Louis XIV protector of the Arts and Sciences

Louis XIV protector of the Arts and Sciences


We are searching data for your request:

Forums and discussions:
Manuals and reference books:
Data from registers:
Wait the end of the search in all databases.
Upon completion, a link will appear to access the found materials.

To close

Title: Allegory to Louis XIV, protector of the Arts and Sciences.

Author : GARNIER Jean (1632 - 1705)

Date shown:

Dimensions: Height 163 - Width 204

Technique and other indications: Oil on canvas

Storage place: National Museum of the Palace of Versailles (Versailles) website

Contact copyright: © Photo RMN-Grand Palais (Palace of Versailles) / Daniel Arnaudet / Hervé Lewandowski

Picture reference: 89-000968 / MV2184

Allegory to Louis XIV, protector of the Arts and Sciences.

© Photo RMN-Grand Palais (Palace of Versailles) / Daniel Arnaudet / Hervé Lewandowski

Publication date: April 2013

Historical context

King of war, king of the sun, Louis XIV also wants to be the protector of the arts and sciences. Especially since the young monarch, born in 1638, of the union of Louis XIII and Anne of Austria, has a pronounced taste for the arts. From the start of his personal reign in 1661, Louis XIV paid particular attention to the arts - he organized parties, musical and dancing shows, assembled a vast collection of paintings - but also to artists.

This declared taste quickly turned into an institutional organization with a takeover and an extension of already existing organizations which soon became the cornerstone of the artistic policy desired by the king. The brilliant artistic and cultural policy of the “century of Louis XIV” was then launched.

Image Analysis

Jean Garnier (1632-1705) was admitted to the Royal Academy in 1670 as a painter of still lifes. For his reception piece, he chose to paint a portrait of Louis XIV in a medallion surrounded by a bass and a viol top, a violin, a guitar, a court musette, a score, scientific instruments, a globe and books. Each of these assembled patterns represents an attribute of the arts and sciences. To these symbols the painter also associated fruits arranged in the foreground, while in the background stand out columns. Finally, to the left of the portrait of the king which dominates the entire composition, there is the bust of Athena, tutelary deity of the arts.

Interpretation

The juxtaposition of musical instruments and fruits gives the painting its allegorical meaning. By this, the painter signifies the abundance of the kingdom and "the harmony or the perfect agreements which are found in the government of the State", as already indicated at the time Guillet de Saint-Georges, first historiographer of the Academy. The painting takes up an ancient tradition which, since the Italian Renaissance, has mixed objects of everyday life in allegorical paintings of famous figures, thus giving the portrait an intimate character.

If the musical instruments take a considerable part in the symbolic grammar of the painting, because of the attention paid to them by Louis XIV - himself a gifted musician in particular for the guitar -, Garnier did not forget the objects referring to the science. We thus find, in addition to a pile of books, symbols of knowledge and wisdom, other objects that evoke knowledge of the Universe, a compass emblem of exact sciences and mathematical rigor, as well as a celestial globe. The latter can also evoke music which is based on the harmony of the heavens, or even, by its spherical shape, the absolute power of the monarch. The painter gave Louis's face an air of grandeur and noble pride, of gravity and attention which summed up his qualities in a "mirror of the prince": in the image of François Ier, this young warrior king in breastplate is also a sovereign friend of the arts.

  • Louis XIV
  • allegory
  • music
  • French Academy in Rome
  • Acadamy of Arts
  • Great Century

Bibliography

Chantal GRELL and Benoît PELLISTRANDI (dir.), The Courts of France and Spain in the 17th century, Madrid, Casa de Velasquez, 2007.

Jacqueline LICHTENSTEIN and Christian MICHEL (dir.), Lectures from the Royal Academy of Painting and Sculpture, National School of Fine Arts in Paris, 2008.

Michel FARE, The Grand Siècle of still life in France: the 17th century, Friborg-Paris, Office du Livre-Société Française du Livre, 1974.

To cite this article

Pascal DUPUY, "Louis XIV protector of the Arts and Sciences"

Glossary

  • Academy of Fine Arts: Created in 1816 by the union of the Academy of Painting and Sculpture, founded in 1648, the Academy of Music, founded in 1669 and the Academy of Architecture, founded in 1671. Institution which brings together artists distinguished by an assembly of peers and usually working for the crown. It defines the rules of art and good taste, trains artists, organizes exhibitions.

  • Video: Royal Serenade in the Hall of Mirrors, Versailles

Louis XIV Beschützer der Künste und Wissenschaften

Louis XIV Beschützer der Künste und Wissenschaften

Schließen

Titel: Allegorie auf Ludwig XIV., Beschützer der Künste und Wissenschaften.

Autor: GARNIER Jean (1632 - 1705)

Datum angezeigt:

Maße: Höhe 163 - Breite 204

Technik und andere Indikationen: Öl auf Leinwand

Lagerraum: Website des Nationalmuseums des Schlosses von Versailles (Versailles)

Kontakt Copyright: © Foto RMN-Grand Palais (Schloss von Versailles) / Daniel Arnaudet / Hervé Lewandowski

Bildreferenz: 89-000968 / MV2184

Allegorie auf Ludwig XIV., Beschützer der Künste und Wissenschaften.

© Foto RMN-Grand Palais (Schloss von Versailles) / Daniel Arnaudet / Hervé Lewandowski

Erscheinungsdatum: April 2013

Historischer Zusammenhang

König des Krieges, König der Sonne, Ludwig XIV. Will auch der Beschützer der Künste und Wissenschaften sein. Dies gilt umso mehr, als der junge Monarch, der 1638 aus der Vereinigung von Ludwig XIII. Und Anne von Österreich geboren wurde, einen ausgeprägten Geschmack für die Kunst hat. Seit Beginn seiner persönlichen Regierungszeit im Jahr 1661 widmete Ludwig XIV. Den Künsten besondere Aufmerksamkeit - er organisierte Partys, Musik- und Tanzshows, stellte eine große Sammlung von Gemälden zusammen - aber auch Künstlern.

Dieser erklärte Geschmack verwandelte sich schnell in eine institutionelle Organisation mit einer Übernahme und Erweiterung bereits bestehender Organisationen, die bald zum Eckpfeiler der vom König gewünschten künstlerischen Politik wurde. Anschließend wurde die brillante Kunst- und Kulturpolitik des „Jahrhunderts Ludwigs XIV.“ Gestartet.

Bildanalyse

Jean Garnier (1632-1705) wurde 1670 als Maler von Stillleben in die Royal Academy aufgenommen. Für sein Empfangsstück entschied er sich, ein Porträt von Ludwig XIV. In einem Medaillon zu malen, das von einem Bass und einer Geigenplatte, einer Geige, einer Gitarre, einer Hofmusette umgeben ist. eine Partitur, wissenschaftliche Instrumente, ein Globus und Bücher. Jedes dieser zusammengesetzten Muster repräsentiert ein Attribut der Künste und Wissenschaften. Diesen Symbolen verband der Maler auch Früchte, die im Vordergrund angeordnet waren, während im Hintergrund hervorstechende Säulen standen. Links neben dem Porträt des Königs, das die gesamte Komposition dominiert, befindet sich die Büste der Athene, der Schutzgottheit der Künste.

Interpretation

Das Nebeneinander von Musikinstrumenten und Früchten verleiht dem Gemälde seine allegorische Bedeutung. Damit bezeichnet der Maler die Fülle des Königreichs und "die Harmonie oder die vollkommenen Vereinbarungen, die in der Regierung des Staates zu finden sind", wie bereits zu der Zeit Guillet de Saint-Georges, der erste Historiker von die Akademie. Das Gemälde knüpft an eine alte Tradition an, die seit der italienischen Renaissance Alltagsgegenstände in allegorischen Gemälden berühmter Persönlichkeiten vermischt und dem Porträt so einen intimen Charakter verleiht.

Wenn die Musikinstrumente eine bedeutende Rolle in der symbolischen Grammatik des Gemäldes spielen, hat Garnier aufgrund der Aufmerksamkeit, die Ludwig XIV. - selbst ein begabter Musiker, insbesondere für die Gitarre - ihm geschenkt hat, die Gegenstände, auf die er sich bezieht, nicht vergessen Wissenschaft. So finden wir neben einem Stapel Bücher, Symbolen des Wissens und der Weisheit auch andere Objekte, die Wissen über das Universum hervorrufen, ein Kompassemblem der exakten Wissenschaften und der mathematischen Strenge sowie einen Himmelsglobus. Letzteres kann auch Musik hervorrufen, die auf der Harmonie des Himmels oder durch seine Kugelform auf der absoluten Macht des Monarchen beruht. Der Maler verlieh Louis 'Gesicht einen Hauch von Größe und edlem Stolz, Schwerkraft und Aufmerksamkeit, der seine Qualitäten in einem "Spiegel des Prinzen" zusammenfasste: nach dem Bild von François I.ähDieser junge Kriegerkönig in Rüstung ist auch ein souveräner Freund der Künste.

  • Ludwig XIV
  • Allegorie
  • Musik-
  • Französische Akademie in Rom
  • Akademie der Künste
  • Großes Jahrhundert

Literaturverzeichnis

Chantal GRELL und Benoît PELLISTRANDI (dir.), Die Gerichte von Frankreich und Spanien im 17. Jahrhundert, Madrid, Casa de Velasquez, 2007.

Jacqueline LICHTENSTEIN und Christian MICHEL (dir.), Vorträge der Royal Academy of Painting and Sculpture, Nationale Schule der Schönen Künste in Paris, 2008.

Michel FARE, Der Grand Siècle des Stilllebens in Frankreich: das 17. Jahrhundert, Freiburg-Paris, Büro du Livre-Société Française du Livre, 1974.

Um diesen Artikel zu zitieren

Pascal DUPUY, "Louis XIV Beschützer der Künste und Wissenschaften"

Glossar

  • Akademie der bildenden Künste: 1816 von der Vereinigung der 1648 gegründeten Akademie für Malerei und Skulptur, der 1669 gegründeten Musikakademie und der 1671 gegründeten Akademie für Architektur gegründet. Institution Das bringt Künstler zusammen, die sich durch eine Versammlung von Kollegen auszeichnen und normalerweise für die Krone arbeiten. Es definiert die Regeln der Kunst und des guten Geschmacks, bildet Künstler aus, organisiert Ausstellungen.

  • Video: Versailles, from Louis XIII to the French Revolution