Louis XIV receives the Grand Condé in the grand staircase of Versailles after his victory at Seneffe in 1674

Louis XIV receives the Grand Condé in the grand staircase of Versailles after his victory at Seneffe in 1674

Home ›Studies› Louis XIV receives the Grand Condé in the grand staircase of Versailles after his victory at Seneffe in 1674

Louis XIV receiving Louis II of Bourbon, known as the Grand Condé, in Versailles after the battle of Senef

© RMN-Grand Palais (Palace of Versailles) / Gérard Blot

Publication date: December 2019

University of Evry-Val d'Essonne

Historical context

Glory by arms

Charles Doërr (1815-1894) was a pupil of Léon Cogniet, painter of historical scenes whose influence is undeniable in this painting presented at the Salon of French artists in 1857. The art critic Louis Auvray, secretary-administrator of the Central Committee of Artists, maintains a catalog of works which evokes the fashion perpetuated in historical painting during the Salon of 1857, but it does not cite the painting by Doërr, whose notoriety is late.

Traditionally, history painting is then oriented towards official buyers, which confirms Catherine Granger, who identifies the Return of the Grand Condé in the civil list of Napoleon III. Twenty years later, the painting is attested in the apartment of the Quaestor of the Senate installed in Versailles, which supports the thesis of a purchase for this institution.

The artist takes as his subject of study the commemoration of an emblematic battle of the beginning of the personal reign of Louis XIV. The French army was led by Louis II de Bourbon-Condé (1621-1686), known as Le Grand Condé, a formidable strategist honored in this painting.

Image Analysis

A warlord received as a hero

The scene represents the reception of the victorious chief by the Court of the King of France, in residence at Versailles, while the palace is under construction. The artist commits an anachronism in the treatment of the scene which he places in the staircase which leads to the Large Apartment of the Queen, whereas this one is not completed until 1680. In 1878, the painter Jean- Léon Gérôme reproduces the same scene, but takes the Ambassadors' staircase as a frame. The latter hosts receptions and leads to the King's Grand Apartment where the kingdom's major events are held. This staircase was destroyed in the middle of the 18th century.e century, but since the Queen's Staircase has seen few changes since the reign of Louis XIV, the artist probably prefers it as a model, especially when going there to create his composition.

The Grand Condé, a character whose military glory was born with the victory of Rocroi in 1643, presented himself with respect before the sovereign. Exhausted by gout, he leans on his cane and slowly makes his way to the landing where the royal family is standing, with the king, queen and the 13-year-old dolphin. The artist stands at the heart of the event, in a corner of the stairwell, in order to offer a wider view, despite a smaller work. The play of light and the different shots focus the spectator's gaze towards the center of the canvas, while the characters have eyes and admiration only for the warlord, like the king who holds out his arm left to greet him. Within the variegated decoration of the marbles, the courtiers are adorned with luxurious and colorful clothes which make the Court of Louis XIV a model of dress for all the nobility. The writer Jules Verne was seduced by this staging: “The color of this canvas has a singular harshness that we must not complain too much about, because it causes a marvelous shine and shows all the opulence of Mr. Charles Doërr. The military commander presents himself in armor, as if arriving from the battlefield, as the reception takes place in November, two months after the clash of arms.

Interpretation

An emperor worthy of the war king

Despite a composition imbued with empathy, it is the warlike policies of Louis XIV that Charles Doërr puts forward, in particular the stature of the victorious king. Like the crossing of the Rhine, Seneffe became a subject of propaganda in the weeks following the battle, a logic that continued in the middle of the 19th century.e century when the artist seeks an emblematic subject of the Grand Siècle. The sovereign receives the first prince of the blood, whose loyalty was tested when he took the head of the Princes' Fronde against the troops of his royal cousin. In his historicizing work, the artist evokes the forgiveness of the King of France, able to properly honor a military leader with a highly symbolic ceremony.

On the ground, the military situation is much more contrasted than the artistic message conveyed. If the French soldiers, clearly outnumbered, repel the assaults of the allies, the human losses are such that the idea of ​​victory is dismissed. Lonely on the international scene in 1674, France managed to avert the invasion of the kingdom thanks to the strategic action of one man. Nevertheless, the prince is placed slightly below in relation to the sovereign, in order to demonstrate that only the king, head of the armies, collects the laurels of victory. The armored chief is followed by his comrades in arms who carry the flags taken from the enemy.

Almost two centuries after the battle, the acquisition of the work by Napoleon III revealed the links between power and artists, under the leadership of Emilien de Nieuwerkerke, director of the Museums of France and intendant of fine arts of the House of the Emperor. This support reflects the aesthetic and historical choices of the Emperor, with a canvas that places the politics of the moment in line with that of the great rulers of the Ancien Régime. Credited with a large victory in the legislative elections of 1857, a year after the end of the Crimean War and the defeat of Russia, the subject chosen by Charles Doërr flatters the Emperor's taste for paintings of military history. By proxy, they also make him a warlord worthy of his prestigious predecessors. Since 2010, the canvas has joined the north wing of the Ministers of the Palace of Versailles.

  • antiquity
  • history painting
  • Napoleon III
  • Versailles
  • battles
  • Louis XIV
  • Holland War
  • United Provinces
  • Grand Condé
  • military
  • Maria Theresa of Austria
  • monarchical court
  • propaganda
  • Sling

Bibliography

The Grand Condé. The Sun King's rival? exhibition catalog, Gent, Snoeck editions, 2016.

Katia BÉGUIN, The Princes of Condé. Rebels, courtiers and patrons in Grand Siècle France, Seyssel, Champ Vallon, 1999.

Joël CORNETTE, The King of War. Essay on Sovereignty in Grand Siècle France, Paris, Payot, coll. "Historical Library", 1993.

Catherine GRANGER, The Emperor and the Arts. The civil list of Napoleon III, Paris, School of Charters, 2005.

Hervé HASQUIN, Louis XIV facing northern Europe. Absolutism defeated by freedoms, Brussels, Racine editions, 2005.

Gabriel LEANCA (dir.), The foreign policy of Napoleon III, Paris, L’Harmattan, 2011.

Clement MONNIER, The Battle of Seneffe, August 11, 1674, Nivelles, Royal Society of Archeology, History and Folklore of Nivelles and Walloon Brabant, 1886.

Dominique PALADILHE, The Grand Condé, hero of the wars of Louis XIV, Paris, Pygmalion, 2008.

To cite this article

Stéphane BLOND, "Louis XIV receives the Grand Condé in the grand staircase of Versailles after his victory at Seneffe in 1674"


Video: MTV Cribs: Palace of Versailles with Louis XIV - @MrBettsClass

Nach seinem Sieg in Seneffe im Jahr 1674 erhält Ludwig XIV. Den Grand Condé im großen Treppenhaus von Versailles

Nach seinem Sieg in Seneffe im Jahr 1674 erhält Ludwig XIV. Den Grand Condé im großen Treppenhaus von Versailles

Startseite ›Studien› Ludwig XIV. Erhält nach seinem Sieg in Seneffe 1674 den Grand Condé in der großen Treppe von Versailles

Ludwig XIV. Empfing Ludwig II. Von Bourbon, bekannt als Grand Condé, in Versailles nach der Schlacht von Senef

© RMN-Grand Palais (Schloss von Versailles) / Gérard Blot

Erscheinungsdatum: Dezember 2019

Universität von Evry-Val d'Essonne

Historischer Zusammenhang

Ruhm durch Arme

Charles Doërr (1815-1894) war ein Schüler von Léon Cogniet, einem Maler historischer Szenen, dessen Einfluss auf dieses Gemälde unbestreitbar ist, das 1857 im Salon französischer Künstler präsentiert wurde. Der Kunstkritiker Louis Auvray, Sekretär und Administrator des Zentralkomitees der Künstler unterhält einen Katalog von Werken, der an die Mode erinnert, die in der historischen Malerei während des Salons von 1857 verewigt wurde, zitiert jedoch nicht das Gemälde von Doërr, dessen Bekanntheit spät ist.

Traditionell orientiert sich die Historienmalerei dann an offiziellen Käufern, was Catherine Granger bestätigt, die die identifiziert Rückkehr des Grand Condé in der bürgerlichen Liste von Napoleon III. Zwanzig Jahre später wird das Gemälde in der Wohnung des Quästors des Senats in Versailles bezeugt, was die These eines Kaufs für diese Einrichtung stützt.

Der Künstler thematisiert das Gedenken an eine emblematische Schlacht zu Beginn der persönlichen Regierungszeit Ludwigs XIV. Die französische Armee wurde von Ludwig II. Von Bourbon-Condé (1621-1686) geführt, bekannt als Le Grand Condé, einem beeindruckenden Strategen, der in diesem Gemälde geehrt wird.

Bildanalyse

Ein Kriegsherr erhielt als Held

Die Szene zeigt den Empfang des siegreichen Häuptlings durch den Hof des Königs von Frankreich in seiner Residenz in Versailles, während das Schloss im Bau ist. Der Künstler begeht einen Anachronismus bei der Behandlung der Szene, die er in der Treppe platziert, die zur großen Wohnung der Königin führt, während diese erst 1680 fertiggestellt wird. 1878 wurde der Maler Jean- Léon Gérôme reproduziert dieselbe Szene, nimmt jedoch die Treppe der Botschafter als Rahmen. Letzteres beherbergt Empfänge und führt zum King's Grand Apartment, wo die wichtigsten Ereignisse des Königreichs stattfinden. Diese Treppe wurde Mitte des 18. Jahrhunderts zerstört.e Jahrhundert, aber da die Treppe der Königin seit der Regierungszeit Ludwigs XIV. nur wenige Veränderungen erfahren hat, bevorzugt der Künstler sie wahrscheinlich als Modell, insbesondere wenn er dorthin geht, um seine Komposition zu schaffen.

Der Grand Condé, ein Charakter, dessen militärischer Ruhm mit dem Sieg von Rocroi im Jahre 1643 geboren wurde, präsentierte sich vor dem Souverän mit Respekt. Erschöpft von Gicht stützt er sich auf seinen Stock und macht sich langsam auf den Weg zum Treppenabsatz, auf dem die königliche Familie mit dem König, der Königin und dem 13-jährigen Delphin steht. Der Künstler steht im Mittelpunkt der Veranstaltung in einer Ecke des Treppenhauses, um trotz kleinerer Arbeiten eine breitere Sicht zu bieten. Das Lichtspiel und die verschiedenen Einstellungen lenken den Blick des Zuschauers auf die Mitte der Leinwand, während die Figuren nur für den Kriegsherrn Augen und Bewunderung haben, wie der König, der seinen Arm ausstreckt links, um ihn zu begrüßen. Innerhalb der bunten Dekoration der Murmeln sind die Höflinge mit luxuriösen und farbenfrohen Kleidern geschmückt, die den Hof Ludwigs XIV. Zu einem Kleidungsmodell für den ganzen Adel machen. Der Schriftsteller Jules Verne war von dieser Inszenierung verführt: „Die Farbe dieser Leinwand hat eine einzigartige Härte, über die wir uns nicht zu sehr beklagen dürfen, weil sie einen wunderbaren Glanz hervorruft und die ganze Opulenz von Mr. Charles Doërr. Der Militärbefehlshaber präsentiert sich in Rüstung, als käme er vom Schlachtfeld, als der Empfang im November, zwei Monate nach dem Waffenstillstand, stattfindet.

Interpretation

Ein Kaiser, der des Kriegskönigs würdig ist

Trotz einer von Empathie geprägten Komposition ist es die kriegerische Politik Ludwigs XIV., Die Charles Doërr vorbringt, insbesondere die Statur des siegreichen Königs. Wie die Rheinüberquerung wurde Seneffe in den Wochen nach der Schlacht zum Thema der Propaganda, eine Logik, die Mitte des 19. Jahrhunderts fortgesetzt wurde.e Jahrhundert, in dem der Künstler ein emblematisches Thema des Grand Siècle sucht. Der Souverän empfängt den ersten Prinzen des Blutes, dessen Loyalität geprüft wurde, als er den Kopf der Fürstenfronde gegen die Truppen seines königlichen Cousins ​​nahm. In seiner historisierenden Arbeit erinnert der Künstler an die Vergebung des Königs von Frankreich, der in der Lage ist, einen Militärführer mit einer symbolträchtigen Zeremonie angemessen zu ehren.

Vor Ort ist die militärische Situation viel kontrastreicher als die übermittelte künstlerische Botschaft. Wenn die deutlich zahlenmäßig unterlegenen französischen Soldaten die Angriffe der Alliierten abwehren, sind die menschlichen Verluste so groß, dass die Idee des Sieges verworfen wird. Frankreich, das 1674 einsam auf internationaler Ebene war, gelang es dank der strategischen Aktion eines Mannes, die Invasion des Königreichs abzuwenden. Trotzdem wird der Prinz in Bezug auf den Souverän etwas tiefer gestellt, um zu demonstrieren, dass nur der König, Oberhaupt der Armeen, die Lorbeeren des Sieges sammelt. Dem gepanzerten Häuptling folgen seine Waffenbrüder, die die Flaggen des Feindes tragen.

Fast zwei Jahrhunderte nach der Schlacht enthüllte der Erwerb des Werkes durch Napoleon III. Die Verbindungen zwischen Macht und Künstlern unter der Leitung von Emilien de Nieuwerkerke, Direktor der französischen Museen und Intendant der bildenden Künste von das Haus des Kaisers. Diese Unterstützung spiegelt die ästhetischen und historischen Entscheidungen des Kaisers wider, mit einer Leinwand, die die Politik des Augenblicks mit der der großen Herrscher des Ancien Régime in Einklang bringt. Das von Charles Doërr gewählte Thema, dem ein großer Sieg bei den Parlamentswahlen von 1857, ein Jahr nach dem Ende des Krimkrieges und der Niederlage Russlands, zugeschrieben wird, schmeichelt dem Geschmack des Kaisers für Gemälde der Militärgeschichte. Als Stellvertreter machen sie ihn auch zu einem Kriegsherrn, der seiner angesehenen Vorgänger würdig ist. Seit 2010 ist die Leinwand dem Nordflügel der Minister des Schlosses von Versailles beigetreten.

  • Antike
  • Historienmalerei
  • Napoleon III
  • Versailles
  • Kämpfe
  • Ludwig XIV
  • Holland Krieg
  • Vereinigte Provinzen
  • Grand Condé
  • Militär-
  • Maria Theresia von Österreich
  • monarchisches Gericht
  • Propaganda
  • Schlinge

Literaturverzeichnis

Das Grand Condé. Der Rivale des Sonnenkönigs? Ausstellungskatalog, Gent, Snoeck Editionen, 2016.

Katia BÉGUIN, Die Fürsten von Condé. Rebellen, Höflinge und Gönner in Grand Siècle Frankreich, Seyssel, Champ Vallon, 1999.

Joël CORNETTE, Der König des Krieges. Essay über Souveränität in Grand Siècle Frankreich, Paris, Payot, umg. "Historische Bibliothek", 1993.

Catherine GRANGER, Der Kaiser und die Künste. Die zivile Liste Napoleons III, Paris, School of Charters, 2005.

Hervé HASQUIN, Ludwig XIV. Mit Blick auf Nordeuropa. Absolutismus durch Freiheiten besiegt, Brüssel, Racine-Ausgaben, 2005.

Gabriel LEANCA (dir.), Die Außenpolitik Napoleons III, Paris, L’Harmattan, 2011.

Clement MONNIER, Die Schlacht von Seneffe, 11. August 1674, Nivelles, Königliche Gesellschaft für Archäologie, Geschichte und Folklore von Nivelles und Wallonisch-Brabant, 1886.

Dominique PALADILHE, Der Grand Condé, Held der Kriege Ludwigs XIV, Paris, Pygmalion, 2008.

Um diesen Artikel zu zitieren

Stéphane BLOND, "Ludwig XIV. Erhält den Grand Condé auf der großen Treppe von Versailles nach seinem Sieg in Seneffe im Jahr 1674"


Video: Ludwig der 14., Ludwig XIV. Besuch in SCHLOSS VERSAILLES