Empress Eugenie seen by cartoonists

Empress Eugenie seen by cartoonists


We are searching data for your request:

Forums and discussions:
Manuals and reference books:
Data from registers:
Wait the end of the search in all databases.
Upon completion, a link will appear to access the found materials.

  • The Imperial Rose.

    THE LITTLE Alfred (1841 - 1909)

  • Souvenir of November 15th.

    FLAMBART

  • The imperial menagerie, portrait-chargen n ° 2 of Eugenie, "the crane".

    HADOL, known as WHITE Paul (1835 - 1875)

© Photo RMN-Grand Palais - D. Arnaudet

To close

Title: Souvenir of November 15th.

Author : FLAMBART (-)

Creation date : 1870

Date shown: November 15, 1870

Dimensions: Height 0 - Width 0

Storage location: National Museum of the Château de Compiègne website

Contact copyright: © Photo RMN-Grand Palais - D. Arnaudet web site

Picture reference: 96-023037 / C59.696 / 6

© Photo RMN-Grand Palais - D. Arnaudet

The imperial menagerie, portrait-chargen n ° 2 of Eugenie, "the crane".

© Photo RMN-Grand Palais - G. Blot

Publication date: May 2006

Historical context

Under the Second Empire, despite the relaxation of the press regime in the liberal phase of reign, no caricature made headlines in the newspapers. In fact, these caricatures help make the Empress - who assumed the regency while Napoleon III fought the Prussian armies - the atoning victim of collective guilt.

Image Analysis

Alfred Le Petit (1841-1909), Republican cartoonist, made Empress Eugenie an "imperial rose": the elongated crowned head of the sovereign surmounts a stem bristling with thorns; she wears a lace mantilla reminiscent of her Spanish origin; the nose is excessively prominent, and the look sly. Ten bees come foraging the imperial rose. On their insect body, the designer grafted the faces of court relatives: the Duke of Gramont, Émile Ollivier, Clément Duvernois, General de Failly, Julien-Henri Chevreau, the Comte de Nieuwerkerke, Pierre Magne, Paul de Cassagnac, General Le Bœuf, Baron Haussmann.

Flambart, a caricaturist active around 1870, also uses a floral metaphor. The Empress is depicted in a bust on top of a rose bush planted in a crate. It is surrounded by violets and a wreath of roses whose flowers have been replaced by the heads of courtiers: General Fleury, Joachim Pietri, Émile Ollivier, Paul de Cassagnac and the Comte de Nieuwerkerke. The emperor, in a pitiful eagle, approaches the crate, holding in one of its talons a single violet which serves as a bouquet. The words "Que c'est comme un bouquet de fleurs ..." refers to the title and chorus of a song created in 1864 by Félix Baumaire and Charles Blondelet. Souvenir of November 15 refers to the feast of the Empress. On Sainte-Eugenie day, at the Château de Compiègne, the guests of the imperial couple offered bouquets of flowers to the sovereign.

In The Imperial Menagerie, collection of caricatures by Paul Hadol (1835-1875), Empress Eugenie is depicted in the guise of a crane. She hugs a tambourine in her left paw, alluding to her homeland. Symbolized by the ruins of a temple, a pyramid and a few palm trees, the Egyptian landscape in the background recalls the trip the Empress made to attend the inauguration of the Suez Canal on November 17, 1869 Cruelty, Paul Hadol plays on the two meanings of the term “crane” by associating with the bird two faults which he attributes to the sovereign: the pose and the stupidity. In fact, he goes much further into the innuendo since a crane is not only a stupid person, but also a woman of light morals.

Interpretation

If the Empress was so often targeted by cartoonists, it was because she was closely associated with affairs of state. A fervent Catholic, she opposed the reduction of the Pope's temporal power and an Italian unity that would have absorbed the Papal States. In 1859, French intervention in Italy led him to exercise the regency for the first time in the absence of Napoleon III, and from then on his influence increased. Her deeply conservative attitude was not incompatible with progressive social views: she drew heavily on her cassette to help the most needy. A feminist before the letter, she supported Victor Duruy's program for the education of girls and personally financed the studies of Julie Daubier, the first Frenchwoman to obtain the baccalaureate. However, in the last years of the regime, the popularity of the Empress plummeted in public opinion; the heartbreaking outfit of Mexico, the failure of Sadowa, the economic difficulties, it was all the "Spanish" fault. Whether or not Empress Eugenie wanted war with Prussia or not, the disaster at Sedan sounded the death knell for the Second Empire and forced the imperial family into exile.

  • caricature
  • Nieuwerkerke (Emilien de)
  • Egypt
  • Empress Eugenie (Montijo de)
  • imperial menagerie
  • Napoleon III
  • Second Empire
  • court life

Bibliography

Hélène DUCCINI, "Caricature, two centuries of salutary derision", in Historia n ° 651, Paris, March 2001.Annie DUPRAT, Histoire de France par la caricature, Paris, Larousse, 1999.Jacques LETHÈRE, La Caricature and the press under the Third Republic, Paris, Armand Colin, coll. “Kiosque”, 1961.Christophe PINCEMAILLE, L'Impératrice Eugénie.From Suez to Sedan, Paris, Payot, 2000.Philippe RÉGNER, La Caricature entre République et censure.1830-1880, Lyon, Presses Universitaires de Lyon, 1996.William SMITH , Eugénie, Empress of the French, Paris, Bartillat, 1998. Jean TULARD (ed.), Dictionary of the Second Empire, Paris, Fayard, 1995.

To cite this article

Alain GALOIN, "The Empress Eugenie seen by the cartoonists"


Video: Princess Eugenies Wedding Photo May Have Finally Revealed The Truth About An Apparent Family Feud

Kaiserin Eugenie von Karikaturisten gesehen

Kaiserin Eugenie von Karikaturisten gesehen

  • Die kaiserliche Rose.

    DER KLEINE Alfred (1841 - 1909)

  • Andenken vom 15. November.

    FLAMBART

  • Die kaiserliche Menagerie, Porträt-Chargen Nr. 2 von Eugenie, "der Kranich".

    HADOL, bekannt als WHITE Paul (1835 - 1875)

© Foto RMN-Grand Palais - D. Arnaudet

Schließen

Titel: Andenken vom 15. November.

Autor: FLAMBART (-)

Erstellungsdatum : 1870

Datum angezeigt: 15. November 1870

Maße: Höhe 0 - Breite 0

Speicherort: Website des Nationalmuseums des Château de Compiègne

Kontakt Copyright: © Foto RMN-Grand Palais - Website von D. Arnaudet

Bildreferenz: 96-023037 / C59.696 / 6

© Foto RMN-Grand Palais - D. Arnaudet

Die kaiserliche Menagerie, Porträt-Chargen Nr. 2 von Eugenie, "der Kranich".

© Foto RMN-Grand Palais - G. Blot

Erscheinungsdatum: Mai 2006

Historischer Zusammenhang

Unter dem Zweiten Reich machte trotz der Lockerung des Presseregimes in der liberalen Regierungsphase keine Karikatur Schlagzeilen in den Zeitungen. Tatsächlich tragen diese Karikaturen dazu bei, dass die Kaiserin - die die Regentschaft übernahm, während Napoleon III. Gegen die preußischen Armeen kämpfte - zum Sühnopfer kollektiver Schuld wurde.

Bildanalyse

Alfred Le Petit (1841-1909), republikanischer Karikaturist, machte Kaiserin Eugenie zu einer "kaiserlichen Rose": Der längliche gekrönte Kopf des Souveräns überragt einen von Dornen strotzenden Stiel; Sie trägt eine Spitzenmantilla, die an ihre spanische Herkunft erinnert. Die Nase ist übermäßig hervorstehend und sieht schlau aus. Zehn Bienen kommen zum Futter die kaiserliche Rose. Auf ihren Insektenkörper pfropfte der Designer die Gesichter von Gerichtsverwandten: Herzog von Gramont, Émile Ollivier, Clément Duvernois, General de Failly, Julien-Henri Chevreau, Comte de Nieuwerkerke, Pierre Magne, Paul de Cassagnac, General Le Bœuf, Baron Haussmann.

Flambart, ein um 1870 tätiger Karikaturist, verwendet ebenfalls eine Blumenmetapher. Die Kaiserin ist in einer Büste auf einem Rosenbusch in einer Kiste abgebildet. Es ist umgeben von Veilchen und einem Rosenkranz, dessen Blumen durch die Höflinge der Höflinge ersetzt wurden: General Fleury, Joachim Pietri, Émile Ollivier, Paul de Cassagnac und der Comte de Nieuwerkerke. Der Kaiser nähert sich in einem erbärmlichen Adler der Kiste und hält in einer seiner Krallen ein einzelnes Veilchen, das als Blumenstrauß dient. Die Worte "Que c'est comme un bouquet de fleurs ..." beziehen sich auf den Titel und den Chor eines Liedes, das 1864 von Félix Baumaire und Charles Blondelet geschaffen wurde. Andenken vom 15. November bezieht sich auf das Fest der Kaiserin. Am Tag von Sainte-Eugenie im Château de Compiègne boten die Gäste des Kaiserpaares dem Souverän Blumensträuße an.

Im Die kaiserliche Menagerie, Sammlung von Karikaturen von Paul Hadol (1835-1875), Kaiserin Eugenie wird als Kran dargestellt. Sie umarmt ein Tamburin in ihrer linken Pfote und spielt auf ihre Heimat an. Die ägyptische Landschaft im Hintergrund, die durch die Ruinen eines Tempels, einer Pyramide und einiger Palmen symbolisiert wird, erinnert an die Reise der Kaiserin zur Einweihung des Suezkanals am 17. November 1869 Grausamkeit, Paul Hadol spielt mit den beiden Bedeutungen des Begriffs „Kran“, indem er dem Vogel zwei Fehler zuordnet, die er dem Souverän zuschreibt: die Pose und die Dummheit. Er geht viel weiter in die Anspielung hinein, da ein Kranich nicht nur eine dumme Person ist, sondern auch eine Frau mit leichter Moral.

Interpretation

Wenn die Kaiserin so oft von Karikaturisten ins Visier genommen wurde, dann deshalb, weil sie eng mit Staatsangelegenheiten verbunden war. Als leidenschaftliche Katholikin widersetzte sie sich der Verringerung der zeitlichen Macht des Papstes und der italienischen Einheit, die die päpstlichen Staaten absorbiert hätte. 1859 führte die französische Intervention in Italien dazu, dass er in Abwesenheit Napoleons III. Zum ersten Mal die Regentschaft ausübte, und von da an nahm sein Einfluss zu. Ihre zutiefst konservative Haltung war nicht unvereinbar mit fortschrittlichen sozialen Ansichten: Sie griff stark auf ihre Kassette, um den Bedürftigsten zu helfen. Als Feministin vor dem Brief unterstützte sie Victor Duruys Programm zur Ausbildung von Mädchen und finanzierte persönlich das Studium von Julie Daubier, der ersten Französin, die das Abitur erhielt. In den letzten Jahren des Regimes fiel die Popularität der Kaiserin jedoch in der öffentlichen Meinung auf ein niedriges Niveau. Mexikos herzzerreißendes Outfit, Sadowas Versagen, wirtschaftliche Not, alles war die "spanische" Schuld. Ob Kaiserin Eugenie einen Krieg mit Preußen wollte oder nicht, die Katastrophe in Sedan löste den Todesstoß für das Zweite Reich aus und zwang die kaiserliche Familie ins Exil.

  • Karikatur
  • Nieuwerkerke (Emilien de)
  • Ägypten
  • Kaiserin Eugenie (Montijo de)
  • kaiserliche Menagerie
  • Napoleon III
  • Zweites Reich
  • Gerichtsleben

Literaturverzeichnis

Hélène DUCCINI, "Karikatur, zwei Jahrhunderte heilsamer Verspottung", in Historia Nr. 651, Paris, März 2001. Annie DUPRAT, Histoire de France für die Karikatur, Paris, Larousse, 1999. Jacques LETHÈRE, La Caricature und die Presse unter die Dritte Republik, Paris, Armand Colin, coll. "Kiosque", 1961.Christophe PINCEMAILLE, L'Impératrice Eugénie , Eugénie, Kaiserin der Franzosen, Paris, Bartillat, 1998. Jean TULARD (Hrsg.), Wörterbuch des Zweiten Reiches, Paris, Fayard, 1995.

Um diesen Artikel zu zitieren

Alain GALOIN, "Die Kaiserin Eugenie von den Karikaturisten gesehen"


Video: Empress Eugenie of France