Louis XIII, "one faith, one law, one king"

Louis XIII,


We are searching data for your request:

Forums and discussions:
Manuals and reference books:
Data from registers:
Wait the end of the search in all databases.
Upon completion, a link will appear to access the found materials.

To close

Title: Louis XIII (1601-1643)

Author : VOUET (after) Simon (1590 - 1649)

Creation date : 1620

Dimensions: Height 178 cm - Width 142.5 cm

Technique and other indications: This composition is said to be a studio replica of a painting by Simon Vouet kept in Versailles

Storage location: National Museum of the Palace of Versailles (Versailles) website

Contact copyright: RMN-Grand Palais (Palace of Versailles) / Daniel Arnaudet / Gérard Blot

Picture reference: 85-000138-02 / MV3367

© RMN-Grand Palais (Palace of Versailles) / Daniel Arnaudet / Gérard Blot

Publication date: February 2018

Academy Inspector Deputy Academic Director

Historical context

The portrait of a baroque painter

This composition is said to be a studio replica of a painting by Simon Vouet kept in Versailles. Due to the master's workshop and the work of one of his students (Simon's brother, Aubin?), It is considered more rigid than the prototype, which was probably executed in 1627, after Vouet's return to Paris. . Simon Vouet lived in Italy for fifteen years before being recalled by Louis XIII to France. Most of the French artists of the first XVIIe century benefit from his teaching and his example.

Simon Vouet demonstrates in this work the measure of his mastery of drapery and the sense of balance within a triangular composition whose upper point is held by the figure of the king.

Image Analysis

The prince of two kingdoms

Louis XIII in armor and seated holds a short cane, equivalent to a staff of command. Surrounded by a laurel wreath, he wears a sash of the Order of the Holy Spirit and a white stole, a “monarchical and dynastic sign” (Y. Lignereux) inscribing the sovereign filiation in the epic gesture of Henri IV, founder of the Bourbon dynasty. The white scarf became a recurring motif in royal iconology during the reign of Louis XIII.

As in the portrait of victorious Louis XIII painted by Philippe de Champaigne, the king wears a rich articulated armor, very close to another royal armor kept at the Army Museum and weighing nearly 27 kg, which protects the body from bullets musket from head to knees. Boots with spurs are a reminder of the importance of the cavalry in commanding war.

Two women representing France (on the left) and Navarre (on the right, with her clearly identifiable arms) are kneeling at the king's feet. They seem to be in awe of the monarch, who acts as an intermediary between the stage and the spectator through his gaze.

Interpretation

One king, one faith, one law

This representation takes up many pictorial elements present in other portraits of Louis XIII: the hooked mustache, the pointed goatee, the wavy hair descending on the shoulders, the ornate armor, the white scarf, the cord and the cross. of the order of the Holy Spirit… It thus participates in the fixing of an iconic model of the king of France as a king of war. Philippe de Champaigne and Juste d´Egmont also stand out in this register.

Simon Vouet (and his pupil), however, chose to add two significant allegorical figures to the king. Since the accession of the Bourbons to the throne (Henri IV in 1589, father of Louis XIII), the kings of France have also been king of Navarre. The two kingdoms were united in a personal way by the sovereign until 1620, when Louis XIII took advantage of the civil wars which opposed him to some of his Protestant subjects to re-establish Catholicism in Béarn and Navarre, and to reunite officially these two territories to the crown. The edict of October 28, 1620 formalizes this attachment, even if the kings of France continue to use the title "king of France and Navarre".

Simon Vouet's canvas therefore seems to illustrate the adage "one faith, one law, one king" which wanted only one official religion - the Roman Catholic religion -, one single source of law and one single sovereign to exercise their authority in the world. kingdom of France.

  • Louis XIII
  • official portrait
  • Henry IV
  • absolute monarchy
  • allegory
  • religion

Bibliography

Pierre CHEVALLIER, Louis XIII, Cornelian King, Fayard, Paris, 1979.

Denis LAVALLE and Jacques THUILLIER (dir.), Vouet, Réunion des Musées Nationaux, 1990. Catalog of the exhibition held at the Grand Palais from November 6, 1990 to February 11, 1991.

Yann LIGNEREUX, The imaginary kings. A visual history of the monarchy from Charles VIII to Louis XIV, Rennes University Press, Rennes, 2016.

Stéphane LOIRE (dir.), Simon Vouet, international conference proceedings (National Galleries of the Grand Palais, 5-7 February 1991), Paris, La documentation française, 1992.

Jean-Christian PETITFILS, Louis XIII, Perrin, Paris, 2008.

To cite this article

Jean HUBAC, "Louis XIII," a faith, a law, a king ""


Video: Liberty Chronicles, Ep. 22; Creoleness and Cruelty in Colonial Louisiana

Ludwig XIII., "Ein Glaube, ein Gesetz, ein König"

Ludwig XIII.,

Schließen

Titel: Louis XIII (1601-1643)

Autor: VOUET (nach) Simon (1590 - 1649)

Erstellungsdatum : 1620

Maße: Höhe 178 cm - Breite 142,5 cm

Technik und andere Indikationen: Diese Komposition soll eine Atelierreplik eines in Versailles aufbewahrten Gemäldes von Simon Vouet sein

Lagerraum: Website des Nationalmuseums des Schlosses von Versailles (Versailles)

Kontakt Copyright: RMN-Grand Palais (Schloss von Versailles) / Daniel Arnaudet / Gérard Blot

Bildreferenz: 85-000138-02 / MV3367

© RMN-Grand Palais (Schloss von Versailles) / Daniel Arnaudet / Gérard Blot

Erscheinungsdatum: Februar 2018

Akademischer Inspektor Stellvertretender akademischer Direktor

Historischer Zusammenhang

Das Porträt eines Barockmalers

Diese Komposition soll eine Atelierreplik eines in Versailles aufbewahrten Gemäldes von Simon Vouet sein. Aufgrund der Meisterwerkstatt und der Arbeit eines seiner Schüler (Simons Bruder Aubin?) Gilt sie als starrer als der Prototyp, der wahrscheinlich 1627 nach Vouets Rückkehr nach Paris ausgeführt wurde. . Simon Vouet lebte fünfzehn Jahre in Italien, bevor er von Ludwig XIII. Nach Frankreich zurückgerufen wurde. Die meisten französischen Künstler des ersten XVIIe Jahrhundert profitieren von seiner Lehre und seinem Beispiel.

Simon Vouet demonstriert in dieser Arbeit das Maß seiner Beherrschung des Gewandes und des Gleichgewichtssinns innerhalb einer dreieckigen Komposition, deren oberster Punkt von der Figur des Königs gehalten wird.

Bildanalyse

Der Prinz zweier Königreiche

Ludwig XIII. In Rüstung und sitzend hält er einen kurzen Stock, der einem Kommandostab entspricht. Umgeben von einem Lorbeerkranz trägt er eine Schärpe des Ordens des Heiligen Geistes und eine weiße Stola, ein „monarchisches und dynastisches Zeichen“ (Y. Lignereux), das die souveräne Filiation in die epische Geste von Henri IV., Gründer von die Bourbonen-Dynastie. Der weiße Schal wurde während der Regierungszeit Ludwigs XIII. Zu einem wiederkehrenden Motiv in der königlichen Ikonologie.

Wie auf dem von Philippe de Champaigne gemalten Porträt des siegreichen Ludwig XIII. Trägt der König eine reichhaltige Gelenkrüstung, die einer anderen königlichen Rüstung im Armeemuseum sehr nahe kommt und fast 27 kg wiegt und den Körper vor Kugeln schützt Muskete vom Kopf bis zu den Knien. Stiefel mit Sporen erinnern an die Bedeutung der Kavallerie für die Führung des Krieges.

Zwei Frauen, die Frankreich (links) und Navarra (rechts, mit ihren deutlich identifizierbaren Armen) repräsentieren, knien zu Füßen des Königs. Sie scheinen Ehrfurcht vor dem Monarchen zu haben, der durch seinen Blick als Vermittler zwischen Bühne und Zuschauer fungiert.

Interpretation

Ein König, ein Glaube, ein Gesetz

Diese Darstellung nimmt viele Bildelemente auf, die in anderen Porträts Ludwigs XIII. Vorhanden sind: den Hakenschnurrbart, den spitzen Spitzbart, das wellige Haar auf den Schultern, die verzierte Rüstung, den weißen Schal, die Schnur und das Kreuz. der Ordnung des Heiligen Geistes… Sie beteiligt sich somit an der Festlegung eines ikonischen Modells des Königs von Frankreich als König des Krieges. Philippe de Champaigne und Juste d´Egmont sind ebenfalls in diesem Register hervorzuheben.

Simon Vouet (und sein Schüler) entschieden sich jedoch dafür, dem König zwei bedeutende allegorische Figuren hinzuzufügen. Seit der Thronbesteigung der Bourbonen (Henri IV. 1589, Vater Ludwigs XIII.) Sind die Könige von Frankreich auch König von Navarra. Die beiden Königreiche wurden vom Souverän auf persönliche Weise vereinigt, bis Ludwig XIII. Die Bürgerkriege ausnutzte, die ihn gegen einige seiner protestantischen Untertanen aussprachen, um den Katholizismus in Béarn und Navarra wiederherzustellen und wieder zu vereinen offiziell diese beiden Gebiete zur Krone. Das Edikt vom 28. Oktober 1620 formalisiert diesen Anhang, auch wenn die Könige von Frankreich weiterhin den Titel "König von Frankreich und Navarra" verwenden.

Die Leinwand von Simon Vouet scheint daher das Sprichwort "ein Glaube, ein Gesetz, ein König" zu veranschaulichen, das nur eine offizielle Religion - die römisch-katholische Religion -, eine einzige Rechtsquelle und einen einzigen Souverän wollte, um ihre Autorität in der Welt auszuüben. Königreich Frankreich.

  • Ludwig XIII
  • offizielles Porträt
  • Heinrich IV
  • absolute Monarchie
  • Allegorie
  • Religion

Literaturverzeichnis

Pierre CHEVALLIER, Ludwig XIII., Kornelkirche, Fayard, Paris, 1979.

Denis LAVALLE und Jacques THUILLIER (dir.), Vouet, Réunion des Musées Nationaux, 1990. Katalog der Ausstellung, die vom 6. November 1990 bis 11. Februar 1991 im Grand Palais stattfand.

Yann LIGNEREUX, Die imaginären Könige. Eine visuelle Geschichte der Monarchie von Karl VIII. Bis Ludwig XIV, Rennes University Press, Rennes, 2016.

Stéphane LOIRE (dir.), Simon Vouet, internationale Konferenzberichte (Nationale Galerien des Grand Palais, 5.-7. Februar 1991), Paris, La Dokumentation française, 1992.

Jean-Christian PETITFILS, Ludwig XIII, Perrin, Paris, 2008.

Um diesen Artikel zu zitieren

Jean HUBAC, "Louis XIII," ein Glaube, ein Gesetz, ein König ""


Video: ZDF History - Maria Theresia