. Sein Bruder, der Comte d'Artois, Führer der Ultraroyalisten, folgte ihm nach.

Bildanalyse

Die Restauration zwang den Verleger Jean-Charles Pellerin [1], der dennoch Verteidiger und Schutz des Imperiums war, ab 1815 das Bildnis des neuen Königs zu veröffentlichen, wodurch 25 Jahre Kampf gegen die Monarchie ausgelöscht wurden.

Ludwig XVIII. Trägt die Attribute des Königshauses und ist zu Pferd vertreten, während seine Fettleibigkeit ihm jegliche Reittätigkeit untersagte. Diese Art der Darstellung ist Teil der Tradition der Reiterporträtmalerei, einer Tradition der Darstellung des königlichen Bildnisses, die bis in die griechisch-römische Antike zurückreicht. Die erste Renaissance übernahm dieses Symbol des Sieges und dann der Macht wieder, insbesondere in Werken wie der Reiterstatue von Gattamelata von Donatello. Er wird mit dem Auto verschwinden. Als Vorrecht der herrschenden Klassen war dieses Genre unter allen Regimen wiederkehrend, und Reiterporträts von Empire-Generälen waren unter anderem reichlich vorhanden, als Ludwig XVIII. An die Macht kam.
Sein Bildnis hebt sich jedoch von kaiserlichen Porträts durch einen Hieratismus ab, der visuelle Erinnerungen an das Ancien Régime anspricht. Es ist insbesondere mit der Numismatik zu vergleichen. Münzen und Medaillen zeigten den Souverän in seinem starrsten Aspekt, im Profil, etwas entmenschlicht. Als Repräsentant Gottes auf Erden blieb der König in der alten Volksphantasie ein höchstes Wesen, fast göttlich, unfühlbar und fern. Nur sein Bild war zugänglich, allen bekannt, täglich manipuliert und daher sehr beliebt.

Ludwig XVIII. Erscheint somit als triumphierender Held, bezieht sich aber im Gegensatz zu seinem Vorgänger nicht mehr direkt auf die Antike, mit der Napoleon seine Macht legitimierte. Als Befreier eines unterdrückten Frankreichs hatte der Kaiser seine Herrschaft durch sein Marmorbildnis gefestigt. Ludwig XVIII. Wird seinerseits zu diesem befreienden Helden, bekräftigt jedoch die monarchischen Traditionen, die die Revolution und dann das Imperium ausrotten wollten.

Interpretation

Der Erfolg der Bilder von Épinal entspricht zweifellos den Bestrebungen der Bevölkerung. Nach Jahren des Leidens und des Krieges wurden Frieden und die Rückkehr alter Werte erwartet. Infolge der radikalen Veränderungen, die durch die revolutionären Turbulenzen hervorgerufen wurden, wurde eine Art goldenes Zeitalter wiedergeboren, als der Souverän der Lord Beschützer war.
Die politische Botschaft des Drucks bleibt im Gegensatz zur Inszenierung der mittelalterliche Gehorsam und stellt daher eine tausendjährige Ordnung wieder her, die die Rückkehr der Monarchie an die Macht kennzeichnet.
Diese Gravur legitimiert somit den Platz Ludwigs XVIII. Auf dem Thron Frankreichs und spiegelt die Kontinuität der populären Bilder wider, um die Großen dieser Welt zu feiern, insbesondere durch Falken, dann in vollem Gange.

  • Bourbonen
  • Ludwig XVIII
  • Porträt
  • Wiederherstellung
  • Reiterporträt

Literaturverzeichnis

Georges BORDONOVE, Ludwig XVIII.: Der Gewünschte, Paris, Pygmalion, 1989. Jean-Marie DUMONT, The Popular Master Engravers 1800-1850, Épinal, Pellerin, 1965. Annie DUPRAT, Die Könige aus Papier, Karikatur von Henri III bis Ludwig XVI., Paris, Belin, 2002.Nicole GARNIER, Französische Volksbilder, Band II "Bilder von Epinal auf Holz graviert", Paris, RMN, 1996. Évelyne LEVER, Ludwig XVIII, Paris, Fayard, 1988. Emmanuel de WARESQUIEL und Benoît YVERT, Geschichte der Restaurierung: Geburt des modernen Frankreich, Paris, Perrin, 1996.

Anmerkungen

1. Jean-Charles Pellerin, geboren 1756 in Épinal. Der Erfolg von Bildern, die das kaiserliche Epos nachzeichnen, machte das Glück der Pellerin-Bilder aus. Unter dem Imperium widmet Jean-Charles Pellerin einen Teil seiner Produktion dem Kaiser. Er wurde sogar 1806 von ihm nach Paris eingeladen, um auszustellen, und die Jury schätzte seine Arbeit. Im Jahr 1814 enthält der erste Katalog seiner Produktion (veröffentlicht 1925) neben der religiösen Ikonographie noch Bilder der kaiserlichen Geschichte. Das folgende Jahr scheint ein Jahr der Versöhnung gewesen zu sein. Einfache Modifikationen der Druckhölzer haben es manchmal möglich gemacht, Mitglieder der kaiserlichen Familie in solche der königlichen Familie zu verwandeln. Nach 1815 machte er sich jedoch Sorgen um die Zensur. Sechshundert Bilder der kaiserlichen Armee wurden dann in seinem Geschäft aufgenommen. Er wurde 1817 vom König begnadigt. Einige Jahre später verkaufte er nach seinen Gerichtsverfahren sein Anwesen und sein Haus an seinen Sohn und seinen Schwiegersohn.

Um diesen Artikel zu zitieren

Nathalie JANES, "Louis XVIII"


Video: Arturo Benedetti Michelangeli - Haydn Concerto in G major