Jacques Necker

Jacques Necker

Jacques Necker (1732-1804).

© Photo RMN-Grand Palais

Publication date: March 2016

Historical context

Necker, Geneva banker established in Paris, had served as Director of the Treasury and then Director General of Finance from 1777 to 1781. While the American War increased the costs, he successfully carried out some tax reforms, but made enemies by publishing, in 1781, in his famous Report to the King, the amount of pensions paid to courtiers, the "hornets", and by experimenting with a project of provincial assemblies of the three orders in order to involve the French in the management of their interests and to reduce the power of the intendants. He is the father of Mme de Staël.

Image Analysis

Presented at mid-length, three quarters to the left, the Minister's face is smiling, his hair raised and powdered, his head slightly thrown back and tilted to the right. Necker wears here a wine color coat open on a lace frill. In the original full-length portrait, Duplessis presented his model sitting at his worktable, quill resting in the inkwell, interrupting his study and turning to look in the back of the room at a possible visitor. In the portrait reduced to a bust of the Palace of Versailles, this naturally natural gesture, having lost all narrative support, takes on a new meaning: affability and self-confidence compete with a feeling of natural authority.

Interpretation

Received at the Royal Academy in 1774, Duplessis is one of the best portrait painters of the reign of Louis XVI. This portrait of Necker is a reduced replica of a large portrait of the minister made in 1781, exhibited at the Salon of 1783, currently kept at the castle of Coppet (Switzerland), which was engraved - proof of his fame - by Augustin de Saint-Aubin in 1784. This plate will be the object of a reissue engraved by Sergent under the direction of Saint-Aubin in 1789. During the first year of the Revolution, and precisely after the storming of the Bastille, the popularity of Necker is at its height. While Saint-Aubin, in his 1784 engraving respected the very hieratic sobriety of the king's minister, he asked Sergent to complete the cartouche of the engraved portrait of 1789 with allegories of abundance, the names of Sully and Colbert, and the representation of works published by the statesman: the staging of this allegory is very telling since a winged putto hangs on the temple of glory, next to the two medallions bearing the names of the ministers of Henry IV. and Louis XIV, a third medallion bearing the name of Louis XVI's reforming minister.

  • Old regime
  • States General
  • Necker (Jacques)
  • portrait
  • Staël (Germaine de)

Bibliography

Louis-Marie CLENETCathelineau the saint of Anjou: first generalissimo of the Vendée armyParis, Perrin, 1991.Roger DUPUYLes ChouansHachette literature, 1997.Emile GABORYThe Guerres de VendéeParis, Robert Laffont, coll. “Bouquin”, 1989. Jean-Clément MARTIN “La Vendée, region-memory” in Pierre Nora (under the direction of) Memorial place Gallimard, 1984, reed. "Quarto" collection, 1996. The French Revolution and Europe 1789-1799 , exhibition catalog Paris, RMN, 1989.

To cite this article

Robert FOHR and Pascal TORRÈS, "Jacques Necker"


Video: French in Quebec vs France: interview en français with subtitles accent, attitude, history, curses

Jacques Necker

Jacques Necker

Jacques Necker (1732–1804).

© Foto RMN-Grand Palais

Erscheinungsdatum: März 2016

Historischer Zusammenhang

Necker, ein in Paris ansässiger Genfer Bankier, war von 1777 bis 1781 Direktor des Finanzministeriums und dann Generaldirektor der Finanzen. Während der amerikanische Krieg die Kosten erhöhte, führte er einige Steuerreformen erfolgreich durch, führte sie jedoch durch Feinde durch Veröffentlichung im Jahr 1781 in seinem berühmten Bericht an den Königdie Höhe der Renten, die an Höflinge, die "Hornissen", gezahlt werden, und durch Experimentieren mit einem Projekt von Provinzversammlungen der drei Orden, um die Franzosen in die Verwaltung ihrer Interessen einzubeziehen und die Macht der Intendanten zu verringern. Er ist der Vater von Frau de Staël.

Bildanalyse

Auf halber Länge, drei Viertel nach links, lächelt das Gesicht des Ministers, sein Haar ist hochgezogen und gepudert, sein Kopf leicht nach hinten geworfen und nach rechts geneigt. Necker trägt hier einen weinroten Mantel, der auf einer Spitzenrüsche geöffnet ist. Auf dem Originalporträt in voller Länge stellte Duplessis sein Modell vor, das an seinem Arbeitstisch saß, die Feder im Tintenfass ruhte, sein Arbeitszimmer unterbrach und sich umdrehte, um einen möglichen Besucher im hinteren Teil des Raums anzusehen. In dem auf eine Büste des Schlosses von Versailles reduzierten Porträt erhält diese natürlich natürliche Geste, die jede narrative Unterstützung verloren hat, eine neue Bedeutung: Freundlichkeit und Selbstvertrauen konkurrieren mit einem Gefühl natürlicher Autorität.

Interpretation

Duplessis wurde 1774 an der Royal Academy aufgenommen und ist einer der besten Porträtmaler der Regierungszeit Ludwigs XVI. Dieses Porträt von Necker ist eine verkleinerte Nachbildung eines großen Porträts des Ministers aus dem Jahr 1781, das im Salon von 1783 ausgestellt wurde und derzeit auf der Burg von Coppet (Schweiz) aufbewahrt wird und von Augustin de Saint-Aubin als Beweis seines Ruhms graviert wurde 1784. Diese Platte wird Gegenstand einer Neuauflage sein, die Sergent 1789 unter der Leitung von Saint-Aubin gestochen hat. Während des ersten Jahres der Revolution und genau nach dem Sturm auf die Bastille ist Necker beliebt auf seiner Höhe. Während Saint-Aubin in seinem Stich von 1784 die sehr hieratische Nüchternheit des Ministers des Königs respektierte, bat er Sergent, die Kartusche des gravierten Porträts von 1789 mit Allegorien des Überflusses, den Namen von Sully und Colbert, zu vervollständigen. und die Darstellung von Werken, die vom Staatsmann veröffentlicht wurden: Die Inszenierung dieser Allegorie ist sehr aussagekräftig, da neben den beiden Medaillons, die die Namen der Minister Heinrichs IV. tragen, ein geflügelter Putto am Tempel der Herrlichkeit hängt. und Ludwig XIV., ein drittes Medaillon mit dem Namen des Reformministers Ludwigs XVI.

  • Altes Regime
  • Generalstaaten
  • Necker (Jacques)
  • Porträt
  • Staël (Germaine de)

Literaturverzeichnis

Louis-Marie CLENET Cathelineau, der Heilige von Anjou: Erster Generalissimus der Vendée-Armee Paris, Perrin, 1991 Roger DUPUY Les Chouans Hachette-Literatur, 1997 Emile GABORY Les Guerres de Vendée Paris, Robert Laffont, Slg. "Bouquin", 1989. Jean-Clément MARTIN "La Vendée, Region-Erinnerung" in Pierre Nora (unter der Leitung von) Gedenkstätte Gallimard, 1984, Schilf. "Quarto" -Sammlung, 1996. Die Französische Revolution und Europa 1789-1799 , Ausstellungskatalog Paris, RMN, 1989.

Um diesen Artikel zu zitieren

Robert FOHR und Pascal TORRÈS, "Jacques Necker"


Video: How big was the Bastille..really..exactly? from research on Mount Vernons Bastille Key