The Maginot line

The Maginot line

  • The King of Great Britain Georges VI visits the fortifications of the Maginot Line.

    ANONYMOUS

  • André Maginot in the uniform of a sergeant of the 44th Territorial Infantry Regiment, circa 1919.

    MANUEL Henri (1874 - 1947)

To close

Title: The King of Great Britain George VI visits the fortifications of the Maginot Line.

Author : ANONYMOUS (-)

Creation date : 1939

Date shown: November 1939

Dimensions: Height 0 - Width 0

Technique and other indications: Georges VI accompanied by French General Gamelin, Commander-in-Chief of the Franco-British forces on the Western Front.

Storage place: Bildarchiv Preussischer Kulturbesitz (Berlin) website

Contact copyright: © BPK, Berlin, Dist RMN-Grand Palais - Photographer unknown

Picture reference: 04-505556

The King of Great Britain Georges VI visits the fortifications of the Maginot Line.

© BPK, Berlin, Dist RMN-Grand Palais - Photographer unknown

To close

Title: André Maginot in the uniform of a sergeant of the 44th Territorial Infantry Regiment, circa 1919.

Author : MANUEL Henri (1874 - 1947)

Date shown:

Dimensions: Height 39.2 - Width 29.1

Technique and other indications: Gelatin-silver print on paper.

Storage place: Army Museum (Paris) website

Contact copyright: © Paris - Army Museum, Dist. RMN-Grand Palais - All rights reserved

Picture reference: 06-515208 / 2006.3.135

André Maginot in the uniform of a sergeant of the 44th Territorial Infantry Regiment, circa 1919.

© Paris - Army Museum, Dist. RMN-Grand Palais - All rights reserved

Publication date: February 2009

Historical context

The Franco-British alliance at the start of the war.

On September 3, 1939, France and Great Britain jointly declared war on Germany, under agreements binding them to Poland, which had been invaded by Nazi armies. Gamelin is confident in the defensive strategy centered around the Maginot Line, a gigantic system of fortifications that stretches from the Alps to the Ardennes and which owes its name to André Maginot (1877-1932), Minister of War from 1929 to 1932, photographed here in 1919.
Built mainly from 1929 to 1936, it consists of an elaborate set of galleries and underground casemates equipped with heavy artillery (shells, cannons, mortar in particular). This is the "funny war". On December 9, 1939, the day the photograph was taken, King George VI (1895-1952), ascended to the throne after the abdication of Edward VII in 1936 and chief of the armies of the Commonwealth countries, visited the work Hackenberg, the most important fort of the line, located in Veckring (fortified sector of Boulay), in Moselle.

Image Analysis

Official visit to Hackenberg.

The photograph, anonymous, was taken at the end of the visit, when the king, recognizable by his British uniform lighter than those of the French, leaves through the ammunition entrance, level entrance, with refueling by rail (elsewhere there is a more massive entry for men). His young face is serious and focused. He is surrounded, among others, by General Gamelin (to his left, in the first row) and by the squadron leader Henri Ébrard, commander of the fortified work (the man in the beret in the second row to his left). Other men come out after them, giving the impression of a small beehive. In the foreground on the left of the image, a small detachment of the 164th Line Infantry Regiment honors him. On the ground appear the rails that allow trains to access the galleries of the work, dug thirty meters deep and ten kilometers long. A black rectangle stands out clearly: the entrance to an underground world, lit by lamps (a small luminous circle allows one to be distinguished). On each side of this entrance, four flags (two French and two British) as well as the arms of the army. The concrete structure of this part of Hackenberg is imposing (even partially cut off), and the men emerging from it appear almost small. Their movement, even frozen in the photograph, contrasts with the immobile work.

The second photograph is a portrait of André Maginot, with a slightly melancholy look, in the uniform of a sergeant of the 44th Territorial Infantry Regiment (number on the collar). It dates from 1919 and was produced by Manuel Henri (1874-1947), official photographer of the French government from 1914 to 1944. On the jacket, the medals rewarding the conduct of Maginot: Under-Secretary of State for War in 1913 , he joined the front where he was wounded in 1914.

Interpretation

Defensive strategy, a legacy of 14-18

The cliché is "official," that is, intended and authorized, both to immortalize the king's visit to Hackenberg and to deliver a political message. It appears both in the archives of the fort and in many newspapers the next day. He evokes the Franco-British alliance: the mixed flags, like the fact that the king is surrounded by French officers, remind us that the fate of the two armies is now linked in a common fight. The solemnity of the serious and determined faces, the military order (the uniforms, the line of soldiers saluting), give the impression that everything is perfectly in order. France and Great Britain are ready and determined to fight. It is around the Maginot Line that this will have to be organized. The imposing nature of the structure must give an impression of security: the position is impregnable. The king and General Gamelin can therefore come there without risk, make sure that everything is working well, and thus reassure the opinions and the staffs of their countries. The organization of the line is modern (the railway ensures rapid transport of troops and men) and as well regulated as the course of the visit and the behavior of its actors. The darkness of the galleries hides from the view of the spectators what must remain the military secret of the precise device of the Maginot defense. But far from worrying, this only reinforces the reassuring idea of ​​a high-performance fortress, where trained soldiers use the most modern means to fight.

The construction of the line was influenced by Maginot's participation in the conflict of 1914-1918: it was a question, in a pacifist will, of ensuring lasting peace. The melancholy air may be due to the memory of the atrocities of the war, which should not be repeated. Maginot, on the other hand, was able to impose his views because of his soldier's background: the uniform he wears here, as well as his decorations, helped to establish his authority and legitimacy. Likewise, Gamelin was still marked by the previous conflict and he envisioned a war of position rather than a war of movement. The defensive strategy he advocated stems from a certain inability of the general staff to shed the (glorious) past and turn to military modernity.

  • Maginot line
  • War of 39-45
  • propaganda
  • United Kingdom
  • military strategy

Bibliography

Martin S. ALEXANDER, The Republic in Danger: General Maurice Gamelin and the Politics of French Defense, 1933-1940 Cambridge University Press 1992. Marc BLOCH, The strange defeat. Testimony written in 1940, Paris, Société des Éditions Franc-Tireur, 1946.Yves DURAND, France in World War II, 1939-1945, A. Colin, 1993. Jean-Bernard WAHL, Once upon a time there was the Maginot Line, Jérôme Do Betzinger Publisher, 1999.

To cite this article

Alban SUMPF, "The Maginot Line"


Video: The Maginot Line Explained

Die Maginot-Linie

Die Maginot-Linie

  • Der König von Großbritannien George VI besucht die Befestigungen der Maginot-Linie.

    ANONYM

  • André Maginot in der Uniform eines Sergeanten des 44. Territorialen Infanterieregiments, um 1919.

    MANUEL Henri (1874 - 1947)

Schließen

Titel: Der König von Großbritannien, Georges VI., Besucht die Befestigungen der Maginot-Linie.

Autor: ANONYM (-)

Erstellungsdatum : 1939

Datum angezeigt: November 1939

Maße: Höhe 0 - Breite 0

Technik und andere Indikationen: Georges VI. Begleitet von dem französischen General Gamelin, dem Oberbefehlshaber der französisch-britischen Streitkräfte an der Westfront.

Speicherort: Website des Bildarchiv Preußischen Kulturbesitzes (Berlin)

Kontakt Copyright: © BPK, Berlin, Dist RMN-Grand Palais - Fotograf unbekannt

Bildreferenz: 04-505556

Der König von Großbritannien, Georges VI., Besucht die Befestigungen der Maginot-Linie.

© BPK, Berlin, Dist RMN-Grand Palais - Fotograf unbekannt

Schließen

Titel: André Maginot in der Uniform eines Sergeanten des 44. Territorialen Infanterieregiments, um 1919.

Autor: MANUEL Henri (1874 - 1947)

Datum angezeigt:

Maße: Höhe 39,2 - Breite 29,1

Technik und andere Indikationen: Silbergelatineabzug auf Papier.

Speicherort: Website des Armeemuseums (Paris)

Kontakt Copyright: © Paris - Armeemuseum, Dist. RMN-Grand Palais - Alle Rechte vorbehalten

Bildreferenz: 06-515208 / 2006.3.135

André Maginot in der Uniform eines Sergeanten des 44. Territorialen Infanterieregiments, um 1919.

© Paris - Armeemuseum, Dist. RMN-Grand Palais - Alle Rechte vorbehalten

Erscheinungsdatum: Februar 2009

Historischer Zusammenhang

Das französisch-britische Bündnis zu Beginn des Krieges.

Am 3. September 1939 erklärten Frankreich und Großbritannien Deutschland gemeinsam den Krieg im Rahmen von Vereinbarungen, die sie an Polen banden, in das die Nazi-Armeen eingedrungen waren. Gamelin ist zuversichtlich in die Verteidigungsstrategie rund um die Maginot-Linie, ein gigantisches Befestigungssystem, das sich von den Alpen bis zu den Ardennen erstreckt und seinen Namen dem von 1929 bis 1932 fotografierten Kriegsminister André Maginot (1877-1932) verdankt hier im Jahr 1919.
Es wurde hauptsächlich von 1929 bis 1936 erbaut und besteht aus einer Reihe von Galerien und unterirdischen Kasematten, die mit schwerer Artillerie ausgerüstet sind (Granaten, Kanonen, insbesondere Mörser). Dies ist der "lustige Krieg". Am 9. Dezember 1939, dem Tag, an dem das Foto aufgenommen wurde, bestieg König George VI. (1895-1952), der nach der Abdankung von Edward VII. Im Jahr 1936 und Chef der Armeen der Commonwealth-Länder den Thron bestieg, das Werk Hackenberg, das wichtigste Fort der Linie, befindet sich in Veckring (befestigter Sektor von Boulay) an der Mosel.

Bildanalyse

Offizieller Besuch in Hackenberg.

Das anonyme Foto wurde am Ende des Besuchs aufgenommen, als der König, erkennbar an seiner britischen Uniform, die leichter als die der Franzosen ist, durch den Munitionseingang, den ebenen Eingang, mit Betankung auf der Schiene geht (Es gibt anderswo einen massiveren Eintrag von Männern). Sein junges Gesicht ist ernst und konzentriert. Er ist unter anderem von General Gamelin (zu seiner Linken in der ersten Reihe) und vom Geschwaderführer Henri Ébrard, dem Kommandeur des befestigten Werkes (dem Mann in der Baskenmütze in der zweiten Reihe zu seiner Linken) umgeben. Andere Männer kommen hinter ihnen her und erwecken den Eindruck eines kleinen Bienenstocks. Im Vordergrund links im Bild ehrt ihn eine kleine Abteilung des Infanterieregiments der 164. Linie. Auf dem Boden erscheinen die Schienen, die den Zügen den Zugang zu den Galerien des Bauwerks ermöglichen, die dreißig Meter tief und zehn Kilometer lang gegraben wurden. Ein schwarzes Rechteck fällt deutlich auf: der Eingang zu einer unterirdischen Welt, die von Lampen beleuchtet wird (ein kleiner leuchtender Kreis ermöglicht die Unterscheidung). Auf jeder Seite dieses Eingangs befinden sich vier Flaggen (zwei französische und zwei britische) sowie die Arme der Armee. Die Betonstruktur dieses Teils von Hackenberg ist imposant (sogar teilweise abgeschnitten), und die Männer, die daraus hervorgehen, wirken fast klein. Ihre Bewegung, selbst durch das Foto eingefroren, steht im Kontrast zur unbeweglichen Arbeit.

Das zweite Foto ist ein Porträt von André Maginot mit einem leicht melancholischen Aussehen in der Uniform eines Sergeanten des 44. Territorialen Infanterieregiments (Nummer am Kragen). Es stammt aus dem Jahr 1919 und wurde von Manuel Henri (1874-1947), offizieller Fotograf der französischen Regierung von 1914 bis 1944, produziert. Auf der Jacke die Medaillen, die das Verhalten von Maginot belohnen: Staatssekretär für Krieg im Jahr 1913 Er trat der Front bei, wo er 1914 verwundet wurde.

Interpretation

Verteidigungsstrategie, ein Erbe von 14-18

Das Klischee ist "offiziell", dh beabsichtigt und autorisiert, sowohl den Besuch des Königs in Hackenberg zu verewigen als auch eine politische Botschaft zu übermitteln. Es erscheint sowohl im Archiv der Festung als auch in vielen Zeitungen am nächsten Tag. Er erinnert an das französisch-britische Bündnis: Die gemischten Flaggen, wie die Tatsache, dass der König von französischen Offizieren umgeben ist, erinnern uns daran, dass das Schicksal der beiden Armeen jetzt in einem gemeinsamen Kampf verbunden ist. Die Feierlichkeit der ernsten und entschlossenen Gesichter, die militärische Ordnung (die Uniformen, die salutierenden Soldaten) erwecken den Eindruck, dass alles in Ordnung ist. Frankreich und Großbritannien sind bereit und entschlossen zu kämpfen. Um die Maginot-Linie herum muss dies organisiert werden. Die imposante Natur der Struktur muss einen Eindruck von Sicherheit vermitteln: Die Position ist uneinnehmbar. Der König und General Gamelin können daher ohne Risiko dorthin kommen, sicherstellen, dass alles gut funktioniert, und so die Meinungen und Mitarbeiter ihrer Länder beruhigen. Die Organisation der Strecke ist modern (die Eisenbahn sorgt für einen schnellen Transport von Truppen und Männern) und ebenso geregelt wie der Verlauf des Besuchs und das Verhalten ihrer Akteure. Die Dunkelheit der Galerien verbirgt vor den Zuschauern, was das militärische Geheimnis des präzisen Maginot-Verteidigungssystems bleiben muss. Dies ist jedoch alles andere als besorgniserregend und bestärkt nur die beruhigende Idee einer Hochleistungsfestung, in der ausgebildete Soldaten mit modernsten Mitteln kämpfen.

Der Bau der Linie wurde durch die Beteiligung von Maginot am Konflikt von 1914-1918 beeinflusst: Es ging in pazifistischem Willen darum, dauerhaften Frieden zu gewährleisten. Die melancholische Luft kann auf die Erinnerung an die Gräueltaten des Krieges zurückzuführen sein, die nicht wiederholt werden sollten. Maginot hingegen konnte seine Ansichten aufgrund des Hintergrunds seines Soldaten durchsetzen: Die Uniform, die er hier trägt, sowie seine Verzierungen trugen dazu bei, seine Autorität und Legitimität zu etablieren. Ebenso blieb Gamelin vom vorherigen Konflikt geprägt und stellte sich eher einen Positionskrieg als einen Bewegungskrieg vor. Die von ihm befürwortete Verteidigungsstrategie beruht auf einer gewissen Unfähigkeit des Personals, die (glorreiche) Vergangenheit loszuwerden und sich der militärischen Moderne zuzuwenden.

  • Maginot Linie
  • Krieg von 39-45
  • Propaganda
  • Großbritannien
  • Militärstrategie

Literaturverzeichnis

Martin S. ALEXANDER, Die Republik in Gefahr: General Maurice Gamelin und die Politik der französischen Verteidigung, 1933-1940 Cambridge University Press 1992. Marc BLOCH, Die seltsame Niederlage. Zeugnis geschrieben im Jahr 1940, Paris, Société des Éditions Franc-Tireur, 1946. Yves DURAND, Frankreich im Zweiten Weltkrieg1939-1945, A. Colin, 1993. Jean-Bernard WAHL, Es war einmal die Maginot-Linie, Jérôme Do Betzinger Verlag, 1999.

Um diesen Artikel zu zitieren

Alban SUMPF, "Die Maginot-Linie"


Video: Found Real Ammo In Largest Bunker Of Europe