Kupka and the Butter Plate: Money

Kupka and the Butter Plate: Money

To close

Title: Swings than all that

Author : KUPKA Frantisek (1871 - 1957)

Creation date : 1902 -

Date shown: January 11, 1902

Dimensions: Height 44.5 cm - Width 39.2 cm

Technique and other indications: Paris, Musée d'Orsay, in the Louvre museum. Special issue L'Argent of the newspaper L'Assiette au Beurre (n ° 41, January 11, 1902)

Storage location: Louvre Museum (Paris) website

Contact copyright: RMN-Grand Palais (Musée d'Orsay) / Thierry Le Mage (C) ADAGP, Paris

Picture reference: 01-021928 / RF52488-recto

© RMN-Grand Palais (Musée d'Orsay) / Thierry Le Mage (C) ADAGP, Paris

Publication date: March 2018

Historical context

The Butter Plate

After the law on the freedom of the press of July 29, 1881, the bans imposed on journalists, cartoonists or cartoonists became less frequent, even if the legislation on insult to good morals remained a means of censorship. They denounce, among other things, the participation of a more moderate left in parliamentary debate.

The Butter Plate, “satirical, humorous, weekly” review was launched on April 4, 1901. Its founder, the French publisher of Hungarian origin Samuel-Sigismond Scharwz defined it as “a colored illustrated newspaper that will speak in a very biting, very scathing form, problems of current social life ”.

In its pages, renowned illustrators fiercely denounce clericalism and religion, militarism and colonialism, political power, social misery, capitalism and the bourgeoisie, as Frantisek Kupka does with Swings than all that, which appears in the special issue Money (No. 41) of January 11, 1902.

Its fairly high price (between 25 and 50 centimes from 1901 to 1904) limits the number of its paying readers (between 25,000 and 40,000 in France) to a fairly affluent and cultivated segment of the population. Nevertheless, the artistic quality and originality of The Butter Plate give it a very large audience. They help to crystallize and permanently anchor critical opinions relating to the “disenchanted setback of the Belle-Époque” (Michel Ragon).

Image Analysis

Swings than all that

Iconographic innovator, The Butter Plate is characterized in particular by the virtual absence of text and full-page color illustrations (sometimes double-page) signed by numerous artists such as Théophile-Alexandre Steinlen, Adolphe Willette, Jacques Villon, (who participate in the first issue), Kees van Dongen, Félix Vallotton or, a little later, Juan Gris. (1871-1957)

Several issues of the journal are devoted to a single theme, then generally entrusted to a single designer, like Money (N ° 41) of January 11, 1902, entirely produced by Kupka (1871-1957). This painter of Czech origin living in Montmartre since 1896 - who would later appear as one of the pioneers of abstraction - was still a young Symbolist painter who made a living as an illustrator working regularly for humorous periodicals such as the laugh and cock-a-doodle Doo. He is the author of this Illustration of the special issue L'Argent of the newspaper L'Assiette au Beurre, sixth page of the fifteen that make up this “album”, which all have the same layout: a drawing and a subtitle.

Combining watercolor, gouache, pen and ink drawing, this composition for photoengraving entitled "Swings than all that »Portrays the character of the bourgeois profiteer dear to Kupka, Mr. Capital (inspired by representations of Mammon, biblical demon of greed)1. Wearing a top hat and endowed with a big belly filled with gold coins, present on most of the boards of this issue, this quasi-monster appears smiling and serene, standing on a seesaw, in central position, the feet distributed on either side of the log (a barrel?) on which the board rests. On one side of it, we see Marianne in blue-white-red waving a Phrygian cap. On the other hand, in a rather grotesque position, Napoleon and a ruler with a blond beard (with his crown, his ermine and, more surprisingly, contemporary trousers and dress shoes) somehow act as a counterweight. On the right of the picture, we can see a barely sketched crowd of simple pencil strokes who seem to cheer or demonstrate at the sight of this spectacle, raising their hands here, hats there.

Interpretation

A fool's game

With this Illustration of the special issue L'Argent of the newspaper L'Assiette au Beurre, Kupka broadens the anti-capitalist statement that dominates the entire issue on Money to considerations that are both historical and political philosophy. Even if a doubt remains on the exact identity of the figure of the king (the Tsar?), One can think that, unlike other illustrations showing the representatives of various European countries (to show that war, peace , geopolitical agreements and disagreements are in fact dictated by financial interests) it would be here rather - or also - the various types of regimes that France has known which would be represented by the three characters: the Monarchy, the Empire and the Republic.

Thus, we find theMr. Capital as a referee amused and satisfied with this Game (the swing) that would constitute the great political changes. All "that" (the demonstrative is pejorative) would be just one Game childish, uncertain, unstable (the pendulum movement can be reversed at any time, as the XIXe century when these regimes succeeded) and above all a Game vain, whose real power, financial, would pull the strings for its own profit.

A Game dupes also, in which, despite his enthusiasm and the sometimes "active" passion he shows for these issues, the people would only have the illusion of participating. The crowd is in fact only one element of the decor, (graphically) erased, a simple spectator entertained and thereby blinded to the real springs or issues of these historical movements.

The Republic is also not spared from the harsh and radical criticism of Kupka. Marianne is thus described as the daughter of a revolution (or of several revolutions: 1789, 1830, 1848 and 1870) ultimately bourgeois (s). She may well wave her Phrygian cap triumphantly, nothing changes fundamentally, the bourgeois capitalist continues to lead the Game.

1. This iconographic type probably refers to the Rothschild by Charles Léandre on the cover of the humorous review The laugh from 1898, but other iconographic sources are possible. Perhaps it should be clarified that this kind of representation is strictly for Kupka a social criticism, but in no way anti-Semitism. Kupka is far from it, as he has always said and as he has proven by his life and his actions.THEINHARDT (Markéta), "František Kupka, cartoonist", in LEAL (B.), THEINHARDT (M.) and BRULLE (P.), Kupka, pioneer of abstraction, cat. expo., Paris, Grand Palais, National Galleries, (21 March – 30 July 2018), Paris, Éditions de la Réunion des Musées Nationaux - Grand Palais, 2018.
  • bourgeoisie
  • Bonaparte (Napoleon)
  • monarchy
  • Marianne
  • satirical press
  • anarchism
  • caricature
  • The Butter Plate
  • hurry

Bibliography

CHALUPA, Pavel, François Kupka at The Butter Plate, Prague, Chamarré, 2008.

DIXMIER, Elisabeth and Michel, L’Assiette au Beurre: illustrated satirical review, 1901-1912, Paris, François Maspero, 1974.

TENTH, Michel, When the pencil attacks: satirical images and public opinion in France, 1814-1918, Paris, Éditions Autrement, 2007.

DROZ, Jacques, (dir.), General history of socialism, t. 2, Paris, PUF, 1978-1979.

MAITRON, Jean, The anarchist movement in France, Paris, Gallimard, coll. "Tel", 1992.

HOUTE, Arnaud-Dominique, The Triumph of the Republic, 1871-1914 Paris, Seuil, 2014.

VACHTOVA, Ludmila, Frantisek Kupka, Prague, Odeon, 1967.

WINOCK, Michel, The Belle Epoque, a golden age, Paris, Perrin, 2002.

To cite this article

Alexandre SUMPF, "Kupka and the Butter Plate: Silver"


Video: Creative Uses for Metal Shelving

Kupka und die Butterplatte: Geld

Kupka und die Butterplatte: Geld

Schließen

Titel: Schaukeln als das alles

Autor: KUPKA Frantisek (1871 - 1957)

Erstellungsdatum : 1902 -

Datum angezeigt: 11. Januar 1902

Maße: Höhe 44,5 cm - Breite 39,2 cm

Technik und andere Indikationen: Paris, Musée d'Orsay, im Louvre. Sonderausgabe L'Argent der Zeitung L'Assiette au Beurre (Nr. 41, 11. Januar 1902)

Lagerort: Website des Louvre-Museums (Paris)

Kontakt Copyright: RMN-Grand Palais (Musée d'Orsay) / Thierry Le Mage (C) ADAGP, Paris

Bildreferenz: 01-021928 / RF52488-recto

© RMN-Grand Palais (Musée d'Orsay) / Thierry Le Mage (C) ADAGP, Paris

Erscheinungsdatum: März 2018

Historischer Zusammenhang

Die Butterplatte

Nach dem Gesetz über die Pressefreiheit vom 29. Juli 1881 wurden die Verbote gegen Journalisten, Karikaturisten oder Karikaturisten seltener, auch wenn die Gesetzgebung zur Beleidigung der guten Moral ein Mittel der Zensur blieb. Sie prangern unter anderem die Teilnahme einer gemäßigten Linken an der parlamentarischen Debatte an.

Die Butterplatte, Die "satirische, humorvolle, wöchentliche" Rezension wurde am 4. April 1901 veröffentlicht. Sein Gründer, der französische Verleger ungarischer Herkunft Samuel-Sigismond Scharwz, definierte sie als "eine farbige illustrierte Zeitung, die in einer sehr beißenden, sehr vernichtenden Form sprechen wird". Probleme des gegenwärtigen sozialen Lebens “.

Auf ihren Seiten prangern renommierte Illustratoren Klerikalismus und Religion, Militarismus und Kolonialismus, politische Macht, soziales Elend, Kapitalismus und Bourgeoisie heftig an, wie es Frantisek Kupka tut Schaukeln als das alles, welches in der Sonderausgabe erscheint Geld (Nr. 41) vom 11. Januar 1902.

Sein ziemlich hoher Preis (zwischen 25 und 50 Rappen von 1901 bis 1904) begrenzt die Zahl seiner zahlenden Leser (zwischen 25.000 und 40.000 in Frankreich) auf einen ziemlich wohlhabenden und kultivierten Teil der Bevölkerung. Trotzdem ist die künstlerische Qualität und Originalität von Die Butterplatte Gib es einem sehr großen Publikum. Sie helfen dabei, kritische Meinungen zum „enttäuschten Rückschlag der Belle-Époque“ (Michel Ragon) zu kristallisieren und dauerhaft zu verankern.

Bildanalyse

Schaukeln als das alles

Ikonographischer Innovator, Die Butterplatte zeichnet sich insbesondere durch das virtuelle Fehlen von Text und ganzseitigen Farbabbildungen (manchmal Doppelseiten) aus, die von zahlreichen Künstlern wie Théophile-Alexandre Steinlen, Adolphe Willette und Jacques Villon (die an der ersten Ausgabe teilnehmen) signiert wurden. Kees van Dongen, Félix Vallotton oder wenig später Juan Gris. (1871-1957)

Mehrere Ausgaben der Zeitschrift widmen sich einem einzigen Thema und werden dann in der Regel einem einzigen Designer anvertraut, wie z Geld (Nr. 41) vom 11. Januar 1902, vollständig von Kupka (1871-1957) hergestellt. Der seit 1896 in Montmartre lebende Maler tschechischer Herkunft, der später als einer der Pioniere der Abstraktion auftrat, war noch ein junger symbolistischer Maler, der seinen Lebensunterhalt als Illustrator verdiente und regelmäßig für humorvolle Zeitschriften wie Das Lachen und Cock-a-Doodle Doo. Er ist der Autor davon Illustration der Sonderausgabe L'Argent der Zeitung L'Assiette au Beurre, sechste Seite der fünfzehn in diesem „Album“, die alle das gleiche Layout haben: eine Zeichnung und einen Untertitel.

Diese Komposition für die Fotogravur mit dem Titel "Aquarell-, Gouache-, Federzeichnung" kombiniert "Schaukeln als das alles »Zeigt den Charakter des bürgerlichen Profiteurs, der Kupka lieb ist, Mr. Capital (inspiriert von Darstellungen von Mammon, dem biblischen Dämon der Gier)1. Dieses Quasi-Monster trägt einen Zylinder und ist mit einem dicken Bauch voller Goldmünzen ausgestattet, der auf den meisten Brettern dieser Ausgabe zu sehen ist. Es wirkt lächelnd und gelassen und steht auf einer Wippe zentrale Position, die Füße verteilt auf beiden Seiten des Baumstamms (ein Fass?), auf dem das Brett ruht. Auf der einen Seite sehen wir Marianne in Blau-Weiß-Rot mit einer phrygischen Mütze. Auf der anderen Seite wirken Napoleon und ein blonder bärtiger Herrscher (mit seiner Krone, seinem Hermelin und überraschenderweise zeitgenössischen Hosen und Abendschuhen) in einer eher grotesken Position irgendwie als Gegengewicht. Auf der rechten Seite des Bildes sehen wir eine kaum skizzierte Menge einfacher Bleistiftstriche, die beim Anblick dieses Spektakels zu jubeln oder zu protestieren scheinen und hier ihre Hände heben, dort Hüte.

Interpretation

Ein Narrenspiel

Mit diesem Illustration der Sonderausgabe L'Argent der Zeitung L'Assiette au BeurreKupka erweitert die antikapitalistische Aussage, die das gesamte Thema dominiert Geld zu Überlegungen, die sowohl historische als auch politische Philosophie sind. Auch wenn Zweifel an der genauen Identität der Figur des Königs (des Zaren?) Bestehen, kann man denken, dass im Gegensatz zu anderen Abbildungen, die die Vertreter verschiedener europäischer Länder zeigen (um diesen Krieg zu zeigen, Frieden , geopolitische Vereinbarungen und Meinungsverschiedenheiten werden in der Tat von finanziellen Interessen diktiert. Es wären hier eher - oder auch - die verschiedenen Arten von Regimen, die Frankreich gekannt hat und die durch die drei Charaktere repräsentiert würden: die Monarchie, das Imperium und die Republik.

So finden wir dieMr. Capital als Schiedsrichter amüsiert und zufrieden damit Spiel (die Schaukel), die die großen politischen Veränderungen ausmachen würde. Alles "das" (das Demonstrative ist abwertend) wäre nur eines Spiel kindisch, unsicher, instabil (die Pendelbewegung kann jederzeit umgekehrt werden, wie beim XIXe Jahrhundert, in dem diese Regime erfolgreich waren) und vor allem a Spiel vergeblich, dessen wahre Macht, finanziell, die Fäden für seinen eigenen Profit ziehen würde.

EIN Spiel Dupes auch, an denen die Menschen trotz seiner Begeisterung und der manchmal "aktiven" Leidenschaft, die er für diese Themen zeigt, nur die Illusion haben würden, teilzunehmen. Die Menge ist in der Tat nur ein Element des Dekors, (grafisch) gelöscht, ein einfacher Zuschauer unterhalten und dadurch blind für die wirklichen Quellen oder Probleme dieser historischen Bewegungen.

Die Republik bleibt von der harten und radikalen Kritik an Kupka nicht mehr verschont. Marianne wird somit als Tochter einer Revolution (oder mehrerer Revolutionen: 1789, 1830, 1848 und 1870) beschrieben, die letztendlich bürgerlich war. Sie kann ihre phrygische Mütze triumphierend schwenken, nichts ändert sich grundlegend, der bürgerliche Kapitalist führt weiterhin die Spiel.

1. Dieser ikonografische Typ bezieht sich wahrscheinlich auf die Rothschild von Charles Léandre auf dem Cover der humorvollen Rezension Das Lachen ab 1898, aber andere ikonografische Quellen sind möglich. Vielleicht sollte klargestellt werden, dass diese Art der Repräsentation für Kupka ausschließlich eine Gesellschaftskritik ist, aber keineswegs Antisemitismus. Kupka ist weit davon entfernt, wie er immer gesagt hat und wie er durch sein Leben und sein Handeln bewiesen hat.THEINHARDT (Markéta), "František Kupka, Karikaturist", in LEAL (B.), THEINHARDT (M.) und BRULLE (P.), Kupka, Pionier der Abstraktion, Katze. Expo., Paris, Grand Palais, Nationale Galerien, (21. März - 30. Juli 2018), Paris, Éditions de la Réunion des Musées Nationaux - Grand Palais, 2018.
  • Bourgeoisie
  • Bonaparte (Napoleon)
  • Monarchie
  • Marianne
  • satirische Presse
  • Anarchismus
  • Karikatur
  • Die Butterplatte
  • Eile

Literaturverzeichnis

CHALUPA, Pavel, François Kupka bei Die Butterplatte, Prag, Chamarré, 2008.

DIXMIER, Elisabeth und Michel, L’Assiette au Beurre: illustrierte satirische Rezension, 1901-1912, Paris, François Maspero, 1974.

Zehntens, Michel, Wenn der Bleistift angreift: satirische Bilder und öffentliche Meinung in Frankreich, 1814-1918, Paris, Éditions Autrement, 2007.

DROZ, Jacques, (dir.), Allgemeine Geschichte des Sozialismus, t. 2, Paris, PUF, 1978-1979.

MAITRON, Jean, Die anarchistische Bewegung in Frankreich, Paris, Gallimard, umg. "Tel", 1992.

HOUTE, Arnaud-DominiqueDer Triumph der Republik, 1871-1914 Paris, Seuil, 2014.

VACHTOVA, Ludmila, Frantisek Kupka, Prag, Odeon, 1967.

WINOCK, Michel, Die Belle Epoque, ein goldenes Zeitalter, Paris, Perrin, 2002.

Um diesen Artikel zu zitieren

Alexandre SUMPF, "Kupka und die Butterplatte: Silber"


Video: Du liebst Brezeln? Dann probiere diese gefüllte Käse-Brezel!