Louis XIV receives ambassadors from the thirteen Swiss cantons at the Louvre (November 11, 1663)

Louis XIV receives ambassadors from the thirteen Swiss cantons at the Louvre (November 11, 1663)


We are searching data for your request:

Forums and discussions:
Manuals and reference books:
Data from registers:
Wait the end of the search in all databases.
Upon completion, a link will appear to access the found materials.

Home ›Studies› Louis XIV receives ambassadors from the thirteen Swiss cantons at the Louvre (November 11, 1663)

Interview of the ambassadors of the thirteen Swiss cantons with King Louis XIV

© RMN-Grand Palais (Palace of Versailles) / Gérard Blot

Publication date: September 2017

University of Evry-Val d'Essonne

Historical context

Louis XIV, head of diplomacy

This painting is a reduced copy of one of the 17 cartoons drawn by Charles Le Brun, for the series of tapestries ordered from the Royal Manufacture of Goblins through Louis XIV and titled The King's Story. The 4epiece of 3e series refers to the interview in 1663 between Swiss diplomats and the young monarch whose personal reign began in 1661 with the death of Cardinal Mazarin (1602-1661).

Born in 1632 in Brussels where he began his career as a painter, Adam-Francois Van der Meulen passes from the service of the Spanish to that of the French at the request of Colbert (1619-1683) and under the authority of Charles Le Brun (1619-1690), first painter to the king and director of the Manufacture des Gobelins. This painting was produced in 1664, immediately after the event it represents, showing that tapestries and their multiple artistic derivatives are propaganda tools and information instruments directly linked to political news.

Image Analysis

Diplomatic ceremonial

The scene takes place on November 11, 1663 in the Dais room of the Louvre palace, seven days before the taking of the oath of alliance in Notre-Dame de Paris cathedral, an episode depicted on another tapestry. On these two works, the staging used by the artists shows that the king is the master. The ambassadors of the Helvetic Corps are easily identifiable on the right, with their beards and black clothes with white ruffs. In total, thirteen cantons are represented in Paris: Zurich, Bern, Lucerne, Uri, Schwyz, Obwalden / Nidwalden, Zug, Glarus, Basel, Friborg, Solothurn, Schaffhausen, Appenzell Ausserrhoden / Appenzell Lower Rhodes.

Louis XIV receives the delegation of the Helvetic Corps led by Johann Heinrich Waser (1600-1669), mayor of Zurich. The Grand Embassy has thirty-six ambassadors, of which a dozen appear here. Each canton is represented by two delegates, whose landamman, highest magistrate. We must add the representatives of the allies of the cantons forming the leagues, ie 36 ministers followed by secretaries, ushers or ambassadors bringing the delegation to 227 people. Le Brun and Van der Meulen describe the submissive homage paid to the King of France by the entire delegation. Dressed in a brocade jacket with gold thread, the king rises and uncovers himself to welcome the embassy, ​​a sign of the prestige of the guests and of the highly strategic nature of the alliance.

Interpretation

An unbalanced alliance

This reception is part of the long history of relations between the Kingdom of France and the Helvetic Leagues, since the first alliance concluded in 1444 with Charles VII. This new agreement is the result of patient preparatory work over fifteen years, accompanied by extensive correspondence and memories. From 1648, during the negotiations of the Westphalian treaties ending the Thirty Years' War, France provided support to the cantons so that an article recognized their independence from the Empire. The same year, the alliance concluded in 1602 with Henry IV is renegotiated.

Discussions were extended and delayed until 1663, because of the internal difficulties of the Confederation and the size of the French debt resulting from the military support of the Swiss Guards. During diplomatic negotiations, France is represented by Ambassador Jean de la Barde (1602-1692) who fiercely negotiates the terms and takes advantage of France's position of strength on the international scene. On September 24, 1663, the agreement was concluded in Solothurn, before an oath in Paris scheduled two months later. Despite the marks of respect shown by Louis XIV on this occasion, the terms of the agreement are considered unfair by the Swiss. The Helvetic Corps is placed under the dependence of France which obtains the neutrality of Franche-Comté, a buffer territory allied to Switzerland, and imposes the military defense of Alsace. This diplomatic coup de force reveals the power acquired by the Sun King in Europe, with a policy of territorial expansion that arouses fears.

  • Swiss
  • Louis XIV
  • Gobelins factory
  • embassies
  • Louvre

Bibliography

Lucien BÉLY, International relations in Europe, 17th-18th century, Paris, University Press of France, 2013, “Thémis”.

Lucien BÉLY, Spies and ambassadors in the time of Louis XIV, Paris, Fayard, 1990.

Edouard ROTT, History of the diplomatic representation of France to the Swiss cantons, their allies and their confederates, Berne, A. Benteli & Co, volume 6, 1917.

Claire-Marie LOMENECH, “The Swiss ambassadors in Paris in 1663. Protocol uses: between tradition and politics. ", Literature Studies, n ° 3, 2010, p. 155-162.

Guillaume POISSON, November 18, 1663: Louis XIV and the Swiss cantons, Lausanne, Presses polytechniques et universitaire romandes, 2016, “Swiss knowledge”.

Isabelle RICHEFORT, Adam-François Van der Meulen: Flemish painter in the service of Louis XIV, Rennes, Rennes University Press, 2004.

To cite this article

Stéphane BLOND, "Louis XIV receives at the Louvre the ambassadors of the thirteen Swiss cantons (November 11, 1663)"


Video: All Presidents, Emperors, and Kings of France

Ludwig XIV. Empfängt Botschafter aus den dreizehn Schweizer Kantonen im Louvre (11. November 1663)

Ludwig XIV. Empfängt Botschafter aus den dreizehn Schweizer Kantonen im Louvre (11. November 1663)

Startseite ›Studien› Ludwig XIV. Empfängt Botschafter aus den dreizehn Schweizer Kantonen im Louvre (11. November 1663)

Interview der Botschafter der dreizehn Schweizer Kantone mit König Ludwig XIV

© RMN-Grand Palais (Schloss von Versailles) / Gérard Blot

Erscheinungsdatum: September 2017

Universität von Evry-Val d'Essonne

Historischer Zusammenhang

Ludwig XIV., Leiter der Diplomatie

Dieses Gemälde ist eine verkleinerte Kopie eines der 17 von gezeichneten Cartoons Charles Le Brun, für die Reihe von Wandteppichen, die bei der Royal Manufacture of Goblins durch Ludwig XIV und betitelt Die Geschichte des Königs. Die 4eStück 3e Die Serie bezieht sich auf das Interview 1663 zwischen Schweizer Diplomaten und dem jungen Monarchen, dessen persönliche Regierungszeit 1661 mit dem Tod von Kardinal Mazarin (1602-1661) begann.

Geboren 1632 in Brüssel, wo er seine Karriere als Maler begann. Adam-François Van der Meulen geht auf Wunsch von aus dem Dienst der Spanier auf den der Franzosen über Colbert (1619-1683) und unter der Autorität von Charles Le Brun (1619-1690), erster Maler des Königs und Direktor der Manufacture des Gobelins. Dieses Gemälde wurde 1664 unmittelbar nach dem Ereignis, das es darstellt, hergestellt und zeigt, dass die Wandteppiche und ihre vielfältigen künstlerischen Ableitungen Propagandawerkzeuge und Informationsinstrumente darstellen, die in direktem Zusammenhang mit politischen Nachrichten stehen.

Bildanalyse

Diplomatische Zeremonie

Die Szene spielt am 11. November 1663 im Dais-Raum des Louvre-Palastes, sieben Tage vor dem Eid des Bündnisses in der Kathedrale Notre-Dame de Paris, eine Episode, die auf einem anderen Wandteppich abgebildet ist. Bei diesen beiden Werken zeigt die Inszenierung der Künstler, dass der König der Meister ist. Die Botschafter des Helvetic Corps sind rechts leicht zu erkennen, mit ihren Bärten und schwarzen Kleidern mit weißen Halskrausen. Insgesamt sind in Paris 13 Kantone vertreten: Zürich, Bern, Luzern, Uri, Schwyz, Obwalden / Nidwalden, Zug, Glarus, Basel, Freiburg, Solothurn, Schaffhausen, Appenzell Ausserrhoden / Appenzell Niederrhodos.

Ludwig XIV. Empfängt die Delegation des Helvetischen Korps unter der Leitung von Johann Heinrich Waser (1600-1669), Bürgermeister von Zürich. Die Große Botschaft hat sechsunddreißig Botschafter, von denen ein Dutzend hier erscheinen. Jeder Kanton wird von zwei Delegierten vertreten, deren Landamman, höchster Richter. Wir müssen die Vertreter der Verbündeten der Kantone, die die Ligen bilden, hinzufügen, dh 36 Minister, gefolgt von Sekretären, Gerichtsvollziehern oder Botschaftern, die die Delegation zu 227 Personen bringen. Le Brun und Van der Meulen beschreiben die unterwürfige Hommage, die die gesamte Delegation dem König von Frankreich entgegenbrachte. In einer Brokatjacke mit Goldfaden erhebt sich der König und deckt sich auf, um die Botschaft zu begrüßen, ein Zeichen des Prestiges der Gäste und des äußerst strategischen Charakters der Allianz.

Interpretation

Eine unausgeglichene Allianz

Dieser Empfang ist Teil der langen Geschichte der Beziehungen zwischen dem Königreich Frankreich und den helvetischen Ligen seit dem ersten Bündnis, das 1444 mit Karl VII. Geschlossen wurde. Diese neue Vereinbarung ist das Ergebnis von Patientenvorbereitungsarbeiten über fünfzehn Jahre, begleitet von umfangreicher Korrespondenz und Erinnerungen. Ab 1648 unterstützte Frankreich die Kantone während der Verhandlungen über die westfälischen Verträge zur Beendigung des Dreißigjährigen Krieges, so dass in einem Artikel ihre Unabhängigkeit vom Imperium anerkannt wurde. Im selben Jahr schloss die Allianz 1602 mit Heinrich IV wird neu verhandelt.

Die Gespräche wurden aufgrund der internen Schwierigkeiten des Bundes und der Höhe der französischen Schulden, die sich aus der militärischen Unterstützung der Schweizer Garde ergaben, bis 1663 verlängert und verzögert. Während der diplomatischen Verhandlungen wird Frankreich von Botschafter Jean de la Barde (1602-1692) vertreten, der die Bedingungen heftig aushandelt und die Stärke Frankreichs auf internationaler Ebene ausnutzt. Am 24. September 1663 wurde das Abkommen in Solothurn geschlossen, bevor zwei Monate später ein Eid in Paris angesetzt wurde. Trotz des Respekts, den Ludwig XIV. Bei dieser Gelegenheit zeigte, wurden die Bedingungen der Vereinbarung von den Schweizern als unfair angesehen. Das Helvetische Korps steht unter der Abhängigkeit Frankreichs, das die Neutralität der Franche-Comté, eines mit der Schweiz verbündeten Puffergebiets, erlangt und die militärische Verteidigung des Elsass auferlegt. Dieser diplomatische Coup de Force zeigt die Macht, die der Sonnenkönig in Europa erlangt hat, mit einer Politik der territorialen Expansion, die Ängste weckt.

  • schweizerisch
  • Ludwig XIV
  • Gobelins Fabrik
  • Botschaften
  • Louvre

Literaturverzeichnis

Lucien BÉLY, Internationale Beziehungen in Europa, 17.-18. Jahrhundert, Paris, University Press of France, 2013, „Thémis“.

Lucien BÉLY, Spione und Botschafter in der Zeit Ludwigs XIV, Paris, Fayard, 1990.

Edouard ROTT, Geschichte der diplomatischen Vertretung Frankreichs gegenüber den Schweizer Kantonen, ihren Verbündeten und ihren Konföderierten, Bern, A. Benteli & Co, Band 6, 1917.

Claire-Marie LOMENECH, „Die Schweizer Botschafter in Paris im Jahre 1663. Protokoll verwendet: zwischen Tradition und Politik. ", Literaturwissenschaft, Nr. 3, 2010, p. 155-162.

Guillaume POISSON, 18. November 1663: Ludwig XIV. Und die Schweizer Kantone, Lausanne, Presses polytechniques et universitaire romandes, 2016, „Schweizer Wissen“.

Isabelle RICHEFORT, Adam-François Van der Meulen: Flämischer Maler im Dienste Ludwigs XIV, Rennes, Rennes University Press, 2004.

Um diesen Artikel zu zitieren

Stéphane BLOND, "Ludwig XIV. Empfängt im Louvre die Botschafter der dreizehn Schweizer Kantone (11. November 1663)"


Video: Je suis Charlie: Paris gathers after terror attack