Jules Amédée Barbey d'Aurevilly (1808-1889)

Jules Amédée Barbey d'Aurevilly (1808-1889)

Jules Amédée Barbey d'Aurevilly (1808-1889).

© Photo RMN-Grand Palais - H. Lewandowski / C. Jean

Publication date: March 2016

Historical context

Born into a family ennobled in 1756, Barbey d'Aurevilly, born in Saint-Sauveur-le-Vicomte in a very royalist environment, was immersed from childhood in the stories relating to the Chouannerie, which the future writer would transcribe in his works. Although a contemporary of Musset or Nerval, Barbey did not take part in the romantic combat, of liberal tendency, and began rather late an independent work, by publishing first An old mistress (1851), then The Entangled (1854). These novels, filled with visions as satanic as they are divine - Barbey always cultivated ambiguity - were the first to nourish a sort of Norman cycle on the chouannerie, marked by masterpieces such as The Knight of the Touches (1864) or A story without a name (1882). Breaking with his time, he mainly announced fin-de-siècle, decadent and symbolist literature (Devilish, collection of short stories, 1874). It was a whole spiritual lineage that Barbey thus guided towards the renewal of royalist traditions, at the time when the Action française de Maurras was born in France and when a return to religion was to flourish in Péguy and Claudel.

Image Analysis

Direct, cold image of the writer looking at the viewer haughtily, almost with disdain, and barely turning towards him, this portrait stands out face and hand in the light, playing above all on the elongation of shapes (fingers, mustache ). It is the aristocrat who reveals himself here, supremely superior in his remoteness, as refusing all contact with an exterior whom he deems unworthy of him, a man of transcendent visions. In this portrait of the writer now recognized as a master, Lévy sought to give an eternal image of a superior man, foreign to the contingencies of his time, as also suggested by his old-fashioned frock coat and his lavallière tie, very showy. .

Interpretation

This late portrait of Barbey, made at the time of his literary consecration when he published A story without a name, is an essential reference. A sort of sacred icon, the work presents the model of an entire fin-de-siècle school of thought as a god that only initiates can approach: it is only them that Barbey condescends to look at in this portrait. He is the supreme teacher in a democratic society that is taking hold, to which he feels a stranger and whom he denounces, especially through Zola. His new disciple Huysmans is, it is true, a defector from the naturalist school.

  • dandyism
  • writers
  • portrait
  • chouannerie
  • christianity
  • Nerval (Gérard de)
  • Maurras (Charles)
  • Peguy (Charles)
  • Musset (Alfred de)
  • French action
  • Barbey d'Aurevilly (Jules)
  • low angle
  • decadence
  • fin de siècle spirit
  • Huysmans (Joris-Karl)
  • Poet
  • royalism
  • symbolism
  • Zola (Emile)
  • reactionary

Bibliography

Patrick AVRANE, Barbey d'Aurevilly, Brussels, Desclée de brouwer, 2000.Michel WINOCK, The Voices of Freedom: the writers involved in the 19th century, Paris, Seuil, 2001.

To cite this article

Jérémie BENOÎT, "Jules Amédée Barbey d´Aurevilly (1808-1889)"


Video: LES BOLOSS des belles lettres: Le Cid #BDBL

Jules Amédée Barbey d'Aurevilly (1808-1889)

Jules Amédée Barbey d'Aurevilly (1808-1889)

Jules Amédée Barbey d'Aurevilly (1808-1889).

© Foto RMN-Grand Palais - H. Lewandowski / C. Jean

Erscheinungsdatum: März 2016

Historischer Zusammenhang

Barbey d'Aurevilly stammt aus einer 1756 geadelten Familie und wurde in Saint-Sauveur-le-Vicomte in einem sehr royalistischen Umfeld geboren. Von Kindheit an war er in die Geschichten über die Chouannerie vertieft, die der zukünftige Schriftsteller in seiner Geschichte transkribieren würde funktioniert. Obwohl Barbey ein Zeitgenosse von Musset oder Nerval war, nahm er nicht am romantischen Kampf der liberalen Tendenz teil und begann ziemlich spät ein eigenständiges Werk, indem er es zuerst veröffentlichte Eine alte Geliebte (1851) also Das Verwickelte (1854). Diese Romane, gefüllt mit ebenso satanischen wie göttlichen Visionen - Barbey pflegte immer Zweideutigkeit - waren die ersten, die eine Art normannischen Zyklus in der Chouannerie nährten, der von Meisterwerken wie z Der Ritter der Berührungen (1864) oder Eine Geschichte ohne Namen (1882). Als er mit seiner Zeit brach, kündigte er hauptsächlich Fin-de-Siècle-, dekadente und symbolistische Literatur an (Teuflisch, Sammlung von Kurzgeschichten, 1874). Es war eine ganze spirituelle Linie, die Barbey auf diese Weise zur Erneuerung der royalistischen Traditionen führte, als die Aktion française de Maurras in Frankreich geboren wurde und eine Rückkehr zur Religion in Péguy und Claudel gedeihen sollte.

Bildanalyse

Direktes, kaltes Bild des Schriftstellers, der den Betrachter hochmütig, fast verächtlich ansieht und sich kaum zu ihm umdreht. Dieses Porträt hebt Gesicht und Hand im Licht hervor und spielt vor allem mit der Verlängerung der Formen (Finger, Schnurrbart) ). Es ist der Aristokrat, der sich hier offenbart, der in seiner Abgeschiedenheit überragend ist, indem er jeglichen Kontakt mit einem Äußeren ablehnt, das er für unwürdig hält, einem Mann mit transzendenten Visionen. In diesem Porträt des Schriftstellers, der jetzt als Meister anerkannt ist, versuchte Lévy, ein ewiges Bild eines überlegenen Mannes zu vermitteln, das den Eventualitäten seiner Zeit fremd war, wie auch sein altmodischer Gehrock und seine lavallière Krawatte nahe legen, die sehr auffällig sind. .

Interpretation

Dieses späte Porträt von Barbey entstand zur Zeit seiner literarischen Weihe, als er es veröffentlichte Eine Geschichte ohne Namenwill eine wesentliche Referenz sein. Als eine Art heilige Ikone präsentiert das Werk das Modell einer ganzen Fin-de-Siècle-Denkschule als Gott, dem sich nur Eingeweihte nähern können: Nur diese lässt sich Barbey herablassen, um sie in diesem Porträt zu betrachten. Er ist der höchste Lehrer in einer demokratischen Gesellschaft, die sich festsetzt, für die er sich fremd fühlt und die er vor allem durch Zola anprangert. Sein neuer Schüler Huysmans ist zwar ein Überläufer der Naturforscherschule.

  • Dandyismus
  • Schriftsteller
  • Porträt
  • Chouannerie
  • Christentum
  • Nerval (Gérard de)
  • Maurras (Charles)
  • Peguy (Charles)
  • Musset (Alfred de)
  • Französische Aktion
  • Barbey d'Aurevilly (Jules)
  • kleiner Winkel
  • Dekadenz
  • fin de siècle Geist
  • Huysmans (Joris-Karl)
  • Dichter
  • Royalismus
  • Symbolismus
  • Zola (Emile)
  • reaktionär

Literaturverzeichnis

Patrick AVRANE, Barbey d'Aurevilly, Brüssel, Desclée de Brouwer, 2000. Michael WINOCK, Die Stimmen der Freiheit: die Schriftsteller des 19. Jahrhunderts, Paris, Seuil, 2001.

Um diesen Artikel zu zitieren

Jérémie BENOÎT, "Jules Amédée Barbey d´Aurevilly (1808-1889)"


Video: Les Diaboliques de Jules Barbey dAurevilly