Louis XV child receiving a lesson

<em>Louis XV child receiving a lesson</em>

Louis XV as a child receiving a lesson, in the presence of Cardinal de Fleury and the Regent

© RMN-Grand Palais / Agence Bulloz

Publication date: July 2016

University of Evry-Val d'Essonne

Historical context

The education of the king

Louis XV, who became king at the age of 5 after the death of his great-grandfather, has yet to complete his training.

This anonymous painting, produced during the Regency, evokes the organization of the teaching given to the young sovereign. The scene probably takes place in the Tuileries, where the latter settled at the beginning of 1716, after leaving Versailles for Vincennes on the death of Louis XIV.

Some clues suggest that the lesson represented here takes place around 1717. The king was then 7 years old, the age at which the elementary education entrusted to his governess, Maman Ventadour, came to an end. Until his majority (13 years), he was surrounded by men who organized his theoretical and practical training intended to prepare him for the exercise of power.

The speakers are named in the will of his great-grandfather, then confirmed by the Parliament of Paris and the Regent, Philippe of Orleans: the Duke of Maine, legitimized bastard of Louis XIV, is Superintendent of Education; Marshal Villeroy, a soldier loyal to the late king, occupies the post of governor, while prelate André-Hercule de Fleury, former bishop of Fréjus, becomes tutor; two deputy governors (the Marquis de Saumery and de Ruffey) and several sub-preceptors complete this group.

Image Analysis

The pedagogical team

The young sovereign is represented seated, surrounded by seven figures. An eighth joins the library, located in the back plan. It may be the governor, surprisingly absent from the scene as his mission requires constant surveillance of the sovereign.

The Regent, easily recognizable by the blue ribbon of the Order of the Holy Spirit, visits his grandnephew. The latter shows with his right hand the documents he is studying, an oblong volume open on the table as well as a plan that extends to the floor, as if to signify that he is a good student. Behind them, three valets from the King's Civil House act as apparitors, bringing documents and objects. It is probably a course in military architecture on the art of fortifications - a subject that the sovereign is fond of - because the plan studied by the young king as well as that carried by one of the valets represent the lines of defense of a citadel.

Three prelates are seated on the other side of the marble table. André-Hercule de Fleury, facing the sovereign, is probably the master of the lesson; the future cardinal holds an increasingly important place with the monarch, and will become a few years later, between 1726 and 1743, his principal minister. The other two prelates probably belong to the group of sub-preceptors, which includes the abbots Jehan Vittement, Robert Pérot and Pierre-Joseph Alary. Fleury also secures the services of specialists in various fields, such as Father Dufour de Longuerue, who teaches historical geography.

Interpretation

Awakening to the sciences

This representation shows the important place of science in the training program of the young Louis XV. While classic disciplines, such as French, Latin or mathematics, are not neglected, the education of the sovereign also calls for new knowledge, such as biology, anatomy, astronomy or cartography. Thus, the painter represents a series of maps, volumes and scientific instruments, with a globe, a set square, an astrolabe, compasses or even a sundial, a scientific paraphernalia reflecting an educational change with an important practical component based on exercises.

Conversely, traditional subjects such as theology (including the Latin name, theologia, is inscribed at the top of the library) seem relegated to the background.

In this sense, this painting is a work of activism by placing modern tools of knowledge on the front of the stage. It follows on from representations of Louis XIV's visits to the new Royal Academy of Sciences and the Paris Observatory.

Subsequently, the educational program for the children of France further integrates scientific disciplines, which have become real management tools in the administration of the kingdom.

In the XVIIIe century, the sovereign moves less in learned institutions, because demonstrations come to him, as in Versailles, which becomes the "place of science education" (Pascale Mormiche).

  • regency
  • Louis XV
  • Tuileries
  • Fleury André Hercule (cardinal)

Bibliography

ANTOINE Michel, Louis XV, Paris, Fayard, 1989.

MORMICHE Pascale, Becoming a prince: the school of power in France (17th-18th centuries), Paris, CNRS Éditions, 2009.

PETITFILS Jean-Christian, Louis XV, Paris, Perrin, 2014.

SAULE Béatrix, ARMINJON Catherine (dir.), Sciences and curiosities at the court of Versailles, cat. exp. (Versailles, 2010-2011), Paris, Meeting of National Museums / Versailles, Palace of Versailles, 2010.

To cite this article

Stéphane BLOND, " Louis XV child receiving a lesson »


Video: CONVERSATION IN ENGLISH. Getting to Know Someone. LIVE ENGLISH LESSON

Louis XV Kind erhält eine Lektion

<em>Louis XV Kind erhält eine Lektion</em>

Louis XV Kind erhält eine Lektion in Anwesenheit von Kardinal de Fleury und dem Regenten

© RMN-Grand Palais / Agence Bulloz

Erscheinungsdatum: Juli 2016

Universität von Evry-Val d'Essonne

Historischer Zusammenhang

Die Erziehung des Königs

Ludwig XV., Der im Alter von 5 Jahren nach dem Tod seines Urgroßvaters König wurde, hat seine Ausbildung noch nicht abgeschlossen.

Dieses anonyme Gemälde, das während der Regentschaft entstanden ist, erinnert an die Organisation der Lehre, die dem jungen Souverän gegeben wurde. Die Szene spielt wahrscheinlich in den Tuilerien, wo sich diese Anfang 1716 niederließen, nachdem sie Versailles nach dem Tod Ludwigs XIV. Nach Vincennes verlassen hatten.

Einige Hinweise deuten darauf hin, dass der hier dargestellte Unterricht um 1717 stattfindet. Der König war damals 7 Jahre alt. In diesem Alter endete die seiner Gouvernante Maman Ventadour anvertraute Grundschulbildung. Bis zu seiner Mehrheit (13 Jahre) war er von Männern umgeben, die seine theoretische und praktische Ausbildung organisierten, um ihn auf die Ausübung von Macht vorzubereiten.

Die Redner werden nach dem Willen seines Urgroßvaters benannt, der dann vom Pariser Parlament und dem Regenten Philippe von Orleans bestätigt wird: Der Herzog von Maine, legitimierter Bastard Ludwigs XIV., Ist Superintendent of Education; Marschall Villeroy, ein dem verstorbenen König treuer Soldat, bekleidet das Amt des Gouverneurs, während Prälat André-Hercule de Fleury, ehemaliger Bischof von Fréjus, Tutor wird; Zwei stellvertretende Gouverneure (der Marquis de Saumery und de Ruffey) und mehrere Sub-Präzeptoren vervollständigen diese Gruppe.

Bildanalyse

Das pädagogische Team

Der junge Herrscher ist sitzend dargestellt, umgeben von sieben Figuren. Ein Achtel schließt sich der Bibliothek an, die sich im hinteren Plan befindet. Es kann der Gouverneur sein, der überraschenderweise nicht anwesend ist, da seine Mission eine ständige Überwachung des Souveräns erfordert.

Der Regent, leicht erkennbar am blauen Band des Ordens des Heiligen Geistes, besucht seinen Großneffen. Letzterer zeigt mit der rechten Hand die Dokumente, die er studiert, einen länglichen Band auf dem Tisch und einen Plan, der sich bis zum Boden erstreckt, als ob er ein guter Schüler wäre. Hinter ihnen treten drei Bedienstete des King's Civil House als Apparitoren auf und bringen Dokumente und Gegenstände mit. Es ist wahrscheinlich ein Kurs in militärischer Architektur über die Kunst der Befestigung - ein Thema, das der Souverän gern hat -, weil der vom jungen König studierte Plan sowie der von einem der Kammerdiener getragene Plan die Linien von darstellen Verteidigung einer Zitadelle.

Auf der anderen Seite des Marmortisches sitzen drei Prälaten. André-Hercule de Fleury, der dem Souverän gegenübersteht, ist wahrscheinlich der Meister der Lektion; Der zukünftige Kardinal nimmt beim Monarchen einen immer wichtigeren Platz ein und wird einige Jahre später, zwischen 1726 und 1743, sein Hauptminister. Die beiden anderen Prälaten gehören wahrscheinlich zur Gruppe der Subpräzeptoren, zu denen die Äbte Jehan Vittement, Robert Pérot und Pierre-Joseph Alary gehören. Fleury sichert sich auch die Dienste von Spezialisten auf verschiedenen Gebieten, wie beispielsweise Pater Dufour de Longuerue, der historische Geographie unterrichtet.

Interpretation

Erwachen zu den Wissenschaften

Diese Darstellung zeigt den wichtigen Platz der Wissenschaft im Ausbildungsprogramm des jungen Ludwig XV. Während klassische Disziplinen wie Französisch, Latein oder Mathematik nicht vernachlässigt werden, erfordert die Ausbildung des Souveräns auch neue Kenntnisse wie Biologie, Anatomie, Astronomie oder Kartographie. So repräsentiert der Maler eine Reihe von Karten, Bänden und wissenschaftlichen Instrumenten mit einem Globus, einem Quadrat, einem Astrolabium, einem Kompass oder sogar einer Sonnenuhr, einem wissenschaftlichen Utensil, das einen Bildungswandel mit einer wichtigen praktischen Komponente widerspiegelt Übungen.

Umgekehrt sind traditionelle Fächer wie Theologie (einschließlich des lateinischen Namens, Theologia, ist oben in der Bibliothek eingeschrieben) scheint in den Hintergrund verbannt zu sein.

In diesem Sinne ist dieses Gemälde ein Werk des Aktivismus, indem moderne Wissenswerkzeuge auf die Bühne gestellt werden. Es folgt aus Darstellungen der Besuche Ludwigs XIV. An der neuen Königlichen Akademie der Wissenschaften und am Pariser Observatorium.

In der Folge integriert das Bildungsprogramm für die Kinder Frankreichs die wissenschaftlichen Disziplinen, die zu echten Managementinstrumenten in der Verwaltung des Königreichs geworden sind.

Im XVIIIe Jahrhundert bewegt sich der Souverän weniger in gelehrten Institutionen, weil Demonstrationen zu ihm kommen, wie in Versailles, das zum "Ort des naturwissenschaftlichen Unterrichts" (Pascale Mormiche) wird.

  • Regentschaft
  • Louis XV
  • Tuilerien
  • Fleury André Hercule (Kardinal)

Literaturverzeichnis

ANTOINE Michel, Louis XV, Paris, Fayard, 1989.

MORMICHE Pascale, Prinz werden: die Machtschule in Frankreich (17.-18. Jahrhundert), Paris, CNRS Éditions, 2009.

PETITFILS Jean-Christian, Louis XV, Paris, Perrin, 2014.

SAULE Béatrix, ARMINJON Catherine (Regie), Wissenschaften und Kuriositäten am Hof ​​von Versailles, Katze. exp. (Versailles, 2010-2011), Paris, Treffen der Nationalmuseen / Versailles, Schloss Versailles, 2010.

Um diesen Artikel zu zitieren

Stéphane BLOND, " Louis XV Kind erhält eine Lektion »


Video: Hôtel Violette - the making of a french salon in the Louis XV Rococo style with boiserie