The game of the French railway

The game of the French railway

French railroad game

© Photo RMN-Grand Palais - D. Arnaudet

Publication date: September 2006

Historical context

If Pellerin d'Épinal remains the best-known popular imagery publisher, others publish comparable plates: Pinot and Sagaire in Épinal, but also Henri Silbermann and Gustave Fischbach in Strasbourg, Gangel and Adrien Dembour in Metz, Castiaux and Blocquel in Lille, Wentzel in Wissembourg, Lacour in Nancy, Félix Juven in Paris…

These images had originally a religious vocation, but little by little, the themes diversified: the highlights of the history of France, the legends and the tales, the fashionable novels, the children's stories, the popular songs. soon made the heyday of the so-called Epinal imagery. These images were pinned on the "closed beds", on the lintel of the fireplace or on the walls of the most humble of thatched cottages.
Intended for children, the boards of puppets and soldiers, already well distributed, were completed by paper theaters around 1840, then by construction boards to be cut from 1860. Individual games - riddles - or collective n 'were not forgotten: known since the XVe century, the game of goose was then on the rise and took all possible forms for the purposes of entertainment, education and propaganda.

Image Analysis

The Railroad game, published around 1855 by Gangel in Metz, is designed after an idea by Ernest Henry on the principle of the goose game, of which it has a very classic structure with its sixty-three pictorial boxes. The rules of the game are in the center of the spiral. Two to six players can compete with two dice. The first to arrive at the terminus station (63) wins, but to do so he must avoid accidents, backtracking provided for by the rule and slowdowns imposed by the six stations placed on the route.

At a time when the novelty of the railway was a source of mistrust and reluctance on the part of a public frightened by modernism, the Railroad game offers an initiatory journey to players, children or adults. All the elements that make up a train are represented: locomotive, tender, first, second and third class wagons, baggage wagons, flour wagons, sheepfold wagons, postal wagons, etc. The essential infrastructures are not forgotten: tracks, switches, signage, level crossings, bridges, tunnels… In addition to the technical dimension, there is a geographical aspect: the train stops in a few large cities in France - Marseille, Nancy, Strasbourg, Bordeaux, Paris. The players thus carry out an educational journey and learn while having fun: the playful does not exclude the didactic.

Interpretation

The game of goose can be seen as a game of emulation, a competition on a closed course where you have to get there first. Arnaud reports that Napoleon Ier "Gave himself there with a very southern ardor, counting the boxes with his middle finger like a schoolboy, being annoyed when the dice were against him, entering the" cabaret "only with humor, cheating for fear of falling into the" well "or to go to" prison "". Designed over the centuries on multiple themes, it constitutes an unrivaled source of lessons on the history of customs, techniques, science and industry. It is very popular in the XIXe century. Gangel edited a number of them on different themes: the Railroad game for example, or the Fairy tale game where the player, moving from one tale to another - those of Perrault, Madame d'Aulnoy ... -, sets out on an initiatory journey with trials, enchantments, monsters and other magical artifices.

  • railway
  • Game
  • industrial Revolution

Bibliography

Henri GEORGE, La Belle Histoire des images d'Épinal, Paris, Éditions du Cherche-Midi, 1996 David S. HAMILTON, The fascinating world of trains, Paris, Gründ, 1977 Ellis C. HAMILTON, Le Train.L'épopée des chemin de fer, Paris, Éditions Princesse, 1978. René PERROUT, Trésors des images d'Épinal, Barembach, Éditions J.-P.Gyss, 1985.

To cite this article

Alain GALOIN, "The game of the French railway"


Video: The French Railway S1 Ep2: The Sad Story Of John!

Das Spiel der französischen Eisenbahn

Das Spiel der französischen Eisenbahn

Französisches Eisenbahnspiel

© Foto RMN-Grand Palais - D. Arnaudet

Erscheinungsdatum: September 2006

Historischer Zusammenhang

Wenn Pellerin d'Épinal der bekannteste populäre Bildverlag bleibt, veröffentlichen andere vergleichbare Platten: Pinot und Sagaire in Épinal, aber auch Henri Silbermann und Gustave Fischbach in Straßburg, Gangel und Adrien Dembour in Metz, Castiaux und Blocquel in Lille, Wentzel in Wissembourg, Lacour in Nancy, Félix Juven in Paris…

Diese Bilder hatten ursprünglich eine religiöse Berufung, aber nach und nach variierten die Themen: die Höhepunkte der Geschichte Frankreichs, die Legenden und Geschichten, die modischen Romane, die Kindergeschichten, die populären Lieder. bald machte die Blütezeit der sogenannten Epinal-Bilder. Diese Bilder wurden auf den "geschlossenen Betten", am Sturz des Kamins oder an den Wänden der bescheidensten strohgedeckten Hütten befestigt.
Für Kinder bestimmt, wurden die bereits gut verteilten Puppentafeln und Soldaten um 1840 von Papiertheatern und ab 1860 von Bautafeln ergänzt. Einzelspiele - Rätsel - oder kollektive n 'wurden nicht vergessen: bekannt seit dem XVe Jahrhundert war das Spiel der Gans dann auf dem Vormarsch und nahm alle möglichen Formen zum Zwecke der Unterhaltung, Bildung und Propaganda an.

Bildanalyse

Das Eisenbahnspiel, veröffentlicht um 1855 von Gangel in Metz, wurde nach einer Idee von Ernest Henry nach dem Prinzip des Gänse-Spiels entworfen, dessen Struktur mit dreiundsechzig Bildboxen sehr klassisch ist. Die Spielregeln stehen im Zentrum der Spirale. Zwei bis sechs Spieler können mit zwei Würfeln konkurrieren. Der erste, der an der Endstation (63) ankommt, gewinnt, aber um dies zu tun, muss er Unfälle, Rückverfolgungen, die in der Regel vorgesehen sind, und Verlangsamungen vermeiden, die von den sechs Stationen auf der Route auferlegt werden.

Zu einer Zeit, als die Neuheit der Eisenbahn eine Quelle des Misstrauens und der Zurückhaltung einer von der Moderne verängstigten Öffentlichkeit war, war die Eisenbahnspiel bietet Spielern, Kindern oder Erwachsenen eine Initiationsreise an. Alle Elemente, aus denen ein Zug besteht, sind vertreten: Lokomotiven-, Tender-, Wagen der ersten, zweiten und dritten Klasse, Gepäckwagen, Mehlwagen, Schafstallwagen, Postwagen usw. Die wesentlichen Infrastrukturen werden nicht vergessen: Gleise, Weichen, Beschilderung, Bahnübergänge, Brücken, Tunnel… Neben der technischen Dimension gibt es einen geografischen Aspekt: ​​Der Zug hält in einigen großen Städten Frankreichs - Marseille, Nancy, Straßburg, Bordeaux, Paris. Die Spieler führen also eine Bildungsreise durch und lernen, während sie Spaß haben: Das Verspielte schließt die Didaktik nicht aus.

Interpretation

Das Spiel der Gans kann als ein Spiel der Nachahmung angesehen werden, ein Wettbewerb auf einem geschlossenen Kurs, bei dem man zuerst dorthin gelangen muss. Arnaud berichtet, dass Napoleon I.äh "Gab sich dort mit einer sehr südländischen Begeisterung, zählte die Kisten mit seinem Mittelfinger wie ein Schuljunge, ärgerte sich, als die Würfel gegen ihn waren, betrat das" Kabarett "nur mit Humor und betrog aus Angst, in die" gut "oder ins" Gefängnis "gehen". Es wurde im Laufe der Jahrhunderte zu verschiedenen Themen entwickelt und ist eine unvergleichliche Quelle für Lehren aus der Geschichte der Bräuche, Techniken, Wissenschaft und Industrie. Es ist sehr beliebt im XIXe Jahrhundert. Gangel hat eine Reihe von ihnen zu verschiedenen Themen bearbeitet: die Eisenbahnspiel zum Beispiel oder die Märchenspiel Hier begibt sich der Spieler, der von einer Geschichte zur nächsten wechselt - die von Perrault, Madame d'Aulnoy ... -, auf eine Initiationsreise mit Prüfungen, Verzauberungen, Monstern und anderen magischen Kunstgegenständen.

  • Eisenbahn
  • Spiel
  • Industrielle Revolution

Literaturverzeichnis

Henri GEORGE, Die Belle Histoire des Images d'Épinal, Paris, Éditions du Cherche-Midi, 1996 David S. HAMILTON, Die faszinierende Welt der Züge, Paris, Gründ, 1977 Ellis C. HAMILTON, Le Train.L'épopée des chemin de fer, Paris, Éditions Princesse, 1978. René PERROUT, Trésors des images d'Épinal, Barembach, Éditions J.-P.Gyss, 1985.

Um diesen Artikel zu zitieren

Alain GALOIN, "Das Spiel der französischen Eisenbahn"


Video: Die Chiemseebahn. Eisenbahn Romantik