Fires in the Municipality

Fires in the Municipality


We are searching data for your request:

Forums and discussions:
Manuals and reference books:
Data from registers:
Wait the end of the search in all databases.
Upon completion, a link will appear to access the found materials.

  • The Fire of the Tuileries.

    CLAIRIN Georges-Jules-Victor (1845 - 1919)

  • The ruins of the Tuileries Palace.

    MEISSONIER Jean-Louis-Ernest (1815 - 1891)

To close

Title: The Fire of the Tuileries.

Author : CLAIRIN Georges-Jules-Victor (1845 - 1919)

Creation date : 1871

Date shown: May 1871

Dimensions: Height 48 - Width 79

Technique and other indications: Oil painting on canvas

Storage location: Orsay Museum website

Contact copyright: © Photo RMN-Grand Palais - C. Jean website

Picture reference: 85EE1653 / RF 1981-31

The Fire of the Tuileries.

© Photo RMN-Grand Palais - C. Jean

The ruins of the Tuileries Palace.

© Photo RMN-Grand Palais

Publication date: March 2016

Historical context

The fire at the Tuileries castle

In the heart of Paris and on the edge of the Seine, adjoining the Louvre, the Tuileries Palace was built in the 16th century.e century by Philibert Delorme for Catherine de Médicis then increased by the pavilions of Flore and Marsan. From this castle considered to be the historic home of the French monarchs, Napoleon III had made the seat of his power and his official residence throughout the Second Empire.

From March 26, 1871, the Municipality proclaimed the looting of the place which was gradually emptied, sacked and dismantled. During the "Bloody Week", both to defeat the symbol of tyranny and to delay the advance of the Versailles troops, the burning of this building is organized by the Communards - the town sergeant Boudin, the butcher boy Bénot and the general Bergeret - with a lot of carts of powder, liquid tar, turpentine and petroleum.

Image Analysis

Fire and stone

For three days and three nights, from May 23 to 26, the castle of the Tuileries and its two wings blazed to leave only ruins. The Communard Gustave Lefrançais wrote in 1871 in his Study on the communalist movement in Paris in 1871 : "Yes, I am one of those who approved as absolutely moral to burn down this essentially monarchical palace, an abhorred symbol of an abominable past [...], where so many anti-social crimes had been premeditated and glorified. "

Georges Clairin (1843-1919) and Ernest Meissonier (1815-1891) each dedicated a work to the fire at the Château des Tuileries.

From May 1871, the first offered the spectacle, rare in the pictorial representation of this event, of the fire observed from the corner of the Conciergerie where a few federates were withdrawn. Led by a muse with a red flag, these Communards are perched on a shapeless heap of indistinct debris. By the conjunction of this foreground and the palace in flames in the background, by their meeting under the smoky sky, Clairin makes the Commune the reign of chaos and destruction.

In an 1871 work that remained unfinished until 1883 and certainly inspired by contemporary photographs, Meissonier depicted the desolate ruins of the castle after the fire was extinguished. With a composition of striking simplicity, the artist confronts the viewer with the ruins of the Salle des Maréchaux, located in the center of the Tuileries. It seems that this image responds to the essentially political motivations of the painter who declared: "In this colossal collapse, I was suddenly struck to see the names of two undisputed victories radiating intact… Marengo!… Austerlitz!…" - moreover carefully mentioned by the artist in his work. The anti-Communist Meissonier here records the extent of destruction and disaster, after the smoke from the fires has cleared. The legibility of the ruins and rubble littering the ground is a reflection of the clarity of his political condemnation of the Commune.

Interpretation

Communard vandalism icons

With an identical subject treated from different angles, Clairin and Meissonier approach the Commune through the Parisian landscape and the scene of destruction. In this way, they reduce this revolution to a moment of pure vandalism condensed in the fire at the Château des Tuileries. By representing the fire and the ruins of this symbolic place, the two painters accentuate the ephemeral nature of the Municipality, whose work of destruction they denounce and which they pose as a timeless catastrophe.

  • Municipality of Paris
  • fire
  • Paris
  • Bloody week
  • vandalism
  • Tuileries Palace

Bibliography

Jean-Marie BRUSON, "Iconography of the Tuileries castle after the fire", Historical monuments, no 177, 1991, p. 33-37.

Bernard NOËL, Municipality dictionary, 2 vol., Paris, Flammarion, coll. "Champs", 1978.

To cite this article

Bertrand TILLIER, "Incendies de la Commune"


Video: Fire Safety Video Avoiding Fire Hazards

Brände in der Gemeinde

Brände in der Gemeinde

  • Das Feuer der Tuilerien.

    Clairin Georges-Jules-Victor (1845 - 1919)

  • Die Ruinen des Tuilerienpalastes.

    MEISSONIER Jean-Louis-Ernest (1815 - 1891)

Schließen

Titel: Das Feuer der Tuilerien.

Autor: Clairin Georges-Jules-Victor (1845 - 1919)

Erstellungsdatum : 1871

Datum angezeigt: Mai 1871

Maße: Höhe 48 - Breite 79

Technik und andere Indikationen: Ölgemälde auf Leinwand

Lagerraum: Orsay Museum Website

Kontakt Copyright: © Foto RMN-Grand Palais - Website von C. Jean

Bildreferenz: 85EE1653 / RF 1981-31

Das Feuer der Tuilerien.

© Foto RMN-Grand Palais - C. Jean

Die Ruinen des Tuilerienpalastes.

© Foto RMN-Grand Palais

Erscheinungsdatum: März 2016

Historischer Zusammenhang

Das Feuer auf der Tuilerienburg

Im Herzen von Paris und am Rande der Seine, angrenzend an den Louvre, wurde im 16. Jahrhundert der Tuilerienpalast erbaut.e Jahrhundert von Philibert Delorme für Catherine de Médicis, dann erweitert durch die Pavillons von Flore und Marsan. Von dieser Burg aus, die als historische Heimat der französischen Monarchen angesehen wurde, hatte Napoleon III. Den Sitz seiner Macht und seinen offiziellen Wohnsitz im gesamten Zweiten Reich gemacht.

Ab dem 26. März 1871 proklamierte die Gemeinde die Plünderung des Ortes, der nach und nach geleert, geplündert und abgebaut wurde. Während der "Blutigen Woche", sowohl um das Symbol der Tyrannei zu besiegen als auch um den Vormarsch der Versailler Truppen zu verzögern, wird das Verbrennen dieses Gebäudes von den Kommunarden organisiert - dem Stadtsergeant Boudin, dem Metzgerjungen Bénot und dem General Bergeret - mit vielen Karren Pulver, flüssigem Teer, Terpentin und Erdöl.

Bildanalyse

Feuer und Stein

Drei Tage und drei Nächte lang, vom 23. bis 26. Mai, loderten die Burg der Tuilerien und ihre beiden Flügel, um nur Ruinen zu hinterlassen. Der Communard Gustave Lefrançais schrieb 1871 in seinem Studie über die kommunalistische Bewegung in Paris im Jahr 1871 : "Ja, ich bin einer von denen, die es als absolut moralisch anerkannt haben, diesen im Wesentlichen monarchischen Palast niederzubrennen, ein verabscheuungswürdiges Symbol einer abscheulichen Vergangenheit, [...] in der so viele unsoziale Verbrechen vorsätzlich und verherrlicht wurden. ""

Georges Clairin (1843-1919) und Ernest Meissonier (1815-1891) widmeten dem Feuer im Château des Tuileries jeweils eine Arbeit.

Ab Mai 1871 bot das erste das in der bildlichen Darstellung dieses Ereignisses seltene Spektakel des Feuers, das aus der Ecke der Conciergerie beobachtet wurde, wo einige Föderierte zurückgezogen wurden. Angeführt von einer Muse mit roter Fahne sitzen diese Communards auf einem formlosen Haufen undeutlicher Trümmer. Durch die Verbindung dieses Vordergrunds und des in Flammen stehenden Palastes im Hintergrund, durch ihre Begegnung unter dem rauchigen Himmel, macht Clairin die Kommune zur Herrschaft des Chaos und der Zerstörung.

In einem Werk von 1871, das bis 1883 unvollendet blieb und sicherlich von zeitgenössischen Fotografien inspiriert war, zeigte Meissonier die verlassenen Ruinen der Burg nach dem Löschen des Feuers. Mit einer Komposition von auffallender Einfachheit konfrontiert der Künstler den Betrachter mit den Ruinen des Salle des Maréchaux im Zentrum der Tuilerien. Es scheint, dass dieses Bild auf die im Wesentlichen politischen Motivationen des Malers reagiert, der erklärte: "Bei diesem kolossalen Zusammenbruch war ich plötzlich beeindruckt, als ich die Namen zweier unbestrittener Siege sah, die intakt ausstrahlten ... Marengo! ... Austerlitz! ..." - außerdem sorgfältig erwähnt vom Künstler in seiner Arbeit. Der antikommunistische Meissonier zeichnet hier das Ausmaß der Zerstörung und Katastrophe auf, nachdem der Rauch der Feuer verschwunden ist. Die Lesbarkeit der Ruinen und Trümmer auf dem Boden spiegelt die Klarheit seiner politischen Verurteilung der Kommune wider.

Interpretation

Communard Vandalismus Ikonen

Clairin und Meissonier nähern sich der Kommune mit einem identischen Thema aus verschiedenen Blickwinkeln durch die Pariser Landschaft und den Ort der Zerstörung. Auf diese Weise reduzieren sie diese Revolution auf einen Moment reinen Vandalismus, der sich im Feuer des Château des Tuileries verdichtet. Durch die Darstellung des Feuers und der Ruinen dieses symbolischen Ortes betonen die beiden Maler die Vergänglichkeit der Gemeinde, deren Zerstörungswerk sie anprangern und die sie als zeitlose Katastrophe darstellen.

  • Gemeinde Paris
  • Feuer
  • Paris
  • Verdammte Woche
  • Vandalismus
  • Tuileries Palast

Literaturverzeichnis

Jean-Marie BRUSON, "Ikonographie der Tuilerien nach dem Brand", Historische MonumenteNr. 177, 1991, p. 33-37.

Bernard NOËL, Gemeindewörterbuch, 2 vol., Paris, Flammarion, coll. "Champs", 1978.

Um diesen Artikel zu zitieren

Bertrand TILLIER, "Incendies de la Commune"


Video: TENNISHALLE BRENNT AB Großbrand in Löhne - 150 Einsatzkräfte - Interviews - Drohnenaufnahmen uvm!