Leon Gambetta

Leon Gambetta

To close

Title: Leon Gambetta.

Author : LEGROS Alphonse (1837 - 1911)

Creation date : 1875

Date shown: 1875

Dimensions: Height 65 - Width 55

Technique and other indications: Oil on canvas

Storage location: Orsay Museum website

Contact copyright: © Photo RMN-Grand Palais - J. P. Lagiewski

Picture reference: 86DE109 / RE 2770

© Photo RMN-Grand Palais - J. Lagiewski

Publication date: March 2016

Historical context

Léon Gambetta (Cahors 1838-Paris 1882), lawyer, opposed to the imperial regime, played a major political role in the aftermath of the defeat of Sedan, in the government of National Defense. From this tribune with the immense reputation, nicknamed the "commercial traveler of the Republic" dying young and in dramatic circumstances, History was going to seize on itself to build a myth.

Image Analysis

The Louvre Archives, in the documents concerning the reports of the Museum's Acquisitions Committee, preserve this eloquent testimony, dated March 29, 1930: “M. Léonce Bénédite, Curator of the Musée du Luxembourg, reminds his colleagues that he had already informed them of the intention expressed by Sir Charles Dilke to bequeath to the Luxembourg Museum after his death and the death of Lady Dilke, Legros' portrait of Gambetta. M. Bénédite gave an account of the visit he had recently had the opportunity to pay to Sir Charles Dilke in London: he saw the portrait, which is very remarkable and which is the only portrait of Gambetta painted from life [ when Gambetta visited Sir Charles Dilke to establish a Franco-English alliance through the English radicals]. Bénédite believes that if Sir Charles Dilke were offered a copy of this portrait, he would not wait until his death to offer it to the Luxembourg Museum. He therefore asks that a letter be addressed to Sir Charles Dilke, 76 Hoane Street in London, thanking him for his generous intention, however late it may be. The painting will join the collections of the Musée du Luxembourg in 1911, on the death of its donor.

Interpretation

If the caricature press had been abundantly inspired by Gambetta's impressive body of tribune, his vast and elusive forehead, his particularly prominent nose, he had in fact hardly inspired artists, Legros' work being the figure of 'exception. However, after his death, painters and sculptors paid homage to him for building a myth. It begins at the artist's bedside with the photographic montages by Marres and the photographs by Carjat, the sketches by Jules Bastien-Lepage and the death masks, including that of Marcel Debut, all of which are to be reproduced and distributed. The following year, a competition was launched for a commemorative monument to be erected in Paris. The model of the project selected, and since partly destroyed, by Louis-Charles Boileau and Jean-Paul Aubé is in the Orsay Museum. Dalou in Ville-d´Avray, Bartholdi in Bordeaux, Charpentier in Cavaillon or Maubert in Nice created other monumental ensembles to the glory of Gambetta. In a smaller format and for a wide distribution, Ringel d´Illzach, Riu or Vasselot, who created several medals, or Carrier-Belleuse, Dalou and Falguière, who produced busts, worked. The painters are not to be outdone, with the splendid portrait painted by Bonnat in 1888, kept at the Versailles museum. But popular objects, images of Epinal, earthenware plates, ashtrays, pipes, etc., are also called upon to convey the sublimated image of the great deceased, usually favoring the left profile, to conceal the model's glass eye.

  • deputies
  • Gambetta (Leon)
  • political opponents
  • portrait
  • Third Republic
  • Grevy (Jules)
  • Mac Mahon (Patrice de)

Bibliography

Homage to Léon Gambetta catalog of the exhibition of the Musée du Luxembourg, November 18, 1982– January 9, 1983, Paris, Delegation to national celebrations, 1982.

Jacques CHASTENET Gambetta Fayard, 1968.

To cite this article

Dominique LOBSTEIN, "Léon Gambetta"


Video: Histoires filmées de la grande guerre - La convalescence

Leon Gambetta

Leon Gambetta

Schließen

Titel: Leon Gambetta.

Autor: LEGROS Alphonse (1837 - 1911)

Erstellungsdatum : 1875

Datum angezeigt: 1875

Maße: Höhe 65 - Breite 55

Technik und andere Indikationen: Öl auf Leinwand

Lagerraum: Orsay Museum Website

Kontakt Copyright: © Foto RMN-Grand Palais - J.P. Lagiewski

Bildreferenz: 86DE109 / RE 2770

© Foto RMN-Grand Palais - J. Lagiewski

Erscheinungsdatum: März 2016

Historischer Zusammenhang

Léon Gambetta (Cahors 1838-Paris 1882), Anwalt gegen das kaiserliche Regime, spielte nach der Niederlage von Sedan in der Regierung der Nationalen Verteidigung eine wichtige politische Rolle. Von dieser Tribüne mit dem immensen Ruf, der als "Handelsreisender der Republik" bezeichnet wurde und jung und unter dramatischen Umständen starb, würde die Geschichte sich selbst ergreifen, um einen Mythos aufzubauen.

Bildanalyse

Das Louvre-Archiv bewahrt in den Dokumenten zu den Berichten des Akquisitionsausschusses des Museums dieses beredte Zeugnis vom 29. März 1930 auf: „M. Léonce Bénédite, Kurator des Musée du Luxembourg, erinnert seine Kollegen dass er sie bereits über die Absicht informiert hatte, die Sir Charles Dilke nach seinem Tod und dem Tod von Lady Dilke, dem Porträt von Gambetta von Legros, dem Luxemburger Museum hinterlassen hatte. M. Bénédite berichtete über den Besuch, den er kürzlich bei Sir Charles Dilke in London hatte: Er sah das Porträt, das sehr bemerkenswert ist und das einzige Porträt von Gambetta ist, das aus dem Leben gemalt wurde [ als Gambetta Sir Charles Dilke besuchte, um durch die englischen Radikalen eine französisch-englische Allianz aufzubauen. Bénédite glaubt, dass Sir Charles Dilke, wenn ihm eine Kopie dieses Porträts angeboten würde, nicht bis zu seinem Tod warten würde, um es dem Luxemburger Museum anzubieten. Er bittet daher darum, einen Brief an Sir Charles Dilke, 76 Hoane Street in London, zu richten, in dem er sich für seine großzügige Absicht bedankt, wie spät es auch sein mag. Das Gemälde wird 1911 nach dem Tod seines Spenders in die Sammlungen des Musée du Luxembourg aufgenommen.

Interpretation

Wenn die Karikaturpresse reichlich von Gambettas beeindruckendem Tribünenkörper, seiner riesigen und schwer fassbaren Stirn, seiner besonders prominenten Nase inspiriert worden wäre, hätte er tatsächlich kaum Künstler inspiriert, von denen Legros 'Werk die Figur war 'Ausnahme. Nach seinem Tod huldigten ihm Maler und Bildhauer jedoch, dass er einen Mythos aufgebaut hatte. Es beginnt am Bett des Künstlers mit den Fotomontagen von Marres und den Fotografien von Carjat, den Skizzen von Jules Bastien-Lepage und den Totenmasken, einschließlich der von Marcel Debut, die alle reproduziert und verteilt werden sollen. Im folgenden Jahr wurde ein Wettbewerb für die Errichtung eines Gedenkdenkmals in Paris gestartet. Das Modell des von Louis-Charles Boileau und Jean-Paul Aubé ausgewählten und seitdem teilweise zerstörten Projekts befindet sich im Orsay Museum. Dalou in Ville-d´Avray, Bartholdi in Bordeaux, Charpentier in Cavaillon oder Maubert in Nizza schufen weitere monumentale Ensembles zum Ruhm von Gambetta. In einem kleineren Format und für eine breite Verbreitung arbeiteten Ringel d´Illzach, Riu oder Vasselot, die mehrere Medaillen schufen, oder Carrier-Belleuse, Dalou und Falguière, die Büsten produzierten. Die Maler sind nicht zu übertreffen, denn das prächtige Porträt, das Bonnat 1888 gemalt hat und das im Versailler Museum aufbewahrt wird. Beliebte Objekte, Bilder von Epinal, Steingutplatten, Aschenbecher, Pfeifen usw. sind jedoch auch erforderlich, um das sublimierte Bild des großen Verstorbenen zu vermitteln, wobei normalerweise das linke Profil bevorzugt wird, um das Glasauge des Modells zu verbergen.

  • Abgeordnete
  • Gambetta (Leon)
  • politische Gegner
  • Porträt
  • Dritte Republik
  • Grevy (Jules)
  • Mac Mahon (Patrice de)

Literaturverzeichnis

Hommage an Léon Gambetta Katalog der Ausstellung im Musée du Luxembourg, 18. November 1982 - 9. Januar 1983, Paris, Delegation zu nationalen Feierlichkeiten, 1982.

Jacques CHASTENET Gambetta Fayard, 1968.

Um diesen Artikel zu zitieren

Dominique LOBSTEIN, "Léon Gambetta"


Video: CENTENARIO AFFONDAMENTO LEON GAMBETTA